|
American Domestic Architecture
Scope: This guide is a bibliography of selected
resources on the
history
and design of domestic architecture in the United States available from the University of
Maryland Libraries. For more information, please see a reference librarian
Table of Contents
Reference
Bibliographies
- Carrington, Merrill Ware. Design Guidelines: An Annotated
Bibliography.
Washington, D.C.: National Endowment for the Arts, 1977.
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.C37 1977
- Cuthbert, John A., et al. Vernacular Architecture in America: A Selective
Bibliography. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1985.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA705.C87 1985
- NTL STACKS NA705.C87 1985
- Draper, Joan E. American Dwellings in the 19th and 20th Centuries: A
Bibliography. Chicago: Council of Planning Librarians, 1987.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.D72 1987
- Harmon, Robert B. Carpenter Gothic and Nineteenth Century Ornamented
Houses in
America: A Selected Bibliography. Monticello, Ill.: Vance, 1979.
- ARCH FOLIO NA3503.7.H3
- Marshall, Howard Wight. American Folk Architecture: A Selected
Bibliography.
Washington, D.C.: American Folklife Center, Library of Congress, 1981.
- NTL FOLIO NA705.M35 1981
- McGough, Melinda. A Selected Bibliography: National Trust Historic
Museums and
Collections. Washington, D.C.: National Trust for Historic Preservation, 1980.
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.M34 1980
- Thomson, Ellen M. Color in American Domestic Architecture, 1650-1913: A
Bibliography. Monticello, Ill.: Vance, 1990.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.T48 1990
- NTL STACKS NA7205.T48 1990
return to top
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Blumenson, John J.-G. Identifying American Architecture: A Pictorial Guide to
Styles
and Terms, 1600-1945. 2nd ed., rev. and enl. Nashville: American Association for
State
and Local History; New York: Norton, 1981.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA705.B55 1981
- ARCH STACKS NA705.B55 1981
- Carley, Rachel. The Visual Dictionary of American Domestic
Architecture.
New York: Holt, 1994.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA7205.C27 1994
- Greene, Fayal. The Anatomy of a House: A Picture Dictionary of Architectural
and
Design Elements. New York: Doubleday, 1991.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA2840.G74 1991
- Phillips, Steven J. Old-House Dictionary: An Illustrated Guide to American
Domestic
Architecture, 1600-1940. Lakewood, Colo.: American Source Books, 1989.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA7205.P48 1989
- NTL STACKS NA7205.P48 1989
- Walker, Lester. American Shelter: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of the American
Home. Woodstock: Overlook, 1981.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.W34
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.W34
- Whiffen, Marcus. American Architecture Since 1780: A Guide to the
Styles.
Rev. ed. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1992.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA705.W47 1992
- ARCH STACKS NA705.W47 1992
return to top
Guidebooks and Directories
- Eastman, John. Who Lived Where: A Biographical Guide to Homes and
Museums.
New York: Facts on File, 1983.
- MCKREF STACKS E159.E23
- MCK STACKS E159.E23
- NTL STACKS E159.E23
- Massey, James C., and Shirley Maxwell. House Styles in America: The
Old-House
Journal
Guide to the Architecture of American Homes. New York: Penguin Studio, 1996.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA7205.M33 1996
- NTL STACKS NA7205.M33 1996
- McAlester, Virginia, and Lee McAlester. A Field Guide to America's Historic
Neighborhoods and Museum Houses: The Western States. New York: Knopf, 1998.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA7223.M33 1998
- McAlester, Virginia, and Lee McAlester. A Field Guide to American
Houses.
New York: Knopf, 1984.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA7205.M35 1984
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.M35 1984
- NTL STACKS NA7205.M35 1984
- Walker, Patricia Chambers, and Thomas Graham. Directory of Historic House
Museums in
the United States. Walnut Creek, Calif.: AltaMira, 1999.
- ARCH REF FOLIO E159.W29 1999
return to top
Catalogs
- Historic American Buildings Survey. Catalog of the Measured Drawings and
Photographs
of the Survey in the Library of Congress, March 1, 1941. 2nd ed. Washington, DC:
U.S.
Govt. Print. Off., 1941.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA707.H45 1941 and suppl.
return to top
Indexes
- America: History and Life.
- Online: via ABC-CLIO
- Print: MCK FOLIO Z1236.A48 v.1-35 (1955/1963-1998)
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
- Online: via Eureka
- Print: ARCH REF FOLIO Z5941.C6 1973 suppl. no.1-16 (1975-1995)
- Culbertson, Margaret. American House Designs: An Index to Popular and
Trade
Periodicals, 1850-1915. Westport: Greenwood, 1994.
