|
Latin American Studies
SCOPE: This is a guide to important print and
electronic
reference sources in the interdisciplinary field of Latin American Studies, available in Mckeldin
Library and on the Internet. E-mail the subject area specialists at herron@umd.edu or call 301-405-9280 for more information
return to top
- Biography & Genealogy
Master Index
Index to biographical information in over 350 works of collective biography and related sources.
-
Biography Index 7/84 - .
Print version: Mckeldin Reference Stacks 1946-1984, McKeldin Stacks 1985-
CALL NUMBER: Z5301.B5
Index to biographical material available in periodicals and books of individual and collective
biography. This source is indexed in Biography and Genealogy Master Index (see above).
-
Literature
Resource Center
Portions of this database are available in print form as Dictionary of Literary Biography
and Contemporary Authors, both located in the McKeldin Reference Stacks.
return to top
- The Book Reviews guide suggests print and electronic sources for locating book reviews appearing in popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers review sources for books in all subject areas.
return to top
Use the library catalogs and union catalogs below to conduct comprehensive searches of
materials held in local, national, and other country libraries.
return to top
Research Libraries in the Washington Metropolitan Area
- Catalog
To locate books and other materials held in the 7 libraries on campus UM Libraries online catalog. Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings for the
proper terms to use in your search or consult a reference librarian for assistance.
- Aladin
The shared electronic library catalog of American University, The Catholic University of
America, Gallaudet University, George Mason University, The George Washington University,
Marymount University, and the University of the District of Columbia.
- George
The Georgetown University Lauinger Library catalog.
- The Inter-American Development
Bank which was established in
1959, was created to
assist in the economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The IDB's
Felipe Herrera
Library houses one
of the Washington
area's three strongest Latin American collections. Its strengths lie in the social sciences,
economics, and culture. It includes over 1,200 periodicals and receives numerous Latin
American newspapers.
- The Library
Network
serves the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, also known as the
World Bank, and the International Monetary Fund. The collection is strong in the following areas: economics, trade,
public policy, international and governmental finance, government statistics, and development
issues. For an early print catalog of the library's Latin American and Caribbean collection,
through 1975, see volume 1 of The Developing Areas: A Classed Bibliography of the
Joint Bank-Fund Library (Mckeldin Reference Stacks HC59.7.W316). For access to early
periodicals in the collection see: Economics and Finance: Index to Periodical
Articles, 1947-1971 (McKeldin Folio Z7164.E2W34). The Library's online catalog
JOLIS
is searchable
through the Library's web site. The library is for the staff of the IMF and World Bank. Outside
researchers must make an appointment to use the library.
- The Library of
Congress houses the largest
collection of Latin American research materials in the United States. The Hispanic Reading Room serves as the Latin Americanist's primary
starting point for
research in the Library and the Manuscript Reading Room
an important division within the Library of
Congress for
researching primary source materials. The Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress edits the
Handbook of Latin American
Studies.
- The National Agricultural Library
houses a large research collection
in 19th and 20th
century Latin America. In addition to the agricultural sciences it includes collections strong in
Latin American agricultural economics, rural production (farm, ranch, and forest), rural economic
development, land usage, land colonization, rural education, agricultural law, commerce, and
trade. Search the Agricola
database for materials held in the NAL
collection.
- The Oliveira Lima
Library located on
the ground
floor of Mullen library at the Catholic University of America is considered one of the best
collections of Luso-Brazilian materials in the United States. It is very strong in Brazilian and
Portuguese history, literature and culture.
- The Organization of American States
houses the Columbus Memorial
Library,
which includes a
collection of over 300,000 Latin American related volumes, over 4,500 serial titles (both current
and retrospective) and approximately 150,000 government (primarily OAS) documents. All
subject areas are well represented.
- The Smithsonian
Institution "maintains 22 branch libraries containing more than 1.5 million volumes and 40,000 rare books." These collections can be searched using the Library Catalog SIRIS. The "Smithsonian archives hold an estimated 50,000 cubic feet of paper documents, seven million still photographs, and thousands of films and audio recordings". These collections can be searched using the Archival, Manuscripts & Photographic Collections Catalog.
- Grow, Michael. Scholar's Guide to Washington, D.C. for Latin American and
Caribbean Studies. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow Wilson Center Press, 1992.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.G57 1992
Use this guide to identify other important resources on Latin America and the Caribbean located
in Washington, D.C. Included are descriptions of hundreds of collections located in libraries,
archives, university research centers, federal agencies and international organizations.
Gateways to Libraries in Latin America
return to top
Use Worldcat and the RLG Union Catalog (RLIN) databases below to identify materials held
in
hundreds of libraries in the United States and other countries. The materials located through
these union catalogs can be requested through interlibrary loan.
- WorldCat
A computer database which contains millions of records of all types of material (books, serials,
nonprint media, dissertations, masters theses, archival materials, etc.) cataloged by OCLC member
libraries.
return to top
- Background
Notes. Washington, D.C.:
U.S. Department of State. Irregular.
LOCATION (Print version): Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: S1.123:
Brief overview of most of the countries of the world.
- Country
Profiles
(Access through Lexis Nexis Academic)
An important source of comprehensive country information from the CIA
Factbook and the very detailed Walden Reports.
- Country Studies
The Country Studies are prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department
of the Army. They are available for most major countries of the world and provide a
comprehensive analysis of each country's history, politics, and economics from the perspective of
the people who live there. Updated irregularly.
LOCATION (Print version): Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Varies by country. To find source for country of interest do a keyword
search in the Library Catalog, country handbook
argentina.
- Europa World Year Book. London: Europa. 1989- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks (Latest edition in Mckeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JN1.E85
Brief overview of most countries of the world. Information includes: recent history, basic
economic statistics, government, religion, judicial system, etc.
- South America, Central America and the Caribbean. London:
Europa, 1991- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Folio (Latest edition in Mckeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: F1401.S6
Contains similar information to the Europa World Year Book (see above) but the regional focus
contains more detail on each of the countries covered.
- World
Factbook. Washington, D.C.: CIA, 1992- .
LOCATION (Print version): Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: PREX 3.15:
Gives social, political and demographic descriptions for all countries of the world.
return to top
- Britannica Online
Print version entitled Encyclopedia
Britannica: Mckeldin Reference Stacks (1995)
CALL NUMBER: AE5.E363
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1406.C36
One volume encyclopedia covering the following topics in Latin American studies: physical
environment, economy, peoples, history, politics and society and culture.
- Cambridge History of Latin America. Cambridge: Cambridge
University Press, 1984-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Individual volumes are cataloged separately. Do a SERIES BROWSE on the
title "Cambridge History of Latin America" in VICTOR, the online catalog, for titles, call
numbers, and holdings of individual volumes.
Authoritative survey of Latin American history from the late 15th century to the present day.
- Enciclopedia de México. Ciudad de México:
Enciclopedia de México, 1996. 15 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1204.E46 1996
Multi-volume Spanish language encyclopedia of Mexico.
- Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada Europeo-Americana. Barcelona:
Espasa, 1907-1930. 70 volumes; appendix 10 volumes; annual supplements for the years
1934-1988.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AE61.E62
A Multi-volume Spanish language general encyclopedia. Especially strong in Spanish and
Spanish-American biography. The 70 volume core set and the appendix volumes are arranged
alphabetically by subject. The supplements, which come out annually, have a separate subject
index in one volume.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New
York: Scribner, 1996.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1406.E53
The encyclopedia contains signed articles by more than 800 scholars from around the world
about all aspects of Latin American civilization. Most articles contain a bibliography.
- The Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism. New York:
Marshall Cavendish, 1994. 6 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1E58 1994.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of multiculturalism in the United States.
- The Encyclopedia of the Inter-American System. Westport, CT:
Greenwood Press, 1997.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1410.A79 1997.
Brief entries on major organizations, conferences, documents, and conflicts, including a
chronology of principal events in the Inter-American System from 1889 to 1996 and a
bibliographic essay.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. 2nd ed. New York:
Gale Research Inc., 2000. 3 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1G14 2000.
An encyclopedia of ethnic groups in the United States.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents
New York: Gale Research Inc., 1999. 2 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A1G15 1999.
Includes primary documents such as letters, articles, cartoons, photos and songs which illuminate
the experience of culture groups in the U.S. from colonial times to the present.
- Gran Enciclopedia de Venezuela Caracas : Globe, 1998. 10
volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F2304.G73 1998
Multi-volume Spanish language encyclopedia of Venezuela.
- Gran Enciclopedia Rialp G.E.R. Madrid: Ediciones Rialp,
1971-76. 24 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AE61.G75
A Multi-volume Spanish language general encyclopedia.
- Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States. Houston,
Tex. : Arte Publico Press, 1993-1994. 4 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H365 1994.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of hispanic culture. Includes volumes on anthropology, history,
literature & art, and sociology.
- Handbook of Middle American Indians. Austin: University of
Texas Press, 1964-1976. 16 volumes and 5 supplements.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1434.H3
Covers the following topics concerning the Middle American Indians of pre-columbian history:
natural environment and early cultures, archaeology, epigraphy, ethnology, literature, linguistics,
and social and physical anthropology.
- Hispanic-American Experience on File. New York : Facts on File,
1999.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H562 1999
Contains "hundreds of maps, graphs, drawings, photographs and other graphic sources of
information on the history of people of Hispanic descent in the United States."
- Latin American History on File. New York : Facts on File,
1996.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1410.C439 1996
Contains "more than 475 maps, graphs, drawings, and other graphic sources of information on the
history of Latin America and the Caribbean."
- The Latino Encyclopedia. New York:
Marshall Cavendish, 1996. 6 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75L357 1996.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement
of Latin America to the Early 17th Century. New York: Times Books, 1984.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1411.I18
"A compilation of documents in English translation ... of Iberian-language sources which treat the
background, discovery, and conquest of the Americas, ca. 1250-1600."
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. 4 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75 O97 2005.
A multi-volume encyclopedia of Latino history and culture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures: the Civilizations of Mexico
and Central America. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. 3 volumes
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1218.6.O95 2001.
Encyclopedia of the mesoamerican cultures of Mexican and Central American countries.
- Reference Library of Hispanic America. Detroit : Distributed by
Educational Guidance Service, 1993. 3 volumes.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75R44 1993b
return to top
The following are annotated bibliographies of reference sources useful for researching specific
subject areas within Latin American studies.
- Balay, Robert. Guide to Reference Books. Chicago: American
Library Association, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Desk
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.1.G89 1996
The most comprehensive guide to what the editors consider "most useful" reference sources
covering almost all subject areas.
- Bleznick, Donald. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and
Language. 3rd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC4071.B53 1995
- Covington, Paula H. Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to
Research Sources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L28 1992
- McNeil, Robert A., ed. Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to
Sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L257 1990
- Woodbridge, Hensley Charles. Guide to Reference Works for the
Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American
Literature. 2nd ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1997.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC4071.W66 1997
return to top
return to top
Use the following resources to locate articles in newspapers, magazines, and journals, book
chapters, essays, dissertations, government publications and more.
- Agricola.. 1970- .
"Agricola is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the
National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form
began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the
15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of
agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant
sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics,
extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences."
- CAB
Abstracts. 1973- .
(Select CAB Abstracts from the list of databases)
A database of citations to the "significant research and dvelopment literature in the fields of
agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the
management and conservation of natural resources." Coverage is international in scope, from
1973 to the present.
Environmental Science and Pollution
Provides Information about articles in the areas of environmental science and pollution.
return to top
- Anthropological
Index Online. 1957- .
"The Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library
at the The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of
anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world."
- Anthropological
Literature. 1984- .
Print version entitled
Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays:
McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1979-1983, 1989-1997 )
CALL NUMBER: GN1.A58
An index to the journals received by Tozzer Library, the anthropology library of Harvard
University. It covers the following areas: archaeology, biological/physical anthropology,
cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and related fields.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index (click on ISI Web of Science) -1992-
Print version: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1966-1998 )
CALL NUMBER: Z7161.S65
Provides author and keyword access to 4,700 journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- Art
Abstracts. 9/84- .
Print version entitled
Art Index: ART REF (1929-1996 )
CALL NUMBER: Z5937.A78
An international index to periodicals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the areas of
archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, crafts, films, graphic arts, industrial design,
interior design, landscape architecture, museology and photography.
- Art Index
Retrospective 1929-1984 .
"Art Index Retrospective cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world between
1929 and 1984. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and
museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch.
In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear
in indexed periodicals."
.
-
ARTBibliographies
Modern. 1969- .
This database provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage of current literature, articles,
books, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs on art and design. Full coverage of the 19th and
20th century is provided. Abstracts are included.
- Arts and
Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled
Arts and Humanities Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1976-1998)
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals.
- Bibliography of
the History of Art. 1973- .
Covers the literature on all aspects of European and American (including Latin American) art.
- Grove Art Online
Online dictionary of art which covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to
the present day.
return to top
- ABI/Inform. 1986- .
Covers over 1000 US and international business periodicals in the broad area of business and
management.
- Lexis/Nexis.
A full text database providing information found in newspapers, news wires, magazines, SEC
filings, marketing reports, etc. consisting of thousands of files.
- Business
& Company Resource Center
Provides information on public and private companies including company histories, chronologies,
investment reports, brief industry overviews and periodical articles.
- Business Source
Premier
Provides full text of scholarly business journals covering management, economics,
finance, accounting, international business and much more.
- EconLit 1969- .
Index to major, current economics journals.
- EIU Country
Commerce
"A practical guide to regulations, operating conditions and corporate practices in 60 countries."
Good place to start when looking for information on doing business in other countries, covers
business information from a regulatory perspective.
- EIU Country
Finance
"Comprehensive guide to the world's main financial systems, covering banking and associated
services, government policies and regulations for 47 countries." Good place to start when
looking for information on doing business in other countries, covers business information from a
financial perspective.
- EIU ViewsWire
"The EIU produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic
and business environment in more than 180 countries."
- PAIS
Archive. 1915 - 1976.
