Navigation Bar

 

Specialized Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Listed below is a sample of the many specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias available in UM Libraries. This sample is limited to recent (1998-2003) publications and is oriented towards research on currently controversial topics. To find other specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, search the Catalog . For example, do a KEYWORD search:

    drug abuse terms dictionaries or philosophy dictionaries
    bioethics encyclopedias
    or education encyclopedias

Specialized Dictionaries
Title Call Number
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations MCKREF QCKREF PE1693.A2 2002
Alternative Medicine, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS R733.S44 1998
Computer Terms, Webster's New World Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS QA76.15.P395 2000
Conflict Resolution, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS KF9085.A68D53 1999
Cultural Theory, Glossary of MCKREF STACKS HM101.B775 1999
Environmental Health, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS RA566.W68 2003
Environmental Sciences, Longman Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS GE10.L38 1998
Gene Technology Terms MCKREF STACKS QH442.Z48 2001
Genetics, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS QH427.K55 2002
Global Economics, Routledge Critical Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS HB61.R68 1999
History of Medicine, Dictionary of the MCKREF STACKS R121.S398 1999 Folio
History of Science, Dictionary of the MCKREF STACKS Q124.8.D525 2001
International Trade, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS HF1373.H55 2000
Islam, Oxford Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS BP40.O95 2003
Law Dictionary, Black’s MCKREF QCKREF KF156.B53 1999
Marine Pollution, Dictionary of EPSL REF GC1085.E52 2000
Media and Communication Studies, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS P87.5.W38 2000
Medical, Nursing & Allied Health, Encyclopdia and Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS R121.M65 2003
Oxford English Dictionary MCKREF STACKS PE1625.O87 1991
Personal Development, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS BF637.S4T67 2002
Psychology, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS BF31.C65 2001
Renewable Resources, Dictionary of EPSL REF S584.4D53 2001
Scientific and Technical Terms, McGraw Hill Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS Q123.M15 2003
Sociology, Dictionary of MCKREF STACKS HM17.L3922001
Thesaurus, Roget’s International MCKREF QCKREF PE1591.R73 2001
Specialized Encyclopedias
Title Call Number
African-American Heritage, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS E185.A455 2000
Aging, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ1061.E53 2001
AIDS, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS RA644.A25E5276 1998
Animal Rights & Animal Welfare, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HV4708.E53 1998
Biodiversity, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS QH541.15.B56E53 2001
Birth Control, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ766.E52 2001
British and Irish Political Organizations, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS DA566.7.E53 2000
Capital Punishment, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HV8694.G76 1998
Child Abuse, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HV6626.5.C57 2001
Civil Rights in America, The Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS E185.61.E544 1998
Cults, Sects and New Religions, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS BL2525.L49 1998
Death and Dying, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ1073.E543 2001
Education, Encyclopedia of American MCKREF STACKS LB17.U54 2001
Energy, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS TJ163.28.M33 2001
Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS TP248.16.M87 2001
Ethics in Science and Technology, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS Q175.35.B37 2002
Family Life, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ534.7.E53 1999
Feminist Theories, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ1190.E63 2000
Fundamentalism, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS BL238.E63 2001
Gay Histories and Cultures, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ75.13.G37 2000
Genetics, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS QH427.E53 2002
Genocide, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HV6322.7.E53 1999
Global Change: Environmantal Change and Human Society, Encyclopedia of EPSL REF GE149.E47 2002
Governments, Clement's Encyclopedia of World MCKREF STACKS JF37.C53 1998
Human Brain, Encyclopedia of the MCKREF STACKS QP376.E586 2002
Human Rights Issues since 1945, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS JC571.L2747 1999
Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the U.S., Encyclo. of MCKREF STACKS JK1118.N47 2000
Islam, New Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS BP40.G42 2001
Latin Americn Politics, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS F1410.E56 2002
Law, Encyclopedia of American MCKREF STACKS KF154.E528 2002
Lesbian Histories and Cultures, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ75.5.L4395 2000
Mental Health, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS RA790.E53 1998
Mexican American Civil Rights Movement, Encyclo. of the MCKREF STACKS E184.M5M458 2000
Minorities in American Politics, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS E184.A1E574 2000
Multicultural America, Gale Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS E184.A1G14 2000
Multicultural Education, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS LC1099.3.M58 1999
Nationalism, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS JC311.E4996 2001
Neuroscience, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS RC334.E53 1999
Philosophy, Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS B51.C58 2000
Political Anarchy, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HX830.G39 1999
Political Systems & Parties, World Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS JF2011.W67 1999
Prisoners of War and Internment, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS UB800.E53 2000
Psychology, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS BF31.E52 2000
Public Health, The Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS RA423.E53 2002
Religion in American Politics, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS BL2525.E52 1999
Reproduction, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS QP251.E48125 1998
Science & Technology, McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS Q121.M29 1998
Social and Behavioral Sciences, International Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS H41.I58 2001
Terrorism, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HV6431.C65 2001
Violence, Peace & Conflict, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HM291.E625 1999
Women, Routledge International Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ1115>R69 2000
Women and Gender, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ1115.E52 2001
Women's Health Issues, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS RA778.G39 2002
World Slavery, MacMillan Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HT861.M24 1998
Youth and War, Encyclopedia of MCKREF STACKS HQ784.W3S54 2000

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: December 10, 2004

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search