navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August 2007

Jewish Studies

Scope: This is a selective guide of sources for Jewish Studies, available at the University of Maryland Libraries. Email the subject area specialist yluckert@umd.edu or call 301-405-9365 for more information.

Transliteration: Hebrew and Yiddish Transliteration Table. This link is to the scanned text of the 1997 edition of the "ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts," approved by the Library of Congress and the American Library Association. These tables were developed for use when the consistent transliteration of non-Roman script (e.g. Hebrew) into the Roman alphabet is needed, for example, in order to catalog non-Roman materials.

LOCATING BOOKS IN UM LIBRARIES

To locate books, search the Catalog. Books and other materials in the Library's Catalog are categorized according to Library of Congress Subject Headings, copies of which are located near the online catalogs.

return to top

OTHER LIBRARIES' CATALOGS

DATABASES

Because of licensing agreements, some of these resources can only be used by current faculty, staff, and students of the University of Maryland College Park. They can be accessed remotely through Research Port.

return to top

Related Databases

Jewish Studies is a highly interdisciplinary subject. Thus a variety of resources can be used depending on one's topic.
  • Arts & Humanities Search
    An index, to articles published in over 1,300 arts and humanities journals and selected articles from related science and social science journals. Also useful for finding book, film, music and performance reviews as well as creative writing published in journals. Provides cited reference searching.

  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    Indexes over 17,000 journals by subject keyword, author name, journal title & author affiliation. Search author abstracts when available. Provides cited reference searching.

  • America: History and Life
    Information on articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history published since 1964.

  • Historical Abstracts
    Information on articles, books, and dissertations about non-U.S. and non-Canadian history from 1450 to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals in 50 languages. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.

  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    Citations to journal articles, books, bibliographies, and book reviews about the period 400 - 1700. A growing database. To date, full runs of 632 scholarly journals have been indexed from as far back as 1842.

  • ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database
    ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Information about articles and other publications on literature and related subjects. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.

  • Women's Studies International
    Compiled from ten women's studies databases, primarily an index of the feminist press from 1972 to the present.

  • GenderWatch
    Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports.

  • PAIS International
    Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs from 1972 to the present.

  • Philosopher's Index
    Information about articles and other publications on philosophy.

  • SocIndex
    Information about articles and dissertations on sociology and related subjects.

  • International Political Science Abstracts
    Indexing and abstracts from international political science periodicals; 1989 to the present.

  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press, including Jewish American press.

  • See also Research Port for additional databases on various topics.

return to top

GENERAL DATABASES

  • Lexis/Nexis Academic
    Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included. Covers the gamut of business and related topics, including SEC filings, and key accounting sources.

return to top

PRINT INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

  • Old Testament Abstracts
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BS410 .O42
  • The Middle East Abstracts and Index
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS41 .M44
  • Reshimat Ma'amarim Be-mada'e Ha-yahadut. (RAMBI)
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:Z6367 .J62
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:Z6367 .I5

return to top

GUIDES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, DICTIONARIES AND DIRECTORIES

Encyclopedias (General)

  • Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition
    Updated edition of this work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
  • Encyclopedia Judaica
    CDROM McKeldin Library Reference Desk Media Cabinet
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.8 .E5 1997
    Print McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.8 .E5
  • Glenda, Abramson. The Blackwell companion to Jewish culture : from the eighteenth century to the present 1989
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.8 .B46 1989
  • Adler, Cyrus[et al].The Jewish encyclopedia : a descriptive record of the history, religion, literature and customs of the Jewish people from the earliest times to the present day
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.8 .J65 1925
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.8 .J59 1907
  • Jewish Encyclopedia
    This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia.
  • Evreiskaia entsiklopediia :svod znanii o evreistvie :ego kulturie v proshlom: nastoiashchem. S.-Peterburg : Izdanie Obshchestva dlia nauchnykh evreiskikh izdanii : Izdatelstva Brokhaus-Efron' [1906-13]
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.8 .E83 1906a
  • Ha-Entsiklopedyah ha-ivri: kelalit, yehudit, ve-eretsyisre'elit: kerekh milu'im le-kerakhim l-32
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:AE30 .E5

