Navigation Bar

 

Major Microform Collections in Art

Scope: Following is a descriptive list of major art-related collections on microfiche and microfilm. Print guides to some of the individual collections are located in notebooks on Index Table 6 in the Art Library Reference collection. Email the subject area specialist at lwg@umd.edu or call 301-405-9064 for more information.


  • Acta Sanctorum... January-November, 1863-1931. Propylaeum... Novembris et Decembris, 1902-1940.
    1863. 2094 fiche.
    Scholarly lives of the saints edited by the Bollandists, a Belgian Jesuit community. LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: BX4655.A2 1863a

  • The Alinari Photo Archive.
    1983. 1067 fiche.
    Photographic record of the Alinari brothers' systematic reproduction of all the major Italian works of art from private and public collections. Includes five collections: Alinari, Brogi, Anderson, Manelli, and Fiorentini. Total of 150,000 catalogued plates. 21 indexes on 71 fiche located in reference section. Printed index. (ArtRef N4025.A44A41 1983a FOLIO)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N4025.A44A4 1983a

  • American Architecture Books Based on the Henry Russell Hitchcock Bibliography.
    1971-72. 114 reels.
    This is a microfilm collection of books, portfolios and pamphlets about architecture and related subjects published in America between the Revolution and the end of the nineteenth century. These publications, primarily builders' guides and house pattern books, influenced the architectural production of their day because their many plates were of direct practical usefulness to builders and carpenters. Some descriptive works, such as guide books, are also included. This collection is essential for the study of American architectural history. Printed index. (ARCH NA705.E44)
    LOCATION: ARCH M-film
    CALL NUMBER: NA705.A45

  • American Committee for South Asian Art Archive.
    1977. 262 fiche.
    Collection of 7,114 photographs that brings together several large private and institutional collections. It covers the Kushan and Gupta periods and cave paintings of South Asia.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N7301.A44 1977a

  • Ancient Roman Architecture.
    1982. 260 fiche
    Reproduction of the photographic and bibliographic archives of Roman architecture and topography of the Fototeca Union. Contains approximately 16,000 photographs arranged geographically. Printed index. (ArchRef NA310.I668 1982)
    LOCATION: ARCH M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NA310.I668

  • Archives of the Royal Society of Arts Series A: 1754-1800.
    1984.
    LOCATION: MCK M-film
    CALL NUMBER: T26.G7R68 1984

  • Art Exhibition Catalogues on Microfiche.
    1974- .
    Out-of-print exhibition catalogues.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • Art Exhibition Catalogues Subject Index.
    1977- .
    Index to 45,000 exhibition catalogues in the collection of the Arts Library, the University of California at Santa Barbara. Updated at six month intervals. Includes a subject index, an index to agents of publications, and full bibliographical information on each catalogue. Last issue June 1990.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N4390.A68

  • Art Press.
    1976. 21 fiche.
    Traces the history and development of the art periodical; based on an exhibition held at the Victoria and Albert Museum in 1976.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N1.A1A47

  • Blake, William.
    See William Blake.

  • British Journal of Photography, 1860-1978.
    78 reels.
    Provides information on the technical aspects of photography, articles by distinguished scientists, and reviews of the exhibitions. A valuable source for abstracts of important photographic patents.
    LOCATION: ART M-film
    CALL NUMBER: TR1.L51

  • Burrell Collection.
    1983. 104 fiche.
    This collection, which was presented to the city of Glasgow in 1944, includes many important examples in the decorative arts drawn from every civilization and field of art. Arranged in 35 categories. Printed guide kept in the Reference Microform Binder on Index Table 6.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N1315.B87G58 1983a

  • Chadwyck-Healey/Somerset House Exhibition Catalogues Subject List.
    1977. 13 fiche.
    Subject index in four parts: author, title, agent, and subject (including artists).
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N4396.I5 v.1-3

