Navigation Bar

 

WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE

Scope: This guide is a bibliography of selected resources on women in architecture within the libraries of the University of Maryland, primarily the Architecture Library, and online. Email the subject area specialist at jm127@umail.umd.edu or call 301-405-9260 for more information.


Table of Contents

Bibliographies

  • Coatsworth, Patricia A., ed. Women and Urban Planning: A Bibliography. Chicago, IL: CPL Bibliographies, 1981.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: HT167.C63
  • Doumato, Lamia. Architecture and Women: A Bibliography Documenting Women Architects, Landscape Architects, Designers, Architectural Critics and Writers, and Women in Related Fields Working in the United States. New York: Garland Publishing, 1988.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65D68 1988
  • Doumato, Lamia. California Women Architects: A Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1989.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA730.C2D68 1989
  • Doumato, Lamia. Women: Architects of the Environment. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1981.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.D678
  • Doumato, Lamia. Women as Architects: A Historical View. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1978.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.D68
  • Harmon, Robert B. The Feminine Influence in Architecture: A Selected Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1980.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.H37

return to top

Collections

Women Architects

  • Adams, Annmarie. Designing Women: Gender and the Architectural Profession. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.A32 2000
  • Anthony, Kathryn H. Designing for Diversity: Gender, Race, and Ethnicity in the Architectural Profession. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.A56 2001
  • Berkeley, Ellen Perry, ed. Architecture: A Place for Women. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1989.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.A74 1989
  • Cole, Doris. From Tipi to Skyscraper: A History of Women in Architecture. New York: G. Braziller, 1973.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, MCK STACKS, NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.C57 1973
  • Hughes, Francesca, ed. The Architect: Reconstructing Her Practice. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.A68 1996
  • Lorenz, Clare. Women in Architecture: A Contemporary Perspective. New York: Rizzoli, 1990.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.L67 1990
  • Markelin, Ulla. Profiles: Pioneering Women Architects from Finland. Helsinki: Museum of Finnish Architecture, 1983.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1455.F5P76 1983
  • Martin, Rochelle. The Difficult Path: Women in the Architecture Profession. Ph. D. Thesis. University of Michigan, 1986.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.M37 1986a
  • Russell, Beverly. Women of Design: Contemporary American Interiors. New York: Rizzoli, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NK2004.R87 1992
  • Toy, Maggie. The Architect: Women in Contemporary Architecture. New York: Watson-Guptill, 2001.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.A73 2001
  • Women in American Architecture: A Historic and Contemporary Perspective. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1977.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO, NTL FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.W65
  • Women in Architecture: A Centennial Exhibit. Boston, MA: Boston Society of Architects, 1988.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.W66 1988
  • Women in Danish Architecture . København: Arkitektens, 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1997.W66 1991

return to top

Specific Women Architects

Diana Agrest

  • Agrest, Diana. Agrest and Gandelsonas: Works. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.A34A4 1995

Gae Aulenti

  • Aulenti, Gae. Gae Aulenti. New York: Rizzoli, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1123.A926A4 1997

Rebecca Binder

  • Nesmith, Eleanor Lynn. Rebecca L. Binder. Rockport, MA: Rockport Pub., 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.B495N47 1995
  • Predock, Antoine. Rebecca L. Binder: Spatial Dynamics. Milan: L'Arca Edizioni, 1999.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.B495 P74 1999

Lilian Bridgman

  • Bridgman, Lillian. Lilian Bridgman, Architect. Berkeley: Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association, 1983.
    LOCATION: NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.B683D38 1983

Merrill Elam

  • Scogin, Elam, and Bray: Critical Architecture. New York: Rizzoli International, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.S365S37 1992