The PAIS Archive database contains references to books, essays, and periodical articles. The Archive comprises the records from the print publication: PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin which was published from 1915 to 1976.
- PAIS
International. 1972 - present.
Contains information about journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, international agency publications, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin from 1977 to the present; and from the print PAIS Foreign Language Index which was published from 1972 at 1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
-
RDS
Business Reference Suite. 1980- .
Includes the following databases which can be searched individually or collectively: Business &
Industry, Business & Management Practices, and TableBase.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index 1956- .(click on Web of Science and select Social Sciences Citation Index).
Provides author and keyword access to thousands of journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- Digital Dissertations Full-Text. 1861- .
Access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the world.
return to top
- Education Research Complete.
A bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
-
ERIC. 1966-
ERIC is the primary education database and provides access to both the journal literature and nonpublished or "grey" literature in the field of education and related fields. The Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (McKeldin Reference Stacks Z695.1.E3E34) identifies subject terms used in the CIJE and other ERIC publications. The ERIC database provides an online ERIC thesaurus.
return to top
These sources will lead you to film reviews, popular and scholarly articles on films and film
studies and articles on the film industry.
- Academic
Search Premier. 1984- .
Provides mostly full text articles from social sciences, humanities,
general science, education and multi-cultural journals. This is also a good source of reviews for contemporary films.
- Arts
and Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1976-1998 )
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals. Indexes film
reviews.
- Factiva.
Covers primarily business and finance publications. Has selective coverage of news related to
Latin America.
- Film Literature Index. (1976-2001)
Print version: LOCATION and CALL NUMBER: McKeldin Reference Stacks Z5784.M9F45 (1973-present)
Indexes approximately 300 film journals. IMPORTANT NOTE: The print version of this index is more current than the online version.
- Hanson, Patricia. Film Review Index. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press,
1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Desk
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.F54
This two-volume set provides references to film reviews from 1882-1985. Reviews from trade
publications, journals, newspapers and books are included.
- Humanities International Complete (1970's - )
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities.
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Chicago: St. James
Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN1997.8.I58 2000
- International Index to Film Periodicals. 1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5784.M9I55
Indexes approximately 85 film periodicals from around the world.
- IMDB: Internet Movie
Database.
Includes reviews, plot summaries, release dates, cast and crew information, box office and
business information, and much more on thousands of films.
- Lexis-Nexis .
Includes full-text film reviews and film industry information from newspapers and magazines.
Includes the full text of the Los Angeles Times and Daily Variety from the early
1990's to the present and abstracts of the Wall Street Journal from 1973 to the present.
- Los Angeles Times. 1886-1890,1913-1947,1972- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical and Microform Room
CALL NUMBER: AN25.L6T5
Index to the Los Angeles Times is available at McKeldin Reference Stacks AI21.L6 for 1972 - present.
Los Angeles Times is also searchable through Lexis-Nexis Academic from
the early 1990's to the present.
.
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1920's- .
An international bibliography of literary (including drama and theater), linguistics, and
folklore scholarship. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and
dissertations. It has some coverage of films and film studies.
- Magill's Cinema Annual. Annual. 1982- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: PN1993.3.M34
Includes essay-length reviews of significant films, including foreign films, released during the year.
Includes box office information and references to additional reviews.
- New York Times Film Reviews. Annual. 1913- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference StacksBR>
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.N4
Reprints reviews appearing in the New York Times. Chronologically arranged starting with 1913.
- New York Times Historical (1851-2001).
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Observatorio Mercosur Audiovisual (Mercosur Audiovisual Observatory).
El Observatorio del Mercosur Audiovisual (OMA) es un instrumento operativo de la Reunión Especializada de Autoridades Cinematográficas y Audiovisuales del Mercosur y Estados Asociados (RECAM), creado con el fin de obtener, procesar y poner en servicio datos e información del cine de la región
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes the tables of contents of thousands of periodicals, both U.S. and international, in the
humanities and social sciences from their first issues (coverage extends as far back as 1770 for
some periodicals) to 1990/91. It has some coverage of films and film studies.
-
RDS
Business Reference Suite
Time coverage varies by title. This is a combination of three highly complementary databases:
Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices, and
TableBase.
They all can be searched individually or simultaneously. Broad-based international business
information database that focuses on facts, figures, events and market information about
companies, industries, products and markets. Covers company, industry, market and product
information. Includes a lot of statistical data.
- UNESCO.
Click on Culture (under Themes category), Cultural Industries, Audiovisual, Survey on National Cinematography.
- Variety.com.
"Variety.com is the online news service for the entertainment industry insider. It offers the full text of every current article in Daily Variety and Variety (not including some of the special reports)."
Although the UM Libraries does not subscribe to Variety.com certain portions of the Web site, such as the Archives are freely available. See HELP: Frequently Asked Question for further information on what is available through the Archives.
- Variety Film Reviews. Annual. 1983- .
LOCATION: McKeldin FolioBR>
CALL NUMBER: PN1995.V34 1983
Reproduces the original review as it appeared in Variety starting with
1907.
- Variety. 1905- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room
CALL NUMBER: Microfilm PN2000 .V3
Major film and theater trade publication.
return to top
- The Maps & GIS
Unit
of the Government Documents Department at McKeldin Library has a
large printed map collection plus two GIS (Geographic Information System)
workstations and a collection of digital spatial data.
- GEOBASE.
Covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology and related disciplines. It has
excellent worldwide coverage of the following areas: international development, economic
geography, social and historical geography, and regional and community planning. The database
indexes journals, books, conference proceedings, reports and Ph.D. and Masters theses.
- Perry Castañeda Map
Collection
Terrific collection of online maps - most are in the public domain.
- Popline. 1970- .
Popline
covers the areas of family planning population law and policy, and primary health care, including
maternal/child health in developing countries. It is international in scope, and includes journal
articles, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works. The database is searchable using
keywords as well as MeSH subject headings.
- Population Index.
1986-2000.
Print version: McKeldin Reference Stacks (1937- )
CALL NUMBER: Z 7164.D3P83
Covers demographic information culled from books, journals, and dissertations dealing with
fertility, mortality, population size/growth, migration, demographic and economic interrelations.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index 1956- .(click on Web of Science and select Social Sciences Citation Index).
Provides author and keyword access to thousands of journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- America:
History and Life 1967- .
Print version: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1955-1998 )
CALL NUMBER: Z1236.A48
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations in the areas of United States and
Canadian history, from prehistory to the present.
- Arts &
Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled
Arts and Humanities Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
(1976-1998)
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Computer file available from 1980 on FirstSearch as Arts & Humanities Search, updated weekly.
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus relevant
articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals.
- Historical
Abstracts. 1967- .
Print version: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
(1955-1970)
CALL NUMBER: D299.H5
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present.
Excludes works on United States and Canadian history which are covered in America: History
and Life.
- Keesings's Record of World Events Online
Culled from the world's press and information services, Keesing's distills political, economic and
social events into concise, detailed reports. Coverage is from 1960 to the present.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index 1956- .(click on Web of Science and select Social Sciences Citation Index).