  • Costumes du Regne de Louis XIV.
    14 reels.
    5,779 frames of illustrations depicting Parisien and Court costume styles as well as accessories, furnishings, and genre objects.
    LOCATION: MCK M-film
    CALL NUMBER: GT857.C67

  • Costumes Parisiens dits "La Mesangere".
    7 reels.
    2,735 prints of drawings depicting contemporary society in Paris, published from 1797-1839. Illustrations are reproduced in the chronological order of their publication; most include brief handwritten captions with some description of the subject.
    LOCATION: MCK M-film
    CALL NUMBER: GT871.M47

  • Decimal Index to the Art of the Low Countries.
    Collection of 7,500 photographs of Dutch and Flemish paintings, drawings and prints from the period roughly 1400-1700. The photographs were selected and indexed by the University of Leiden and the Netherlands Institute for Art History at the Hague. Printed Index: Waal, H. van de. Iconclass, an Iconographic Classification System.
    LOCATION: ART REF Z697.A8W3
    CALL NUMBER: Not Cataloged

  • Deloynes Collection: Documents on the Fine Arts.
    1980. 516 fiche.
    Over two thousand items, including pamphlets, manuscripts and salon and exhibition catalogues pertaining to French art between 1675 and 1808, including Diderot's essays in art criticism, competitions, prizes, and juries, exhibitions and biographies. From documents in the Department des Estampes of the Bibliotheque National, Paris. Table of contents for each fiche on the first frame. Index is Duplessis, Georges. Catalogue de la Collection de Pieces sur les Beaux-Arts...Paris, France: Alphonse Picard, 1881. (ArtRef N2025.A55 1881)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N2025.A54

  • Design International: An Information and Bibliographical Database.
    1984-1989. Annual.
    Information on design, design history and designers compiled by the Leicester Polytechnic Library. Arranged in 24 subject categories. Ceased publication.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NK1160.D45

  • Devinck Collection: The Revolution of 1830 and the July Monarchy.
    1909-1979. 6 reels.
    A visual record of a "century of French history through prints" compiled by Baron Eugene de Vinck de Deux-Orp and his son Carl. Classified by theme, it provides a broad picture of life during the period through portraits of major participants, scenes of riots, allegories, cartoons, caricatures, posters, billboards, and public announcements.
    LOCATION: ART M-film
    CALL NUMBER: NE55.F7P358

  • Dictionnaire d'Archeologie Chretienne et de Liturgie.
    1907-1953. 413 fiche.
    Issued in 15 volumes from 1903-53. Signed scholarly articles with bibliographies and illustrations. Subjects: art, iconography, symbols, institutions, liturgy, rites and ceremonies of the early Church to the time of Charlemagne.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: BR95.C2 1907a

  • The Drawings of Raphael at the Ashmolean Museum.
    1986. 4 fiche.
    The drawings of Raphael at the Ashmolean Museum are reproduced on color microfiche. Printed index. (NC257.R3A41 1986)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NC257.R3A41 1986

  • Dunlap Society. Court Houses of the United States.
    1975-1978. 180 fiche.
    Based on the Seagram County Court House Archives, photographs of courthouses. 6,690 images, arranged by state.
    LOCATION: ARCH M-fiche FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: NA4471.C67

  • Emblem Books.
    Selected titles:
    A. Abraham a Sancta Clara. Nuttelijk mengelmoes (1718)
    A. Abraham a Sancta Clara. Mercurialis of wintergroen (1963)
    J. Abricht Divine Emblems (1838)
    F.D. de Saavedra. Idea Principis Christiano-Politici, Centum Symbolis expressa... (1649)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • Faber Birren Collection of Books on Color. Guide and Index to the Microfilm Collection.
    1983.
    Books on color, art theory and the graphic arts from the Faber Birren collection at Yale University, the Colour Reference Library at the Royal College of Art, London, the New York Public Library, and Harvard University Library. Library owns the printed guide only.
    LOCATION: ART FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: ND1489.F252 1982