Beatrix Jones Farrand

  • Balmori, Diana. Beatrix Farrand's American Landscapes: Her Gardens and Campuses. Sagaponack, NY: Sagapress, 1985.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, ART STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.F37B35 1985
  • Beatrix Jones Farrand (1872-1959): Fifty Years of American Landscape Architecture. Washington: Dumbarton Oaks Trustees for Harvard University, 1982.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.F37D85 1980
  • Brown, Jane. Beatrix: The Gardening Life of Beatrix Jones Farrand, 1872-1959. New York: Viking, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.F37B76 1995
  • Lott, Linda. Garden Ornament at Dumbarton Oaks. Washington: Dumbarton Oaks Library and Collection, 2001.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB466 .U63 D867 2001

Eileen Gray

  • Adam, Peter. Eileen Gray, Architect/Designer: A Biography. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1053.G73 A83 2000
  • Constant, Caroline. Eileen Gray. London: Phaidon, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1053.G73C66 2000
  • Doumato, Lamia. Eileen Gray, 1879-1976. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1981.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NK2012.G72D68
  • Eileen Gray: An Architecture for All Senses. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Graduate School of Design, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1053.G73A4 1996
  • Hecker, Stefan. Eileen Gray. Barcelona: Gustavo Gili, 1993.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.G68H4 1993

Zaha Hadid

  • Binet, Hélène. Architecture of Zaha Hadid in Photographs. Baden, Switzerland: Lars Müller Publishers, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1469.H33 A4 2000
  • Crickhowell, Nicholas. Opera House Lottery: Zaha Hadid and the Cardiff Bay Project. Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1469.H33C753 1997
  • Hadid, Zaha. LF One : Landscape Formation One in Weil am Rhein, Germany. Boston: Birkhauser, 1999.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA6930.H43 1999
  • Hadid, Zaha. Zaha Hadid: The Complete Buildings and Projects. New York: Rizzoli, 1998.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1469.H33H32 1998
  • Hadid, Zaha. Zaha M. Hadid. Tokyo: A.D.A. Edita, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA680.G2124 no.3
  • Zaha Hadid. Madrid: El Croquis, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA5.C7 vol.52
  • Zaha Hadid, 1992-1995. Madrid: El Croquis Editorial, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA5.C7 vol.73 no.1

return to top

Frances Halsband

  • R.M. Kliment & Frances Halsband, Architects: Selected and Current Works. Mulgrave, Vic.: Images Pub., 1998.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.R15A4 1998

Gisue and Mojgan Hariri

  • Frampton, Kenneth. Hariri & Hariri: Essays. New York: Monacelli Press, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.H293F73 1995

Itsuko Hasegawa

  • Dobney, Stephen, ed. Itsuko Hasegawa: Selected and Current Works. Mulgrave, Victoria: Images Pub. Group, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1559.H36I87 1997
  • Hasegawa, Itsuko. Itsuko Hasegawa. Berlin: Ernst & Sohn, 1993.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1559.H36A4 1993
  • Hasegawa, Itsuko. Itsuko Hasegawa: Island Hopping: Crossover Architecture. Rotterdam: NAI Publishers, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1559.H34 A4 2000

Elizabeth Hollander

  • Mattson, Denise. Elizabeth Hollander: The Rise of a Dynamic Urban Planner. Chicago, IL: DePaul University, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HT168.C5M38 1997

Gertrude Jekyll

  • Bisgrove, Richard. The Gardens of Gertrude Jekyll. Boston: Little Brown, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.J38B578 1992
  • Festing, Sally. Gertrude Jekyll. New York: Viking, 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.J38F37 1991
  • Gunn, Fenja. Lost Gardens of Gertrude Jekyll. New York: Macmillan Intl., 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: SB473.G86 1991
  • Hobhouse, Penelope, ed. Gertrude Jekyll on Gardening. Boston: D.R. Godine, 1983.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB473.J34 1984
  • Tankard, Judith B. Gertrude Jekyll: A Vision of Garden and Wood. New York: H.N. Abrams, Inc., 1989.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB466.G75E578 1989
  • Tankard, Judith B. Gertrude Jekyll at Munstead Wood: Writing, Horticulture, Photography, Homebuilding. Sagaponack, NY: Sagapress, 1996.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB466.G8M868 1996
  • Tooley, M. J., ed. Gertrude Jekyll: Essays on the Life of a Working Amateur. Durham, England: Michaelmas Books, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.J38G48 1995
  • Wallinger, Rosamund. Gertrude Jekyll's Lost Garden: The Restoration of an Edwardian Masterpiece. Woodbridge: Garden Art Press, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: SB473 .W35 2000

