navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August, 2008

Guide to U.S. Elections and Voting

Scope: This guide lists non-partisan and partisan sources of information on U.S. elections, voting, and political parties, including sources of voting records, campaign finance and polling data. If you are a University of Maryland College Park student, faculty, or staff member, you may email the subject area specialists Gerri Foudy or Annie Young for more information.

Current Elections News Sources

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

  • LexisNexis Academic (UM Only)
    Mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers, journals, wire services, and news transcripts including the Washington Post and the New York Times.
  • National Journal Policy Database (UM Only)
    Searchable database with full-text of the National Journal, Hotline, CongressDaily, "Ad Spotlight," an online guide to political and issue ads from across the country, and information on current and past campaigns.
  • CNN.com: Politics
    Includes latest delegate counts, election news, video clips, cartoons, and election calendars.
  • C-SPAN: Road to the White House
    Includes campaign ads and video clips.
  • Electionline Today
    Pew Charitable Trust site with links to national and state election news.
  • Ethnic Newswatch (UM Only)
    Bilingual (English/Spanish) database of over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press.
  • FactCheck.org
    Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania site that “monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.”
  • MasterFile Premier (UM Only)
    Index & abstracts for over 3000 general, humanities, social science and science magazines and journals, with full-text available for over 1,700 of these sources, including major weeklies such as Time, Newsweek,and U.S. News & World Report.
  • NPR: Election 2008
    Online campaign coverage from NPR Stations.

 return to top

Candidate Information

Biographical Information

  • CQ Politics in America (UM Only)
    Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
  • National Journal Policy Database (UM Only)
    Go into the Almanac of American Politics for background information on current elected officials and into the Hotline for information on current candidates and races.
  • Congress.org: Elected Officials
    Searchable by zip code, state or name. Links to web sites and contact information for federal, state, and local officials.
  • CQ Congress Collection (UM Only)
    "Members of Congress" includes biographical, political, and electoral data about every member of Congress since the 97th Congress. An advanced member search allows the user to search for members by various demographic fields.
  • LexisNexis Congressional (UM Only)
    "Members" section contains biographical and financial information and voting records for current and past members of Congress.
  • CQ Voting & Elections Collection (UM Only)
    Full-text database of statistics, analyses, definitions, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can customize data on candidate and office history, seat status and competition, party control, split districts, third parties, party switches and special elections. Also includes an encyclopedia, calendar, and chronology.
  • Project Vote Smart: Biographical Information
    Links to information on current officials and candidates.
  • Who Are Your Elected Officials in Maryland?
    Searchable by street address. Links to official biographies and websites.

 return to top

Campaign Finance Contributions

  • CQ Politics in America (UM Only)
    Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
  • Campaign Finance Information Center
    Search for campaign finance data and news stories by state.
  • Color of Money
    Ranks contributions by area with focus on race, ethnicity, and neighborhood.
  • Follow the Money
    National Institute on Money in State Politics site with a searchable database and state rankings.
  • IRS: Political Organization Filing and Disclosure
    Searchable database for all electronic and paper submissions of Form 8871 and Form 8872.
  • LexisNexis Congressional (UM Only)
    In the "Members" section, search "Campaign Finance reports" to retrieve reports all candidates file with the Federal Election Commission; "Financial Disclosures" to retrieve information about a member's finances; and "Campaign Contributions" to find out which people, companies and organizations have contributed to a campaign.
  • OpenSecrets.org
    Data on campaign contributions gathered from public records.
  • The Buying of the President 2008
    The Center for Public Integrity's quadrennial investigation of how money shapes presidential campaigns, archives include information on presidential elections back to 1996.

