|
Last revised: January 2008
Plants: Common and Scientific Names
Scope: This guide is a selected list of information sources for plant names for
both the United States and the world. The topics range from Plants in General, to specific
categories such as Exotic Plants and Trees, Shrubs and Vines. The areas covered include:
Taxonomy, Classification and Nomenclature of plants. If you have any questions, please contact the UMCP's Biology Librarian, Tom Harrod
Internet Resources
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System
(ITIS)
Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, ITIS is a searchable list of biological names focusing on the biota of North America.
- International Code of Botanical Nomenclature
Here are the electronic versions of the International Botanical Conference's "International Code of Botanical Nomenclature" (ICBN) from the 2005 Vienna Conference, the 1999 St. Louis Conference, and the 1994 Tokyo Conference.
-
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI)
IPNI was designed to be a comprehensive source for the names "of all seed plants, ferns, and fern allies". Additionally, this resource provides bibliographic information regarding these names.
- Multi-Lingual Multiscript Plant Name Database
A tool from the University of Melbourne, this site gives plant names in different languages.
-
Names in Current Use for Extant Plant Genera
From the International Association for Plant Taxonomy, this resource allows users to search an electronic version of NCU-3.
- National Collection of Endangered Plants
This website, maintained by the Center for Plant Conservation, features the names of endangered plant species in the United States.
- Non-flowering Plant Names
A searchable list of non-flowering plant names from the Sagehan Creek Field Station (University of California).
return to top
Finding books on a topic
To locate books, search our library's online catalog
Subject or Keyword
searches will locate words and terms when they appear in the title, subject headings or notes of a
record. Using the terms "plant" or "plants" could retrieve thousands of records, so be sure to
limit your search by adding additional terms, such as the type of plant: edible or range, or by the
geographical region: North American, etc. or otherwise narrowing the scope of your search.
Examples of words and terms you may wish to use for retrieving books on plant names are:
"Plants" and: "Nomenclature." "Classification," or "Taxonomy"
"Botany" and: "Nomenclature," "Classification," or "Taxonomy"
For more information on finding books in our catalog, please see the Catalog Guide, or consult a Reference
Librarian.
return to top
Plants, In General
- Bailey, L. H. Hortus Third: A Concise Dictionary of Plants Cultivated in the United
States and Canada. New York, N.Y. : Macmillan, 1976.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB45.B22 1976 FOLIO
Includes the description and botanical names for 281 families, 3,301 genera, and 20,397 species
and a large number of subspecies, varieties, forms and cultivars. Some line illustrations. Index to
common names.
- Everett, Thomas H. The New York Botanical Garden Illustrated Encyclopedia of
Horticulture. New York, N.Y.: Garland, 1981-1982. 10 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB317.58.E94 FOLIO
Arranged in alphabetical order. Entries of genera, hybrids, chimeras, families, vegetables, fruits,
herbs, and ornamentals. Scientific names are used; cross references are given for common
names. Substantial discussions of subjects of interest to gardeners. Illustrated with color and
black and white photographs. Volume 10 includes an index of color plates.
- Gledhill, D. Names of Plants. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks & UMCP Online Resources
CALL NUMBER: QK96 .G54 2002
A collection of Latin plant names and their meanings in English, arranged alphabetically by
Latin name.
- Greuter, W., ed. International Code of Botanical Nomenclature (Vienna Code).
Ruggell, Liechtenstein : Published for IAPT by A.R.G. Ganter ; Königstein, Germany : Distributed by Koeltz, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK96 .R4 vol.146
- Harris, James G., and Melinda Woolf Harris. Plant Identification Terminology: An
Illustrated Glossary. Spring Lake, Utah: Spring Lake Pub., 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK9.H37 1994
Part 1 is an alphabetical glossary of over 2400 terms commonly used in plant description and
identification. Part 2 groups related terms together to enable comparisons. Illustrated with line
drawings.
- Heywood, V. H., ed. Flowering Plants of the World. New York, N.Y.:
Oxford University Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK495.A1F58 1993 FOLIO
The class of flowering plants (Angiospermae) is divided inco dicotyledon families and
monocotyledon families. The descriptions for each entry include distribution maps, color plates
classification, economic uses, number of species and genera. Glossary at front of book. Index
includes scientific and common names.
