Charles E. White Memorial Chemistry Library
Electronic Databases
Direct access from workstations on campus:
- Directory of Graduate Research
is a searchable database that provides information about chemical research and researchers at
universities located in the United States and Canada. Listings for faculty members include
contact and biographical information and bibliographic citations for articles published in the
last two years; published every two years. Publisher: American Chemical Society.
- DiscoveryGate
from Elsevier MDL provides access to CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin, MDL® Available Chemicals Directory,
MDL® Drug Data Report, and MDL® Toxicity, authoritative reference works, and links to over 20,000 journal titles.
Follow the Instructions on how to access
DiscoveryGate from a UM computer terminal.
Crossfire Beilstein is a comprehensive searchable source of structures, chemical and physical properties, and citations for organic compounds.
Data are drawn from the Beilstein Handbook, Basic Series to Supplement IV, which cover
the literature from 1779-1959. Additional data have been added from the primary literature
since 1960.
Crossfire Gmelin is a comprehensive searchable source of structures, chemical and physical properties, and citations for inorganic and organometallic substances.
Contains data from the original Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry
(1772-1975). It includes excerpts from top scientific journals abstracted since 1975. It can be accessed through DiscoveryGate.
- Web of Science
indexes over 17,000 journals; can be used to find articles and who has cited them; provides cited reference searching; covers 50 disciplines from
1995 to present; updated weekly. Publisher: Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).
- Journal Citation Reports uses
citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide to rank them by Impact Factor.
The Science Edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology. The Social Sciences
Edition contains data from roughly 1,500 journals in the social sciences.
Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, from 1997 until 2003. Publisher: Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).
Alternative title: JCR.
- Science Citation Index is a database that is part of the Web of Science. It is a multidisciplinary
index covering the scientific literature from 5, 700 major journals across 164 disciplines. It
allows finding out which papers were cited by other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.
Coverage: 1945-present. Publisher: Institute for Scientific Information (ISI).
- Ullman's Encyclopedia
is a reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.
International in scope and coverage, this work has been compiled under the supervision of a
renowned global Editorial Advisory Board. It contains articles written by
authors who are experts in their fields and are affiliated with leading chemical companies or research institutes.
Publisher: Wiley-VCH Verlag.
-
The Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects Database (DOSE) is a source of all
relevant data for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use of chemicals of environmental concern. The information in DOSE is fully referenced and is presented in concise, easy-to-read summaries.
Data include physical properties, occupational exposure limits, mammalian and avian toxicity, genotoxicity, ecotoxicity, environmental fate, plus regulatory requirements including risk and safety phrases.
Publisher: Royal Society of Chemistry.
- SciFinder Scholar is an online version of Chemical Abstracts.
It provides comprehensive indexes of the literature in chemistry, biochemistry,
chemical engineering, and related sciences and covers journals, dissertations, patents,
conference proceedings, technical reports, and book series. Biomedical literature from MEDLINE
is also included from 1958 to the present. Publisher: Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS). Available in the Chemistry Library or from computers connected to the UMCP network. Software has to be downloaded to access the service.
|