Provides author and keyword access to thousands of journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- CARINDEX
An index to the contents of West India journals, published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, papers presented at conferences, collections of working papers, and other materials. CARINDEX is published in two parts: CARSAH covers publications in the social sciences and humanities form 1983 to present and CARSCI covers publications in science and technology from 1960 to present.
-
CLASE: Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades
Index to approximately 1,500 humanities and social sciences journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes links to some full-text articles. *Hint: The host server may be slow at times. If you get a time-out message you may have to repeat your search several times.
- Chicano
Database 1967 - .
Information on articles and other materials on Mexican-Americans and the broader Latina/o
cultures including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
- Ethnic
Newswatch. 1995- .
This full text database "is a comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of
the ethnic, minority and native press. It provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and
review with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints."
- Handbook of Latin American
Studies. 1935- .
Print version: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1935-1952,
1957-1984, 1989-.)
CALL NUMBER: Z1605.H23
This annotated bibliography references key books and articles published on various aspects of
Latin American studies. In the print version, separate volumes (one covering the humanities and one covering the
social sciences) are published alternate years.
- HAPI Online (Hispanic
American Periodicals Index) 1970-.
HAPI contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other
materials from over 500 key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America
and throughout the world. Its coverage includes information about Central and South America,
Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United
States.
-
LANIC Media and
Communications in Latin America
. Provides access to
newspapers,
magazines, radio, television, and other media in Latin America.
- Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
This database provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
-
Latindex.
Directory of scholarly journals and journals of academic interest published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
- Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal (Redalyc)
Full-text database of a selected number of mostly peer reviewed Latin American journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage is from 1993 to the present and articles are published in English, Portuguese, or Spanish.
- Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la Red CLACSO.
Full-text database of a selected number of social science journals from Latin American and the Spanish Caribbean. Coverage is from 2003 to the present. Also provides access to e-books and some theses.
- SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library
Online
Full-text database of a selected number of peer reviewed Latin American science and social science journals Coverage is from 1997 to the present and articles are published in English, Portuguese, or Spanish.
return to top
- ASILEX
Contains bibliographic information on American Society of International Law periodical
publications such as the American Journal of International Law,
International Legal Materials (1990-2001) and Books and Occasional Papers (1964-2001).
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Viewswire
Daily news updates on 195 countries covering politics, economies, finance, business, and
regulations plus
access to Country Reports.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Legal research section contains EU law (legislation and treaties) and case law from selected
countries.
Also, mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers, journals, wire services, and
news transcripts.
- RAVE
Citations to recent articles and decisions in public international law from 1995; updated
every three months.
- United Nations Treaty
Collection Online
"Treaty reference information made available for the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS)
at this site corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered up to April 1998. The
complete text of treaties corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately
up to February 1998. Currently, the UNTS is being expanded at the rate of over 100 new volumes
per year." Also included are
the Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General as of 1 December 2000,
the Texts of
Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties, and photographs of signature ceremonies.
return to top
- Bibligraphie Linguistischer Literatur. 1978- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: P3.B51
Indexes periodical articles, essays, and proceedings in the areas of general linguistics, German,
English, and Romance linguistics.
-
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. 1973 - .
A major indexing and abstracting service in linguistics and related areas. Strong coverage in the
areas of applied linguistics, descriptive linguistics, and psycholinguistics. Also covers syntax,
sociolinguistics, theory of linguistics, interpersonal behavior and communication, semantics,
phonetics, phonology, discourse analysis and poetics.
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1920's- .
An international bibliography of literary (including drama and theater), linguistics, and
folklore scholarship. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and
dissertations.
- Romanische Bibliographie. 1965- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC3.R49
Bibliography on Romance linguistics, language, and literature.
return to top
These sources will lead you to book reviews and/or scholarly artices on literary works and topics.
- Arts and
Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled Arts and Humanities
Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1976-1998)
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus relevant
articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals. Indexes book
reviews.
- Book Review Digest
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks1905-
CALL NUMBER: Z1219.C96
Indexes book reviews from approximately 100 English language popular periodicals.
-
Book Review Index 1965- .
Indexes book reviews appearing in over 600 general and scholarly periodicals.
- Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.A1C35 1996
- Contemporary Literary Criticism Detroit: Gale Research, 1973- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PN94.C6
"Excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers,
scriptwriters and other creative writers".
- Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. London: Fitzroy Dearborn,
1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.A1E56 1997
"Contains entries on writers, works and topics relating to the literature of Latin America,
including survey articles on all the continent's individual countries."
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory.
Essays defining literary terms and explaining literary theories, periods, movements. Biographical information about writers, literary theorists and cultural critics.
- GenderWatch. 1974- .
Full text database comprised primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender
issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers,
newsletters, booklets and reports. Contains archival material, in some cases as far back as
1974.
- Literature
Resource Center
"Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age
and literary discipline."
- MLA
Bibliography. 1920's- .
An international bibliography of literary, linguistics, and folklore scholarship. Indexes
articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes the tables of contents of thousands of periodicals, both U.S. and international, in the
humanities and social sciences from their first issues (coverage extends as far back as 1770 for
some periodicals) to 1990/91. It provides excellent coverage of scholarly book reviews.
- Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Annual. 1929/30-
.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PB1.Y45
Critical survey of work done in modern languages and literature.
return to top
- Academic
Search Premier. 1984- .
"Academic Search Elite provides full text for over 1,250 academic, social sciences, humanities,
general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database
offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,880 journals. Full text backfiles go as far back as
January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984."
- Alternative Press
Index 1991 -.
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the
practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
- Lexis/Nexis
Full text database offering access to hundreds of files. Sources online include national and
international newspapers, transcripts, magazines, company annual reports, magazines, etc.
- Ingenta. 1988- .
Citations (some with summaries) from tables of contents of over 17,000 serials (both popular
magazines and scholarly journals) in all fields.
return to top
- All Music Guide: The Definitive Guide to Popular Music. San
Francisco: Backbeat Books / All media Guide, 200 .
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML156.9.A38 2001
A large annotated discography of current and past releases, including many from Latin America
(Jobim, Olodum, etc.). The All Music Guide covers "Western" pop music better than other
genres, but it can still be useful for researching Latin American music as well.
- Arts and
Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled
Arts and Humanities Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1976-1998)
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals.
- Diccionario de la Música Española e
Hispanoamericana. Madrid: Sociedad General de Autores y Editores, 1999.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML101.S7D53 1999 vols. 1-8 (a-q)
- Doctoral Dissertations
in Musicology Online
DDM-Online is a database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new
dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in
related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. It contains more than 11,600 records
(November 2002), including the contents of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral
Dissertations in Musicology.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland,
1998 - ..
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML100.G16 1998
- Grove Music Online
Provides "the full text of the second editions of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and
Musicians (PA LIB REF ML101.S7D53) and The New Grove Dictionary of Opera."
- Latin American Music
Center
LAMC fosters the research and performance of Latin American art music. The LAMC Library is
one of the most complete collections of Latin American art music in the world. The collection
includes rare manuscripts and published scores, records and books, anthologies of colonial
music, photographs of musicians, periodicals, microfilms and miscellaneous documents.