return to top

Subject Specific Encyclopedias and Encyclopedic Dictionaries

  • The Encylopedia of Judaism
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BM50 .E63 1999
  • The Encyclopedia of Hasidism
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM198 .E53 1996>
  • Encyclopedia Talmudica
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM500.5 .E613
  • A guide to Jewish religious practice
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM700 .K54
  • The Encyclopedia of Religion (Eliade, Mircea, ed.)
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BL31 .E46 1987
  • The Anchor Bible Dictionary
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BS440 .A54 1992
  • Harper's Bible Dictionary
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BS440 .H237 1985
  • Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BM487 .E53 2000
  • Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BS440 .B5713
  • Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:D804.3 .E53 1990
  • The timetables of Jewish history
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS114 .G68 1993
  • A survey of Arab-Israeli relations 1947-2001
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS119.7 .S93 2002
  • The encyclopedia of Jewish life before and during the Holocaust
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS135.E8 E45 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS149 .E597

return to top

Dictionaries

  • A dictionary of Jewish Palestinian Aramaic
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ5255 .S65 1990
  • Thesaurus of mediaeval Hebrew poetry
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ5051 .D3 1970
  • 3,000 years of Hebrew literature
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ5008 .K7
  • The dictionary of classical Hebrew
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ4833 .D53 1993
  • Hebrew- English/ English- Hebrew Dictionaries
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ4833 .B26 1992
    Additional volumes in general stacks
  • Yiddish- English/ English- Yiddish Dictionaries
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ5117.H27 1985
    Additional copies in general stacks
  • The Hebrew and Aramaic lexicon of the Old Testament
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ4833 .K58 1994

return to top

BIOGRAPHIES AND AUTOBIOGRAPHIES

  • Biography Index.1945
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks (Print version entitled Biography Index)
    CALL NUMBER:Z5301 .B5
  • Comay, Joan. Who's who in Jewish history after the period of the Old Testament. 1995
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS115 .C6 1995
  • Frieman, Shulamis. Who's who in the Talmud. 1995
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM501.15 .F75 1995
  • Symons, Alan. The Jewish contribution to the 20th century. 1998
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS125.3.A2 S96 1998
  • Juedischer biographischer Index. 1998
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS115 .J84 1998
  • Jewish Biographical Archive.1994
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfiche
    CALL NUMBER:DS115 .J841 1994
  • Finleel, Aurahan. The great Torah commentators. 1990
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM750 .F53 1990

return to top

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

  • Vinograd, Yeshayahu. Otsar ha-sefer ha-`Ivri : reshimat ha-sefarim she-nidpesu be-ot `Ivrit me-reshit ha-defus ha-`Ivri bi-shenat 229 (1469) `ad shenat 623 (1863)
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: Z7070.V55 1993
  • Marx, Alexander. Bibliographical studies and notes on rare books and manuscripts in the library of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America. 1977
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM40 .M37
  • Published material from the Cambridge genizah collections : a bibliography, 1896-1980. 1998
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM434 .C25 1988
  • Fernekes, William R. The Oryx Holocaust sourcebook. 2002
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:D804.3 .F47 2002
  • Edelheit, Abraham J.Bibliography on Holocaust literature. 1990
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:D804.3 .E33 1990
  • Edelheit, Abraham J. The Yiddish catalog and authority file of the YIVO Library. 1990
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.95 .Y58 1990
  • Fox, Stuart. Jewish films in the United States : a comprehensive survey and descriptive filmography. 1976
    LOCATION: UMBC REF STACKS
    CALL NUMBER:DS115.95.Z9 F68
  • The Arab-Israeli conflict, 1945-1971 : 1945-1971 : a bibliography. 1978
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS119.7 .A672
  • Luckert, Yelena. Soviet Jewish history, 1917-1991: An Annotated Bibliography. 1992
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS135.R92 L83 1992
  • Antisemitism : an annotated bibliography 1987
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS145 .A57 1987
  • Bibliography of modern Hebrew literature in translation. 1979
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ5059.A1 B5
  • Singerman, Robert. Judaica Americana. 1990
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:E184.J5 S56 1990
  • Schwab, Mo?se. Index of articles relative to Jewish history and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900. 1972
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:Z6366 .S413
  • Shunami, Shlomo. Bibliography of Jewish bibliographies. 1969
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:Z7070.A1 S5 1969
  • The Israel Union List of Serials
    Lists over 100,000 different serial titles held by over 170 Israeli academic, special and public libraries and collections.