  • Fine and Decorative Art in France.
    1984. 961 fiche.
    Photographic archives of the Caisse Nationale des Monuments Historiques et des Sites, Paris. A record of the principle works of art in French collections, both public and private, as well as works from foreign sources exhibited in France. This collection of over 70,000 items includes many monuments and works of art destroyed or lost in the two world wars. Handwritten index on microfiche.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N2010.F56

  • French Popular Lithographic Imagery, 1815-1870.
    From the collection of the Bibliotheque Nationale.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • History of Photography.
    1981-82. Printed bibliography and reel guide.
    Tracts, pamphlets, and periodicals covering European and American photography. Drawn from the holdings of the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House, the New York Public Library and Columbia University Library.
    LOCATION: ART REF
    CALL NUMBER: TR15.H573 1982

  • Index Iconologicus.
    1980. 400 fiche.
    60,000 entries (both text and images) assembled from 20 major sources, with an emphasis on 16th and 17th century prints. Arranged by name, word, place, concept and theme. In three sections: (1) Preface: an overview of the index with a bibliography, symbol and filing principles, (2) Primordia: important resources in the history of printing, and (3) Index.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N5301.I5

  • Index of American Design.
    1978-80. 291 fiche.
    15,000 images, in color, from the Federal Art Project's visual survey of objects of folk, decorative and popular arts from the early colonial period to 1900. Index is Consolidated Catalog to the Index of American Design. Cambridge: Chadwyck-Healey, 1980. (ArtRef NK805.I5 1979)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NK1403.I5

  • Index of Early Southern Artists and Artisans.
    1985. 36 fiche.
    Guide to data extracted from documents concerning artisans who worked in the South prior to 1821. Printed guide with instructions to obtain reprints from the Museum of Early Southern Decorative Arts (MESDA), Winston-Salem, NC. Arranged alphabetically by name, and geographically by county.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NK460.W85M8 1985

  • Index Photographique de l'Art en France.
    1979-80. 122 fiche.
    Black and white images of French art. Especially strong in medieval architecture and sculpture, with photographs of ecclesiastical and secular architecture and monuments. Includes many of the special collections of the Louvre.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N6841.I52

  • Institute for the History of Art, Florence, Italy. Catalogue.
    1964. Supplement 2, 4 reels; supplement 3,4 reels.
    The aim of the Institute is to provide a comprehensive collection for the study of the history of Italian art. Supplement 2: 14,000 titles added to the collection from 1968-1972. Supplement 3: 15,000 titles added to the collection from 1973-1977.
    LOCATION: ART M-film
    CALL NUMBER: Z5939.F54

  • Kasimir Malevich Archive, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam.
    1980. 46 fiche.
    Collection of thirty-five handwritten and typewritten texts, notebooks and clippings. Primarily in Russian and dating from 1913 to 1927.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N6999.M34A35

  • Knoedler Library of Art Exhibition Catalogues on Microfiche.
    1982- . 6,667 fiche.
    5,206 exhibition and salon catalogues in seven subject groups: (1) Salons and Annual Exhibitions, (2) European and American Art 1400-1775, (3) Nineteenth Century European and American Art, (4) Twentieth Century European Art, (5) Twentieth Century North American Art, (6) Major National and International Expositions and World's Fairs, (7) Exhibitions of the Knoedler Galleries.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • Library of the Freer Gallery of Art.
    1991. 252 fiche.
    The Library of the Freer Gallery of Art has a collection of more than 50,000 volumes that specialize in the arts of East, Central, and West Asia. This catalogue provides full and comprehensive access to this collection.
    LOCATION: ART REF M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: Z281.F74

  • M.C. Escher Archive Drawings.
    1981. 106 fiche.
    Complete collection of 2,100 original drawings by Escher. Arranged and catalogued by the Municipal Museum of the Hague.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NC263.E75A4 1981

