Continuous Quality Improvement
SCOPE: This guide provides a list of resources which will enable the researcher to
identify books, periodical articles, government documents, and dissertations on the subject of
Continuous Quality Improvement (also known as Total Quality Management.) For additional
sources, including links to internet resources, the user should consult the home page of UM's
Office for Continuous Quality Improvement.
There is a wide variety of indexes and abstracts, both in print and electronic format, which
provide citations to articles published in periodicals. Many of them also include monographs,
dissertations, government documents and papers presented at conferences. The following
sections
list indexes which are multidisciplanary in nature and those which concentrate on specific
disciplines. Suggestions are included for the most appropriate search terminology for each.
Once you have identified a periodical title through the use of an index, search the UMCP Library
Catalog on VICTOR to determine whether we own the title. Consult the guide "How to Find a
Serial (Magazine, Journal, Newspaper, Etc.) at UM" for further instructions.
INTERDISCIPLINARY INDEXES:
BUSINESS/ECONOMICS INDEXES:
EDUCATION INDEXES:
Consult McKeldin Reference's guide "Education: Sources of Information" for further
information.
GOVERNMENT AND POLITICS INDEXES:
Consult McKeldin Reference's guide "Government and Political Science: Basic Sources of
Information" for further information.
HEALTH INDEXES:
Consult McKeldin Reference's "Medical Research" guide for further information.
LAW INDEXES
Consult the "Common Law" guide for further information.
LIBRARY AND INFORMATION SCIENCE INDEXES
All comments and suggestions concerning this document should be directed to the UM
Libraries
Web Editorial Board at lib-webservices@umd.edu
University of Maryland Libraries
BOOKS AND NONPRINT MATERIALS:
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
VICTOR, the University of Maryland System's online catalog, provides access to the
collections
of
all the UMS campus libraries, as well as to other catalogs and databases. Search
the UM Libraries' catalog for books, specific periodical titles, nonprint materials and recent
government documents held in libraries on this campus. The offical Library of Congress subject
heading is total quality management. Total quality management in government and
benchmarking are also L.C. subject headings. While searching on the words used in these
assigned subject headings is the most productive, you may also use VICTOR's word search to
qualify your search (e.g. //w total quality management higher education) or to search
on words which might appear in titles. Consult the "Introducing VICTOR" brochure for
further information.
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
WORLDCAT is a FirstSearch database which contains approximately 32 million
records
of all types of materials (books, periodicals, nonprint media, dissertations and masters theses,
archival materials, etc.) owned by libraries around the world. Use this database to identify
additional materials.
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
This database of the Research Libraries Group contains over 22 million records of books,
periodicals, archival materials, etc. held in over 100 research libraries and archival collections in
the United States.
ASTRACTS AND INDEXES
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
This FirstSearch database describes items listed on the table of contents pages of over 13,000
journals. Subjects covered are business, the humanities, medicine, popular culture, science,
social
science, and technology. No subject headings are assigned; searching is by title and/or abstract
words. Trying a variety of search terms is therefore recommended.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z5055.U49.U52
This source provides key word indexing to U.S. and Canadian doctoral disssertations.
There are cumulative volumes which cover 1861-1972 and 1973-82.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (1938-1994)
CALL NUMBER: Z55055.U5.A53
Doctoral dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International by cooperating
institutions
in the U.S. and Canada are abstracted in this source. Copies of the microfilmed dissertations are
available at the Library of Congress or for purchase from UMI.
This database is available for end-user searching through two electronic services:
Through FirstSearch (Diss). Monthly. 1861-
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN REF AUTOM (1861-Sept. 1993)
CD-ROM. Quarterly. 1861-
LOCATION: LIBLAN
This electronic source may be used in lieu of the printed Comprehensive Dissertation
Index
and Dissertation Abstracts International.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, GOVDOC AUTOM
This online service offers access to hundreds of databases, for many of which the full-text is
available and searchable online by key word search. The Nexis NEWS Library focuses on
national and regional newspapers, newsletters, wire services, business and finance magazines,
transcripts and more. Available only to UM/UMUC faculty and students for course-related
research.
This is a FirstSearch database which is identical to the electronic version of the Readers' Guide
but with the addition of abstracts.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS, ART REF (1900-1988), LIBSCH REF
(1959-1991)
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R48
This is an author and subject index to English language periodicals of general interest.
Use total quality management as a subject heading.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch database corresponds to the print Readers' Guide listed above.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (shelved in Behavioral/Social Sciences Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: Z7161.S65
This is a broad index to approximately 2,000 journals in the social sciences. The Citation
Index
volume allows the researcher to trace the work of individual scholars through cited references in
later works. The Permuterm Subject Index volume offers a subject search mechanism by
combining key words from article titles. The Source Index is used in conjunction with the other
two indexes and may also be used alone as an author index. Since there is no controlled
vocabulary, subject searches should be done in the Permuterm Subject Index using a variety of
relevant words. (Hint: the word total is a semi-stop word. To look for the words
total and
quality together begin with quality as a primary term and look for
total
as a co-term.)