return to top

ATLASES

  • Gilbert, Martin. Atlas of the Arab-Israeli conflict. 1993
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:G2236.S1 G52 1993
  • Gilbert, Martin. Jewish history atlas. 1985
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:G1046.E43 G5 1985
  • Gilbert, Martin. The Routledge atlas of the Holocaust. 2002
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:G1797.21.E29 G583 2002
  • Historical atlas of the Holocaust. 1996
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:G1797.21.E29 H5 1996
  • Chaliand, G?rard. The Penguin atlas of diasporas. 1995
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:GN370 .C43 1995
  • Cohn-Sherbok, Dan. Atlas of Jewish history. 1994
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:G1030 .C559 1994
  • Aharoni, Yohanan. The Carta Bible atlas. 2002
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
    CALL NUMBER:G2230.A2 2002
  • Ariel, Israel. Atlas Erets-Yisrael li-qevuloteha al-pi ha-mekorot. 1998
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:G2236.S1 A74 1988
  • Baviskar, Vera. The language and culture atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry. 1992
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:PJ5119.E852 L35 1992

return to top

CLASSIC TEXTS IN REFERENCE

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

  • The CD ROM Judaic classics library
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Electronic Text and Imaging Center PCs
    CALL NUMBER:BM495 .J84 1995
  • The Global Jewish Database (the Responsa Project)
    The world's largest electronic collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew ever recorded, which embody thousands of years of Jewish learning. Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations; the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc.

  • also available in CD-Rom
    Bar Ilan's Judaic Library [complete file]
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Desk Media Cabinet
    CALL NUMBER:BM501 .R47 2003

  • Judaic bookshelf [computer file] : master library = ha-Madaf ha-Torani ha-shalem
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Desk Media Cabinet
    CALL NUMBER: BM495 .J835 2002
  • Talmud Yerushalmi Online
    This site eventually will include the entire Yerushalmi in the format of audio classes. Much of the Yerushalmi has already been uploaded. The website also contains much additional helpful material and links concerning Talmud Yerushalmi.
  • Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts.
    This project brings together images of major Talmudic manuscripts from libraries throughout the world enabling one to view and read the actual manuscripts as they were written.
  • The Munich Codex
    The Munich 95 manuscript

PRINT RESOURCES

  • The Talmud : The Steinsaltz edition
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM499.5 .E4 1989
  • Talmud Bavli
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
    CALL NUMBER:BM504 .S58 1967
  • The Zohar
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM525 .A5
  • Bible. O.T. Hebrew
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BS715 1961
  • The JPS Torah commentary
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BS1225.3 .J78 1989
  • A concordance to the Septuagint and the other Greek versions of the Old Testament
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BS1122 .H3 1998
  • Hebrew-English edition of the Babylonian Talmud
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM506.S27 F6 1973
  • Bible. Polyglot. Complutensian
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
    CALL NUMBER:BS1 1514a

return to top

PRIMARY SOURCES AND RESEARCH COLLECTIONS

Using the Libraries' catalog to find primary sources

In many cases it is possible to identify primary sources in the catalog (see above) by adding to your search words such terms as archival resources, archives, sources, manuscripts, correspondence, diaries, personal narratives, etc.

