|
Last revised: July 2008
EducationScope: This guide provides links and information
about major electronic and print resources for students in education. If
you have any questions, please email the subject specialist at kpatter@umd.edu. Please complete the guide survey
so that the subject specialist can keep the guide relevant.
return to
top
- UM Libraries Catalog: Use the Catalog to search for
books, journal titles, government documents, nonprint media, and other
materials owned by the UM Libraries. Check the box for "USMAI (All
Campuses)" in order to search the entire UM System at once. For best
results, use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (viewable within
individual records or by using the "Subject Beginning with..." search)
or consult a reference librarian.
The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a
new window.
return to
top
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Libraries
Catalog, try searching these other library catalogs. Use the links or the Interlibrary Loan page to place ILL requests for items
not owned by UM.
- World Cat: OCLC catalog of books, serial
publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival
materials in libraries worldwide. Includes over 62 million records in
more than 400 languages.
- Center for Research Libraries Catalog: CRL is a
consortium of North American academic and independent research
libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals,
documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for
research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions
through Interlibrary Loan.
return to top
Use these resources to find journal articles, book chapters, book
reviews, etc. related to your topic. Consult Research Port for the full
list of available Education subject databases.
Note: When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will need to
log in to Research Port using your 14-digit barcode (on the back of your
student ID) and your last name.
- Eric (EBSCO)
"ERIC, the Educational Resource
Information Center, is a national information system supported by the
U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the
Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC provides full text
of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional
information, citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and
education-related journals. For the most effective search, the online
thesaurus is highly recommended to help you identify the best subject
terms.
- Education Research Complete
This is a
bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and
information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include
all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and
all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health
education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum
instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related
social issues.
return to top
Note: When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will need to
log in to Research Port using your 14-digit barcode (on the back of your
student ID) and your last name.
- Book Review Index Plus
Indexes reviews of books
and electronic media appearing in popular and academic periodicals from
1965 to the present. Time span: 1965 to the present.
- Digital Dissertations . 1861- .
Covers a
complete range of dissertations and theses in all disciplines, from
participating institutions. Full text of UM dissertations and theses are
available from 1997-. In addition, 24 page previews of dissertations and
theses from other institutions are available from 1997-. Print copies of
UM dissertations and theses are available in McKeldin Library and
various campus branch libraries.
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide.
1970- .
This database covers policy and practice literature in the
fields of family science, human ecology and human development. It
indexes professional journals, books, popular literature, conference
papers, government reports and other sources.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook .
"The most
authoritative and well-known index to educational, psychological, and
vocational tests and measurements commercially published in the English
language. The Mental Measurements Yearbook consists of full-text
descriptive entries, references, and full-text critical reviews of more
than 2,200 assessment tools."
- PsycINFO
"PsycINFO is the most comprehensive
index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million
citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books,
technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from
1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages. Covering the entire range of
psychology disciplines, PsycINFO includes information about the
psychological aspects of related fields such as education."
- Social Sciences Citation Index. 1976-
.
Provides author and keyword access to about 4,700 journals and
several monographic series. Use this database to find out if a
particular author/article has been cited in later publications.
- Tests in Print
"Produced by the Buros
Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in
Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known
commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English
language. TIP provides vital information to users including test
purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended
test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test
author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being
measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical,
candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
series."
return to top
The
following section contains a list of sources that provide access to the
periodical literature in education and its related fields. The sources
listed below identify articles that have been published in magazines,
journals, and separately published research reports. Some of these sources
also index books and book chapters.
- Education Index.
Use this print source to search for older
information. Sources covered include English-language periodicals,
yearbooks, and some monographs. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
(v. 1-34, 1929/30-1983/84) McKeldin Periodical Stacks (v. 35-48,
1984/85-1997/8) CALL NUMBER: Z5813.E23).
- Educational Administration Abstracts. 1966-2000
.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB 2805.E32 Abstracts
are based on over 100 journals in education and related fields. Contains
a topical arrangement, cross references and an author index.
Higher Education
- Higher Education Abstracts.