Eva Jiricna

  • Jiricna, Eva. Eva Jiricna, Designs. London: Architectural Association, 1987.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.J53A4 1987
  • Manser, José. Joseph Shops, Eva Jiricna. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA6220.M28 1991
  • Pawley, Martin. Eva Jiricna: Design in Exile. New York: Rizzoli, 1990.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.J57P3 1990

Françoise-Hélène Jourda

  • Jourda & Perraudin. Liège, France: Pierre Mardaga, 1993.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1053.J66J68 1993

Maya Lin

  • Lin, Maya Ying. Boundaries. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, ART STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: N6537.L54 A2 2000
  • Lin, Maya Ying. Maya Lin: Public/Private. Columbus, OH: Wexner Center for the Arts, 1994.
    LOCATION: ART STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: N6537.L54A4 1994
  • Maya Lin. Milano: Electa, 1998.
    LOCATION: ART STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.L48M29 1998
  • Maya Lin: A Strong Clear Vision. Video. Santa Monica, CA: Sanders & Mock Productions, 1995.
    LOCATION: NPRINT CIRVDV
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.L48M39 1995

return to top

Margaret McCurry

  • McCurry, Margaret. Margaret McCurry: Constructing Twenty-Five Short Stories. New York: Monacelli Press, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.M436A2 2000
  • Tigerman, Stanley. Tigerman McCurry, 1960-1993. Tokyo: E ando Yu, 1994.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.T49 A4 1994

Julia Morgan

  • Boutelle, Sara Holmes. Julia Morgan, Architect. Rev. ed. New York: Abbeville Press, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.M68B68 1995
  • Hearst Castle, San Simeon. Video. New York: New Video Group, 1996.
    LOCATION: NPRINT CIRVDV
    CALL NUMBER: F868.S18 H4 1996
  • Kastner, Victoria. Hearst Castle: The Biography of a Country House. New York: H.N. Abrams, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO, NTL FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA7615.H37 K37 2000
  • White, Anthony G. Julia Morgan, Architect: A Selected Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1990.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.M68W48 1990

Patricia Patkau

  • Carter, Brian. Patkau Architects. Halifax, NS: TUNS Press, 1994.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA749.P38A4 1994

Carme Pinós

  • The Architecture of Enric Miralles and Carme Pinós. New York: SITES/Lumen Books, 1990.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1313.M57A4 1990
  • Carme Pinós: Plym Distinguished Professor in Architecture, 1994-1995. Champaign, IL: The School, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1313.P55C37 1995
  • Enric Miralles, Carme Pinós, 1983/1994: Obra Construida = Built Works. Madrid: El Croquis Editorial, 1994.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA5.C7 vol.30+49/50
  • Pinós, Carme. Carme Pinós: Some Projects. Barcelona: ACTAR, 1998.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA1313.P56
  • Zabalbeascoa, Anatxu. Igualada Cemetery: Enric Miralles and Carme Pinós. London: Phaidon, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1313.M57Z3 1996

Eleanor Raymond

  • Cole, Doris. Eleanor Raymond, Architect. lphia: Art Alliance Press, 1981.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.R34C6

Lutah Maria Riggs

  • Gebhard, David. Lutah Maria Riggs: A Woman in Architecture, 1921-1980. Santa Barbara, CA: Capra Press, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.R54G4 1992

Emily Warren Roebling

  • Weigold, Marilyn E. Silent Builder: Emily Warren Roebling and the Brooklyn Bridge. Port Washington, NY: Associated Faculty Press, 1984.
    LOCATION: ENGIN STACKS, MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: TG25.N53W45 1984

Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky

  • Noever, Peter, ed. Die Frankfurter Küche von Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky. Berlin: Ernst & Sohn, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1011.5.S37A4

Martha Schwartz

  • Martha Schwartz: Transfiguration of the Commonplace. Washington: Spacemaker Press, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.S36 1997

return to top

Denise Scott Brown

  • Amery, Colin. A Celebration of Art & Architecture: The National Gallery Sainsbury Wing. London: National Gallery Publications, 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: N1070.A94 1991
  • Moos, Stanislaus von. Venturi, Rauch, & Scott Brown: Buildings and Projects. New York: Rizzoli, 1987.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.V45M6 1987
  • Moos, Stanislaus von. Venturi, Scott Brown & Associates: Buildings and Projects, 1986-1998. New York: Monacelli Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.V49M66 1999
  • Out of the Ordinary: Robert Venturi, Denise Scott Brown and Associates: Architecture, Urbanism, Design. Philadelphia, PA: Yale University Press, 2001.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.V49 A4 2001
  • Sanmartin, Antonio, ed. Venturi, Rauch, & Scott Brown: Obras y Proyectos, 1959-1985/Works and Projects, 1959-1985. Barcelona: G. Gili, 1986.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.V4V467
  • Venturi Scott Brown & Associates: On Houses and Housing. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA7239.V46A4 1992

Ellen Shipman

  • Karson, Robin S. The Muses of Gwinn: Art and Nature in a Garden Designed by Warren H. Manning, Charles A. Platt & Ellen Biddle Shipman. Sagaponack, NY: Sagapress, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB466.U7G884 1995
  • Tankard, Judith B. The Gardens of Ellen Biddle Shipman. New York: Distributed by H.N. Abrams, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.S48T36 1996

Kaija Siren

  • Doumato, Lamia. Heikki and Kaija Siren: Finnish Design Team. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1980.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1193.D6
  • Siren, Kaija. Kaija + Heikki Siren: Architects. Stuttgart: K. Kramer, 1978.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA1455.F53S582 1978

Alison Margaret Smithson

  • Alison + Peter Smithson. London: Academy Editions, 1982.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.S58A4 1982
  • Smithson, Alison Margaret. The Charged Void--Architecture. New York: Monacelli Press, 2001.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.S57 A4 2001
  • Smithson, Alison Margaret. Climate Register. 2 vols. London: Architectural Association, 1994.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.S58A4 1994
  • Smithson, Alison Margaret. Modernism without Rhetoric: Essays on the Work of Alison and Peter Smithson. London: Academy Editions, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.S57S65 1997
  • Smithson, Alison Margaret. Urban Structuring: Studies of Alison & Peter Smithson. New York: Reinhold, 1967.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA9031.S6 1967
  • Vidotto, Marco. Alison + Peter Smithson. Barcelona: G. Gili, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA997.S58V53 1997

Laurinda Spear

  • Dunlop, Beth. Arquitectonica. Washington: American Institute of Architects Press, 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.A77D8 1991
  • Richardson, Sara. Arquitectonica: Laurinda Spear, Bernardo Fort-Brescia and Hervin Romney: A Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1989.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.A77R53 1989

Anne Tyng

  • Kahn, Louis I. Louis Kahn to Anne Tyng: The Rome Letters, 1953-1954. New York: Rizzoli, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.K32A3 1997

Beverly Willis

  • Willis, Beverly. Invisible Images: The Silent Language of Architecture and the Selected Works of Beverly Willis. Washington: National Building Museum, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA737.W528A4 1997

Florence Yoch

  • Yoch, James J. Landscaping the American Dream: The Gardens and Film Sets of Florence Yoch, 1890-1972. New York: H. N. Abrams, 1989.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: SB470.Y66Y663 1989

return to top

Architecture and Women (Gender Studies)