Example:

  • israel sources

Another strategy is to use the advanced search and specify particular years to limit a search to books and other materials contemporary with an event or phenomenon you are interested in.

Example:

  • israel, year/s 1900 to 1920

return to top

MICROFORMS AND BOOK COLLECTIONS

  • Hebrew books from the Harvard College Library
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BM40 .H375 Each item in this collection has been individaully cateloged and can be found in the Librarie's Catalog by title, subject or keyword search.
  • Yiddish books from the Harvard College Library
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: PJ5125 .Y53 1994
    Yiddish Books From the Harvard College Library on Microfiche -an Index to this microfiche collection in an electronic format. To search use your browser's search function.
  • Documents on the foreign policy of Israel
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: DS126.5.D6
  • Israel?s foreign relations
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: DS119.6 .I87
  • The Jewish emigration from Ukraine, 1900-1917 [microform] : documents of the Kiev Jewish Emigration Society : from the holdings of the State Archive of Kiev Oblast, Kiev, Ukraine = [Evreiskaia emigratsiia iz Ukrainy, 1895-1917, Kiev, Ukraine].
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
    CALL NUMBER:DS135.U4 J49 2004
  • J?disches biographisches Archiv [microform] = Jewish biographical archive
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
    CALL NUMBER:DS115 .J841 1994
  • S. L. and Eileen Shneiderman Collection of Yiddish Books at the University of Maryland, College Park. A collection of literature in Yiddish, published in various countries of the world, many after World War II.
  • Montefiore collection of Hebrew manuscripts in the library of Jews' College, London
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: Z6605.H4 M66 1994a
    Printed Guide: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Z6605.H4 M66 1994a
  • Trial of the major war criminals before the International Military Tribunal, Nuremberg, 14 November 1945-1 October 1946.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:D804.G42 I56
  • Nuremberg war crimes trials online
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Electronic Text and Imaging Center PCs
    CALL NUMBER:JX54371995
  • Sephardic editions, 1550-1820
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: DS135.S7 S474 2002
  • Anglo-Judaic pamphlets from the Jewish Theological Seminary
    A collection of 1425 pamplets, each cataloged separately. In the Catalog. do a title search for "Anglo-Judaic pamphlets"
  • Old Jewish Periodicals

    • Jahresbericht der Landes-Rabbinerschule in Budapest f?r das Schuljahr ... [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1877/1878-1881/1882,1883/1884-1899/1900,1902/1903-1916/1917
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: BM85.H8 J34
    • Jeschurun [microform] : Monatsschrift f?r Lehre und Leben im Judentum.
      HOLDINGS: 1.Jahrg.:Heft 3-16.Jahrg.:Heft 3/4 (1914:M?rz-1929:M?rz-Apr.)
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: DS101 .J358
    • Jahrbuch f?r j?dische Geschichte und Literatur [microform]
      HOLDINGS: 1898-1899,1901-1937
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: DS101 .J25
    • Mos? antologie israelitica [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1878-1885
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: BM1 .M67
    • Revue des ?tudes juives.
      HOLDINGS: 1880-1950, 1973-
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm (1880-1950) and McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks (1973-)
      CALL NUMBER: DS101 .R45
    • The American Israelite [microform]
      HOLDINGS: 1874/1875-1950/1951
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: AP92 .A55
    • The Jewish exponent [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1887-1893:Mar,Apr:14-1897:Mar,1931:Dec-1951:Apr:13
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: AN59 .J37
    • The American Hebrew [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1879:Nov.21-1902
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: E184.J5 A325
    • The American Hebrew and Jewish messenger [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1903:Jan-May 15
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: E184.J5 A325
    • The Boston advocate [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1905-1909
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: AN42.B6 B62
    • The Jewish advocate [microform].
      HOLDINGS: 1909-1941
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfilm
      CALL NUMBER: AN42.B6 B62