 return to top

Voting Records/Interest Group Ratings

  • Congressional Roll Call. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc. 1982 - .
    Annual publication. "Provides an objective, authoritative member-by-member survey and analysis of every roll call vote taken in the House and Senate."
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1.C6635
  • CQ Congress Collection (UM Only)
    Votes are searchable by Congress and topic and include a description of the vote along with the vote outcome by political party and includes links to the roll call vote, the full text of the legislation, and a state delegation vote map. It also provides the ability to conduct advanced vote analysis by various demographic fields.
  • CQ Weekly (UM Only)
    Go into "Floor Votes Search." Archived back to 1991.
  • CQ Politics in America (UM Only)
    Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
  • GPO Access: Congressional Record
    "The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session." Searchable back to 1994. Earlier volumes available in McKeldin U.S. Government Information Reference X1.1:
  • LexisNexis Congressional (UM Only)
    Click "Legislative Histories" to search for floor votes back to 1988 or go into "Members" section to search for floor votes.
  • Project Vote Smart: Interest Group Ratings
    Ratings given by issue categories (abortion, taxes, social security, foreign policy, environment, etc.) for current officials and candidates.
    http://www.vote-smart.org/official_five_categories.php?dist=issue_rating_category.php
  • Project Vote: Smart Voting Records
    Records on key votes back to 1995 for current officials and candidates.
  • Sharp, Michael J. Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings. 4th ed. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2006.
    Scores for "Party Unity," "Voting Participation," "Conservative Coalition," and "Presidential Support."
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1051.S555 2006 v. 1 - 2
  • Thomas: Roll Call Votes
    Library of Congress site with roll call votes back to 1989.

 return to top

Political Parties

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

  • Directory of U.S. Political Parties
    Descriptions of many political parties in the U.S. with links to their Web sites.

  • Sabato, Larry. Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections. New York: Facts on File, 2006.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK2261.S218 2006

 return to top

Public Opinion Polls and Surveys

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

  • Roper iPoll (UM Only)
    This databank is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for questions asked on U.S. nationwide public opinion surveys since 1935. It provides question wordings, response percentages, and full survey-level citations. In order to start using iPOLL, click "iPOLL Login" and complete the "iPOLL New User Registration" page on the website.

  • Gallup Brain (UM Only)
    Searchable database of Gallup Poll questions and responses back to 1935, plus current Gallup Poll News Service articles and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the survey.
  • CNN Election Center 2008
    Links to recent CNN/USA Today/Gallup polls and CNN/Time polls.

  • Gallup Poll. New York: Random House, 1972 -.
    Gallup opinion poll summaries, 1935/1971, 1972/1977, and annual volumes from 1978 on.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference STACKS
    CALL NUMBER: HN90.P8G35

  • Harris Poll. Los Angeles: Creator's Syndicate, Inc., 1988 - .
    Issued weekly; polls on a wide range of subjects.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Folio (Latest issues in McKeldin Periodicals Current Periodicals)
    CALL NUMBER: HM261.A211

  • American National Election Studies: Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior
    "Access to tables and graphs that display the ebb and flow of public opinion, electoral behavior, and choice in American politics over time."
    http://www.electionstudies.org/nesguide/nesguide.htm

 return to top

Voter Registration/ Boards of Elections

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

 return to top

Statistics/Historical Election Information

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

Comprehensive Resources

  • America Votes. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1956 - .
    Election data by state and county on Presidential, Gubernatorial, and Congressional races.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1967.A8

  • ANES: American National Election Studies
    "Produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes."

  • CQ Voting & Elections Collection (UM Only)
    Full-text database of statistics, analyses, definitions, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can customize data on candidate and office history, seat status and competition, party control, split districts, third parties, party switches and special elections. Also includes an encyclopedia, calendar, and chronology.

  • Cox, Edward Franklin. State and National Voting in Federal Elections, 1910-1970. Hamden, CT: Archon Books, 1972.
    Presidential and congressional election statistics by state.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1965.C59

  • Guide to U.S. Elections 5th ed. Washington, D.C.: CQ, 2005.
    Includes in-depth historical coverage of federal and gubernatorial elections and political parties in the United States.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1967 .C662 2005 v. 1-2

  • Nohlen, Dieter. Elections in the Americas: A Data Handbook. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
    Information and statistics on all national elections and referendums in 35 countries of the Americas, including the U.S.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JJ1018.E443 2005

  • Hernnson, Paul S., ed. Guide to Political Campaigns in America . Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2005.
    Includes information on the history, issues, processes and people, and types of campaigns.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK2265 .G84 2005

 return to top

Electoral College

 return to top

Presidency

  • Archer, J. Clark. Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2006.
    Two pages of maps for each election from 1788 to present include: one national map showing the winning candidate for each county; one national map per major candidate, including important third-party candidates; and snapshot data and statistical charts on popular and electoral voting, candidate names and parties, and voter turnout.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: G1201.F9 H5 2006

  • Burnham, W. Dean. Presidential Ballots, 1836-1892. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1955.
    County and state data.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524.B8

  • Cook, Rhodes. United States Presidential Primary Elections, 1968-1996 : A Handbook of Election Statistics. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2000.
    Complete county-by-county primary election returns.
    LOCATION: McKeldin U.S. Government Information Reference
    CALL NUMBER: JK522 .C66 2000

  • Cook, Rhodes. United States Presidential Primary Elections, 2000-2004 : A Handbook of Election Statistics . Washington, DC : CQ Press, 2007.
    Election statistics by county.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK522 .C662 2007

  • FEC: Election Results
    Presidential election results data since 1996.