- Hyam, R., and R. Pankhurst. Plants and Their Names: A Concise
Dictionary. Oxford, Eng.; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press. London, Eng.:
Royal Botanic Gardens, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK96.P35 1995
A reference source to some 16,000 of the more commonly occurring vernacular and Latin names
of plants. In selecting plants for inclusion, an emphasis was given to plants grown ornamentally
in Northern Europe and those that serve as sources of food or raw materials. Information for
most entries includes name derivations, descriptions, uses, and geographical distribution.
Scientific entries of family, genus, species, and common specific epithets and synonyms are
cross-referenced.
- The Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature. London, Eng.: H. M.
Stationery Office. Quarterly. 1971-1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK95.K4
An annual publication listing all periodical articles and books and new names for vascular plants
of the world. Covers flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns. Each volume has an author
index. Volumes from 1987 onward include a cumulated genus index for each year.
- Mabberley, D. J. The Plant Book: A Portable Dictionary of the Vascular Plants. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, c1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK11 .M29 1997
- Neal, Bill. Gardener's Latin: A Lexicon. Chapel Hill, N.C.: Algonquin
Books of Chapel Hill, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK9.N42 1992
A partial dictionary of a large number of botanical names, listing species names only in the
masculine singular form. Margin notes include lore and literary associations. Illustrations are
decorative but not useful for identification.
- Stafleu, F. A., and Richard S. Cowan. Taxonomic Literature: A Selective Guide to
Botanical Publications and Collections with Dates, Commentaries and Types.
Utrecht, Neth.: Bohn, Scheltema & Holkema, 1976. 2nd ed. 7 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK97.S8
(Supplement, 1992, MCK STACKS Z5351.S7 Vol. 125)
A bibliography of books, pamphlets, series and other bibliographically independent and limited
entities (excluding open-ended periodical or serial publications) published between 1753 and
1940 with an emphasis on materials published between 1870 and 1914.
- Trehane, Piers. Index Hortensis: A Modern Nomenclature for Botanists,
Horticulturists, Plantsmen and the Serious Gardener. Vol 1. Winborne, Eng.:
Quarterjack Publishing, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK96.T74 1989 Vol.1. Perennials
An authoritative guide to the correct naming of garden plants. Arranged alphabetically by genus.
- Watts, D. [compiler] Elsevier’s dictionary of plant names and their origin. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier Science B.V., 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK13 .E565 2000
return to top
Exotic Plants
- Exotica Series 4 International. East Rutherford, N.J.: Roehrs
Co., 1985. 12th ed. 2 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB407.G7 1985 FOLIO
See Volume 2, Index of Common Names, pp. 2540-2552.
- Graf, Alfred Byrd. Tropica: Color Cyclopedia of Exotic Plants and Trees for Warm-Region Horticulture, in Cool Climate, the Summer Garden, or Sheltered Indoors. East Rutherford, N.J. : Roehrs Co., 1992, c1981.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB407 .G73 1992
return to top
Flowerless Plants
- Arora, David. Mushrooms Demystified: A Comprehensive Guide to the Fleshy
Fungi. Berkeley, Calif.: Ten Speed Press, 1986. 2nd ed.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK617.A69 1986
A guide to mushrooms of the continental U.S. and Canada. Special chapters on terminology and
classification, collecting and identification, mushroom cookery and toxins. The majority of this
work consists of keys to aid in the identification of mushrooms. Black and white photographs
throughout in addition to a large section of color plates. See pages 899-912: What It All Means
(A short dictionary of scientific names). In addition to a general index which includes common
names, there is an index of Latin names of genus and species.
- Nicholson, Barbara. The Oxford Book of Flowerless Plants: Ferns, Fungi, Mosses,
and Liverworts, Lichens, and Seaweeds. London: Oxford University Press, 1966.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK513.G7N5
Plants are grouped according to the natural localities in which they grow. Each page of text is
faced with a color plate. Pictures of plants are numbered to aid identification. Index of scientific
and common names.
- Chandra, Aindrila. Elsevier's Dictionary of Edible Mushrooms: Botanical and
Common Names in Various Languages of the World. Amsterdam; NY: Elsevier,
1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK617.C44 1989
The bulk of this work consists of botanical and common names of edible species in various
languages. There are indices in 22 languages.
