Navigation Bar

 

Grants & Foundations

Scope: This guide provides sources for identifying information on grants and foundations. These sources contain information on the availability of grants and how to obtain them, as well as foundation names and the resources they offer. This guide covers primarily resources for graduate and post-graduate research. Email the subject area specialist at ph20@umail.umd.edu or call (301)405-9279 for more information.


Table of Contents

Locating References Using VICTORWeb

To locate books and nonprint materials held in the eight libraries on campus search the UM Libraries online catalog, VICTORWeb. Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings for the proper terms to use in your search or consult a reference librarian for assistance. In general, the use of relatively narrow and specific headings leads to the most fruitful results. Examples are:

Research grants Grants-in-aid
Research support Endowments
Foundations Fellowships
Scholarships Endowment of research

These terms can also be used to locate materials in the UnCover database. UnCover is a periodical index available on the VICTOR Telnet system. For more information on searching Uncover, see the library guide "Uncover" or consult a Reference Librarian.

Grant/Fianacial Aid Directories

  • Annual Register of Grant Support. Annual. 1967- .
    LOCATIONS: MCK FOLIO (1969- ), Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove), ARCH REF, CHEM REF, ENGIN REF
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.A75
    Standard reference sources on nonrepayable financial support.

  • Blum, Laurie. Free Money for Graduate School. New York: Facts on File, 1996.
    LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove), ENGIN REF
    CALL NUMBER: LB2337.2.B58 1996
    Indexed by field of study, ethnic or minority status, study/research abroad, and provides a sample application and guide to proposals.

  • Case Matching Gift Details. Annual. 1986- . Washington, D.C. : Council for Advancement and Support of Education.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: HG4028.C6C31
    A guide to corporate matching gifts with company contacts, specials terms, maximum amounts, and procedures for proposals.

  • Cassidy, Daniel J. Worldwide Graduate Scholarship Directory. 4th edition. Franklin Lakes, NJ : Career Press, 1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2337.2.C36 1996
    Indexes funding by field of study and specific subject area; lists eligibility, deadlines, and application information.

  • Chronicle Financial Aid Guide. Annual. 1955- .
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2337.4.C471
    Financial aid programs offered to freshmen through postgraduate students. Primarily by non-collegiate public and private organizations. Includes essay awards, loans, scholarships, grants, work study programs, postdoctoral fellowships and research grants.

  • College Blue Book. Biennial. 1923- .
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LA226.C685
    Sources of financial aid for individuals pursuing postsecondary education.

  • Directory of Research Grants. Annual. 1975- . Phoenix: Oryx Press.
    LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove), ENGIN REF - Next to latest edition only
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.W56
    Lists more than 6,000 grants supporting research or training for research-oriented careers in all fields of study.

  • The Grants Register. Biennial. 1969- .
    LOCATIONS: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove), ENGIN REF - Latest edition only
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.G72
    Intended for students at or above the graduate level and for those involved in advanced professional or vocational training. Includes scholarships, fellowships, grants-in-aid, competitions, prizes, honoraria, professional and vocational awards for minority groups, etc. International directory.

  • Mills, Carlotta R., ed. National Directory of Corporate Giving. NY: Foundation Center, 1993.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: HG4028.C6N37 1993
    Directory lists 2,050 companies making contributions to nonprofit organizations. Provides information on potential corporate donors, types of support, records of past support, and complete contact information.

  • Need A Lift? College Financial Aid Handbook. Annual. 1951- . Indianapolis, IN: American Legion.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.A7
    Produced by the American Legion, this is a comprehensive guide to available financial aids, including grants. Contains opportunities for veterans and dependents of veterans, as well as sources of career information, governmental aid programs, and specific eligibility requirements for educational institutions.

  • Peterson's Grants for Graduate & Postdoctoral Study. Biennial. 1995- . Princeton, NJ: Peterson's Guides.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2337.2.P46

Foundation Directories

  • Foundation Center. The Foundation Directory. Biennial. 1960- . New York: Foundation Center.
    LOCATIONS: MCK STACKS (1960- ), Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove), LIBSCH REF - Latest 2 editions only
    CALL NUMBER: AS911.A2F65
    Standard reference work for information about non-governmental grant making foundations in the U.S.

