Navigation Bar

 

World's Fairs

Scope: This guide is a bibliography of selected general sources on World's Fairs in the University of Maryland Libraries and online. The guide contains a list of subject headings to be used when searching specific fairs in the catalog. See also the World's Fair Collection guide for information on the special collection held in the Architecture Library. Email the subject area specialist at jm127@umail.umd.edu or call 301-405-9260 for more information.


Table of Contents

 

Bibliographies

  • Bertuca, David J. The World's Columbian Exposition: a Centennial Bibliographic Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: T500.L1B47 1996
  • The Books of the Fairs: Materials about World's Fairs, 1834-1916, in the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Chicago: American Library Association, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF, MCKREF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: T395.S6 1992
  • A Manual of the William Freeman Myrick Goss Library of the History of Engineering, and Associated Collections. Purdue University, Engineering Experiment Station, 1947.
    LOCATION: ENGIN STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: Z881.L17
  • World's Fairs and Their Impact upon Urban Planning. Monticello, IL: Council of Planning Librarians, 1972.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF, MCK STOR
    CALL NUMBER: Z5942.C6 no. 303

return to top

Collections

  • Allwood, John. The Great Exhibitions.
    LOCATION: NTL FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: T395.A4
  • Aloi, Roberto. Esposizioni: architetture, allestimenti. Milano: Hoepli, 1960.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF
    CALL NUMBER: NA6750.A2A4
  • Augur, Helen. The Book of Fairs. Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: HF5471.A8 1992
  • Beutler, Christian. Weltausstellungen im 19. Jahrhundert. München: Die Neue Sammlung, Staatliches Museum f. angewandte Kunst, 1973.
    LOCATION: ENGIN STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: T395.B48
  • Celik, Zeynep. Displaying the Orient: Architecture of Islam at Nineteenth-Century World's Fairs. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: NA957.C44 1992
  • Cinquantenaire, 1885-1935. Comité francais des expositions et Comité national des expositions coloniales, réunis par décret du 10 juin 1925. Asnières, Presses de la S.I.M.A.G., 1935.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF
    CALL NUMBER: T395.C732
  • Clasen, Wolfgang. Expositions, Exhibits, Industrial and Trade Fairs. New York: Praeger, 1968.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: T396.C5613
  • Findling, John E., ed. Historical Dictionary of World's Fairs and Expositions, 1851-1988. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
    LOCATION: ARCH REF
    CALL NUMBER: T395.H57 1990
  • Friebe, Wolfgang. Buildings of the World Exhibitions. Leipzig, East Germany: Edition Leipzig, 1985.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF
    CALL NUMBER: NA6750.A2F713 1985
  • Greenhalgh, Paul. Ephemeral Vistas: The Expositions Universelles, Great Exhibitions, and World's Fairs, 1851-1939. St. Martin's Press, 1988.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: T395.G745 1988
  • Haddow, Robert H. Pavilions of Plenty: Exhibiting American Culture Abroad in the 1950s. Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1997.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS, ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: T395.5.U6H33 1997
  • Heaman, Elsbeth. The Inglorious Arts of Peace: Exhibitions in Canadian Society During the Nineteenth Century. Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: T395.5.C2H42 1999
  • Hilton, Suzanne. Here Today and Gone Tomorrow: The Story of World's Fairs and Expositions. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1978.
    LOCATION: NTL STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: T395.H54
  • Hütsch, Volker. Der Münchner Glaspalast, 1854-1931: Geschichte und Bedeutung. Berlin: Ernst, 1985.
    LOCATION: ARCH STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: NA6750.M8G5545 1985
  • Huynen, Johannes M. H. Trends in Trade Fairs: History, Environment, Marketing, Motivation. Valkenburg, Uitgeverij Het Land van Valkenburg, 1973.
    LOCATION: MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HF5470.H8
  • Junkin, Kathryne Von Ickes. International Fairs and Expositions. Washington: U.S. GPO, 1929.
    LOCATION: MCK STOR
    CALL NUMBER: HF105.B35 no.75
  • Kezys, Algimantas. Variations on a Theme: World's Fairs of the Eighties. Chicago, IL: Galerija, 1986.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF
    CALL NUMBER: T396.K49 1986
  • Lehman, Arnold L. 1930's Expositions. Lithography: Brodnax Print. Co., 1972.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: NA6750.A2D34
  • Le Livre des expositions universelles, 1851-1989. Paris: Herscher, 1983.
    LOCATION: ART FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: T395.L585 1983
  • MacKeith, Peter B. The Finland Pavilions: Finland at the Universal Expositions, 1900-1992. Kustanus Oy City: s.n., 1992.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: N7255.F5M3 1992
  • Mattie, Erik. World's Fairs. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1998.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXF
    CALL NUMBER: T395.M37 1998
  • Reinhard, Edgar. Nomadic Architecture: Human Practicality Serves Human Emotion: Exhibition Design. Baden, Switzerland: Lars Müller, 1998.
    LOCATION: ARCH FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA6750.A1R45 1998
  • Rydell, Robert W. All the World's a Fair: Visions of Empire at American International Expositions, 1876-1916. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1984.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP, MCK STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: T395.5.U6R93 1984
  • Rydell, Robert W., ed. Fair Representations: World's Fairs and the Modern World. Amsterdam: VU University Press, 1994.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: T395.F35 1994
  • Rydell, Robert W. World of Fairs: The Century-of-Progress Expositions. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1993.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: T395.5.U6R94 1993
  • Schramm, Raimund. The World's Fairs: Letters on International Exhibitions by a Commissioner to Vienna in 1873. Geneva, Printing Office of the Continent and Swiss Times, 1879.
    LOCATION: ARCH SPCEXP
    CALL NUMBER: T396.S3

