|
Art Libraries in Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia
Scope: This guide provides
a listing of libraries in the Washington, DC, metropolitan area
with significant collections of art-related materials. These libraries
include museum, academic, public, and special libraries.
In addition to location information, the guide provides links
to the libraries' Web sites, where available, as well as to a
searchable online directory of art libraries throughout the world.
The Web sites include additional information about the libraries'
collections, and, in many cases, provide remote access to their
online collection catalogs. Because the information listed in this
guide is subject to change, please call the libraries or consult
the Web sites for the most up-to-date information. Email the
subject area specialist at
lwg@umd.edu or call 301-405-9064 for more information.
Table of Contents
-
AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS LIBRARY AND ARCHIVES
(http://library.aia.org/)
PHONE: (202) 626-7492
ADDRESS: 1735 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006
HOURS: Mon-Fri 8:30am-5pm
FEE: $5 for non-AIA students.
SUBJECT: Architectural history, engineering, design, building arts, and urban planning. Slides of contemporary American architecture.
-
AMERICAN UNIVERSITY, BENDER LIBRARY
(http://www.library.american.edu)
PHONE: (202) 885-3232
ADDRESS: 4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20016
HOURS: Mon-Wed 8am-2am; Thu 8am-12am; Fri 8am-10pm; Sat 9am-9pm; Sun 9am-2am
SUBJECT: Western European art, American art and architecture, Japanese Ukiyoe.
-
ANACOSTIA MUSEUM AND CENTER FOR AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORY AND CULTURE
(http://www.sil.si.edu/BranchBrochures/anac-bro.htm)
PHONE: (202) 287-3381
ADDRESS: 1901 Fort Place, SE, Washington, DC 20020
HOURS: Mon-Fri 8:30am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: History and culture of the African diaspora in the Western hemisphere.
-
ARCHIVES OF AMERICAN ART
(http://www.archivesofamericanart.si.edu/start.htm)
PHONE: (202) 275-2156
ADDRESS: 9th St. NW, Suite 2200, Washington, DC 20560
HOURS: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm
SUBJECT: Microform copies of primary documents by artists, dealers, collectors, and curators; American art auction and exhibition catalogues.
-
CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY, MULLEN LIBRARY
(http://libraries.cua.edu/collecs.html)
PHONE: (202) 319-5070
ADDRESS: 620 Michigan Avenue, NE, Washington, DC 20064
HOURS: Mon-Fri 8am-10pm; Sat 9am-10pm; Sun 11am-10pm
SUBJECT: Christian theology and history.
-
CORCORAN GALLERY AND SCHOOL OF ART / LIBRARY
(http://www.corcoran.org/college/library.htm/)
(Click on "Library")
PHONE: (202) 822-1729
ADDRESS: 1705 H Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
HOURS: Mon-Thu 8:30am-8pm; Fri 8:30am-5pm; Sat 10am-4pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Studio art and art history.
-
DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION MUSEUM LIBRARY
(http://www.dar.org/library/default.html)
PHONE: (202) 879-3229
ADDRESS: 1776 D Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006
HOURS: Mon-Fri 8:45am-4pm; Sun 1am-5pm
FEE: $5 Mon-Fri; $3 Sun
SUBJECT: American decorative arts, especially ceramics, porcelain, and silver.
-
DUMBARTON OAKS
(http://www.doaks.org/Libraries.html)
ADDRESS: 1703 32nd Street, NW, Washington, DC 20007
Byzantine Library Collection
PHONE: (202) 339-6980
HOURS: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Byzantine studies; Index of Christian Art.
Garden Library
PHONE: (202) 339-6462
HOURS: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Rare books on horticulture and garden architecture.
Pre-Columbian Library Collection
PHONE: (202) 339-6443
HOURS: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: The major cultures of Mexico and Central and South America from their origins to the Spanish conquest.
-
FOLGER SHAKESPEARE LIBRARY
(http://www.folger.edu/library/use.asp)
PHONE: (202) 544-4600
ADDRESS: 201 East Capitol Street, SE, Washington, DC 20003
HOURS: Mon-Fri 8:45am-4:45pm; Sat 9am-12pm and 1pm-4:30pm; by
appointment to holders of reader's cards
SUBJECT: Shakespeare, drama, Renaissance English and early modern European civilization.
-
FREER / SACKLER LIBRARY
(http://www.sackler-freer-library.si.edu)
PHONE: (202) 357-4880 Ext. 343
ADDRESS: 1050 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20560
HOURS: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm
SUBJECT: Decorative arts and architecture of the Near and Far East; Indian Art; 19th-century American art, particularly that of Whistler.
-
GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY, GELMAN LIBRARY
(http://www.gwu.edu/gelman/)
PHONE: (202) 994-6455
ADDRESS: 2130 H Street, NW, Washington, DC 20052
HOURS: Mon-Thu 7am-12am; Fri 7am-10pm; Sat 9am-10pm; Sun 9am-12am
SUBJECT: Washingtonian, urban, and regional planning; museum studies.