- ARCH REF STACKS NA7207.C85 1994
return to top
Periodicals
- American Country Houses of Today.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7610.A6 1912,1915,1917,1922,1927,1930,1935
- Classic American Home.
- Online: via EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier, Vol.
26, no. 1 (Feb./Mar. 2000)-
- Clem Labine's Period Homes.
- NTL CURPER Vol. 1, no. 2 (Summer 2000)-
- Early American Homes.
- Online: via EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier, Vol.
27 no. 4, Aug. 1996-
- Print: NTL PERSTK E162.E219 Vol. 27, no. 3 (Jun. 1996)-Vol. 31 (2000)
- Continued as Early American Life, Vol. 32 (2001)-
- Record Houses.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7100.A67 1956-1963,1966-1980,1982-1988
- MCK FOLIO NA7100.A67 1965,1968,1971-1973,1975-1981,1983,1985-1987
return to top
Print Resources
Monographic Series
- The White Pine Series of Architectural Monographs. Ed. Russell
F.
Whitehead.
St. Paul: White Pine Bureau, 1915-1924; New York: Whitehead, 1925-1928.
- This bi-monthly periodical series covers the architecture of the American colonies and
the early republic. To locate individual monographs, search the series title as a "series
browse" in VICTORWeb, the online catalog.
- ARCH REF FOLIO NA1.W6 v.1-14 (1915-1928)
- NTL FOLIO NA1.W6 v.1-14 (1915-1928)
return to top
Books
General Topics
Histories and Surveys
- The American House: Design for Living. Washington, DC:
American
Institute of
Architects, 1992.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.A66 1992 v. 1
- Clark, Clifford Edward, Jr. The American Family Home,
1800-1960.
Chapel Hill:
University of North Carolina Press, 1986.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.C58 1986
- NTL STACKS NA7205.C58 1986
- Davidson, Marshall B. The American Heritage History of Notable American
Houses.
New York: American Heritage Pub. Co., 1971.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.D3
- MD FOLIO NA7205.D3
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.D3
- RARE KAPFOL NA7205.D3
- De Vido, Alfredo. House Design: Art and Practice. New York:
Wiley,
1996.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.D365 1996
- Gowans, Alan. The Comfortable House: North American Suburban
Architecture,
1890-1930. Cambridge: MIT Press, 1986.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7571.G68 1986
- Home Sweet Home: American Domestic Vernacular
Architecture. Eds.
Charles W.
Moore, et al. Los Angeles: Craft and Folk Art Museum; New York: Rizzoli, 1983.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.H66 1983
- Houses and Homes: Exploring Their History. Barbara J. Howe, et
al.
Walnut
Creek, CA: AltaMira, 1997.
- MCK STACKS E180.H68 1997
- Howard, Hugh. How Old Is This House?: A Skeleton Key to Dating,
Identifying,
and
Understanding Three Centuries of the American House. New York: Farrar, 1989.
- NTL STACKS NA7205.H73 1989
- Hunter, Christine. Ranches, Rowhouses, and Railroad Flats: American Homes:
How
They
Shape Our Landscapes and Neighborhoods. New York: Norton, 1999.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.H78 1999
- Ierley, Merritt. Open House: A Guided Tour of the American Home,
1637-Present.
New York: Holt, 1999.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.I35 1999
- Isham, Norman Morrison. Early American Houses; and, A Glossary of
Colonial
Architectural Terms. New York: Da Capo, 1967.
- ARCH STACKS NA7206.I7 1967
- HBK STOR NA7206.I7 1967
- Jakle, John A., et al. Common Houses in America's Small Towns: The Atlantic
Seaboard
to the Mississippi Valley. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1989.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.J34 1989
- NTL STACKS NA7205.J34 1989
- Kelly, Barbara M. Expanding the American Dream: Building and Rebuilding
Levittown.
Albany: State University of New York Press, 1993.
- ARCH STACKS NA7571.K44 1993
- Kemp, Jim. American Vernacular: Regional Influences in Architecture and
Interior
Design. New York: Viking, 1987.
- NTL STACKS NA7205.K46 1987
- Kimball, Fiske. Domestic Architecture of the American Colonies and of the
Early
Republic. New York: Dover, 1966.
- ARCH FOLIO NA707.K45 1966
- NTL FOLIO NA707.K45 1966
- Langdon, Philip. American Houses. New York: Stewart, 1987.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.L35 1987
- Levin, Phyllis Lee. Great Historic Houses of America. New York:
Coward-McCann, 1970.