  • Foundation Center. Foundation Grants Index. Annual. 1970- .
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: AS911.A2F66
    Access to funding interests of major foundations by subject, geographic area, and types of organizations which receive funds. Cumulates Foundation Grants Index Quarterly.

  • Foundation Center. Foundation Grants Index Quarterly. Quarterly. 1990- . New York: Foundation Center.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest 2 years only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: AS911.A2F691
    Quarterly listing of recently awarded grants, profiles of grantmakers, and other updates of grant publications.

  • Foundation Center. The Foundation 1,000. Annual. 1992- . New York: Foundation Center.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest cumulative edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: HV97.F65F68
    Profiles of the 1,000 largest foundations in the U.S. Each entry includes subject areas, geographic restrictions, financial data, recent grantees, and methods of proposals.

  • Foundation Center. Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers and Donors. Annual. 1993- . New York: Foundation Center.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: AS911.A2F6553
    Brief information on nonprofit organizations classified by the IRS as private foundations. Also includes data on community foundations and small foundations. Replaces National Data Book of Foundations.

  • Foundation Center. National Directory of Corporate Giving. 5th edition. New York: Foundation Center, 1997.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: HG4028.C6N37 1993
    2,050 companies making contributions to nonprofit organizations. Contains sample grants, company descriptions, corporate giving program profiles, and restrictions or limitations on giving.

  • Foundation Grants to Individuals. Biennial. 1977- .
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (Latest edition shelved at General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2336.F598
    Includes scholarships, fellowships, loans, general welfare, medical assistance, awards, prizes, and grants through nominations as well as company sponsored foundations and employee funds.

  • International Foundation Directory. 8th edition. London: Europa Publications, 1998.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: AS911.A2I58 1996
    Provides information on purpose, activities, finances, and member governing bodies.

Government Aid

  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Annual. 1969- .
    LOCATIONS: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove), GOVDOC QCKREF, LIBSCH REF
    GOVDOC SU DOC No. PREX 2.20: (19uu - )
    CALL NUMBER: HC110.P63A55
    Government-wide compendium of federal programs, projects, and activities which provide benefits to the American public. Contains over [1,000] financial and non-financial programs administered by departments and establishments in the executive branch of the government. Also searchable on VICTOR Telnet by selecting at the main menu "Other Catalogs and Databases." Also available on the WWW at http://www.gsa.gov/fdac/queryfdac.htm.

Funding Sources by Subject or by Group

  • Funding in Aging: A Guide to Giving by Foundations, Corporations & Charitable Organizations. New York: Foundation Center, 1996.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: HV1461.F86 1996

  • Grants, Fellowships, and Prizes of Interest to Historians. Annual. 1987- . Washington, DC: American Historical Association.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: D16.25.G71
    Lists 440 organizations granting fellowships, awards and prizes available for individual or group research. A bibliography lists other sources of funding information.

Funding for Arts & Humanities Research

  • Directory of Grants in the Humanities. Annual. 1986- . Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: AZ507.D57
    Contains funding programs in all areas of the humanities and some social sciences. Federal/state, foundations, corporations, professional organizations and associations are outlined. Indexes grants by name, subject, sponsoring organization, and program type.

  • Fandel, Nancy, ed. National Directory of Grants and Aid to Individuals in the Arts, International. 8th edition. Washington DC: Washington International Arts Letter, 1993. #16 in the Arts Patronage Series.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: NX398.G7 1993
    Lists grants, fellowships, prizes, artist-in-residence and teaching opportunities in the U.S. and abroad.

  • Grants and Awards Available to American Writers. New York: PEN American Center.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: PN171.P75G73 1996/1997
    Information on all types of funding opportunities for writers including grants, scholarships, artist-in-residence programs, and prizes.

Funding for Sciences Research

  • Copeland, Barry W. Funding Sources in Physical Education, Exercise, and Sport Science. Morgantown, WV : Fitness Information Technology, 1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: GV365.C67 1995
    Compilation of mostly national funding sources for research, project development, and training for researchers, practitioners, and students within physical education, exercise, and sport science.