1984/85-2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB
2300.C651 Continues College Student Personnel
Abstracts (MCK REF LB2300.C65) 1966-1983/84. Contains
abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and research reports
pertaining to college students and college student services.
- Education Literature, 1907-1932.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB7.E38 Scholars in the history of
education will find these educational publications of the period useful.
Included in this twelve volume set is a master author/subject index.
- Language Teaching.
For information on language
teaching and teaching English as a foreign language consult TESOL
Research Resources (http://www.lib.umd.edu/MCK/tesol.html.)
- Multicultural Education Abstracts. v.1-25 (1982-2006).
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC1099.M8
International sources including journals, conference papers, reports
and theses are covered in this quarterly abstract service. Author and
subject indexes appear in each issue and are cumulated annually.
- Sociology of Education Abstracts. 1965-2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC189.S6 The
indexing scheme for this abstracting service was done from the viewpoint
of the searcher. Thus, the indexes group documents on the basis of their
theoretical, methodological and substantive content.
return to top
Encyclopedias and handbooks are useful in providing background
information, overviews, and reviews of the research literature. Most have
lengthy articles written by prominent scholars in the respective subjects
and extensive bibliographies.
- Comprehensive Handbook of Multicultural School
Psychology. Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons,
2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB1027.55.C66 2005
- Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics.
Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: P40.8.C66 1999
- Encyclopedia of American Education 2nd ed. New
York: Facts on File, c2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB17.U54 2001 V.1-3
- Encyclopedia of Education 2nd ed. New York:
Macmillan, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB15.E47
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development.
Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2005
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB15.E473 2005
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2008. LOCATION: McKeldin
Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1050.9 .E63 2008
- Encyclopedia of Educational Research. 6th edition.
NY: Macmillan, 1992- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: LB15.E48 1992 This encyclopedia is supplemented by the
Review of Educational Research, a quarterly journal
(McKeldin Stacks L11.R35). The current issues are kept in the
Periodicals Room.
- Encyclopedia of Higher Education. NY: Pergamon,
1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB15.E49
1992
Encyclopedia of Language and Education.
Boston: Kluer, 2008. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: P40.8 .E53 2008
- Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities. NY: Facts on
File, 2002
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALLNUMBER:
LC4704.5.E53
- Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education. NY:
Routledge Falmer, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: QA11.E665 2001
- Encyclopedia of School Psychology. Thousand Oaks,
Calif.: Sage Publication, Inc. 2005
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1027.55.E523 2005
- Handbook of Adult and Continuing Education. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC5215.H245 2000
- Handbook of Early Childhood Literacy. London: Sage,
2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB1139.5.L35H363
- Handbook of Early Literacy Research. NY: Guilford
Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB1139.5.L35H37 2001
- Handbook of Educational Psychology. 2nd. ed.
Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1051.H2354 2006
Handbook of International School Psychology.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1027.55.H357 2007
- Handbook of Language and Literacy: Development and
Disorders. New York: Guilford Press, 2004.
LOCACTION:
McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC149.H36 2004
- Handbook of Reading Research Vol. I-III. Mahwah,
NJ: L. Erlbaum, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: LB1050.H278 2000 Vols. 1-2 (1984) in McKeldin Stacks at
LB1050.H278
- Handbook of Research in Emotional and Behavioral
Disorders. New York: Guilford Press, 2004.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC4801.H35 2004
- Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and
Technology. (2nd ed.) Mahway, N.J.: Lawrence
Erlbaum.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB1028.3.H355 2004
- Handbook of Research on Educational Administration
. 2nd ed. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers,
1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB2805.H2864 1999
- Handbook of Research on Literacy in Technology at the K-12
Level. Hershey, PA.: Idea Group Reference, 2006.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1028.43.H36 2006
- Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education.