- ARCH FOLIO E159.L48 1970
- NTL FOLIO E159.L48 1970
- Plummer, Henry. The Potential House: Three Centuries of American
Dwelling.
Tokyo: A + U, 1989.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.P47 1989
- Wentling, James W. Housing by Lifestyle: The Component Method of
Residential
Design. 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.W46 1995
- Wiencek, Henry. Old Houses. New York: Stewart, 1991.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.G764 1991
- Williams, Henry Lionel, and Ottalie K. Williams. A Guide to Old American
Houses,
1700-1900. New York: A.S. Barnes, 1962.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.W5
Home Builder Catalogs
- Comstock, William T. Turn-of-the-Century House Designs: With Floor Plans,
Elevations,
and Interior Details of 24 Residences. New York: Dover, 1994. Reprint of
Suburban
and Country Homes, 1893.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7571.S84 1994
- NTL FOLIO NA7571.S84 1994
- Ford, James, and Katherine Morrow Ford. Classic Modern Homes of the
Thirties: 64
Designs by Neutra, Gropius, Breuer, Stone, and Others. New York: Dover, 1989.
Reprint of
The Modern House in America, 1940.
- ARCH FOLIO/NTL FOLIO NA7208.F6 1989
- Keefe, Charles S., ed. The American House; Being a Collection of Illustrations
&
Plans of the Best Country & Suburban Houses Built in the United States During the Last Few
Years. New York: U.P.C., 1922.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7130.K4
- Loizeaux. Classic Houses of the Twenties. Philadelphia:
Athenaeum; New
York:
Dover, 1992. Reprint of Loizeaux's Plan Book No. 7, 1927.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.J24 1992
- Modern Homes: Their Design and Construction: A Collection of Home
Designs
with Plans
& Details. Chicago: American Builder, 1931.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.M56 1931
- Palliser, George. George Palliser's Modern Buildings... . New
York: J.S.
Ogilvie, 1901.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.P25 1901a
- Shoppell, R.W., et al. Turn-of-the-Century Houses, Cottages, and Villas: Floor
Plans
and Line Illustrations of 118 Homes from Shoppell's Catalogs. New York: Dover,
1983.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.T87 1983
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.T87 1983
- Woodward, George E., and Edward G. Thompson. Woodward's National
Architect...
.
New York: Da Capo, 1975. Reprint of the 1869 edition.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.W66 1975
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.W66 1975
Contemporary American Houses
- Breeze, Carla. Architecture: The New Modern. New York:
Architecture
and
Interior Design Library, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.B74 1995
- Doubilet, Susan, and Daralice Boles. American House Now: Contemporary
Architectural
Directions. New York: Universe, 1997.
- ARCH STACKS NA7208.D68 1997
- Frampton, Kenneth. American Masterworks: The Twentieth Century
House. New
York: Rizzoli, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.F68 1995
- Jandl, H. Ward. Yesterday's Houses of Tomorrow: Innovative American
Homes,
1850 to
1950. Washington, DC: Preservation Press, 1991.
- ARCH STACKS NA7207.J36 1991
- NTL STACKS NA7207.J36 1991
- Lyon, Hortense. American Contemporary Houses. Paris: Telleri,
1998.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.L96 1998
- Modern American Houses: Four Decades of Award-Winning Design in
Architectural
Record. Ed. Clifford A. Pearson. New York: Abrams, 1996.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.M57 1996
- The New American Cottage: Innovations in Small-Scale Residential
Architecture.
Eds. James Grayson Trulove and Il Kim. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1999.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.N44 1999
- The New American House: Innovations in Residential Design and
Construction: 30
Case
Studies. Ed. Oscar Riera Ojeda. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.N45 1995
- The New American House 2: Innovations in Residential Design and
Construction:
30 Case
Studies. Ed. Oscar Riera Ojeda. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1997.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.N45 1997
- Vercelloni, Matteo. New American Houses: Country, Sea &
Cities. Milano:
L'Archivolto, 1997.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.V47 1997
return to top
American Houses by Type
- Holl, Steven. Rural & Urban House Types in North America.
New York:
Pamphlet
Architecture, 1982.
