Navigation Bar

Contact Information

Mentor

Dr. Fred Mowrer
Dept. of Fire Protection Engineering
3104A J.M. Patterson Bldg.

Phone: (301) 405-3994
fmowrer@umd.edu

Librarian

Nedelina Tchangalova
Engineering & Physical Sciences Library (EPSL)
Mathematics Building
Room 1403

Phone: (301) 405-9151
Fax: (301) 405-9164
IM screen name: NTlibrarian
nedelina@umd.edu

Have a question? Chat with me or leave your e-mail here.

Reflector

future.firefighting.advancements
@gmail.com

 

Engineering and Physical Sciences Library> Guides to Information Resources> Gemstone Team: Future Firefighting Advancements (FFA)

Gemstone Team:
Future Firefighting Advancements (FFA)

The University of Maryland Libraries provide numerous services to facilitate the process for finding information related to fire fighting advancements. Many UMD librarians have subject expertise and can assist you with finding information related to your research project.

Looking for...

Books
Journals
Databases
Web Resources

...on this topic?

Need help Getting Started or Finding Books and Journals?

Contact us and start finding answers!


Getting Started

  • Bibliographic Management Software
    http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/bms.html

    Helps researchers keep track of their references for research papers and other writing needs. Examples include Endnote, ProCite, and Reference Manager.

  • Citation Systems and Manuals
    http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/style_manuals.html

    An introduction to the citation process which includes information on style manuals, citation systems, and the importance of citing.

  • Research and Library Skills
    http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/library_guides_research.html

    Lists helpful resources relating to library research skills. Includes information on library services, how to search for books and articles, library maps and virtual tours, and other basic information.

  • Research Methods
    http://www.managementhelp.org/research/research.htm

    This information on basic business research methods is in part adapted from the book Field Guide to Nonprofit Program Design, Marketing and Evaluation by Carter McNamara. Other resources on this topic include:

    • Introduction to Research by Tyrus Hillway
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: Q180.A1H5

    • The Research Methods Knowledge Base by William M. K. Trochim
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: Q180.55.M4T76

  • Research Worksheet
    http://www.lib.umd.edu/ENGIN/library_instruction/worksheet.pdf

    Use this worksheet to help organize your search process.

  • Types of Periodical Publications
    http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html

    Provides information on how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular magazines.

return to top


Finding Books and Journals

  • Call Numbers

    Books relating to similar subjects are often grouped together on the shelves. You can browse these call numbers virtually with the catalog or physically on the shelf.

    TopicCall NumbersLocation
    Fire fightersHD8039.F5 F57McKeldin, EPSL
    Fire resistant materialsTH1065EPSL
    Fire preventionTH9111-TH9599EPSL
    Fireproofing (Fabrics)TP267McKeldin, EPSL

  • Keywords

    Using synonyms and other similar words and ideas in your searches can retrieve different results and help you find more resources.

    Fire fighters
    Fireproofing and fabrics
    Fireproofing and agents
    Flame resistant

  • Subjects

    Try browsing the following relevant subjects to find more resources:

    Fireproofing of fabrics -- Patents
    Fire prevention
    Fire fighters -- Death
    Fire fighters -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
    Fire investigation -- Case studies
    Fire fighters -- Mortality -- United States -- Statistics

return to top


Books

  • Fire resistant textiles handbook by W.A. Reeves, G.L. Drake, Jr., R.M. Perkins.
    LOCATION: EPSL Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: TP267.R42

  • Textile flammability : current and future issues : papers presented at the Textile flammability: current and future issues conference, 30-31 March 1999. Manchester, UK : Textile Institute, c1999.
    LOCATION: EPSL Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: TP267 .T46

  • Encyclopedia of fire protection / Dennis P. Nolan.
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TH9116 .N65 2006

  • Fire safety management handbook / Ron Miller.
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TH9145 .M55 2006

  • The firefighter’s handbook : essentials of firefighting and emergency response. 2nd ed., Clifton Park, NY : Thomson Delmar Learning, c2004.
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TH9151 .F458 2004

  • Fire protection handbook. Boston, Mass. : National Fire Protection Association,
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TH9150 .F47 2008

  • Encyclopedia of Fire by David E. Newton
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TP265 .N48 2002

return to top


Journals

The level of scholarship is different in various publications. Information on how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular magazines can be found at http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html .

Complete list of journals click here.

return to top


Databases

  • Academic Search Premier

    "Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. This database includes such multidisciplinary subjects as: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linquistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies." Coverage extends from 1965 to present.

  • Compendex

    "Engineering Village 2 is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields. It is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with engineering journals, conference materials, Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts and Computer & Control Abstracts." Compendex is updated weekly and coverage extends from 1970 to present.

  • IEEE Xplore

    "Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards." This database covers computer engineering, biomedical technology, telecommunications, electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, and more. Coverage extends from 1988 to the present.

  • NTIS

    "Covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from federal sources. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.Information is also available from some foreign governments. Additionally, NTIS includes some technical reports from international agencies such as NATO and AGARD." Coverage extends from 1964 to the present.

  • Science Direct

    "Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than english." Science Direct covers the physical and biological sciences.

return to top


Web Resources

Fire on the Web
http://fire.nist.gov/
Resources to fire related software, experimental fire data and mpeg/quick time movies of fire tests from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Fire Research Information Service
http://www.bfrl.nist.gov/fris/
Clearinghouse of information on fire research.

FireSafety.gov
http://www.firesafety.gov/
A federal government information resource for eliminating residential fire deaths.

return to top


 

© 2009 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 17, 2010

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search