- Museum of Image and
Sound
The MIS (Museu da Imagem e do Som) is an important source of historical information about Rio
de Janeiro City. Here you will find collections pertaining to 20th century popular music in Rio,
including videotaped interviews with important musicians and a huge collection of photos,
records, books, interviews, and documentation about Brazilian music (popular and classical).
- Music
Index Online 1979- .
Print version PALIB REF ML118.M84
(1949-1999.)
Indexes more than 670 international music periodicals. Covers classical and popular music,
including musicological and organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first
performances, and obituaries.
- MusicHound World: The Essential Album Guide. Detroit:
Visible Ink, 2000. .
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML156.4. W63 M87 2000
An annotated discography of "world" music. Includes background information on the performers
and their music and a performer / country index (p. 993-99).
- RILM Abstract of Music
Literature 1967-.
RILM indexes the whole range of scholarly literature in music, going beyond journal articles to
include books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festschriften,
iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos,
reviews, and more.
- Schuursma, Ann Briegleb. Ethnomusicology Research: A Select Annotated
Bibliography. New York: Garland Publishing, 1992.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128 .E8 S4 1992
A guide to the most significant and representative literature (1992) in the field of
ethnomusicology. The annotated citations are divided into five subject categories: history of
ethnomusicology, theory and method, fieldwork methods, musical analysis, and sources from
related disciplines.
return to top
- Alternative Press
Index 1991 -.
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the
practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs
Online 1991 -.
International affairs site that "publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes
working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs,
foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences."
- EIU ViewsWire
"The EIU produces objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic
and business environment in more than 180 countries."
- Historical
Abstracts. 1967- .
Print version: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
(1955-1970)
CALL NUMBER: D299.H5
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations in world history from 1450 to the present.
Excludes works on United States and Canadian history which are covered in America: History
and Life.
-
International Political Science Abstracts.
Print version: McKeldin Reference Stacks (1951- )
CALL NUMBER: JA36.I55
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals
published throughout the world.
- Keesings's Record of World Events
Online
Culled from the world's press and information services, Keesing's distills political, economic and
social events into concise, detailed reports. Coverage is from 1960 to the present.
- PAIS
Archive. 1915 - 1976.
The PAIS Archive database contains references to books, essays, and periodical articles. The Archive comprises the records from the print publication: PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin which was published from 1915 to 1976.
- PAIS
International. 1972 - present.
Contains information about journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, international agency publications, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. PAIS International includes records from the print PAIS Bulletin from 1977 to the present; and from the print PAIS Foreign Language Index which was published from 1972 at 1990, at which time it merged with the PAIS Bulletin.
- Ser en el 2000: Database
of Security and Defense
Non-profit organization web site "with the declared purpose of promoting the debate upon
security and defense problems, on the national, regional and international levels."
- Social Sciences Citation
Index 1956- .(click on Web of Science and select Social Sciences Citation Index).
Provides author and keyword access to thousands of journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
-
Women in Politics
Bibliographic Database
Online index to books and articles on the subject of women in politics; international in scope.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975 - .
Provides references and abstracts from public affairs magazines, major newspapers, professional
journals, and books devoted to politics and political analyis.
return to top
- PsychINFO 1887- .
This is the primary indexing and abstracting service in the field of psychology and related fields.
Indexes journal articles, books and book chapters.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index 1956- .(click on Web of Science and select Social Sciences Citation Index).
Provides author and keyword access to thousands of journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
return to top
- Arts and
Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled Arts and
Humanities Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1976-1998)
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus
relevant articles from an additional 5,000 social science and science journals.
- ATLA
Religion. 1949- .
"This file contains citations from international titles and approximately 13,000 multi-author works
in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal
articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects."
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. 1930- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI3.C321
Index to over 130 periodicals. Excellent coverage of the Catholic Church in Latin America and
the Caribbean.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts. 1958 - .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BR1.R286
Indexes and abstracts articles from about 400 international periodicals. Abstracts are classified
into biblical, theological, historical, and practical. Subject, author, scripture indexes.
return to top
-
Family & Society
Studies Worldwide. 1970- .
This database covers policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology
and human development. It indexes professional journals, books, popular literature, conference
papers, government reports and other sources.
- Social Sciences Citation
Index 1956- .(click on Web of Science and select Social Sciences Citation Index).
Provides author and keyword access to thousands of journals and several monographic series. Covers a
very broad range of the social sciences.
- SocIndex. 1974- .
Offers coverage of sociology and related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
return to top
- Arts and
Humanities Search. 1980- .
Print version entitled
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1976-1998)
CALL NUMBER: NX1.A7
Indexes articles from the world's leading arts and humanities journals, plus relevant articles from social science and science journals.
-
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance. 1984- .
Covers all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.
- MLA
International Bibliography. 1920's- .
An international bibliography of literary (including drama and theater), linguistics, and folklore scholarship. Includes information about articles, essays, books, book chapters, conference papers and dissertations.
- Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Annual, 1929/30-
.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PB1.Y45
Critical survey of work done in modern languages and literature.
return to top
- Alternative Press
Index 1991 -.
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications, which report and analyze the
practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Includes coverage of feminist and gay and lesbian issues.
- Contemporary
Women's Issues. 1995- .
This database "provides full text access to global information on women. It includes journals,
newsletters, and research reports from non-profit groups and government and international
agencies. Information on women in over 150 countries is compiled in a single collection,
bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights."
Coverage is 1995 - present.
- GenderWatch
. 1974 -.
Full text database comprised primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender
issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers,
newsletters, booklets and reports. Contains archival material, in some cases as far back as
1974.
- GLBT Life. 1974 -.
This is the most inclusive online index to literature that pertains to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. It covers more than 80 GLBT-specific core periodicals, over 70 priority periodicals, and over 5,000 selected monograph, newsletter, case study, and dissertation titles.
-
Women in Politics
Bibliographic Database
Online index to books and articles on the subject of women in politics; international in scope.
- Women's
Studies International. 1972- .
(Select Women's Resources International from the list of
databases)
This database is a combination of the following files: Women Studies Abstracts (1984 - present),
Women's Studies Database (1972 - present), Women Studies Librarian (4 files), New Books on
Women & Feminism (1987 - present), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to
Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A
Bibliography (1970-1990). The History of Women and Science, Health and Technology: A
Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and the Disciplines (1970-1995), Women of Color and
Southern Women (1975 - present), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated
Bibliography (1995).
return to top
The following are some of the most extensive gateways to Internet resources on Latin
America
and the Caribbean.
- Andanzas al Web
Latino
links to
Latino/U.S.-Mexico border resources.
- Internet Resources for
Latin America
Compiled by Molly
Molloy of the New Mexico State University Library, this is an extensive site to Internet resources on
Latin America. It includes the following categories: Information Products & Services; List of
Lists & Newsgroups; Resources on Latin American Networking.
- Latin American Network
Information Center (LANIC)
Managed by the Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin this is an extensive
site to Internet resources concerning Latin America. It is organized by country and subject
categories such as: environment, indigenous, government, history, human rights, literature,
libraries, news and many others.