- ARCH STACKS NA7203.H64 1982
Apartment Houses and Row Houses
- Gorlin, Alexander. The New American Town House. New York:
Rizzoli,
1999.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.G67 1999
- Irvine, Chippy. The Town House. Toronto; New York: Bantam,
1988.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.I78 1988
- Lockwood, Charles. Bricks & Brownstone: The New York Row House,
1783-1929,
An
Architectural & Social History. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1972.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7238.N6L66
- NTL FOLIO NA7238.N6L66
- The New American Apartment: Innovations in Residential Design and
Construction:
30
Case Studies. Ed. Oscar Riera Ojeda. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1997.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7861.N48 1997
- Nolon, John, and Duo Dickinson. Common Walls/Private Homes:
Multiresidential
Design. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1990.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7520.N6 1990
Bungalows
- Comstock, William Phillips, and Clarence Eaton Schermerhorn. Bungalows,
Camps,
and
Mountain Houses. Washington, D.C.: American Institute of Architects Press, 1990.
Reprint
of the 1915 edition.
- ARCH STACKS NA7571.C7 1990
- NTL STACKS NA7571.C7 1990
- Grow, Lawrence. The Old House Book of Cottages and
Bungalows.
Pittstown, N.J.:
Main Street, 1987.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7561.G76 1987
- Lancaster, Clay. The American Bungalow, 1880-1930. New
York:
Abbeville, 1985.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7571.L36 1985
- Winter, Robert. American Bungalow Style. New York: Simon &
Schuster,
1996.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7571.W557 1996
Country Houses
- Artistic Country-Seats: Types of Recent American Villa and Cottage
Architecture,
with
Instances of Country Club-Houses. Ed. George William Sheldon. 2 vols. New
York: Da
Capo,
1979. Reprint of the 1886-87 edition.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7610.A8 1979
- Aslet, Clive. The American Country House. New Haven: Yale
University
Press,
1990.
- ARCH STACKS NA7561.A81 1990
- NTL STACKS NA7561.A81 1990
- Comstock, William T. Country Houses and Seaside Cottages of the Victorian
Era.
New York: Dover, 1989. Reprint of American Cottages, 1883.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7561.C65 1989
- NTL FOLIO NA7561.C65 1989
- Country Patterns, 1841-1883: A Sampler of American Country Home &
Landscape
Designs
from Original 19th Century Sources. Ed. Donald J. Berg. Rev. 2nd ed. New York:
Sterling,
1990.
- NTL FOLIO NA7561.C68 1990
- Grow, Lawrence. The Old House Book of Classic Country Houses: Plans for
Traditional
American Dwellings. Pittstown, N.J.: Main Street, 1988.
- ARCH STACKS NA707.O44 1988
- NTL STACKS NA707.O44 1988
- Hewitt, Mark Alan. The Architect & the American Country House,
1890-1940. New
Haven: Yale University Press, 1990.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7561.H4 1990
- Moss, Roger W. The American Country House. New York: Holt,
1991.
- ARCH STACKS NA7561.M67 1991
Farmhouses and Ranch Houses
- Irvine, Chippy. The Farmhouse. Toronto; New York: Bantam,
1987.
- ARCH FOLIO NA8208.5.I78 1987
- NTL FOLIO NA8208.5.I78 1987
- Kauffman, Henry J. The American Farmhouse. New York:
Hawthorn,
1975.
- ARCH FOLIO NA8210.K38 1975
- McMurry, Sally. Families and Farmhouses in Nineteenth-Century America:
Vernacular
Design and Social Change. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1997.
- ARCH STACKS NA8208.5.M36 1997
- Peterson, Fred W. Homes in the Heartland: Balloon Frame Farmhouses of the
Upper
Midwest, 1850-1920. Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 1992.
- ARCH STACKS TH4920.P48 1992
- NTL STACKS TH4920.P48 1992
- Sunset Western Ranch Houses. Santa Monica: Hennessey +
Ingalls, 1999.
- ARCH STACKS NA7127.S92 1999
Hillside and Mountain Houses
- Rouillard, Dominique. Building the Slope: Hillside Houses,
1920-1960.
Trans.
Ronald A. Masi. Santa Monica: Arts + Architecture, 1987.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.R68 1987
Log Cabins
- Thiede, Cindy Teipner, and Arthur Thiede. The Log Home Book: Design, Past
&
Present. Salt Lake City: Gibbs Smith, 1993.
- ARCH STACKS NA8470.T49 1993
- Weslager, C.A. The Log Cabin in America: From Pioneer Days to the
Present.
New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 1969.
- ARCH STACKS NA7206.W4
- MD STACKS NA7206.W4
- NTL STACKS NA7206.W4
Mail Order Homes
- Cabin John Mail-Order Homes Historic District. College Park:
University
of
Maryland School of Architecture, 1987.
- ARCH FOLIO TH4819.P7C23 1987
- The Jandl-Stevenson Collection: Sears, Roebuck Mail-Order
Houses.