  • McGillivray, Alice V. Presidential Primaries and Caucuses, 1992: A Handbook of Election Statistics. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1992
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK522 .M34 1992

  • Presidential Elections 1789-2000. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2002.
    Popular and electoral college vote data.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524.P6783 2002

  • Roberts, Robert North. Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2004.
    Important figures, slogans, events, and ideas of U.S. Presidential campaigns.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E176.1 R6 2004

  • Robinson, Edgar Eugene. The Presidential Vote, 1896-1932. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 1934.
    Compilation of election results by county.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524.R6
  • Scammon, Richard M. America at the Polls: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics, 1920-1964. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1965.
    Detailed vote figures, percentages, and pluralities for every state and county.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524.G6

  • Scammon, Richard M. and Alice V. McGillivray. America at the Polls 2: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics, 1968-1984. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1988.
    Detailed vote figures, percentages, and pluralities for every state and county.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524 .G62

  • Scammon, Richard M. and Alice V. McGillivray. America at the Polls, 1920-1956 (Harding to Eisenhower) and 1960-1992 (Kennedy to Clinton): A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1994.
    Includes some third-party candidate data.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524.A73 1994 vol. 1-2
  • McGillivray, Alice, Richard Scammon, and Rhodes Cook. America at the Polls 1960-2004: Kennedy to Bush: A Handbook of American Presidential Election Statistics .
    State-by-state popular vote, the Electoral College vote, and minority candidates for each election.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK524 .A73 2005 vol. 1-2

  • Thomas, G. Scott. The Pursuit of the White House: A Handbook of Presidential Election Statistics and History. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.
    Data on elections and participants, 1789 to 1984.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Desk
    CALL NUMBER: JK524.T44 1987

  • US Presidential Election Maps: 1860 - 1996
    University of Virginia site with percent of the popular vote and electoral vote distribution and totals. Also links to 2000 election map.

 return to top

Congress

  • Almanac of American Politics. (UM Only) New York: E.P. Dutton, 1972 - .
    Federal election statistics, congressional biographies, congressional district profiles, and summaries of campaigns and major issues.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks (Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
    CALL NUMBER: JK271.B343
  • CQ Politics in America (UM Only)
    Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.

  • Congressional Districts in the 2000s: A Portrait of America. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2003.
    Descriptive and statistical profiles of congressional districts.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1341.C65 2003
  • Congressional Elections, 1946-1996. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1998.
    Includes data on primaries, appointments and special elections, and reapportionment and redistricting.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1967.C64 1998
  • Dubin, Michael J. United States Congressional Elections, 1788 to 1997: The Official Results of the Elections of the 1st through 105th Congresses. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1998.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1967.D77 1998
  • U.S. Senate Historical Statistics and Lists
    Includes information on party division, elections, votes, appointed Senators, and commitee leadership.

 return to top

State and Local

  • Glashan, Roy R., compiler. American Governors and Gubernatorial Elections, 1775-1978. Westport, CT: Meckler Books, 1979.
    Statistics and biographical information.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK2447.G53

  • Gubernatorial Elections, 1787 to 1997. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1998.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK2447.G76 1998

  • Lilley, William III. Almanac of State Legislative Elections: Voting Patterns and Demographics 2000 – 2006. 3rd ed. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2007.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: JK1967 .A77 2007

  • Lilley, William III. Almanac of State Legislatures: Voting Patterns 1990 – 1997. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1998.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: G1201.F7 L5 1998

  • Lilley, William III. Almanac of State Legislatures: State Data Atlas. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 1994.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: G1201.F7 L5 1994

  • Maryland State Board of Elections
    Gubernatorial elections results 1986- .
  • National Governors Association: Governors
    Searchable biographical database back to the late 1700's.

 return to top

Electorate

  • Chi, Tsung, ed. East Asian Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2005.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 L3557 2005

  • Congressional Districts in the 2000s: A Portrait of America. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2003.
    Descriptive and statistical profiles of congressional districts.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1341.C65 2003

  • CQ Politics in America (UM Only)
    Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.

  • Historical Voting Tables: Congressional Elections
    U.S. Census Bureau data on voter turnout and registration, November 1966 to 1994.