  • Marburger Index: Photographic Documentation of Art in Germany.
    1976. 5,000 fiche.
    A collection of five thousand photographs representing the holdings of the Bildarchiv Foto Marburg at the University of Marburg Research Institute for the History of Art and the Rheinisches Bildarchiv, Cologne. Entries are arranged alphabetically by place name. The photographs were produced between 1850 and 1976, and include all genres of fine art from pre- and early history to the present day. Primarily German, particularly Rhenish, works of art. The microfiche indexes include: object/inventory; microfiche number; artist/oeuvre; graphic artists; women artists; patrons; primary iconography; secondary iconography (personifications/allegories/symbols, geographical names, religion and magic, saints, man and nature, everyday life, festivities/games/recreation, political and legal history, social and economic life, art and science, depicted works of art, the Bible, literary subjects, ancient mythology and history); anonymous works; objects according to function and type; material and technique; events; relocated works of art; book illustration and illumination; sculpture.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N6861.M3

  • Nigerian Bronzes from the Museum of Mankind.
    1985. 9 color fiche.
    Printed index. (ArtRef NK7989.6.N5M871 1985)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: NK7989.6.N5M87 1985

  • The Nineteenth Century: Specialist Collection Visual Arts and Architecture.
    This extensive collection (some 5,00 microfiche) is part of an even larger program to republish (on microfiche) English language books and pamphlets originally published between 1801-1900, and considered to be of research value to the fields of the visual arts and architecture. Printed index 1-10. (ArtRef N6450.V551 1986 FOLIO)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N6450.V55 1986

  • The Peabody Museum: A Visual Record of Artifacts.
    1990. 8 fiche.
    Includes works from the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnography, Harvard University. Printed index. (ArtRef GN36.U52C261 1990)
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: GN36.U52C261 1990

  • Photographic Views of New York City, 1870's-1970's.
    1981. 1,481 fiche.
    Visual history of New York, especially Manhattan, from the collections of the New York Public Library. The printed index provides access by subject, building and street. (MCK/NTL/ARCH F128.37.P44)
    LOCATION: MCK/NTL M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: F128.37.P44

  • Realencyclopaedie fur Protestantische Theologie und Kirche.
    1896-1913. 216 fiche.
    Issued between 1896 and 1913 in 24 volumes. Lengthy, signed articles (with bibliographies) by specialists. An important source of information on Protestantism.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: BR95.H4 1896

  • Royal Collection of Drawings and Watercolours from the Royal Library, Windsor Castle.
    1983. 23 reels.
    Complements the series of printed volumes on the Royal Collection published by Phaidon Press. Drawings are arranged under the following categories: Bolognese, Canaletto, Carracci, Castiglione and Stefano, Domenichino, Early Italian, English, Fontana, French, Holbein, Leonardo, Romano, Sandby, Venetian, German, and supplements.
    LOCATION: ART M-film
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • Royal Society of Arts (Great Britain). Archives of the Royal Society of Arts: Series A.
    1984. 31 reels.
    Printed Index. (MCK REF T26.G7R68)
    LOCATION: MCKPER M-film
    CALL NUMBER: T26.G7R68 1984

  • Turner Bequest: Watercolors, Pencil and Pastel Sketches Reproduced from the Sketch Books and Folios of J.M.W. Turner, R.A. (1775-1851) in the Department of Prints and Drawings at the British Museum.
    43 reels.
    19,331 watercolours, pencil and pastel sketches filmed in the order they appeared in the 1909 catalogue by A.J. Finberg. Index on Reel 39.
    LOCATION: ART M-film
    CALL NUMBER: NC242.T9A4 1968a

  • Victoria and Albert Museum Collection. Fine Art, Graphic Art and Design in the Victoria and Albert.
    1982. 489 fiche.
    Nearly 30,000 photographs show almost all the Museum's paintings, watercolours, and portrait miniatures, as well as large selections from European and Far Eastern schools, from the 15th century to the present. Divided into three main sections: P=Painting, D=Design, G=Graphic Art. Printed index kept in the Reference Microform Binder on Index Table 6.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N1150.A75 1982