- Available through the National
Trust Library.
- Joselow, Evie T. The Ideal Catalogue House: Mail-Order Architecture and
Consumer
Culture, 1914-1930. Ann Arbor: UMI Dissertation Services, 1998.
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7J67 1998a
- King, Marina. Sears Mail-Order House Survey in Prince George's County,
Maryland. Upper Marlboro, Md.: M-NCPPC, 1988.
- NTL FOLIO TH4819.P7K56 1988
- Stevenson, Katherine Cole, and H. Ward Jandl. Houses by Mail: A Guide to
Houses
from
Sears, Roebuck and Company. Washington, D.C.: Preservation Press, 1986.
- ARCH STACKS TH4819.P7S74 1986
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7S74 1986
- Schweitzer, Robert, and Michael W.R. Davis. America's Favorite Homes:
Mail-Order
Catalogues as a Guide to Popular Early 20th-Century Houses. Detroit: Wayne State
University Press, 1990.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.S36 1990
- NTL STACKS NA7205.S36 1990
Catalogs
- Aladdin Company. Aladdin "Built in a Day" House Catalog,
1917. New
York:
Dover, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA8480.A6 1995
- NTL STACKS NA8480.A6 1995
- Aladdin Company. Aladdin Homes. Bay City, Mich.: The
Company.
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N61 no. 29 1917
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N61 no. 32 1920
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N61 no. 37 1925
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N61 no. 44 1931
- Aladdin Company. Aladdin Readi-cut Houses. Bay City, Mich.:
Aladdin
Co., 1928.
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N7 1928
- C.H. Robinson (Firm). Robinson's Money-Saving Mill-Made Cut-to-Fit
Houses.
Providence, R.I.: C.H. Robinson, 1914.
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7C22 1914
- E.F. Hodgson Co. Hodgson Houses and Outdoor Equipment for Your Country
Home.
Boston: E.F. Hodgson Co., 1933.
- NTL STACKS NA7561.E2 1933
- Gordon-Van Tine Co. 117 House Designs of the Twenties.
Philadelphia:
Athenaeum; New York: Dover, 1992. Reprint of the 1923 edition.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7208.A12 1992
- NTL FOLIO NA7208.A12 1992
- Harris Brothers Co. A Plan Book of Harris Homes. Chicago: The
Company, 1918.
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7H27 1918
- Montgomery Ward & Co. Wardway Homes. Chicago:
Montgomery Ward,
1924.
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7M66 1924
- North American Construction Company. Aladdin Houses. Bay
City, Mich.:
North American Construction Co.
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N6 no. 18 1910
- NTL STACKS NA8480.N6 no. 26 1915
- Ray H. Bennett Lumber Co., Inc. Bennett's Small House Catalog,
1920.
New
York: Dover, 1993.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.B43 1993
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.B43 1993
- Ready Built House Company. Ready Built Buildings. Portland,
Or.: Ready
Built
House Co., 1915.
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7R42 1915a
- Sears, Roebuck and Company. Homes of Today. [S.l.]: Sears,
Roebuck and
Co.,
1931.
- NTL FOLIO TH4819.P7S43 1931
- Sears, Roebuck and Company. Log Cabins. [S.l.]: Sears, Roebuck
and
Co., 1935.
- NTL STACKS TH4840.S43 1935
- Sears, Roebuck and Company. Modern Homes. Chicago: Sears,
Roebuck
and
Company, 1936.
- NTL STACKS TH4819.P7S42 1936
- Sears, Roebuck and Company. One House-or a Hundred.
Chicago: Sears,
Roebuck,
1920.
- NTL FOLIO TH4819.P7S435 1920
- Sears, Roebuck and Company. Sears, Roebuck Catalog of Houses, 1926: An
Unabridged
Reprint. Philadelphia: Athenaeum; New York: Dover, 1991.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.S37 1991
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.S37 1991
Mansions
- Forman, Henry Chandlee. Early Manor and Plantation Houses of Maryland: An
Architectural and Historical Compendium, 1634-1800, with Three Hundred Twenty Photographs
and
One Hundred Forty-Five Plans, Details, and Sketches. 2nd ed., rev. Baltimore:
Bodine,
1982.
- MD FOLIO NA7235.M3F6 1982s
- Shopsin, William C. Preserving American Mansions and Estates.