- Latin World
A commercial
directory of Latin American Internet sites. Organized by country and then subdivided by the
following topics: business, culture, economics & finance, education & research, government &
politics, news, sports and travel.
- Portals to the World: Iberia, the Caribbean, and Latin America
Managed by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, this is an extensive site to Internet resources related to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Iberia.
- Portal Eldigoras
Links to literary resources.
return to top
The following sources are useful for identifying primary source materials held in archival and
manuscript collections in the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean.
Local Archives
- The National Archives and Records
Administration is the official
repository for records of the United States government. Much of the materials in this collection
includes documents relating to foreign nations and their dealings with the United States. To begin
researching materials on Latin America consult Guide to Materials on Latin America
in the National Archives of the United States (McKeldin Reference Stacks
CD3028.L37U54 1974). For a guide to the full collection consult Guide to the
National Archives of the United States (McKeldin Reference Stacks CD3023.U54 1974).
The Archival Research Catalog (ARC) is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington,
DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.
- National Security Archive
"The Archive is simultaneously a research institute on international affairs, a library and archive of
declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, a public interest
law firm defending and expanding public access to government information through the FOIA,
and an indexer and publisher of the documents in books, microfiche, and electronic formats"
Many of the documents from the Archive are available in digital form through Digital National Security Archives
- Library of Congress Hispanic and Portuguese
Collections: An Illustrated Guide
Print version Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: LC 1.6/4:H: 62/3
- The Smithsonian
The Smithsonian archives hold an estimated
50,000 cubic feet of paper documents, seven million still photographs, and thousands of
films and audio recordings. The archives collection is searchable through the SIRIS Catalog
return to top
Catalogs, Directories, and Gateways
The following provide information on and/or links to archives and manuscript collections
worldwide.
- ArchivesUSA
Includes the following major archival information resources: Directory of Archives and
Manuscript Repositories in the United States, National Union Catalog of Manuscripts
Collections, and National Inventory of Documentary Sources.
- Center for Research
Libraries
"The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of colleges, universities
and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. Its
outstanding collections include more than 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in
North American libraries." Of interest to Latin Americanists is the The Latin American Microform Project
(LAMP) which includes microform and digitized "collections of unique, scarce,
rare and/or bulky and voluminous research materials pertaining to Latin America". The
LAMP Holdings contains the definitive listing of all materials collected by LAMP.
- Directorio Web de Archivos Iberoamericanos
Provides links to Web sites of archive and manuscript repositories in Latin America.
- The
Historical Text Archive
Maintained at Mississippi State University, this archive is an excellent resource for historical
documents, as well as current research, on many regions and subtopics within world history.
- LANIC: Libraries & Archives
Links to online catalogs and homepages of Latin American research libraries and archives.
- Repositories of
Primary Sources
Provides links to Web sites of archive and manuscript repositories around the world, including many in Latin America.
- UNESCO
Archives Portal
Includes links to national archives, regional and state archives, municipal archives and
universities and research institutions archives worldwide.
- WorldCat
Provides access to thousands of cataloged records of archival, manuscript, and special collection
materials housed in OCLC member libraries.
- The WWW-VL
History Central Catalogue
An extensive list of links to many sites of interest to
historians. All regions and historical time periods are included.
return to top
Research Guides
The following are published guides to research collections containing archival and manuscript
collections.
- Grieb, Kenneth J., ed. Research Guide to Central America and the
Caribbean. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F2161.R47 1985
- Leonard, Thomas M. A Guide to Central American Collections in the United
States. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1436.L45
- McNeil, Robert A., ed. Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to
Sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L257 1990
This guide includes chapters on "Manuscripts and Archives", "Newspapers and News
Magazines", "Periodicals" and "Official Publications"
- Perez, Louis A. A Guide to Cuban Collections in the United
States. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1776.P46
- Tepaske, John J., ed. Research Guide to Andean History: Bolivia, Chile,
Ecuador and Peru. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1981.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F3221.R47
- Werlich, David P. Research Tools for Latin American Historians: A Select,
Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1980.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.W47
return to top
- American
Governments on the World Wide Web
Links to official government web sites.
- Government
Links: US Federal, State, and Local
Guide to Internet sites prepared by the UM Libraries' Government Documents
department.
- Guide
to Researching U.S. Legislative History
Tutorial prepared for UM GVPT class - contains print and electronic
resources.
- Inter-Parliamentary Union
(IPU)
Links to the Parline Database of national parliaments, which can be searched by country,
region, or sub-region; and the Parlit Database, a searchable bibliography of literature on
parliamentary and electoral topics, plus a "Women in Politics" bibliographic database.
- Latin American and
Caribbean Government Documents Project
Organizes and describes the many Latin American
official documents now available via the Internet. The project includes the following types of
documents: statistical sources, executive and ministerial documents, national legislative
documents, and national judicial documents.
- Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA)
"(LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies."
- Political Database
of the Americas
This site provides documentary and statistical political information on
Latin America, including constitutions, electoral laws, legislative
and executive branch information and election data.
- United
Nations Treaties
"Treaty reference information made available for the United Nations
Treaty Series (UNTS) at this site corresponds to treaties and subsequent
actions registered up to April 1998. The complete text of treaties corresponds
to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately up to February
1998. Currently, the UNTS is being expanded at the rate of over 100
new volumes per year." Also included are the Status of Multilateral
Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General as of 1 December 2000,
the Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties, and photographs
of signature ceremonies.
- University of Maryland Libraries,
Government Documents and Maps Unit
Located on the 4th floor of McKeldin Library, this unit houses most of the Libraries' U.S.
government documents.
- University of Maryland Libraries,
Marylandia and Rare Books Collection
Located in the Maryland Room
on the first floor of Hornbake Library, this collection strives to obtain all published Maryland
state documents.
return to top
- CEPAL/ECLAC Enlaces
Links to many intergovernmental/mulitlateral Organizations.
- The Library
Network
Serves the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, also known as the
World Bank, and the International Monetary Fund. The collection is strong in the following areas: economics, trade,
public policy, international and governmental finance, government statistics, and development
issues. For an early print catalog of the library's Latin American and Caribbean collection,
through 1975, see volume 1 of The Developing Areas: A Classed Bibliography of the
Joint Bank-Fund Library (McKeldin Reference Stacks HC59.7.W316). For access to early
periodicals in the collection see: Economics and Finance: Index to Periodical
Articles, 1947-1971 (McKeldin Folio Z7164.E2W34). The Library's online catalog
JOLIS
is searchable
through the Library's
web site. The library is for the staff of the IMF and World Bank. Outside researchers must make
an appointment to use the library.
- Inter-American Development
Bank
"The Inter-American
Development Bank (IDB) is an international financial institution created in 1959 to help
accelerate the economic and social development of its member countries in Latin America and the
Caribbean. The IDB Group also includes the Inter-American Investment Corporation
and the Multilateral Investment Fund, which promote private sector development in the region."
This site provides electronic versions of many of the institution's printed documents.
