Navigation Bar

Finding Library Items Using Call Numbers

There are many ways to classify library items, such a books, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, nonprint materials and some government documents, etc. The UM Libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System.

This guide will show you how to read an LC call number, and will explain how broad subjects are organized under the LC Classification System.

Table of Contents

 

How Call Numbers Work

The following is an example of how call numbers work for books. The principles are the same for other library items classified using the LC system. Consult a librarian if you need help.

Call number graphic

McKeldin Library Stacks Directory

Books:

A - F (Stacks and Folio)
G - HU (Stacks and Folio)
HV - PR (Stacks and Folio)
PS - Z (Stacks and Folio)

Periodicals:

Current Periodicals Room
Periodical Stacks A - G
Periodical Stacks H - P
Periodical Stacks Q - Z

Other Locations:

East Asia Collection
Government Documents
Maryland Theses
National Bibliographies
Floor

Floor 3
Floor 5
Floor 6
Floor 7



Floor 1
Floor 3
Floor 6
Floor 7



Floor 4
Floor 4
Floor 3
Floor 2

For more specific location information, see the McKeldin Library Floor Plan [pdf].

return to top

The Library of Congress Classification System

A-AZ General Works M Music
  Encyclopedia, almanacs, general    
  indexes    
    N-NX Fine Arts
B-BX Philosophy, Psychology, Religion NA Architecture
BD Philosophy NB Sculpture
BF Psychology NC Drawing, design, illustration
BL-BX Religion ND Painting
    NK Arts, crafts
C-CT Auxiliary Sciences of History    
CC Archaeology P-PZ Language and Literature
    P Philology, linguistics,
CS Genealogy   communication
CT Biography PA Classical languages, literature
    PC Romance languages, literature
D-DX History: General and Old World PE English dictionaries, thesauri
  Includes geography and description of PF German, Dutch
  regions and countries PG Russian
DA-      
DR Europe PL East Asian languages
DK Soviet Union PN Drama, poetry, radio broadcasts,
DS Asia   movies, television, journalism
DT Africa PQ Romance literature
    PR English literature
E-F History: America PS American literature
E North America PZ Fiction in English
F United States local history, Latin    
  America    
    Q-  
    QR Science
G-GV Geography, Anthropology, Recreation Q General science
G Geography, atlases QA Mathematics, computer science
GE Environmental sciences QB Astronomy
GN Anthropology QC Physics
GR Folklore QD Chemistry, biochemistry
GV Sports, dance, games QE Geology
    QH Natural history
H-HX Social Sciences QK Botany
H General social sciences QL Zoology
HA Statistics    
HB Economics R Medicine
HC Economic conditions RA Public aspects of medicine
HD Industry, labor RC Practice of medicine
HE Transportation, communication RD Surgery
HF Business, commerce RJ Pediatrics
HG Finance RM Therapeutics, drugs
HM Sociology RS Pharmacy
HQ Family, marriage, aged, women    
  sexuality    
HT Communities, cities, races S-SK Agriculture
HV Criminology, drug abuse SB Plant culture
HX Socialism, communism, anarchism,    
  utopias SD Forestry
J Political Science T-TX Technology
JF Constitutional history TA Engineering
JK United States TL Motor vehicles, aeronautics
JS Local government TR Photography
JX International law, world peace TX Home economics
K Law U Military Science
KF United States law V Naval Science
KFM Maryland law Z-ZA Library science, bibliography
L Education ZA Information resources

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: April 04, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search