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS, LIBSCH REF (1974/75-1990-91)
(Most recent MCKREF volumes shelved in Behavioral/Social Sciences Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: AI3.R492
A general index to approximately 350 periodicals in the social sciences. Use the subject heading
total quality management.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
Offered through FirstSearch, this database is the electronic equivalent of the
Social Sciences Index.
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
UnCover indexes the tables of contents of nearly 17,000 periodicals. Approximately 51% of
these are in the area of science, technology and medicine. Social sciences titles make up another
40%, with a significant number of business titles. The arts and humanities contribute another
9%.
UnCover also provides article document delivery for a fee. There is no controlled vocabulary
so
it is important to try a variety of key words to conduct a thorough search. Consult the
"UnCover" guide for further information about searching this database.
LOCATION: NETWRK VICTOR
ABI/INFORM provides citations and abstracts for over 800 business and trade journals and
general business magazines. Topics include advertising, banking, business laws, economic
conditions, finance, insurance, international trade, management, marketing, and real estate.
Searching is by key word in titles and abstracts. Consult the "VICTOR TIP" for ABI/INFORM
for further guidance in searching this database on VICTOR.
LOCATION: MCKREF AUTOM
In addition to the journals indexed in ABI/INFORM,this database covers an additional
200 journals relating to the global marketplace.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch file focuses on regional business information by providing text from over 450
sources, including regional publications, Business Wire press releases and major newspapers.
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
This database indexes over 800 business, management, trade journals and business and financial
sections from several national newspapers. It also includes business-related articles from over
3,000 other publications. Some abstracts are included and full-text is available online for
approximately 400 of the journals. Searching is by keyword . Consult the "VICTOR TIP" on
this database for further information.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (Recent volumes in MCKREF shelved in Business/Law
Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: Z7164.C81B983
For many years, before the advent of readily-searched electronic indexes, this was the standard
resource for identifying articles in periodicals in business and related fields. It indexes 395 titles.
Total quality management is the subject heading used. Other subject headings of
interest
include: Benchmarking (business), continuous improvement process, ISO 9000 series
standards, reingineering (business), and return on quality.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This is the electronic equivalent of the Business Periodicals Index, and is offered
through
the
FirstSearch service.
This database is available for end-user searching through two electronic services:
Through FirstSearch (EconLit). Monthly. 1969-
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
CD-ROM. Quarterly. 1969-
LOCATION: UMCP LIBLAN
Econlit provides citations and abstracts for articles in over 400 journals, monographs,the
Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics, dissertations, and more
than 500 anthologies. It corresponds to the print Journal of Economic Literature, which
is
not
recommended for searching on the topic of CQI because of its indexing.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch database indexes the same periodicals as BusinessPerInd, but adds
abstracts
beginning in June 1990.
A product of the U.S. Department of Education, Educational Resources Information Center,
what
is commonly known as ERIC is actually comprised of the following two separate indexes:
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS, LIBSCH REF(1969-70,
1972-83,1986-92) (Recent volumes in MCKREF are located in the Behavioral and Social
Sciences Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: Z5813.C8
CIJE indexes approximately 700 education and education-related journals. The Thesaurus of
ERIC Descriptors (Ref. Z 695.1.E3E34) identifies total quality management as a
descriptor
(subject heading.). Other related descriptors include: management teams, quality circles,
quality control, and participative decision making. Consult the Thesaurus
for
more detailed
information on possible descriptors. (MCKREF copies are located in the Behavioral and Social
Sciences Alcove and in the Automated Reference Sources bookshelf.)
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS, LIBSCH REF (Recent volumes in MCKREF are located in
the Behavioral and Social Sciences Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: Z5813.R42
RIE indexes and abstracts unpublished research reports, conference papers and other
education-related documents. The corresponding full-text ERIC reports are available on
microfiche
in
McKeldin's Periodical Room, filed by their ED numbers. The Thesaurus of ERIC
Descriptors
is
also the authority for the descriptors used in this database.
This database, which offers the electronic equivalent of both CIJE and RIE, is available for
end-user
searching through three sevices:
Via VICTOR. Monthly. 1968-
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
Through FirstSearch. Monthly. 1966-
LOCATIONS: NETWRK VICTOR
CD-ROM. Quarterly. 1966-
LOCATION: UM LIBLAN
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS, LIBSCH REF 1966/67-1975/76, 1978/79-190/91 (Most
recent MCKREF volumes shelved in Behavioral/Social
Sciences
Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: Z5813.E23
Although primarily an index to periodicals, some yearbooks and monographs are also included.
There is a separate author index to book reviews. Search under total quality
management.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch file is the electronic equivalent of Education Index.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (Most recent volumes shelved in Behavioral/Social Sciences
Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: LB2805.E32
Abstracts are based on over 100 journals in education and related fields. Total quality
management is a subject heading.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (Most recent volumes shelved in Behavioral/Social Sciences
Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: LB2300.C651
This publication continues College Student Personnel Abstracts (1966-83, MCKREF
LB2300.C65.) It contains abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and research reports
pertaining to college students and college student services. Use total quality
management
as a
subject heading.