- Organization of American States
(OAS)
Made up of 35
member states within the Americas, the OAS's major goals are "strengthening freedom of speech
and thought as a basic human right, promoting greater participation by civil society in
decision-making at all levels of government, improving cooperation to address the problem
of illegal drugs; and supporting the process to create a Free Trade Area of the Americas." This
site provides electronic versions of many of the organization's printed documents.
- Pan-American Health
Organization
Part of the World Health Organization
(WHO), the Pan-American
Health Organization's "essential mission is to strengthen national and local health systems and
improve the health of the peoples of the Americas, in collaboration with Ministries of Health,
other government and international agencies, nongovernmental organizations, universities, social
security agencies, community groups, and many others." This site provides electronic
versions of many of the organization's printed documents.
- SourceOECD
From the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Online,
full-text access to OECD's publications from 1998 to the resent, including
reports, periodicals, and monographs.
- UN Web
This site is the Official Web Site Locator for the United Nations System
of Organizations. The site provides a fast and easy way to link to the
home pages of the various United Nations organizations, such as FAO,
ECLAC, UNICEF, UNESCO, WHO, World Bank and the extensive information
provided by each of these agencies.
return to top
- Fletcher
School Multilaterals Project
Links to multilateral conventions organized by broad topic areas.
- La Corte Centroamericana de
Justicia
Full text of basic documents and resolutions.
- Global Legal
Information
Network
Library of Congress site "maintains and provides a database of laws, regulations, and other
complementary legal sources."
- ICL Country
Index: Constitutional Documents
Contains links to national constitutions plus brief background descriptions of the
constitutional development in each country.
- International Court of Justice
"Provides links to all contentious cases and advisory opinions referred to the Court since
1946" plus other documents.
- International Law Reports
Contains the reports of many kinds of international adjudications.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JX68.A65
HOLDINGS: v.23-42, v.48- (1956-1971,1975- )
- International Legal Materials
"Each 250-page issue contains the full texts of important treaties and
agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international
organizations resolutions and other documents. A content summary precedes
each document, many of which are accompanied by authored introductions.
Status information for treaties also appears in each issue."
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Legal research section contains EU law (legislation and treaties) and case law from selected
countries.
Also, mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers, journals, wire services, and
news transcripts.
- Project Diana: Online
Human Rights Archive
Yale Law School site with online cases and documents.
- United Nations Treaties
"Treaty reference information made available for the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS)
at this site corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered up to April 1998. The
complete text of treaties corresponds to treaties and subsequent actions registered approximately
up to February 1998. Currently, the UNTS is being expanded at the rate of over 100 new volumes
per year." Also included are
the Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General as of 1 December 2000,
the Texts of
Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties, and photographs of signature ceremonies.
- University of Minnesota
Human Rights Library
Online human rights treaties and other instruments; searchable by keyword.
- Inter-American Development
Bank
Established in
1959, the IDB was created to
assist in the economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The IDB's
Felipe Herrera
Library houses one
of the Washington
area's three strongest Latin American collections. Its strengths lie in the social sciences,
economics, and culture. It includes over 1,200 periodicals and receives numerous Latin
American newspapers.
- Library
Network
Serves the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, also known as the
World Bank, and the International Monetary Fund. The collection is strong in the following areas: economics, trade,
public policy, international and governmental finance, government statistics, and development
issues. For an early print catalog of the library's Latin American and Caribbean collection,
through 1975, see volume 1 of The Developing Areas: A Classed Bibliography of the
Joint Bank-Fund Library (McKeldin Reference Stacks HC59.7.W316). For access to early
periodicals in the collection see: Economics and Finance: Index to Periodical
Articles, 1947-1971 (McKeldin Folio Z7164.E2W34). The Library's online catalog
JOLIS
is searchable
through the Library's web site. The library is for the staff of the IMF and World Bank. Outside
researchers must make an appointment to use the library.
- Library of
Congress
The Library of Congress houses the largest collection of Latin American research materials
in the United States. The Hispanic
Reading Room serves as the Latin
Americanist's primary starting point for research in the Library and the Manuscript Reading Room
an important division within the Library of
Congress for researching primary source materials. The Hispanic Division of the Library of
Congress edits the Handbook of Latin
American Studies.
- National Agricultural Library
Houses a large research collection
in 19th and 20th
century Latin America. In addition to the agricultural sciences it includes collections strong in
Latin American agricultural economics, rural production (farm, ranch, and forest), rural economic
development, land usage, land colonization, rural education, agricultural law, commerce, and
trade. Search the Agricola database for materials held in the NAL
collection.
- Oliveira Lima
Library
Located on
the ground
floor of Mullen library at the Catholic University of America this is considered one of the best
collections of Luso-Brazilian materials in the United States. It is very strong in Brazilian and
Portuguese history, literature and culture.
- Organization of American States
Houses the Columbus Memorial
Library, which includes a
collection of over 300,000 Latin American related volumes, over 4,500 serial titles (both current
and retrospective) and approximately 150,000 government (primarily OAS) documents. All
subject areas are well represented.
- Smithsonian
Institution Libraries
The Smithsonian's 22 branch libraries contain more
than 1.5 million volumes, including 40,000 rare books. The Libraries' collections are searchable
through the SIRIS Catalog
- Libweb
Links to hundreds of library online catalogs and library
web servers in the United States and overseas.
- Libraries on the Web:
Mexico, the Caribbean, Cenral America, and South
America
Links to library online catalogs in Latin America.
- LANIC: Libraries &
Archives
Links to online
catalogs and homepages of Latin American research libraries and archives.
return to top
- Center for Research
Libraries
"The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of colleges, universities
and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. Its
outstanding collections include more than 3.5 million volumes of research materials rarely held in
North American libraries." Of interest to Latin Americanists is the The Latin American Microform Project
(LAMP) which includes microform and digitized "collections of unique, scarce,
rare and/or bulky and voluminous research materials pertaining to Latin America". The
LAMP Holdings List contains the definitive listing of all materials collected by LAMP.
- UM Libraries Microfom
Collections .
The UM Libraries have numerous collections of primary source
material in microfom. The bulk of these collections are held in McKeldin Library and can be
found in McKeldin's Periodicals-Microforms Room. Collections are listed here by names of
issuing countries or organizations, or by title, as appropriate. Most have specialized indexes.
return to top
return to top
Directories & Listings of NGOs and other Organizatations, Associations and
Agencies
return to top
- American Periodical Series
(APS)
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published between
1741 and the early 20th century.
- Abyz News Links
Links to over 15,600 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.
- Daily report. Latin America. Index. 11/78-7/96.
LOCATION: Government Documents LC DOC
CALL NUMBER: F1401.D332
Index to the Daily report. Latin America. These are translations by the U.S. Foreign Broadcast
Information Service, a government agency, which monitors and translates newspapers, radio and
television broadcasts, and statements of foreign governments. The full text of the Daily report
is available on microfiche in the Government Documents room from 1974 to July 1996 at PrEx
7.10:FBIS-LAT-.
- Factiva.
Covers primarily business and finance publications, but has selected titles in other social science
areas such as sociology, economics, & psychology. Has selective coverage of news related to
Latin America.
- FBIS Publications. Jan-Dec 1996- .
