Table of Contents
Home
UM Collections
Internet Resources
Search Aids
|
United States Patent and Trademark Internet Resources
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) www.uspto.gov
- Links to information about patents and trademarks
- For information on international intellectual property sites try Related Web Sites
Patents
USPTO Patent Information
http://www.uspto.gov/main/patents.htm
- Links to the Manual of Classification, Index to the Manual, classification definitions, and
much more.
USPTO Web Patent Databases
www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
- Full text of U.S. Patents 1976-Present
- Search by patent number and current US classifications 1790-Present
- Full text images from 1790-Present are available using a free TIFF plug-in
- The Advanced search page explains index fields (title, current class, inventor, cited references, etc.) at the bottom of the page
- Many records cite earlier technology: US patent numbers, foreign patent numbers, articles, books, technical reports, and even company catalogs
- Please note: the rapidly growing Patent Applications database (2001-present) is a separate file
Depatisnet
http://depatisnet.dpma.de
- The German Patent Office's international patent database
- U.S. patents from 1790 (X1)
- Includes plant and design patents
Google Patents
http://google.com/patents
- An important source of historical and genealogical patent information
- Search U.S. patents full text from 1790
- Note: OCR text has significant errors and omissions
- Google is NOT yet ready for Patent Classification (subject) searching, as of Spring 2007
Edison's Patents
http://edison.rutgers.edu/patents.htm
- Rutgers University's Edison Papers web site provides full text of Thomas Edison's 1,093
patents
Trademarks
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?f=login&p_lang=english&p_d=trmk
- Provides access to more than 4 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks
- This is the same file the trademark examiners use
and it allows very complex searches
- You can display logos (images) and search for them using
design search codes
Maryland Secretary of State Trademarks and Servicemarks
http://www.sos.state.md.us/Registrations/Trademarks/Trademarks.htm
- Provides access to the Maryland state trademarks database
- Contains links to other state trademark offices
FindLaw: State Trademark Information
http://smallbusiness.findlaw.com/trademark/trademark-registration/ state-trademark-info-links.html
- Provides links to most state's trademark and company name databases
|