2nd. ed. San Francisco: Jossey Bass, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin
Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC1099.3.H35 2004
- Handbook of Research on School Supervision. NY:
Macmillan, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB2806.4.H36 1998
- Handbook of Research on Teacher Education. 2nd
edition. NY: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin
Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1715.H274 1996
- Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language
Arts.(2nd ed.) Mahway, N.J.: Lawrence Earlbaum,
2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1576.H234
2003
- Handbook of Research on the Education of Young
Children Mahwah, N.J. Lawrence Erlbaum Assoc.,
2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB119.H25
2006
- Handbook of the Sociology of Education. NY: Plenum,
2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC191.H254
2000
- Higher Education in the United States: an
Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Ca: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LA225.H54
- International Encyclopedia of Adult Education and
Training. 2nd edition. Tarrytown, NY: Elsevier Science,
1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC5215.I586
1996
- International Encyclopedia of Education. NY:
Pergamon, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
LB15.I569 1994
- International Handbook of Educational Policy (vols.
1-2). Dordrecht: Springer, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin
Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC71.I58 2005
International
Handbook of English Language Teaching . New York : Springer,
2007 LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: PE1128.A2
I585 2007
- International Handbook of Higher Education (vols. 1-2)
. Dordrecht: Springer, 2006
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB2322.2.I57 2006
- International Handbook of Research and Development of
Giftedness and Talent (2nd ed.). Oxford: Pergamon,
2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LC3993.I596
2000
International
Handbook of Research in Arts Education. Dordrecht, The
Netherlands : Springer, 2007. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: NX280 .I56 2007
International Handbook of School Effectiveness and
Improvement. Dordrecht ; London : Springer, 2007. LOCATION:
McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB2822.8 .I68 2007
- International Higher Education: an Encyclopedia.
New York: Garland Pub., 1991. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LB15.I59 1991 V.1-2
- Learning Disabilities Sourcebook. Detroit, MI:
Omnigraphics, c1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL
NUMBER: LC4705.L434 1998
- The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and
Learning. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.
LOCATION:
PA LIB CALL NUMBER: MT1.S44
The Praeger
Handbook of Education and Psychology Westport, Conn.: Praeger,
2007. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stachs CALL NUMBER:
LB1051.P635 2007
return to top
McKeldin Library is a
regional depository for U.S. government documents. The Government
Documents collection and service desk are located on the 4th floor of
McKeldin Library. The resources in this collection are extensive and
varied and the staff in this area can assist you in accessing them. In
addition Internet sites that might be useful are:
- National
Center for Education Statistics.
(http://nces.ed.gov/)
The National Center for Education
Statistics is the primary federal agency for collecting and analyzing
data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. It provides a
wealth of statistical information, including the Digest of
Educational Statistics, the Condition of
Education, and Projections of Education
Statistics. Print versions of these publications are also
available in the Government Documents Room.
- U.S.
Department of Education.
(http://www.ed.gov/)
Contains reports, statistics and
legislation as well as other publications related to education.
return to top
Print Resources The Internet is a rich source of
lesson plans, educational sites, and other resources that enhance
classroom experiences. The following print sources will help you to
identify Internet sites and incorporate them into your lesson plans.
- Ameis, Jerry A. Mathematics on the Internet: a Resource for K-12
Teachers. 2nd. ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall/Merrill,
2002.
LOCATION: EPSL Stacks CALL NUMBER: QA11.5.A64 2002
- Berson, Michael J. et. al. Social Studies on the Internet.
2nd. ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Education, 2004.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1584.7.S63 2004
- Cantu, D. Antonio & Wilson, J. Warren. Teaching History in
the Digital Classroom. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2003.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER:D16.117.C36 2004
- Craver, Kathleen W. Using Internet Primary Sources to Teach
Critical Thinking Skills in History. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press,
1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: D16.2.C79 1999
- Eyerdam, Pamela J. Using Internet Primary Sources to Teach
Critical Thinking Skills in Visual Arts. Westport, Conn.: Libraries
Unlimited, 2003.
LOCATION: Art Library Folio CALL NUMBER: N380.E95
2003
- Glazer, Evan. Using Internet Primary Sources to Teach Critical
Thinking Skills in Mathematics. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press,
2001.
