|
Women Artists
Scope: This is a selective guide to sources of information on women artists. Email the subject area specialist at
lwg@umd.edu or call 301-405-9064 for more information.
Table of Contents
- Anderson, Janet A.
Women in the Fine Arts: A Bibliography and Illustration Guide. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1991.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8354.A53 1991
- Chiarmonte, Paula, ed.
Women Artists in the United States: A Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1990.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N65536.W65 1990
The CD-ROM version, entitled Women Artists on Disc, is also available.
-
Feministische Bibliografie zur Frauenforschung in der Kunstgeschichte. Pfaffenweiler: Centaurus, 1993.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N8354.F46 1993
- Kreisel, Martha.
American Women Photographers: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR139.K74 1999
- Langer, Cassandra L.
Feminist Art Criticism: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: G.K.Hall, 1993.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45L26 1993
The CD-ROM version, entitled Women Artists on Disc, is also available.
- McCracken, Penny.
Women Artists and Designers in Europe Since 1800: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: G.K. Hall, 1998.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6757.M33 1998
The CD-ROM version, entitled Women Artists on Disc, is also available.
- Palmquist, Peter E.
A Bibliography of Writings By and About Women in Photography, 1850-1950. San Bernardino, CA: Borgo Press, 1994.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z7134.P35 1994
- Piland, Sherry.
Women Artists: An Historical, Contemporary and Feminist Bibliography. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8354.P55 1994
- Puerto, Cecilia.
Latin American Women Artists, Kahlo and Look Who Else: A Selective, Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6502.5.P83 1996
- Puniello, Francoise S.
Abstract Expressionist Women Painters: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND212.5.A25P86 1996
- Roake, JoAnne.
Women Artists: A Selected Bibliography. Sacramento, CA: Library, California State University, 1977.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N8354.R6
- Tufts, Eleanor.
American Women Artists Past and Present: A Selected Bibliographic Guide. New York: Garland, 1984.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6505.T83 1984
- "Women Artists: A Resource and Research Guide."
Art Documentation. vol.1 no. 5 (October 1982).
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: Z5937.A181
return to top
-
Contemporary Artists. London: St. James Press, 1977-.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N6490.C6567
Latest edition in Reference.
- Dunford, Penny.
Biographical Dictionary of Women Artists in Europe and America Since 1850. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1989.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6757.D86 1989
- Gaze, Delia, Ed.
Concise Dictionary of Women Artists. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2001.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8354.D532 2001
- Gaze, Delia, Ed.
Dictionary of Women Artists. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8354.D53 1997 vols. 1-2
- Kovinick, Phil.
An Encyclopedia of Women Artists of the American West. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1998.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N8214.5.U6K68 1998
-
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Garland, 1995.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6503.N67 1995
- Petteys, Chris.
Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N43.P47 1985
The CD-ROM version, entitled Women Artists on Disc, is also available.
- Prather-Moses, Alice.
The International Dictionary of Women Workers in the Decorative Arts. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1981.
LOCATION: MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: HD6069.P7
- Turner, Jane, ed.
Grove Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N31.D5 1996
-
Who's Who in American Art. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1936-.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6536.W5
return to top
-
ARTbibliographies Modern. Santa Barbara, CA: Clio Press, Inc., 1974-.
LCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: Z5935.A7
Also available in print, 1969- .
-
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art
Abstracts (1984-present.) New York: H.W. Wilson (1929- ). In print as Art Index, 1929-1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: Z5937.A78
-
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Santa Monica, CA: J. Paul Getty Trust, Getty Art History Information Program, 1973-. In print, 1991-.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N1.A1B52
-
Women's Resources International. Baltimore, MD: National Informations Services, Corp., 1972- .
Includes Women's Studies Abstracts, Women Studies Index (see below) and a number of other databases.
-
Women Studies Abstracts. Rush, NY: Women Studies Abstracts, 1972- .
LOCATION: MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: Z7962.W65
-
Women's Studies Index. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1989-1991.
LOCATION: MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: HQ1180.W68 1989
return to top
(see also ENCYCLOPEDIAS and DICTIONARIES)
Indexes
- McNeil, Barbara, ed.
Artist Biographies Master Index. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1986.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N40.A78 1986
Sources
- Agosin, Marjorie, ed.
A Woman's Gaze: Latin American Women Artists. Fredonia, NY: White Pine Press, 1998.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: NX501.5.W66 1998
- Beckett, Wendy.
Contemporary Women Artists. New York: Universe Books, 1988.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45B43 1988
- Bentivoglio, Mirella.
The Women Artists of Italian Futurism: Almost Lost to History. New York: Midmarch Art Press, 1997.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: NX552.A1B46 1997
- Chadwick, Whitney.
Women, Art, and Society. 3rd ed. New York: Thames and Hudson, 2002.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N8354.C48 2002
- Collins, Jim.
Women Artists in America: 18th Century to the Present (1790-1980). Poughkeepsie, NY: Apollo, 1980.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6536.C523 1980
- Farris, Phoebe, ed.