  • Papers of Rabbi Abba Hillel Silver from the Western Reserve Historical Society selected holding
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM755.S544 A25 1909a
  • The Steinschneider Collection
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:DS102.5 .J48 1972
  • The Immigrant in America: The Jews
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:E184.J5 I456 1988
  • The papers of Isaac Mayer Wise.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER:BM755.W5 P36 1981

return to top

ELECTRONIC

  • American Jewess, 1895-1899 The American Jewess (1895-1899) described itself as "the only magazine in the world devoted to the interests of Jewish women." It was the first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics that ranged from women's place in the synagogue to ...
  • American Jewish Committee Online Archive Founded in 1906, in response to the Kishinev pogroms in Russia, the American Jewish Committee soon became a leader in combating bigotry and extremism, promoting civil rights and interreligious understanding, advocating for Jewish security worldwide, and defending the State of Israel. The Archive offers a rich, varied, and extensive collection of materials in print, on film, and tape, including the complete run of The American Jewish Year Book, 1899-2005.
  • Compact Memory: Internetarchiv Juedischer Periodika Full text of selected German Jewish newspapers from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
  • Jerusalem Institute for Israel Studies JIIS is an independent, non-profit organization. It provides a constant flow of relevant, essential and accurate data, in-depth background material, policy papers and professional analysis for use by decision makers and the general public. Click on "English" if need to read in English.
  • Palestine Post (1932-1950) The Jerusalem Post was founded on December 1, 1932 as the Palestine Post. In 1950 it change its name to Jerusalem Post.
  • The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present). This project serves as both an online reference source and as a digitized historical documentation of the Jewish community of Pittsburgh and its outlying areas.
  • World News Connection Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Reports online. Includes full-text summaries and translations from around the world of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, non-classified technical reports, and local media sources. Focus is on coverage of political, economic, environmental, and social issues and events, 1994 to the present
  • American Memory Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States including text, photos, books and manuscripts, sheet music, and video and sound recordings. Many relate to Jewish life and experience.
  • New York Times Historical (1851-2001) The New York Times Historical (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Early Hebrew Newspapers Project The Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project, is pleased to offer access to its Historic Hebrew Newspapers project. The aim of this site is to provide open access to images of the major titles of the early Hebrew press (19th and early 20th century). These newspapers contain a wealth of primary material on Diaspora and Land of Israel history of the period.
  • The Jewish Press Site The Jewish Newspaper Site comprises of full versions of historical Jewish newspapers that were published in Israel and other countries. Thus far three newspapers available: The Palestine Post; The Bulletin de l'Alliance Israelite Universelle; and Paix Et Droit. For more information see The Laura Schwarz-Kipp Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities
  • The Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress The entire collection has been digitized and will be available to researchers in reading rooms at the Library of Congress, the New School University in New York City, and the Hannah Arendt Center at the University of Oldenburg, Germany, in the summer of 2001. Parts of the collection will be made available for public access on the Internet. The current preview of selections from Arendt's writings also includes an essay on Arendt's intellectual history, a chronology of her life, and an index of all folders in the Arendt Papers.
  • JTS Digital Collections Several digitized collections, some partcially. Includes "News About Jews," a collection of Early American Jewish newspapers; "Judaica Americana," a collection of pamphlets going back to 1725; "Ketubbot Collection"; "Rare Prints," Biblical print collection and portraiture print collection; and JTS Library exhibits.
  • The Sephardi Studies Project The purpose of this Digitized Ladino Library is to place on the Internet a corpus of Ladino printed books, or even a few manuscripts, for easy access by scholars as well as students of Ladino throughout the world. A project of Taube Center for Jewish Studies in conjunction with the Mediterranean Studies Forum, both at Stanford University.
  • Central Bureau of Statistics, Israel Includes Last Months Indices, Census of Population and Housing, Monthly Bulletin of Prices, Monthly Bulletin of Statistics, the Statistical Abstract, Economic and Financial indicators and other selected data.
  • Governments on the WWW-Israel Includes links to general resources, national institutions, municipal institutions, representatives in foreign countries, political parties, and other varieties of information.
  • Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum This online catalog provides access to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive. The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document archival film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad.
  • Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books from the New York Public Library The yizkor book holdings of the Dorot Jewish Division of The New York Public Library are the most extensive in the United States, with upwards of 90% of the titles listed in Baker's bibliography. In order to preserve and to provide universal access to these extremely important books, the Library, in partnership with the National Yiddish Book Center, has undertaken to digitize the entire collection. Digital images of the full text of virtually all of the yizkor books in the collection are freely available on the Library's website, and copies of these out-of-print titles are also obtainable as "reprints on demand" from the National Yiddish Book Center. Gaps in the Library's holdings will, it is hoped, be filled in time with digital images made from copies lent by other libraries or individuals.
  • Internet Editions of Hebrew Daily Newspapers