LOCATION: CD-ROM; McKeldin Government Documents Room
CALL NUMBER: PREX7.10/3 (Ask for CD-ROM at Service Desk)
Full text translations of newspaper articles, radio, television broadcasts and statements of foreign
governments searchable via CD ROM software. Copyright restrictions apply to this material.
For earlier years translation access see entry above, the Daily reports. Latin America. Index.
- Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries: A Union List Compiled in the Serial Division, Library of Congress.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z6947.L36
- Lexis Nexis
Academic.
A full text database offering access to hundred of newspapers, magazines, and other news
sources. Includes, major domestic newspapers (New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles
Times, Christian Science Monitor and others) as well as news sources from many other
regions of the world, including Latin America.
- The Times Index. 1790- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI21.T462 (call number varies slightly over the years)
Index to the London Times newspaper which the Library has on microfilm since 1788 in the
Microform/Periodicals Room, call number: AN183.L6T5.
- New York Times Historical (1851-2001).
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- New York Times Index. 1851- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: AI21.N44
Print index to the New York Times newspaper which the Library has on microfilm since 1857 in the
Microform/Periodicals Room, call number: AN53.N4T5.
-
LANIC Media and
Communications in Latin America
Provides access to
newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and other media in Latin America.
-
Periodicals Index Online
Information on articles published in more than 2,000 humanities and social sciences periodicals,
from as early as the eighteenth century to the early 1990s.
- McNeil, Robert A., ed. Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to
Sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L257 1990
This guide includes chapters on "Newspapers and News Magazines" and "Periodicals".
- Washington Post Historical (1877-1988).
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- World News Connection.
1994 - .
This database contains full text and summaries of newspaper articles, television and radio
broadcasts, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports, from
countries around the world including Latin America and the Caribbean. All sources are
translated from their original language into English. Generally, new information is available
within 48-72 hours from the time of original publication or broadcast.
-
WWITV: WorldWide Internet
TV
Links to television stations worldwide.
return to top
The following titles are important sources of information for gathering different kind of
statistical data; economic, educational, population demographics, trade, etc.
-
Online Sources of International
Statistics
This excellent guide links to numerous websites that contain statistical data compiled by
governments and international organizations such as the Inter-American
Development Bank, the Inter-American Commission on Human
Rights, the Organization of American States (OAS), the
Pan American Health Organization, the United
Nations, the World Bank, and the World
Health Organization. The majority of these sources are free-of-charge and
accessible to anyone with access to the World Wide Web.
-
Directory of Official Statistical Agencies & Societies
An online directory of worldwide international and national official statistical sgencies and
national statistical societies
-
LANIC: Statistics
This Web site links to official government statistical gencies in Latin America
-
Latin American Statistical
Sources
This Web site links to Latin American national statistical bureaus and sources of international
statistics
return to top
- International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-1993.
London, MacMillan: 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HA175.M55 1998
Includes time series data, as well as demographic, labor force, economic, financial, and
educational statistics by country.
- Historical Statistics of the States of the United States: Two Centuries of the
Census 1790-1990. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HA214.D63 1993
- Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970.
Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HA202.B87 1975 Parts 1 and 2
return to top
- ArcWorld.
LOCATION: Government Documents Desk
This database contains country boundaries, latitude/longitude grids, and more than 500
national-level statistical attributes such as literacy rates, life expectancy, women in the labor force,
deforestation rates, etc. These statistical attributes can be used to develop custom made maps.
- International Marketing Data and Statistics. 1978/1979- .
London: Euromonitor Publications Ltd. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HA42.I56
Comparative statistical data for some 150 non-European countries arranged in 24 sections
covering: demographic trends, economic indicators, consumer expenditure patterns, retailing
advertising, consumer market sizes, consumer prices, costs, health & living standards, etc.
- SourceOECD
From the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Online, full-text access to
OECD's publications from 1998 to the resent, including reports, periodicals, and monographs.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States . Washington : G.P.O.,
1878 - ..
LOCATION: Government Documents Reference, 1878-1905,1907-1908,1911,1913-1915,1917-1926,1928-1952,
1954- . Latest edition of the Abstract is available electronically.
CALL NUMBER: HA202.U5
- Statistical Yearbook. 1948- . New York: United Nations.
Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks; Latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks; Current CD-ROM edition in Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: HA12.5.U63
"Internationally comparable statistics on UN countries"; tables often cover a 10 year period.
Tables include information on population, wages, prices, finance, health, education, culture,
industrial production, energy, external trade, etc.
-
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Print version available for 1985-1991, 1995, 1998-present in McKeldin Periodicals (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks) at HA751.U52
Covers economic and social development, population, domestic prices, external trade, employment, social conditions, and more.
- Statistics Sources. 1962- . Detroit, MI: Gale Research.
Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7551.S84
Subject guide to general U.S. and international statistics such as industrial, business, social,
educational, and financial statistics .
- World Development Indicators Online
Provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
return to top
- CRB Commodity
Yearbook.1939,1941-1942,1948-1963,1965,1969-1984- . New York : Wiley.
Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HF1041.C562 and C56
Provides information on more than 100 domestic and international commodities from aluminum to
gold to zinc. Include current as well as historical data.
- International Financial Statistics Yearbook. 1979- . Washington,
D.C.: IMF. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HG3881.I6261
"Contains country tables for each of the approximately 150 members of the International
Monetary Fund. Includes data on exchange rates, interest rates, production, prices, trade."
- STAT-USA
This multi-file database includes the Globus & NTDB (National
Trade
Data Bank) files, an excellent source for learning about export markets, trade practices of foreign
countries and analyzing patterns of imports/exports by country. The Country
Commercial Guides, which are part of the GLOBUS & NTDB database, are very
useful for detailed information on all the countries of the world from the perspective of doing
business in that country.
return to top
- Hispanic Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. Palo Alto, CA:
Information Publications, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75H53 2001
Includes statistics on Latinos in the United States in the following areas: demographics, social
characteristics, househld & family characteristics, education, government & elections, labor,
income, and crime.
- Human Development Report. 1990, 1992-1993, 1995, 1998, 2001 - . New
York: Oxford University Press. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks; CD-ROM edition with call number HD72.H8513 in Government Documents)
CALL NUMBER: HD72.H85
Contains the Human Development Index (HDI) data developed by United Nations Development
Programme, which measures a nation's social and economic strength. Includes data on
education, poverty and health.
- Social Indicators of Development. 1986-1988, 1991-1992, 1996 -. Washington, D.C.:
World Bank. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks, (Latest edition available in
McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HC59.69.S63
An annual publication providing social indicators on more than 170 countries. Includes data on
infrastructure, education, population, demographics and labor force participation.
- Statistical handbook on Poverty in the Developing World. .
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HC59.72.P6S73 1999
Includes statistics on the following: economics, demographics, health, education, nutrition and
food supply, women and poverty, and children and poverty.
- World Economic and Social Survey. 1994- . New York: United
Nations. Annual.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (latest edition in McKeldin Reference Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: HC59.A169
"An annual analysis of major current world trends, issues and policies dealing with world
economy, including output, trade and finance."
return to top
|