return to top

Web Resources

return to top

Subject Headings

-Search the catalog using the following subject headings:

  • Exhibitions
  • Exhibition buildings
  • Fairs
  • Trade shows

-Refine your search for specific records by using temporal delimiters:

  • Exhibitions united states history 20th century
  • Exhibition buildings france paris

-Search for specific exhibition buildings by using the following headings:

  • Crystal palace hyde park london england
  • Crystal palace london england
  • Crystal palace new york
  • Pavillon de l'espagne exposition internationale 1937 paris france

Many of the works on World's Fairs are cataloged by fair. For information on a specific fair, use the following subject headings:

  • Great exhibition 1851 london england
  • Exhibition of art and art industry 1853 dublin ireland
  • Irish industrial exhibition 1853 dublin ireland
  • Exhibition of the industry of all nations 1853-1854 dublin
  • New york exhibition of the industry of all nations 1853-1854
  • Exposition universelle de paris en 1855
  • International exhibition 1862 london england
  • London international exhibition
  • London international exhibition 1862
  • Exposition universelle de 1867 a paris
  • Vienna international exhibition 1873
  • Centennial exhibition 1876 philadelphia pa
  • Paris universal exposition of 1878
  • Exposition universelle de 1878 paris france
  • International health exhibition 1884 london england
  • World's industrial and cotton centennial exposition 1884-1885 new orleans la
  • International exhibition of industry science and art 1886 edinburgh scotland
  • American exhibition 1887 london england
  • Italian exhibition 1888 london england
  • Exposition universelle de 1889 paris france
  • French exhibition 1890 london england
  • German exhibition 1891 london england
  • World's columbian exposition 1893 chicago ill
  • California midwinter international exposition 1894 san francisco calif
  • Exposition universelle internationale de 1900 paris france
  • Pan american exposition 1901 buffalo n y
  • Louisiana purchase exposition 1904 saint louis mo
  • Exposition universelle et internationale 1905 liege belgium
  • Lewis and clark centennial exposition 1905 portland or
  • Exposition internationale de milan 1906
  • Jamestown ter centennial exposition 1907
  • Exposicion hispano francesca 1908 zaragoza spain
  • Franco british exhibition 1908 london england
  • Japan british exhibition 1910 london england
  • Panama california exposition 1915-1916 san diego calif
  • Panama pacific international exposition 1915 san francisco calif
  • British empire exhibition 1924-1925 wembley london england
  • Exposition internationale des arts decoratifs et industriels modernes 1925 paris france
  • Sesqui centennial international exposition 1926 philadelphia pa united states
  • Exposicion internacional de barcelona 1929-1930
  • Century of progress international exposition 1933-1934 chicago ill
  • Exposition internationale 1937 paris france
  • Empire exhibition 1938 glasgow scotland
  • New york world's fair 1939-1940
  • Golden gate international exposition 1939-1940 san francisco calif
  • Esposizione universale di roma 1942 rome italy
  • Exposition universelle et internationale 1905 liege belgium
  • Century 21 exposition 1962 seattle wash
  • New york world's fair 1964-1965
  • Expo 67 montreal quebec
  • Expo '70 osaka japan
  • Expo '74 spokane wash
  • Exposition universelle de 1989 1989 paris france
  • Exposicion universal de 1992 seville spain
  • Expo 2000 hannover germany

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 20, 2004

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search