New
York:
McGraw-Hill, 1994.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7511.S53 1994
- NTL FOLIO NA7511.S53 1994
- Smith, J. Frazer. Plantation Houses and Mansions of the Old
South. New
York:
Dover, 1993.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7211.S63 1993
- NTL FOLIO NA7211.S63 1993
- Wilson, Everett B. American Colonial Mansions and Other Early
Houses.
New
York: A.S. Barnes, 1965.
- ARCH STACKS NA7235.M3W5 1965b
Pattern Book Homes
- Guter, Robert P., and Janet W. Foster. Building by the Book: Pattern Book
Architecture in New Jersey. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 1992.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7235.N5G87 1992
- NTL FOLIO NA7235.N5G87 1992
- Reiff, Daniel D. Houses from Books: Treatises, Pattern Books, and Catalogs in
American Architecture, 1738-1950: A History and Guide. University Park:
Pennsylvania
State University Press, 2000.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.R435 2001
- Smeins, Linda E. Building an American Identity: Pattern Book Homes and
Communities,
1870-1900. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira, 1999.
- ARCH STACKS NA7571.S54 1999
Small Houses
- Dickinson, Duo. Small Houses for the Next Century. 2nd ed. New
York:
McGraw-Hill, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.D55 1995
- Jones, Robert T., ed. Authentic Small Houses of the Twenties: Illustrations and
Floor
Plans of 254 Characteristic Homes. New York: Dover, 1987. Reprint of Small
Homes of
Architectural Distinction, 1929.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.J66 1987
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.J66 1987
- Smith, Henry Atterbury. 500 Small Houses of the Twenties. New
York:
Dover,
1990. Reprint of vol. 1 of The Books of a Thousand Homes, 1923.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.S6525 1990
- NTL STACKS NA7205.S6525 1990
- Walker, Lester. Tiny Houses. Woodstock: Overlook, 1987.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.W36 1987
- MCK FOLIO NA7205.W36 1987
- Your Future Home. Architects' Small House Service Bureau of
the United
States.
Washington, D.C.: American Institute of Architects, 1992. Reprint of the 1923 edition.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.Y69 1992
Vacation Houses
- The Architectural Record Book of Vacation Houses. 2nd ed. New
York:
McGraw-Hill, 1977.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7574.A7 1977
return to top
American Houses by Style
- Baker, John Milnes. American House Styles: A Concise Guide.
New York:
Norton, 1994.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.B33 1994
- Grow, Lawrence. Classic Old House Plans: Three Centuries of American
Domestic
Architecture. Pittstown, N.J.: Main Street, 1984.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.G768 1984
- NTL STACKS NA7205.G768 1984
- Grow, Lawrence. More Classic Old House Plans: Authentic Designs for
Colonial
and
Victorian Homes. Pittstown, N.J.: Main Street, 1986.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.G769 1986
- NTL STACKS NA7205.G769 1986
- McAlester, Virginia, and Lee McAlester. Great American Houses and Their
Architectural
Styles. New York: Abbeville, 1994.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.M36 1994
- NTL STACKS NA7205.M36 1994
Arts and Crafts/Craftsman
- Duchscherer, Paul. The Bungalow: America's Arts and Crafts
Home. New
York:
Penguin Studio, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7571.D8 1995
- NTL FOLIO NA7571.D8 1995
- Craftsman Bungalows: 59 Homes from the Craftsman. Ed.
Gustav Stickley.
New
York: Dover, 1988.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7571.C76 1988
- Craftsman-Style Houses. Newtown, Conn.: Taunton, 1995.
- NTL FOLIO NA7208.C68 1995
- Stickley, Gustav. Craftsman Homes: Architecture and Furnishings of the
American
Arts
and Crafts Movement. New York: Dover, 1979.
- ARCH FOLIO NA737.S65A4 1979b
- Tinniswood, Adrian. The Arts & Crafts House. New York:
Watson-Guptill,
1999.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7325.T56 1999
Cape Cod
- Connally, Ernest Allen. The Cape Cod House: An Introductory
Study.
Media, Pa.:
Society of Architectural Historians, 1960.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7235.M4C6
- Schuler, Stanley. The Cape Cod House: America's Most Popular
Home.
Exton, Pa.:
Schiffer, 1982.
- NTL FOLIO NA7235.M4S38 1982
- Schuler, Stanley. Saltbox and Cape Cod Houses. West Chester,
Pa.:
Schiffer,
1988.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7210.S39 1988
Colonial
- Colonial Houses: Modern Floor Plans and Authentic Exteriors for 161
Historical
Colonial Homes. Tucson: Home Planners, 1990.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7206.C65 1990
- Eberlein, Harold Donaldson, and Cortlandt Van Dyke Hubbard. Colonial
Interiors,
Federal and Greek Revival. New York: Helburn, 1938.