return to top

GATEWAYS

return to top

SPECIALIZED WEB RESOURCES

  • Jewish Women's Archive The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive is to uncover, chronicle and transmit the rich legacy of Jewish women and their contributions to our families and communities, to our people and our world.
  • Jewish Language Research Website This website is designed to be a resource for Linguists, Jewish Studies Scholars, and the general public to learn about the speech and writing of Jews throughout history and around the world. It provides information about 14 Jewish languages: Hebrew, Jewish Aramaic, Jewish English, Jewish Malayalam,Judeo-Arabic, Judeo-French, Judeo-Greek, Judeo-Iranian, Judeo-Italian, Judeo-Persian, Judeo-Portuguese, Judeo-Proven?al, Judeo-Spanish/Judezmo/Ladino, and Yiddish.
  • National Center for the Hebrew Language The National Center for the Hebrew Language (NCHL) has positioned itself as the American advocate for the Hebrew language. The NCHL publishes a newsletter, Ivrit Now, and a vocabulary-building supplement, "Today?s Word." It maintains a Web Site, www.ivrit.org and an online discussion group for professionals. The NCHL participates in major meetings of Jewish communal and educational organizations, presents and publishes position papers on Hebrew, and is the founder of the "friend-raising" National Society of Lovers of the Hebrew Language.
  • JNUL Personal Archives The JNUL's Manuscripts and Archives Department currently holds some 400 personal archives, chiefly of Jewish figures who were active and influential in a variety of spheres: Zionist leaders, rabbis, scientists, philosophers, writers and poets, journalists and critics, musicians and others. The contents of the majority of the archives are documented, but the descriptions are not uniform due to the different periods in which the material arrived and was sorted.
  • JEDU–Treasures: Sources and Research in Jewish Education JEDU-Treasures (JEDUT) is an on-line database devoted to the history of Jewish Education from the Middle Ages until the advent of modern education at the beginning of the Twentieth century. It is an on-going project aimed to provide teachers, scholars and general readers with original Hebrew literary sources for understanding the history and development of Jewish education.
  • Jewish Book Council The Jewish Book Council is a not-for-profit organization devoted exclusively to the promotion of Jewish-interest literature. Through an ever-growing list of projects and programs, the Jewish Book Council serves as a catalyst for the writing, publication, distribution, reading and public awareness of books that reflect the rich variety of the Jewish experience.
  • Hebrewbooks.org Hebrewbooks.org was founded in order to preserve old Hebrew books that are out of print and or circulation. At Hebrewbooks.org you will be able to view and print the entire Sefer online.
  • The Collection "Yiddish Prints" The Collection "Yiddish Prints" contains about 800 very valuable Yiddish books that belong to the Frankfurt University Library. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century. The collection contains the whole spectrum of yiddish books, women's bibles in yiddish translation, liturgy, practical guide books, works on religious customs, legends, chronicles and classical Jewish fiction of famous East European Yiddish authors.
  • Center for Jewish History The Center for Jewish History has emerged from a vision of a unique central resource for the cultural and historical legacy of the Jewish people. The Center embodies the partnership of five major institutions of Jewish scholarship, history and art: American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research. The Center serves the worldwide academic and general communities with combined holdings of approximately 100 million archival documents, a half million books, and tens of thousands of photographs, artifacts, paintings and textiles - the largest repository documenting the Jewish experience outside of Israel. The Center's extensive program of exhibits, cultural events and intellectual gatherings will interest all who wish to explore the richness of the Jewish past and the promise of the Jewish future.