Women Artists of Color: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook to 20th Century Artists in the Americas. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8354.W656 1999
-
Gumbo Ya Ya: Anthology of Contemporary African-American Women Artists. New York: Midmarch Arts Press, 1995.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6538.N5G85 1995
- Henkes, Robert.
The Art of Black American Women: Works of Twenty-Four Artists of the Twentieth Century. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1993.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N6538.N5H45 1993
- Henkes, Robert.
Latin American Women Artists of the United States: The Works of 33 Twentieth-Century Women. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1999.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6538.H58H46 1999
-
Kathe, Paula und der Ganze Rest. Berlin: Kupfergraben, 1992.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6887.K28 1992
-
Making Their Mark: Women Artists Move Into the Mainstream, 1970-85. New York: Abbeville Press, 1988.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N6512.M27 1989
- Marsh, Jan.
Pre-Raphaelite Women Artists. Manchester: Manchester City Art Galleries, 1997.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N6767.5.P7M385 1997
- Martin, Elizabeth.
Female Gazes: Seventy-Five Women Artists. Toronto: Second Story Press, 1997.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N8354.M37 1997
- Rosenblum, Naomi.
A History of Women Photographers. New York: Abbeville Press, 1994.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: TR139.R67 1994
- Waller, Susan.
Women Artists in the Modern Era: A Documentary History. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1991.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N43.W26 1991
return to top
- Broude, Norma and Mary D. Garrard, eds.
The Power of Feminist Art: The American Movement of the 1970's, History and Impact. New York: H.N. Abrams, 1994.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45P68 1994
- Isaak, Jo Anna.
Feminism and Contemporary Art: The Revolutionary Power of Women's Laughter. New York: Routledge, 1996.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45I82 1996
- Kavalier-Adler, Susan.
The Compulsion to Create: A Psychoanalytic Study of Women Artists. New York: Routledge, 1993.
LOCATION: MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: RC451.4.A96K38 1993
- Meskimmon, Marsha.
The Art of Reflection: Women Artists' Self-Portraiture in the Twentieth Century. New York: Columbia University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N71.M45 1996
- Pollock, Griselda, ed.
Generations & Geographies in the Visual Arts: Feminist Readings. New York: Routledge, 1996.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45G46
- Witzling, Mara R.
Voicing Today's Visions: Writings by Contemporary Women Artists. New York: Universe, 1994.
LOCATION: ART STACKS, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N8354.V59 1994
return to top
-
Heresies. New York: Heresies Collective, Inc.,
1977/78-1990/93.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: NX180.F4H4
-
n.paradoxa. London: KT Press, 1996- .
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45 N737
http://web.ukonline.co.uk/n.paradoxa
-
National Update. Philadelphia: Women's Caucus for Art National Office, 1989-1996.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: NX180.F4N3
-
Woman's Art Journal. Knoxville, TN: Woman's Art, Inc., 1980/1981- .
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45W64
-
Women Artists Newsletter. New York: Midmarch Associations, 1978- .
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: HQ1389.W6
-
Women in the Arts. Washington, DC: National Museum of Women in the Arts, 1991- .
LOCATION: CURPER
Latest year only.
return to top
Indexes
-
The Art Book Biannual. Ithaca, NY: Worldwide Books, 1992-.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N1.A781
-
Worldwide Art Catalogue Bulletin. Boston: Worldwide Books, 1963/64-1986.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: Z5939.W6
Catalogues
-
Bearing Witness: Contemporary Works by African American Women Artists. New York: Spelman College and Rizzoli International Publications, 1996.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N6538.N5B43 1996
- Heller, Nancy.
Women Artists: Works from the National Museum of Women in the Arts.
Washington, D.C.: National Museum of Women in the Arts, 2000.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N858.N36A88 2000
-
Inside the Visible: An Elliptical Traverse of 20th Century Art In, Of, and From the Feminine. Cambridge, MA: The MIT Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N8354.I58 1996
-
National Museum of Women in the Arts. New York: Abrams, 1987.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N858.N36A56 1987
-
Mary H. Dana Women Artists Series: 25th Year Retrospective. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Libraries, 1996.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N8354.M27 1996
return to top
-
The National Museum of Women in the Arts Collection. Columbus, OH: McGraw-Hill Home Interactive, 1997.
LOCATION: AUTOM
CALL NUMBER: N858.N36A64 1997
-
Women Artists on Disc. New York: G. K. Hall, 1999.
LOCATION: AUTOM
CALL NUMBER: N43.W63 1999
return to top
Use the following subject headings when searching the online catalog and the periodical indexes listed above.
- WOMEN ART
- WOMEN ARTISTS
- WOMEN ARTISTS BIOGRAPHY
- WOMEN ARTISTS PSYCHOLOGY
- WOMEN PHOTOGRAPHY (or other medium)
- AFRO AMERICAN WOMEN ARTISTS
- FEMINISM ART
return to top
The Art Library Vertical Files include press releases, gallery notices, small exhibition catalogues and other materials which can be particularly useful in researching emerging artists who may not yet be the subject of books or journal articles. Browse the online index.
return to top
Information about many women artists is available on the Internet. Links to several excellent sites are provided below:
return to top
|