  • Adams, Annmarie. Architecture in the Family Way: Doctors, Houses, and Women, 1870-1900. Montreal: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA7328.A32 1996
  • Agrest, Diana, ed. The Sex of Architecture. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65S48 1996
  • Allen, Polly Wynn. Building Domestic Liberty: Charlotte Perkins Gilman's Architectural Feminism. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1988.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: PS1744.G57Z54 1988
  • Betsky, Aaron. Building Sex: Men, Women, and the Construction of Sexuality. New York: William Morrow, 1995.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65B48 1995
  • Booth, Chris, ed. Changing Places: Women's Lives in the City. London: P. Chapman, 1996.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1154.C456 1996
  • Coleman, Debra, ed. Architecture and Feminism. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.F45A73 1996
  • Colomina, Beatriz. Sexuality & Space. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NX650.S8S48 1992
  • Dandekar, Hemalata C., ed. Shelter, Women, and Development: First and Third World Perspectives. Ann Arbor, MI: G. Wahr Pub. Co., 1993.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO, MCK FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: HD7286.S53 1993
  • Davison, Jane. The Fall of a Doll's House: Three Generations of American Women and the Houses They Lived In. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1980.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ759.D32
  • Drucker, Susan J., ed. Voices in the Street: Explorations in Gender, Media, and Public Space. Cresskill, NJ: Hampton Press, 1997.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HT153.V65 1997
  • Durning, Louise, ed. Gender & Architecture. New York: Wiley, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65 G455 2000
  • Friedman, Alice T. Women and the Making of the Modern House: A Social and Architectural History. New York: Abrams, 1998.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65F75 1998
  • Greed, Clara. Women and Planning: Creating Gendered Realities. New York: Routledge, 1994.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HT166.G687 1994
  • Hayden, Dolores. The Grand Domestic Revolution: A History of Feminist Designs for American Homes, Neighborhoods, and Cities. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1981.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, MCK STACKS, NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1426.H33
  • Kampen, Natalie. Feminism and Methodology: Dynamics of Change in the History of Art and Architecture. Wellesley, MA: Wellesley College, 1983.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1101.W83 no.122
  • Keller, Suzanne Infeld, ed. Building for Women. Lexington, MA: Lexington Books, 1981.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HD108.6.B84
  • Lees-Milne, Alvilde. The Englishwoman's House. Salem, NH: Salem House, 1984.
    LOCATION: NTL FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA7328.E53
  • Miranne, Kristine B., ed. Gendering the City: Women, Boundaries, and Visions of Urban Life. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2000.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HT166.G4614 2000
  • Rendell, Jane, ed. Gender Space Architecture: An Interdisciplinary Introduction. New York: E & FN Spon, 2000.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65G46 2000
  • Rendell, Jane, ed. The Pursuit of Pleasure: Gender, Space, & Architecture in Regency London. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2002.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65 R46 2002
  • Roberts, Marion. Living in a Man-Made World: Gender Assumptions in Modern Housing Design. New York: Routledge, 1991.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65R64 1991
  • Rothschild, Joan, ed. Design and Feminism: Re-Visioning Spaces, Places, and Everyday Things. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.F45D47 1999
  • Rüedi, Katerina, ed. Desiring Practices: Architecture, Gender, and the Interdisciplinary. London: Black Dog Pub., 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65D47 1996
  • Spain, Daphne. Gendered Spaces. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1150.S68 1992
  • Taut, Bruno. La Nuova Abitazione: La Donna Come Creatrice. Roma: Gangemi, 1986.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65T38
  • Weisman, Leslie. Discrimination by Design: A Feminist Critique of the Man-Made Environment. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543.W65W45 1992
  • Wekerle, Gerda R., ed. New Space for Women. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1980.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS, NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HQ1154.N46

return to top

Online Resources

Educational Institutions

Suggested Terms for Further Searching

  • Architecture and women
  • Feminism and architecture
  • Women and city planning
  • Women architects
  • Women interior decorators
  • Women landscape architects
  • return to top

     

    © 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
    Last modified: August 20, 2004

    Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
    University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search