  • Pincus, Harold Alan, M.D., ed. Research Funding and Resource Manual: Mental Health and Addictive Disorders. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: RC337.R473 1995
    Funding by federal and state agencies, foundations and nonprofits, as well as information on industry and academia collaboration.

Funding for Other Groups

  • Directory of Financial Aids for Women. Irregular. 1978- . Santa Barbara, CA: Reference Service Press.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB 2338 .D5
    Information on all types of financial support. Chapters on federal and state assistance, alternative finance methods, and sources of additional information.

  • Financial Aid for African Americans. Biennial. 1997-. El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Service Press.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.F5643

  • Financial Aid for Asian Americans. Biennial. 1997-. El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Service Press.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.F5644

  • Financial Aid for Hispanic Americans. Biennial. 1997-. El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Service Press.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.F5645

  • Financial Aid for Native Americans. Biennial. 1997-. El Dorado Hills, CA: Reference Service Press.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS - Latest edition only (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2338.F5646

Proposal Writing

To locate circulating copies of books on this topic, search VICTORWeb using the keywords grant proposal writing.
  • Brewer, Ernest W. Finding Funding: Grantwriting from Start to Finish. 3nd edition. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press, 1998.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: LB2342.4.U6B74 1998
    Explains how to use the Federal Register and other federal publications for identifying available grants. Guidance on writing a grant proposal and implementing a funded project.

  • Miner, Lynn E. and Jerry Griffith. Proposal Planning and Writing. 2nd edition. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1998.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove)
    CALL NUMBER: HG177.5.U6M56 1993
    Presents a step-by-step approach to the proposal process. Includes examples of proposals, cover letters, and background materials.

  • Reif-Lehrer, Liane. The Grant Application Writer's Handbook. Boston: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 1995.
    LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (General Reference/Biography Alcove), ENGIN REF
    CALL NUMBER: R853.P75R439 1995
    Covers all aspects of proposal writing.

Periodicals

The following serials frequently have sections on current or forthcoming grants or funding opportunities.

  • Bulletin - National Science Foundation. Monthly - except July and August, 1972- .
    LOCATION: GOVDOC SU DOC
    SU DOC NUMBER: NS 1.3:
    Lists upcoming deadlines for proposal submissions for research in all areas of the sciences. See also the NSF link from the Community of Science's Funded Research page [http://fundedresearch.cos.com/].

  • Chronicle of Higher Education. Weekly. 1966- .
    LOCATIONS: MCKPER MFILM (1966- ), MCKPER CURPER (current issues held until microfilm arrives), LIBSCH BNDPER (latest 6 mos. only)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2300.C45
    Lists fellowships and grants with application deadlines. Also available on the WWW at http://chronicle.com/.

  • Foundation News & Commentary. Bimonthly. 1994- .
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, current issues in MCKPER CURPER
    CALL NUMBER: AS911.A2F68
    Contains articles for grants seekers and grants makers.

  • Humanities. Bimonthly. 1989- .
    LOCATIONS: MCK FOLIO, MCKPER CURPER (Latest edition), GOVDOC SU DOC (NF 3.11)
    CALL NUMBER: LB2301.H83
    Provides a calendar of grant deadlines and a complete listing of all NEH grants by category.

  • NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts. Irregular - generally issued weekly. 1972- .
    LOCATION: GOVDOC SU DOC
    SU DOC NUMBER: HE 20.3008/2:

  • Washington International Arts Letter. 10 times per year. 1962- .
    LOCATIONS: MCK FOLIO, current issues in MCKPER CURPER, NTL PERSTK
    CALL NUMBER: NX1.W3
    Information on patronage, support programs and developments.

Internet Resources

General

  • The Society of Research Administrator's Grants Web [http://sra.rams.com/cws/sra/resource.htm]
    Provides links to government, general, and private funding resources, including U.S., Canadian, and other international resources, proposal writing tips, federal agency policies, deadlines, grant forms, and other information.

  • The Foundation Center [http://fdncenter.org/]
    Clearinghouse for information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects. Provides links to over 160 grantmakers, including private foundations, corporations, and other institutions. Also provides links to information on the fundraising process, including an internet guide to proposal writing and research.

