Contact Information
Mentor
Dr. Peter Chang Civil and Environmental Engineering 1186 Martin Hall
Librarians
Damon Austin Agricultural Sciences McKeldin Library Room 2105
Nedelina Tchangalova Engineering & Physical Sciences Library (EPSL) Mathematics Building Room 1403
| Phone: (301) 405-9151 Fax: (301) 405-9164 IM screen name: NTlibrarian nedelina@umd.edu |
Have a question? Chat with me or leave your e-mail here.
Reflector
gemstonesp@umd.edu
|
|
|
Course Related Web Pages
> Gemstone Team: SHINE
Gemstone Team: SHINE
Researching information on Solar Power in Developing Countries can be a wide ranging and complex process. This topic relates to countries where technology is not very well developed, and finding local information could present some challenges. The University of Maryland Libraries provide numerous services to facilitate the process for finding information. Many UMD librarians have subject expertise and can assist you with finding information related to your research project.
Looking for...
...on this topic?
Contact us and start finding answers!
Getting Started
- Bibliographic Management Software
http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/bms.html
Helps researchers keep track of their references for research papers and other writing needs. Examples include Endnote, ProCite, and Reference Manager.
- Citation Systems and Manuals
http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/style_manuals.html
An introduction to the citation process which includes information on style manuals, citation systems, and the importance of citing.
- Research and Library Skills
http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/library_guides_research.html
Lists helpful resources relating to library research skills. Includes information on library services, how to search for books and articles, library maps and virtual tours, and other basic information.
- Research Methods
http://www.managementhelp.org/research/research.htm
This information on basic business research methods is in part adapted from the book Field Guide to Nonprofit Program Design, Marketing and Evaluation by Carter McNamara. Other resources on this topic include:
- Introduction to Research by Tyrus Hillway
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Q180.A1H5
- The Research Methods Knowledge Base by William M. K. Trochim
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Q180.55.M4T76
- Research Worksheet
http://www.lib.umd.edu/ENGIN/library_instruction/worksheet.pdf
Use this worksheet to help organize your search process.
- Statistical Information Guide
http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/intstat.html
A guide to mainly free online sources for international statistics.
- Types of Periodical Publications
http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/journals.html
Provides information on how to distinguish scholarly journals from trade publications and popular magazines.
return to top
Finding Books and Journals
- Call Numbers
Books relating to similar subjects are often grouped together on the shelves. You can browse these call numbers virtually with the catalog or physically on the shelf.
| Topic | Call Numbers | Location |
| Solar Cooking | TX835.5 | EPSL |
| Solar Energy | TJ809 - TJ812.8 | EPSL |
| Solar Energy Research | TJ811 - TK8322.H33 | EPSL |
| Solar Industries | HD9681.A2B73 - HD9681.U62T34 | McKeldin |
- Keywords
Using synonyms and other similar words and ideas in your searches can retrieve different results and help you find more resources.
| Solar thermal conversion |
| Solar thermal energy |
| Solar thermal power systems |
| Solar thermal technology |
- Subjects
Try browsing the following relevant subjects to find more resources:
| Photovoltaic power generation--Developing Countries |
| Solar energy--Africa |
| Solar energy--Bibliography |
| Solar energy--Costs |
| Solar energy--Developing Countries |
| Solar energy--Economic Aspects |
| Solar energy--Periodicals |
return to top
Books
return to top
Journals
- Advances in Solar Energy
LOCATION: EPSL Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ810.A4
- International Journal of Sustainable Energy
LOCATION: EPSL Current Periodicals
Also available electronically through Research Port
- Renewable Energy
Available through Interlibrary Loan
- Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews
Available through Interlibrary Loan
- Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TJ810.S62471
Also available electronically through Research Port
return to top
Databases
- Academic Search Premier
"Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications. This database includes such multidisciplinary subjects as: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linquistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies." Coverage extends from 1965 to present.
- Compendex
"Engineering Village 2 is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields. It is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with engineering journals, conference materials, Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts and Computer & Control Abstracts." Compendex is updated weekly and coverage extends from 1970 to present.
- ETDE World Energy Base
"Information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more. Includes over 953,500 bibliographic records from early 1995 forward. A product of the Energy Technology Data Exchange (ETDE), a program of the International Energy Agency." Use the advanced search screen.
- EIU Country Commerce
"EIU Country Commerce is a full-text database that contains regulations, operating conditions and corporate practices in 60 countries. Good place to start when doing business in other countries."
- EIU Country Finance
"EIU Country Finance is a comprehensive full-text database that covers the world's main financial systems, including banking and associated services, government policies and regulations for 47 countries."
- EIU ViewsWire
"EIU ViewsWire is a full-text country news daily that provides analysis and forecast information on worldwide politics, economics, business strategies & conditions and market trends in almost 200 countries."
- IEEE Xplore
"Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards." This database covers computer engineering, biomedical technology, telecommunications, electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, and more. Coverage extends from 1988 to the present.
- INSPEC
"Indexes and abstracts 4,000 scientific/technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering, computing, and information technology."
- International Political Science Abstracts
"This database produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science." Coverage extends from 1989 to the present.
- NTIS
"Covers U.S. government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. NTIS is the central source for the sale of unclassified and publicly available information from federal sources. Indexes and abstracts technical research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs and audio-visual products.Information is also available from some foreign governments. Additionally, NTIS includes some technical reports from international agencies such as NATO and AGARD." Coverage extends from 1964 to the present.
- PAIS International
"The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed." Topics covered relate to public affairs, including the environment, business, education, government, health, international relations, law & legislation, criminal justice, political science, social issues, and public administration.
- Science Direct
"Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than english." Science Direct covers the physical and biological sciences.
- Solar Information Resources Database
"This database contains information resources for Concentrating Solar Power, Photovoltaics, Solar Heating, and Solar Lighting."
return to top
Web Resources
- Blue Square Energy
http://www.bluesquareenergy.com/index.html
- European Photovoltaic Industry Association (EPIA)
http://www.epia.org/05Publications/Solargeneration.htm
EPIA is the world’s largest industry association devoted to the solar electricity market. Included here are press releases, related links, publications, and EPIA events. Click on the links Publication and Data & Figures for more information on worldwide production and consumption of solar energy.
- International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)
http://www.ifpri.org/
- International Solar Energy Society (ISES)
http://www.ises.org/ises.nsf!Open
This web page lists solar energy journals published by ISES.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
http://www.nrel.gov/solar/
NREL is the nation's primary laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency resource and development. Provided here is information on photovoltaics, solar thermal, and solar radiation in the form of related links, research, and NREL programs on these topics.
- Smart Communities Network
http://www.smartcommunities.ncat.org/financing/agriculture.shtml
This website provides information on financing sustainable development projects, including solar power systems. The Energy web page lists relevant links, articles, and publications.
- Solar Energy Network
http://www.solarenergy.net/
The Solar Energy Network provides current information on solar energy technology from around the world, as well as links to a great variety of domestic and international solar initiatives (listed under Solar Links).
- U.S. Department of Energy: Financial Opportunities
http://www1.eere.energy.gov/solar/financial_opportunities.html
Access to energy efficiency and renewable energy financial incentives, tax rebates, and solicitations offered by the U.S. Department of Energy and other federal, state, local, and NGO agencies.
return to top
|