LOCATIONS: GOVDOC LCDOC, ENGIN REF
CALL NUMBER: Z1223.A18
This is the most complete source of bibliographic information on publications issued by the U.S.
government. This title provides a nearly complete index to titles issued through the U.S.
Government Printing Office. Use total quality management or total quality
management in government as subject headings.
This database, which is the electronic equivalent of the Monthly Catalog of United States
Government Publications, is available for end-user searching through three electronic
services:
Through FirstSearch. (GPO Monthly Catalog). Monthly. July 1976-
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
CD-ROM. (GPO on Silver Platter). 1976-92.
LOCATION: GOVDOC AUTOM
CD-ROM. (Government Documents Catalog Service). 1967-1994
LOCATION: GOVDOC AUTOM
This database is available for end-uer searching through FirstSearch. This database covers the
last ten years of citations from the printed PAIS Bulletin, PAIS Foreign Language Index,
and PAIS International in Print..
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (shelved in Behavioral/Social Sciences Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: HB1.P3
This publication incorporates the PAIS Bulletin (1986-1990, MCKREF Z7163.P9), a
continuation of the Public Affairs Information Services Bulletin, and the PAIS
Foreign
Language
Index. It is a subject and author index to current literature in a variety of fields including
government, political science, economics, sociology, legislation, and public administration,
Materials indexed include periodicals, books and government documents. Use the subject
headings total quality and continuous quality.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch database corresponds to the print Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied
Health Literature.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z6675.N7C82
This title was preceded by the Cumulative Index to Nursing Literature (1961-76,
MCKREF
Z6675.N7C8.) This is in index to approximately 300 nursing, allied health and health-related
journals, as well as pertinent articles from biomedical journals and relevant material from
popular
journals. Quality improvement is the most appropriate subject heading.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (Most recent volumes shelved in Life Sciences Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: Z6675.H75H62
Previously known as Hospital Literature Index (1976-94, MCKREF Z6675.H75H62),
this
source
is a guide to literature on the organization and administration of hospitals and other health care
providers, the financing and delivery of health care, the development and implementation of
health
policy and reform, and health planning and research. Search under total quality
management.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z6660.I422
This is a comprehensive index to the world's medical literature, covering more than 2,500
periodicals in the medical and health science fields as well as representative journals in related
fields.
This database is available for end-user searching through three electronic services:
Via VICTOR as a Firstsearch file. Monthly. 1985-
LOCATIONS: ALL CAMPUS LIBRARIES AND REMOTELY
CD-ROM. Monthly. 1966-
LOCATION: CHEM AUTOM
Through Lexis/Nexis as the Medline Library file. Monthly. 1966-
LOCATION: MCKREF AUTOM, GOVDOC AUTOM. Available only to
UMCP/UMUC faculty and students for course-related research.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this database covers all areas of medicine,
including clinical, experimental and veterinary medicine, dentistry, nursing, nutrition, pathology,
toxicology, psychiatry, education, and health services administration. It corresponds to the print
Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index,
and
indexes over
3,500 journals published nationally. Most records include abstracts.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: BF1.P65
This is the most comprehensive source for access to psychological literature. While its content
has varied over time, it currently cites English-language journal articles, selected technical
reports, annual review chapters and books and chapters in books.. Use the Thesaurus of
Psychological Index Terms (MCK REF Automated Reference Area) for a complete list of
subject headings. While "continuous improvement" and "total quality" are not thesaurus terms,
other possibilities include: quality control and its related headings accountability,
human factors engineering, organizational effectiveness and participative management.
Quality of care is also a descriptor.
This database is available for end-user searching through two electronic services:
CD-ROM(PsycLit.) Quarterly. 1974-
LOCATION: UMCP LIBLAN
On FirstSearch (PsycFirst). Monthly. Current year and last 3 years.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (Most recent volumes shelved in Business/Law Alcove.)
CALL NUMBER: K33.C87
This is an author and subject index to over 875 law journals.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (1926/28-), LIBSCH REF(1958-61-1973/76)
CALL NUMBER: KF8.I51
This is an author and subject index to legal periodicals and books.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch file is the electronic equivalent to the print Index to Legal
Periodicals & Books.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, GOVDOC AUTOM
Lexis is a full-text legal literature database. It is composed of many files useful in research in
both common and statuatory law. There is also a file for law reviews. Available only to
UM/UMUC faculty and students for course-related research.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (1969-1987), LIBSCH REF (1969-)
CALL NUMBER: Z671.L6172
Published by the British Library Association, this index covers approximately 550 journals. It is
international is scope. This file may be searched electronically by a librarian for a fee.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (1933/35-), LIBSCH REF (1933/35-1985, 1988-)
CALL NUMBER: Z666.C211
This index provides author and subject indexing to periodicals, books, conference
proceedings, pamphlets and library school theses.
LOCATIONS: MCKREF AUTOM, ENGIN AUTOM
This FirstSearch database is the electronic equivalentof Library Literature.
created: May 30, 1996