  • FinAid - Grants [http://www.finaid.org/otheraid/grants.phtml]
    Sponsored by the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA) and provides links to scholarship, fellowship, and grant databases, proposal-writing information, government grant information, and other grant-related resources. For more complete coverage of student financial aid information from this site, go to http://www.finaid.org/.

  • The Pew Charitable Trusts [http://www.pewtrusts.com/]
    The PCT make grants to nonprofits working in the areas of culture, education, the environment, health and human services, public policy, and religion.

  • A Grant Getter's Guide to the Internet [http://web.calstatela.edu/academic/orsp/grantguide.html]
    Provides information and links to information on federal grants, foundation/private resources, and other educational resources.

Federal Government

  • TRAM - Research Funding Opportunities and Administration [http://tram.east.asu.edu/]
    TRAM is a service initially developed by the Texas Research Administrators Group (TRAM). It contains a search engine for locating funding opportunites from many different government agencies. Funding information is updated daily. TRAM also contains a set of grant application forms collected from various sources, as well as standard agreements for subcontracts, non-disclosures, licenses, and links to other servers related to research funding and administration.

  • Federal Domestic Assistance Catalog - Query/Search Page [http://www.gsa.gov/fdac/queryfdac.htm]
    Government-wide compendium of federal programs, projects, and activities which provide benefits to the American public. Contains financial and non-financial programs administered by departments and establishments in the executive branch of the government.

  • FEDIX [http://www.fie.com/fedix/]
    A searchable database of over 1,300 federally-sponsored research, education and minority programs, including complete descriptions and full contact information. Provides access to Fedix Opportunity Alert, a free e-mail notification service regarding research and education funding opportunities in subscriber's field of interest.

Arts & Humanities

  • National Endowment for the Humanities [http://www.neh.fed.us/]
    Provides information on types of funding, deadlines, as well as application forms and frequently asked questions.

  • Smithsonian Institution - Office of Fellowships and Grants [http://www.si.edu/organiza/offices/fellow/start.htm]
    Provides details about the purpose, research fields, eligibility requirements, duration of appointment, and application procedures and deadlines for research grant and fellowship opportunities.

Science & Technology

  • Community of Science Web Server [http://www.cos.com/]
    Provides links to Funded Research [http://fundedresearch.cos.com/], including NIH, NSF, SBIR (Small Business Innovation Research), USDA, and MRC (Medical Research Council, UK).

  • Funding Opportunities [http://fundingopps2.cos.com/]
    Provides information on funding opportunities in fields of medicine, health, technology, agriculture, social science, arts and humanities, and law.

  • MedWeb - Emory University [http://WWW.MedWeb.Emory.Edu/MedWeb/]
    Browse the subject Grants and Funding. Provides links to grants and funding information for different types of medical/scientific research.

Education

  • The Chronicle Guide to Grants - Deadlines [http://philanthropy.com/free/deadlines/gdeadlines.htm]
    Provides deadlines for fellowships, grants, institutes and workships, papers, and more, taken from forthcoming issues of The Chronicle of Higher Education and the Chronicle of Philanthropy.

Women & Minorities

  • Radcliffe College - Funding and Grants Page [http://radcliffe.harvard.edu:70/1m/wish/research/Funding_and_grantsfile]
    Lists about 25 organizations that provide funding and grants to women or to research that serves women and girls.

University of Maryland - Grant/Fellowship Information

  • Guide to National Fellowships and Scholarships [http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/UgradInfo/UgradStudies/PostBac/]
    Lists dozens of fellowship and scholarship opportunities at UM for graduate studies.

  • FastWeb [http://web.studentservices.com/fastweb/]
    Free financial aid web search that matches user's specific skills, abilities, and interests to the database's over 180,000 scholarships.

  • ExPAN Scholarship Search [http://www.collegeboard.org/fundfinder/bin/fundfind01.pl]
    A free scholarship search service with an annually updated database of various forms of financial aid.

  • Scholarship Resource Network Express [http://www.rams.com/srn/execsrch.htm]
    A scholarship search database that concentrates on non-need-based aid from the private sector.

return to top

 

University Libraries, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-7011 (301)405-0800
Please send comments and suggestions to the Libraries' Webmaster.
Content questions should be directed to Information Provider
Last modified: August 17, 2010

© 2001 University of Maryland Libraries
Last Revised: 09/28/2001
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search