Navigation Bar

Contact Information

Mentor

Dr. Joseph Sullivan
Dept. of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture
2122 Plant Sciences Building

Phone: (301) 405-1626
jsull@umd.edu

Librarian

Nedelina Tchangalova
Engineering & Physical Sciences Library (EPSL)
Mathematics Building
Room 1403

Phone: (301) 405-9151
Fax: (301) 405-9164
IM screen name: NTlibrarian
nedelina@umd.edu

Have a question? Chat with me or leave your e-mail here.

Reflector

ctobin11@umd.edu

Team home page

Grenergy web site

 

Engineering and Physical Sciences Library> Guides to Information Resources> Gemstone Team: GRENERGY

Gemstone Team: GRENERGY

The University of Maryland Libraries provide numerous services to facilitate the process for finding information related to alternative energy resources. Many UMD librarians have subject expertise and can assist you with finding information related to your research project. This page was created as a list of resources for you to use anytime, anywhere. But this page shouldn't and won't replace help from your advisor, mentor, or librarian!

Looking for...

Books
Journals
Databases
Web Resources

...on this topic?

Need help Getting Started or Finding Books and Journals?

Contact your librarian and start finding answers!


Getting Started

Before you begin, below are some resources to help you conduct smart and efficient research.

Literature Review

A literature review describes, summarizes and analyzes previously published literature in a field. What you want to do is demonstrate your knowledge and understanding of what the "conversation" about this topic is, identify gaps in the literature, present research pertinent to your ideas and how your research fits in with, changes, elaborates on, etc., the present conversation.

More in-depth guidelines:

Research and Library Skills

http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/library_guides_research.html

Lists helpful resources relating to library research skills. Includes information on library services, how to search for books and articles, library maps and virtual tours, and other basic information.

Research Methods

http://www.managementhelp.org/research/research.htm

This information on basic business research methods is in part adapted from the book Field Guide to Nonprofit Program Design, Marketing and Evaluation by Carter McNamara. Other resources on this topic include:

  • Introduction to Research by Tyrus Hillway
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: Q180.A1H5

  • The Research Methods Knowledge Base by William M. K. Trochim
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: Q180.55.M4T76

Searching

Searching in catalogs and databases is not like using basic search engines like Google; instead they rely upon Boolean terms that create relationships and concepts between words. The most basic Boolean operators are AND, NOT, and OR.
  • Use AND to include only those results that have BOTH words: photovoltaic AND solar
  • Use OR to include results that have EITHER BOTH or ONE of the words: photovoltaic OR solar
  • Use NOT to exclude specific words. The document won’t contain those words: photovoltaic NOT solar
Another trick used in searching is truncation. Truncation is shortening a word to its root with a special symbol (e.g., *, $, ?) to return all the variants of that word in your search results.

Example: Solar* will return “solar,” “solarimeter,” “solarism," “solarium,” "solarization," and "solarize."

Source Types

Evaluating Information Resources

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is the purposeful or accidental lifting of others' intellectual work. The scary thing about plagiarism is that you can do it without even meaning to. But good note-taking, proper use of others' work through good writing habits like accurate summarizing, paraphrasing and direct quotation, and accurate citation of others' work will help you avoid it.

See UM Libraries' Plagiarism Resources for Students for what plagiarism is and is not; tips on avoiding plagiarism; integrating and citing your sources; consequences of plagiarism and academic dishonesty; and the University's Policy on Academic Integrity.

Note-taking

Good note-taking is the first step to avoiding plagiarism. Read carefully and make sure that what you write down is accurate. There are various methods of note-taking, but there are several options for bibliographic management software (BMS), including Zotero and EndNote, available through ISI Web of Science. Some of the features of BMS include:
  • Export citations from many of our databases;
  • Add a button to your browser that will let you save websites to your working bibliography;
  • Keep track of your citations in one place.
Be careful: the bibliographies created aren't always correct. See below for resources on citation styles.

Helps researchers keep track of their references for research papers and other writing needs. Examples include Endnote, and Zotero.

Citation styles

An introduction to the citation process which includes information on style manuals, citation systems, and the importance of citing.

return to top


Finding Books and Journals

  • Call Numbers

    Books relating to similar subjects are often grouped together on the shelves. You can browse these call numbers virtually with the catalog or physically on the shelf.

    TopicCall NumbersLocation
    Fossil fuelsTP318 .F525 EPSL
    Renewable energy sourcesTJ808 .S54 McKeldin
    Power resourcesHD9502.A2 O34 EPSL

  • Keywords

    Using synonyms and other similar words and ideas in your searches can retrieve different results and help you find more resources.

    Fossil fuels
    Renewable energy
    Power resources
    Photovoltaic cells

  • Subjects

    Try browsing the following relevant subjects to find more resources:

    Fossil fuels -- Environmental aspects.
    Fossil fuels -- Technological innovations
    Fossil fuels -- Research
    Photovoltaic cells -- Defects
    Photovoltaic cells -- Design and construction
    Photovoltaic cells -- Materials
    Solar energy OR Solar power
    Solar cells -- Design and construction
Finally, if you want to look at more databases, journals and books, use the subject guide Plant Biology.

return to top


Books

(coming soon)

return to top


Journals

The level of scholarship is different in various publications. Information on how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular magazines can be found at http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html .

For a complete list of journals listed by subject and held at the Engineering and Physical Sciences Library (EPSL) click here.

return to top


Databases

  • Plant Science Abstracts
  • Provides access to citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science.

  • Science Direct
  • Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than english.

  • Web of Science
  • Indexes over 17,000 journals by subject keyword, author name, journal title & author affiliation. Search author abstracts when available. Provides cited reference searching

return to top


Web Resources

return to top


 

© 2009 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: September 10, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search