- ARCH FOLIO NA707.C65
- NTL FOLIO NA707.C65
- Underwood, Francis H. The Colonial House Then and Now: A Picture Study of
the
Early
American House Adapted to Modern Living. Rutland, Vt.: Tuttle, 1977.
- NTL STACKS NA7210.U5
Federal
- Garrett, Wendell. Classic America: The Federal Style & Beyond.
New
York:
Rizzoli, 1992.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7206.G37 1992
Georgian
- Architects' Emergency Committee. Great Georgian Houses of
America. 2
vols.
New York: Kalkhoff, 1933-37.
- ARCH FOLIO NA707.A7
- NTL FOLIO NA707.A7
- Parissien, Steven. The Georgian House in Britain and America.
New York:
Rizzoli, 1995.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7328.P325 1995
- Reiff, Daniel D. Small Georgian Houses in England and Virginia: Origins and
Development through the 1750s. Newark: University of Delaware Press, 1986.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7328.R4 1986
Gothic Revival
- McArdle, Alma deC., and Deirdre Bartlett McArdle. Carpenter Gothic:
Nineteenth-Century Ornamented Houses of New England. New York: Whitney
Library
of
Design, 1978.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7210.M3 1978
- NTL FOLIO NA7210.M3 1978
Greek Revival
- Major, Howard. The Domestic Architecture of the Early American Republic,
the
Greek
Revival. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1926.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.M3
Prairie
- Legler, Dixie. Prairie Style: Houses and Gardens by Frank Lloyd Wright and
the
Prairie School. New York: Stewart, 1999.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7218.L44 1999
- Von Holst, Hermann Valentin. Country and Suburban Homes of the Prairie
School
Period:
With 424 Photographs and Floor Plans. New York: Dover, 1982.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7561.V66 1982
- NTL FOLIO NA7561.V66 1982
Shingle Style
- The Architecture of the American Summer: The Flowering of the Shingle
Style.
New York: Rizzoli, 1989.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.A68 1989
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.A68 1989
- Roth, Leland M. Shingle Styles: Innovation and Tradition in American
Architecture,
1874 to 1982. New York: Norfleet; Abrams, 1999.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.R68 1999
- Scully, Vincent J., Jr. The Shingle Style and the Stick Style: Architectural
Theory
and Design from Downing to the Origins of Wright. Rev. ed. New Haven: Yale
University
Press, 1971.
- ARCH STACKS NA7207.S382
- MCK STACKS NA7207.S382
- NTL STACKS NA7207.S382
Spanish Colonial
- Bunting, Bainbridge. Taos Adobes: Spanish Colonial and Territorial
Architecture of
the Taos Valley. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1992.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7235.N62T364 1992
- Hannaford, Donald R., and Revel Edwards. Spanish Colonial or Adobe
Architecture
of
California, 1800-1850. Stamford, Conn.: Architectural Book Pub. Co., 1990.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7235.C2H3 1990
- Reeve, Agnesa Lufkin. From Hacienda to Bungalow: Northern New Mexico
Houses,
1850-1912. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1988.
- NTL STACKS NA7235.N6L84 1988
Victorian
- American Victoriana: Floor Plans and Renderings ... from the Scientific
American, Architects and Builders Editions, 1880 through 1905. Comp. Eugene
Mitchell.
Ed. Judith Lynch Waldhorn. San Francisco: Chronicle, 1979.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.A67
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.A67
- Comstock, William T. Victorian Domestic Architectural Plans and Details: 734
Scale
Drawings of Doorways, Windows, Staircases, Moldings, Cornices, and Other
Elements.
Rev. ed. of Modern Architectural Designs and Details, 1881. New York: Dover, 1987.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.V53 1987
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.V53 1987
- Delehanty, Randolph. In the Victorian Style. San Francisco:
Chronicle,
1991.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7238.S35D4 1991
- NTL FOLIO NA7238.S35D4 1991
- Gillon, Edmund V., Jr., and Clay Lancaster. Victorian Houses: A Treasury of
Lesser-Known Examples. New York: Dover, 1973.
- ARCH STACKS NA7207.G5
- NTL STACKS NA7207.G5
- Hussey, E.C. Cottage Architecture of Victorian America. New
York:
Dover,
1994. Reprint of Hussey's National Cottage Architecture, 1874.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.H87 1994
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.H87 1994
- Maass, John. The Victorian Home in America. New York:
Hawthorn, 1972.