NOTE: CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC; see entrance policy for requirements for users affiliated with university consortia
-
GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY, LAUINGER LIBRARY
(http://gulib.lausun.georgetown.edu)
PHONE: (202) 687-7452
ADDRESS: 37th & N Streets, NW, Washington, DC 20057
HOURS: Mon-Thu 8:30am-12am; Fri 8:30am-10pm; Sat 10am-10pm; Sun 11am-12am
SUBJECT: Undergraduate-level art history collection.
-
HIRSHHORN MUSEUM AND SCULPTURE GARDEN LIBRARY
(http://hirshhorn.si.edu/museum/research.html)
PHONE: (202) 357-3222, Ext. 126
ADDRESS: Independence Avenue & 7th Street, SW, Washington, DC 20560
HOURS: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: 19th- and 20th-century American and European painting and sculpture; collection of Armory Show memorabilia.
-
HOWARD UNIVERSITY, FOUNDERS LIBRARY / UNDERGRADUATE LIBRARY
(http://www.founders.howard.edu/)
PHONE: (202) 806-7234
ADDRESS: 500 Howard Place, NW, Washington, DC 20059
HOURS: Mon-Thu 8am-12am; Fri 8am-5pm; Sat 9am-6pm; Sun 12:30am-9pm
SUBJECT: Undergraduate-level collection in art history, particularly in African American art.
-
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS
(http://lcweb.loc.gov/)
PHONE: (202) 707-5000
ADDRESS: Thomas Jefferson Building, 101 Independence Avenue, SE, Washington, DC 20540
HOURS: Mon-Wed-Thu 8:30am-9:30pm; Tue-Fri-Sat 8:30am-5pm
SUBJECT: The Prints and Photographs Division houses photographs of the Historic American Building Survey.
-
MARTIN LUTHER KING MEMORIAL LIBRARY
(http://www.dclibrary.org/mlk/)
PHONE: (202) 727-0321
ADDRESS: 901 G Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001
HOURS: Mon-Thu 10am-9pm; Fri-Sat 10am-5:30pm; Sun 1pm-5pm
SUBJECT: Vertical files on local artists, a general art reference collection, Washington collection of historic photographs.
-
NATIONAL ARCHIVES, ARCHIVES LIBRARY INFORMATION CENTER
(http://www.archives.gov)
PHONE: (202) 501-5421
ADDRESS: 7th Street & Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20408
HOURS: Mon-Fri 9am-3:30pm
SUBJECT: U.S. government records from 1775 and a collection of photographs.
-
NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR THE ARTS LIBRARY
(http://arts.endow.gov/learn/NEAGuide/Library.html)
PHONE: (202) 682-5485
ADDRESS: 1100 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20506
HOURS: Mon-Thu 7:30am-12pm and 1-4:30pm; Fri 7am-12pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Federal aid to the arts, arts management, and cultural policy.
-
NATIONAL GALLERY OF ART RESEARCH LIBRARY
(http://www.nga.gov/resources/dldesc.htm)
PHONE: (202) 842-6511
ADDRESS: 4th Street & Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20565 (East Building, Main Floor)
HOURS: Mon 12pm-4:30pm; Tue-Fri 10am-4:30pm; by appointment only
NOTE: Only notebooks are permitted into this library.
SUBJECT: Western art especially Leonardo da Vinci, the Paris Salons. Photographic archives include holdings of the Witt Library and Marburger Indexes for France and Germany.
-
NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC SOCIETY LIBRARY
(http://www.nationalgeographic.com/resources/ngs/library/)
PHONE: (202) 857-7783
ADDRESS: 1145 17th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20036
HOURS: Mon-Fri 1:30pm-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Book collection includes art and photography.
-
NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AFRICAN ART, WARREN M. ROBBINS LIBRARY
(http://www.sil.si.edu/libraries/nmafa-hp.htm)
PHONE: (202) 357-4600 Ext. 286
ADDRESS: 950 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20560
HOURS: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Books and photographs on African art, crafts, ethnography, folklore, and African American arts and history.
- NATIONAL MUSEUM OF AMERICAN ART
See: SMITHSONIAN AMERICAN ART MUSEUM
-
NATIONAL MUSEUM OF WOMEN IN THE ARTS LIBRARY AND RESEARCH CENTER
(http://www.nmwa.org/library/)
PHONE: (202) 783-7365
ADDRESS: 1250 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20005
HOURS: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Artist's books by women; exhibition catalogs and vertical files on women artists.
-
ORGANIZATION OF AMERICAN STATES, COLUMBUS MEMORIAL LIBRARY
(http://tlc.library.net/columbus/default.asp)
PHONE: (202) 458-6037
ADDRESS: 19th & Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20006
HOURS: Mon-Thu 9:30am-4:30pm; Fri 1:30pm-4:30pm
SUBJECT: Vertical file collection on Latin American artists.
- THE PHILLIPS COLLECTION LIBRARY
PHONE: (202) 387-2151 Ext. 212
ADDRESS: 1600 21st Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009
HOURS: Mon-Thu 10am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: 19th- and 20th-century French painters and American modernists.