  • Martis, Kenneth C. Historical Atlas of United States Congressional Districts, 1789-1983. New York: Free Press, 1982.
    Includes bibliographical references and index.
    LOCATION: McKeldin U.S. Government Information Atlas
    CALL NUMBER: G1201.F9 M3 1982

  • Medoff, Rafael, ed. Jewish Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E184.36.P64 M45 2002

  • Morrison, Minion K.C., ed. African Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2003.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E185 .A2538 2003 2004

  • Navarro, Sharon Ann and Armando Xavier Mejia, eds. Latino Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2004.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 L3557 2004

  • Rusk, Jerrold G. A Statistical History of the American Electorate. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2001.
    Includes a bibliography and index.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1967.R87 2001

  • Smith, Raymond A. and Donald Haider-Markel, eds. Gay and Lesbian Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2002.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: HQ76.3.U5 S59 2002

  • Stubben, Jerry D., ed. Native Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook . Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2006.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E98.T77 S78 2006

  • Voting and Registration
    US Census Bureau site with "information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of congressional and presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS)."

 return to top

Election Law and Court Cases

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

  • LexisNexis Academic (UM Only)
    Click the "Legal" tab to search primary sources such as federal and state case law, federal and state codes, federal regulations, and secondary sources such as law reviews and legal news periodicals.

  • LexisNexis Congressional (UM Only)
    Indexing and abstracting of congressional publications back to 1789, with full-text for recent years, plus Legislative Histories back to 1970. Also includes public laws, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.

  • Election Reform Legislation
    National Conference of State Legislatures site. Searchable by state, status, year, and subtopic. 2001 - .

  • U.S Department of Justice Voting Section
    Links to major voting rights statutes and cases.

  • Whitaker, L. Paige. Campaign Finance: Constitutional and Legal Issues of Soft Money. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Research Service, 2004.
    Issue Brief for Congress.

  • Whitaker, L. Paige. Campaign Finance Reform: A Legal Analysis of Issue and Express Advocacy. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Research Service, 2002.
    Report for Congress.

  • Whitaker, L. Paige. Campaign Finance Regulation Under the First Amendment: Buckley v. Valeo and Its Supreme Court Progeny. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Research Service, 2003.
    Report for Congress.

  • Whitaker, L. Paige. Campaign Financing. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Research Service, 2004.
    Issue Brief for Congress.

  • Dover, E.D. The Disputed Presidential Election of 2000: A History and Reference Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003.
    "Covers the electoral college, legal issues and court cases, political issues, and long term significance of the 2000 election."
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK526 2003

  • Neale, Thomas H. The Electoral College: Reform Proposals in the 108th Congress. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Research Service, 2003.
    Report for Congress.
    http://www.thememoryhole.org/crs/more-reports/RS21496.pdf

  • FEC Law & Regulations
    Links to full text of acts, opinions, and recommendations.

  • FEC: Selected Court Case Abstracts: 1976-March 2004
    "Includes court cases pertinent to the Federal Elections Commission Act of 1971, as amended."

  • Henderson, Harry. Campaign and Election Reform. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 2004.
    Part of the "Library in a Book" series. Includes topical overviews, a chronology, biographical listing, and glossary, plus a research guide, annotated bibliography, a list of organizations and agencies, and some statistics and primary documents.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1976.H46 2004

 return to top

Sources for Scholarly Research on Elections and Voting

When accessing (UM Only) subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.

  • America: History & Life (UM Only)
    Abstracts of information available in journal articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history.

  • Center for American Politics and Citizenship
    University of Maryland site which "provides citizens and policy-makers with research on critical issues related to the nation's political institutions, processes, and policies."

  • The Forum: A Journal of Applied Research in Contemporary Politics (UM Only)
    Online journal from Berkeley Electronic Press with many articles on U.S. elections.
    http://www.bepress.com/forum/

  • Goehlert, Robert U. and Fenton S. Martin. CQ's Resource Guide to Modern Elections: An Annotated Bibliography, 1960-1996. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2000.
    "Comprehensive listing of works about elections, drawn from the disciplines of political science, public administration, and the general social sciences and humanities.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: JK1976.M37 2000

  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International (UM Only)
    Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs topics from 1972 to the present.

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (UM Only)
    1975 to the present. Abstracts of journal articles and dissertations from over 1,000 sources. Combined database of the former "Political Science Abstracts" and "ABC PolSci."

 return to top

 

© 2008 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 13, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search