- ARCH FOLIO NA710.M32 1972
- MCK FOLIO NA710.M32 1972
- NTL FOLIO NA710.M32 1972
- Naversen, Kenneth. East Coast Victorians: Castles & Cottages.
Wilsonville, OR:
Beautiful America Pub. Co., 1990.
- ARCH STACKS NA7208.7.N38 1990
- NTL STACKS NA7208.7.N38 1990
- Naversen, Kenneth. West Coast Victorians: A Nineteenth-Century
Legacy.
Wilsonville, OR: Beautiful America Pub. Co., 1987.
- NTL FOLIO NA7225.N38 1987
- Palliser, Palliser & Co. American Victorian Cottage Homes. New
York:
Dover,
1990. Reprint of Palliser's American Cottage Homes, 1878.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.P35 1990
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.P35 1990
- Pearl, Susan G. Victorian Pattern Book Houses in Prince George's County,
Maryland.
Upper Marlboro, Md.: Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, 1988.
- NTL FOLIO NA7127.P42 1988
- Reed, S. B. Victorian Dwellings for Village and Country.
Mineola, N.Y.:
Dover,
1999. Reprint of Dwellings for Village and Country, 1885.
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.R44 1999
- Sinclair, Peg B. Victorious Victorians: A Guide to the Major Architectural
Styles. New York: Holt, 1985.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7207.S562 1985
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.S562 1985
- Stevens, John Calvin, and Albert Winslow Cobb. American Domestic
Architecture:
A Late
Victorian Style Book. Watkins Glen, N.Y.: American Life Foundation & Study
Institute,
1978. Reprint of Examples of American Domestic Architecture, 1889.
- ARCH STACKS NA7207.S8 1978
- Victorian Dream Homes. Tucson: Home Planners, 1991.
- NTL FOLIO NA7207.V535 1991
- Victorian House Designs in Authentic Full Color: 75 Plates from the
"Scientific
American - Architects and Builders Edition", 1885-1894. Ed. Blanche Cirker.
Mineola,
N.Y.: Dover, 1996.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7206.V54 1996
- NTL FOLIO NA7206.V54 1996
- Woodward, George E. Victorian City and Country Houses: Plans and
Details.
New York: Dover, 1996. Reprint of Woodward's National Architect, Volume II, 1877.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7205.W66 1996
- NTL FOLIO NA7205.W66 1996
return to top
American Houses by Region
Northeast/New England
- Mallary, Peter T. Houses of New England. New York: Thames
and
Hudson, 1984.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7210.M25 1984
- Pillsbury, Richard, and Andrew Kardos. A Field Guide to the Folk Architecture
of
the
Northeastern United States. Hanover, N.H.: Dartmouth College, Dept. of
Geography,
1970.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.P55
- NTL STACKS NA7205.P55
- Pratt, Dorothy, and Richard Pratt. A Guide to Early American
Homes. 2
vols.
Vol. 1: North. New York: Bonanza, 1956.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.P68 1956a v. 1
Northwest
- Frank, Ann Wall. Northwest Style: Interior Design and Architecture in the
Pacific
Northwest. San Francisco: Chronicle, 1999.
- ARCH STACKS NA7224.F73 1999
- Humphrey, Linda, and Fred Albert. The Northwest. New York:
Bantam,
1989.
- ARCH STACKS NA7224.H86 1989
- Martin, Harry. Contemporary Homes of the Pacific Northwest.
Seattle:
Madrona,
1980.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7224.M37
South/Southeast
- Gammon, Mitzi. The South. New York: Bantam, 1991.
- ARCH STACKS NA7211.G35 1991
- Pratt, Dorothy, and Richard Pratt. A Guide to Early American
Homes. 2
vols.
Vol. 2: South. New York: Bonanza, 1956.
- ARCH STACKS NA7205.P68 1956a v. 2
West/Southwest
- Burba, Nora, and Paula Panich. The Desert Southwest. Toronto;
New York:
Bantam, 1987.
- ARCH STACKS NA7224.6.B87 1987
- Hess, Alan. Hyperwest: American Residential Architecture on the
Edge.
New
York: Whitney Library of Design, 1996.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7223.H47 1996
- McMillian, Elizabeth. Casa California: Spanish-Style Houses from Santa
Barbara to
San
Clemente. New York: Rizzoli, 1996.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7235.C22S686 1996
- Thompson, Elisabeth Kendall. Houses of the West. New York:
McGraw-Hill, 1979.
- ARCH FOLIO NA7223.T48
return to top
Online Resources
return to top
Related Architecture Library Guides
return to top
|