-
SMITHSONIAN AMERICAN ART MUSEUM / NATIONAL PORTRAIT GALLERY LIBRARY
(http://nmaa-ryder.si.edu/study/index.html)
PHONE: (202) 275-1912
ADDRESS: 750 9th St. NW, Room 2100, Washington, DC 20001
HOURS: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm
SUBJECT: American art, history and biography, the Juley collection of fine art photographs and an extensive clipping file on American artists.
-
SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION LIBRARIES
(http://www.sil.si.edu)
Also see individual listings in this guide for:
- Anacostia Museum
- National Museum of African Art, Warren M. Robbins Library
Smithsonian Institution, Museum Reference Center
(http://www.sil.si.edu/BranchBrochures/mrc-bro.htm)
PHONE: (202) 786-2271
ADDRESS: Arts and Industries Building, Room 2235, 900 Jefferson Drive, SW, Washington, DC 20560
HOURS: Mon-Fri 8:45am-5:15pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Museum operations.
-
TEXTILE MUSEUM, ARTHUR D. JENKINS LIBRARY
(http://www.textilemuseum.org/education/library.htm)
PHONE: (202) 667-0441
ADDRESS: 2320 S Street, NW, Washington, DC 20008
HOURS: Wed-Fri 10am-2pm; Sat 10am-4pm
SUBJECT: Ancient and ethnographic textiles, oriental rugs
and contemporary fiber arts.
return to top
-
BALTIMORE MUSEUM OF ART, E. KIRKBRIDE MILLER ART RESEARCH LIBRARY
(http://www.artbma.org/)
(Click on "Visitor Information")
PHONE: (410) 396-6317
ADDRESS: 10 Art Museum Drive, Baltimore, MD 21218
HOURS: Wed-Fri 9am-5pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Photography; American decorative arts; 19th- and 20th-century French art, the arts of Africa, the Americas, and Oceania.
-
ENOCH PRATT FREE LIBRARY, FINE ARTS DEPARTMENT
(http://www.pratt.lib.md.us/)
PHONE: (410) 396-5430
ADDRESS: 400 Cathedral Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
HOURS: Mon-Wed 10am-8pm; Thu 10am-5:30pm; Fri-Sat 10am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm
SUBJECT: Picture file, and the Hilda Holme Collection of illustrated books.
-
JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY, MILTON S. EISENHOWER LIBRARY
(http://webapps.jhu.edu/jhuniverse/libraries/index.cfm)
PHONE: (410) 516-8335
ADDRESS: 3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
HOURS: Mon-Thu 8am-12am; Fri-Sat 8am-10pm; Sun 10am-12am
-
MARYLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY LIBRARY
(http://www.mdhs.org/explore/library.html)
PHONE: (410) 685-3750
ADDRESS: 201 West Monument Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
HOURS: Tue-Sat 10am-4:30pm
FEE: $4 entrance fee to historical society for non-members; students may become members for $20/year and use the library for no additional fee.
SUBJECT: American and Maryland history
-
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK LIBRARIES
(http://www.lib.umd.edu/)
ADDRESS: College Park, MD 20742
Architecture Library
(http://www.lib.umd.edu/ARCH/architecture.html)
PHONE: (301) 405-6317
ADDRESS: 1102 Architecture Building
Art Library
(http://www.lib.umd.edu/ART/art.html)
PHONE: (301) 405-9061
ADDRESS: 2213 Art Sociology Building
National Trust for Historic Preservation Library
(http://www.lib.umd.edu/NTL/ntl.html)
PHONE: (301) 405-6320
ADDRESS: Hornbake Library
HOURS: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm; all other times by appointment only
SUBJECT: Books, serials, postcards, audio cassettes, 16 mm films, and extensive vertical file material on historic preservation and restoration.
- WALTERS ART MUSEUM LIBRARY
(http://www.thewalters.org/html/visitor_main.asp)
(Click on "General Information", then "Library")
PHONE: (410) 547-9000 Ext. 274
ADDRESS: 600 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
HOURS: Tue-Fri 10am-4pm; by appointment only
SUBJECT: Art from prehistory to the late 19th-century; manuscript illumination and the decorative arts.
return to top
-
UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA, FISKE KIMBALL FINE ARTS LIBRARY
(http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/)
PHONE: (434) 924-6938
ADDRESS: Campbell Hall, Bayly Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22904
HOURS: Mon-Thu 8am-12am; Fri 8am-8pm; Sat 10am-8pm; Sun 12pm-12am
SUBJECT: Studio art, art history, architecture and architectural history, landscape architecture, urban and environmental planning, theater.
-
VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS LIBRARY
(http://www.vmfa.state.va.us/Library.html)
PHONE: (804) 340-1495
ADDRESS: 2800 Grove Avenue, Richmond, VA 23221
HOURS: Tue-Sat 11am-5pm
SUBJECT: Western and non-Western art, decorative arts, American and English silver, Fabergé, numismatics.
return to top
return to top
|