  • Bibliography of Zionism This bibliography is a project of the Kipp Institute. It contains references to over 10,000 books and articles published between 1979 and 1995. An updated bibliography for the period 1996-2001 is currently being prepared. For more information see The Laura Schwarz-Kipp Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities
  • Full-Text American Rabbinics Presents in PDF format, full-texts of Hebrew, Yiddish, and English books written by American rabbis that are out of print and/or circulation and published between 1890 and 1965. The site has six categories: Agadah, Hidushim, Derashot, Halakhah, Parshanut and Sheelot u-teshuvot.
  • Jewish History Resource Center(Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History) A well-organized and comprehensive repository of resources with links to databases, publishers, libraries and archives, conferences, bibliographies, maps and atlases, bibliographies, archaeology, timelines, publishers, Index of Jewish Professors, Centers and Institutes, Jewish History Societies, Museums and Exhibits, and more.
  • Israeli Publishers The Jewish National and University Library. The index includes over 900 Israeli publishers(including he small and less-well-known). Citations include address, phone and fax number. Some publishers also provide brief descriptions of the types of books they publish.
  • JOS Calendar Conversion The JOS Calendar Converter can convert a civil(Gregorian calendar) date into the equivalent date on the Hebrew calendar, and vice versa. It can also display Yahrzeit dates for consecutive years.
  • Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature, Bibliographic Center The Institute's Bibliographic Center comprises a unique computerized database of more than 43.000 records. Every translated poem and story has a separate and independent notation. The Database includes relevant articles, criticism and interviews.
  • Israel Archives Association Provides links to many of Israel's leading archives, which contain data related to the development of the Jewish and Arab communities in the land of Israel, as well as the history of the Jewish people in the Diaspora. Some of these repositories have placed guides to their holdings on the web and provide a very useful tool for researchers looking for primary source material.
  • Snunit Education information system in Hebrew. Includes databases, full-text journals, encyclopedias, maps, dictionaries and more.
  • Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image SCETI was developed at the University of Pennsylvania to provide the scholarly community with web access to virtual facsimiles of original texts, documents, and sources from Penn's collections. Judaica projects include Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Music Archive and manuscripts from the Lawrence C. Schoenberg Collection.
  • Archives. The Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism Contains full text of the Center's annual report, bibliographies, articles and talks, and a journal, Antisemitism International .
  • Princeton Geniza Project "The Computer Geniza Project of the Department of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University seeks to extend the methodologies available to Hebrew and Arabic scholars working with the documents found in the Geniza chamber of the Ben Ezra Synagogue in Cairo in the late 19th century. The project is dedicated to transcribing documents from film copies to computer files, creating a full text retrieval text-base of transcribed documents, developing new tools such as dictionaries, semantic categories and morphological aids to further the study of Geniza texts. Finally, the project is committed to disseminating its materials as widely as possible to the international community of scholars with an interest in the life of the medieval Middle East, as well as to all with an interest in Judaica.

return to top

HELPFUL GUIDES

return to top

DEPARTMENTAL HOME PAGES

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 08, 2006

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search