  • Victoria and Albert Museum Collection.
    Dept. of Architecture and Sculpture (NB27.G7L62) 152 fiche
    Dept. of Ceramics (NK3735.G7L6) 225 fiche
    Dept. of Furniture (NK2216.G7L6) 110 fiche
    Dept. of Metalwork (NK6402.5.G7L6) 138 fiche
    Dept. of Textiles (NK8802.5.G7L62) 166 fiche
    Selected examples from a major collection, arranged by subject, subdivided by country of origin, and by date. Printed index kept in the Reference Microform Binder on Index Table 6.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • Victoria and Albert Library Subject Catalogue.
    1983. 879 fiche.
    Subject catalogue to the holdings of the Victoria and Albert Museum Library, 1.5 million entries with cross-references to many of the more than one million titles. In four main sections: (1) General alphabetical sequence, (2) Fine art and archaeology, (3) Applied and minor arts, (4) Book art. Printed index kept in the Reference Microform Binder on Index Table 6.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: Z921.L6V525 1983a

  • Viola, Herman Joseph. North American Indians: Photographs from the Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution.
    1974. 52 fiche.
    This collection reproduces the National Anthropological Archives collection of photographs, drawings, watercolors and engravings of North American Indians. The black and white prints include portraits of individuals, groups, dwellings, costumes, domestic activities, industries and the arts. Any information that is known about the print such as: photographer, date, name of person, subject (council meeting, burial house, etc), and ownership of original illustration (ex. British Museum) is included.
    LOCATION: MCKPER M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: E77.5.V5

  • Wallace Collection.
    1980. 74 fiche.
    Every painting and almost all the decorative arts in the Wallace Collection, with detailed illustrations. Old Master paintings, eighteenth and nineteenth century French and English works, Louis XIV, XV, and XVI furniture included in the four thousand images.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: N1160.W35

  • William Blake.
    15 reels.
    Blake's engravings, relief-etchings, watercolor drawings, and illustrations, some published for the first time, from the Blake Collection at the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge. Includes:
    First Book of the Urizen and the Book of Los (M-film PR4144.F5 1794a)
    Book of Thel and Visions of Daughters of Albion (M-film PR4144.B6 1789a)
    Europe: A Prophecy (M-film PR4144.E8 1794a)
    Milton (M-film PR4144.M6 1804a)
    America: A Prophecy (M-film PR4144.A5 1798a)
    Songs of Experience (M-film PR4144.S5 1789a)
    Songs of Innocence (M-film PR4144.S6 1789a)
    Jerusalem (M-film PR4144.J4 1804a)
    Marriage of Heaven and Hell (M-film PR4144.M3 1794a)
    Night Thoughts (M-film NE642.B5A63 1794a)
    LOCATION: ART M-film
    CALL NUMBER: catalogued separately

  • Zentralinstitut fur Kunstgeschichte in Munchen. Bibliothek. Alphabetischer Katalog.
    1981. 214 fiche.
    Author-title catalogue of the Library of the Central Institute for Art History, Munich. Complete book, exhibition catalogue and periodical holdings as of December 31, 1981. Covers all branches of art history and theory. Especially strong in aesthetics, iconography and French art.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: Z929.M839 1981

  • Zentralinstitut fur Kunstgeschichte in Munchen. Bibliothek. Kataloge der Unselbstandigen Schriften: Aufsatzkatalog.
    1983. 214 fiche.
    Analytical catalogue of articles and essays in the Library of the Central Institute for Art History, Munich as of December 31, 1982. Alphabetical listing by author.
    LOCATION: ART M-fiche
    CALL NUMBER: Z929.M8392 1983a

    return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 20, 2004

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search