LOCATION: EPSL Stacks CALL NUMBER: QA11.5.G54 2001
- Johnson, Carolyn. Using Internet Primary Sources to Teach
Critical Thinking Skills in the Sciences. Westport, Conn.: Libraries
Unlimited, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: Q182.7.J65
2003
- Lajder, Sara B. The Tech-Savy English Classroom. Portland,
Me: Stenhouse Publishers, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks CALL
NUMBER: LB1631.K23 2003
- Provenzo, Eugene F. The Internet and Online Research for
Teachers. Boston: Pearson Allyn & Bacon, 2005.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Stacks CALL NUMBER: LB1044.87.P763 2005
- Provenzo, Eugene F. The Internet and the World Wide Web for
Teachers. 2nd. ed. Boston: Allyn & Bacon, 2002.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Reference CALL NUMBER: LB 1044.87.P763 2002
Trade books that can supplement course textbooks are also
useful. Do a "subject beginning with" search in the UM Libraries catalog under the subject headings
young adult literature bibliography or teenagers books and
reading. Possible titles include the following:
- Beers, Kylene & Lesesne, Teri (Eds.). Books for You: an
Annotated Booklist for Senior High. Urbana, Il.: the Council of
Teachers of English, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
Stacks CALL NUMBER: PN 1009.AB6731 2001
- Darby, Mary Ann. Hearing all the Voices: Multicultural Books
for Adolescents. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2002.
LOCATION:
McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: Z1037.A1D16 2002
- Jones, Patrick. A Core Collection for Young Adults. New
York: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 2003. (book + computer
disc)
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Reference Stacks and McKeldin Reference
Desk MediaCabinet CALL NUMBER: Z1037.J66 2003
In addition, the National Council for the Social Studies includes an
excellent list of trade books in the social sciences at its website social
studies.org. Click on the "Your Classroom" link.
Web Sites The Internet has made finding lesson plans and other
resources to support curriculum very easy--the problem is the
overwhelming number of sites available and getting to the best ones. The
following are some suggestions for places to begin.
General Education Metasites
Subject-Oriented Sites
- ArtsEdNet
The Getty Museum has taken
the lead in producing art education materials for K-12 students. This
site provides content and links to other appropriate sites on the
Internet.
- Art Teacher Connection
This focuses on
art education resources, images, lessons, and helpful hints on how to
integrate computer technology into a visual arts program.
- Edsitement: the Best of the Humanities of the
Web
Sponsored the National Endowment for the Humanities,
this site contains links to humanities resources, including historical
resources, on the Web. It also contains a large number of lesson
plans.
- Socialstudies.org This is the Web site of
the National Council for the Social Studies, an "umbrella organization
for elementary, secondary, and college teachers of history, geography,
economics, political science, sociology, psychology, anthropology, and
law-related education. Portions of the site are accessible only to
NCSS members.
- American
Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital
Library
Produced by the Library of Congress, the American
Memory Web site offers an extensive collection of documents
illustrating diverse aspects of American history and culture. The site
includes a "Teachers" page with teaching resources.
- Math Forum--Lesson Plans
This page
points to hundreds of lesson plans searchable by topic or grade level.
Searching for Additional Web Sites
- Google
Try searching by subject and
add "lesson plans". You can also add an educational level, e.g.
mathematics and "lesson plans" and "middle school".
- Yahoo
Yahoo also links to many
resources for teachers, but is set up more as a directory. Here's a
typical search path: Directory > Education > By Subject >
Humanities > History > K-12 > Teacher Resources >
History/social studies Web sites for K-12 Teachers.
return to top
National
Center for Education Statistics.
(http://nces.ed.gov/) The National Center for Education
Statistics is the primary federal agency for collecting and analyzing data
related to education in the U.S. and other nations. It provides a wealth
of statistical information, including the Digest of Educational
Statistics, the Condition of Education, and
Projections of Education Statistics. Print versions of
these publications are also available in the Government Documents Room.
The University of Michigan Documents Center maintains an excellent
website on Statistical Resources on the Web: Education
return to top
A number of
related library guides are also available, both in print and on the Web.
See also the full list of library guides.
return to top
return to top
|