- Jones, David L. Encyclopaedia of Ferns: Their Structure, Biology, Economic
Importance, Cultivation and Propagation. Portland, Ore.: Timber Press,
1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK522.J65 1987
Part One includes the numbers of ferns and fern allies, and the origin and classification of fern
cultivars. Part Six covers some 700 species of ferns and common cultivars. Illustrated with color
and b&w photographs and line drawings. There is an index of Latin names. Only well known
common names are included.
- Lellinger, David B. A Field Manual of the Ferns & Fern - Allies of the United
States
& Canada. Washington, D. C.: Smithsonian Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK524.5.L45 1985
Includes entries of 406 species, subspecies and varieties of ferns and fern allies native to or
naturalized in Canada and the United States, excluding Hawaii. Most species are illustrated with
a color photograph showing the plant in its native habitat or illustrating important diagnostic
features. Within the three sections, Fern-allies, Ferns, and Hybrid Complexes, entries are
arranged alphabetically according to Latin name. Indices to common and scientific names.
- Olsen, S. Encyclopedia of Garden Ferns. Portland, Or. : Timber Press, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB429 .O47 2007
- Phillips, Roger.Mushrooms of North America in Color : A Field Guide Companion to Seldom-Illustrated Fungi.Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK617 .M84 1995
return to top
Garden/Edible Plants
- Brickell, Christopher & Zuk, J.D. The American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden
Plants. New York, N.Y. : DK Pub., 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SB403.2 .A45 1997
- Brickell, Christopher.The American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening.New York : DK, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB450.95 .A45 2003
- Facciola, Stephen. Cornucopia: A Source Book of Edible Plants. Vista,
Calif.: Kampong Publications, 1990.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: SB175.F33 1990
A reference for gardeners, farmers, researchers,nutritionists and cooks. The botanical listings are
presented alphabetically by plant family, genus and species. Cultivar listings give descriptions of
important features and origins. The sources chapter gives information on 1350+ firms and
institutions whose catalogs have been surveyed. Indices of vernacular names and of usage and
edible parts.
- Griffiths, Mark. Index of Garden Plants. Portland, Ore.: Timber Press,
1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB407.G77 1994
Lists currently accepted botanical names, synonyms and popular names for approximately
60,000 plants. Brief descriptions are given.
- Healey, Ben. A Gardener's Guide to Plant Names. New York, N.Y.:
Scribner, 1972.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK11.H4
Alphabetical arrangement of genera beginning on p.39, explains meanings of names of genera
and species. Refer to The Common Names and Their Botanical equivalents, pp. 22-38.
- Phillips, Ellen, and C. Colston Burrell. Rodale's Illustrated Encyclopedia of
Perennials. Emmaus, Pa.: Rodale Press, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB434.P48 1993
- Stearn, William T. Stearn's Dictionary of Plant Names for Gardeners: A Handbook
on the Origin and Meaning of the Botanical Names of Some Cultivated Plants.
London,
Eng.: Cassell, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK11.S6 1992
The major part of the book is an alphabetical listing of botanical names. A smaller dictionary of
vernacular names follows.
- Wyman, Donald. Wyman's Gardening Encyclopedia. New York, N.Y.:
Macmillan, 1986. 2nd ed.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB450.95.W96 1986
Includes plants of ornamental or economic value. Plants are listed alphabetically with
descriptions after the scientific name. Line illustrations. Common names are cross-indexed, with
the exception of fruits and vegetables which are listed and described by their common names.
The scientific names of plants in this volume follow the International Code of Nomenclature for
Cultivated Plants. Not indexed.
return to top
Grasses/Range Plants
- Brown, Lauren. Grasses, An Identification Guide. Boston, Mass.:
Houghton Mifflin, 1979.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK495.G74B69
Plants are organized by visual similarity, not always by
taxonomic grouping. Line drawings. Not very comprehensive. Index of common and scientific
names.
- Knobel, Edward. Field Guide to the Grasses, Sedges and Rushes of the
United States. Washington, D. C.: U. S. Government Printing Office, 1977.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK495.G74K718 1977
Current scientific names are listed by genus and
species. Line drawings. Index of common and scientific names.
- Stubbendieck, J. et al.North American Range Plants. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB193.3.N67 S88 1997
- Stubbendieck, J. et al.North American Ildland Plants: A Field Guide. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB193.3.N67 S88 2003
- Watson, Leslie, and Michael J. Dallwitz. The Grass Genera of the World.
Wallingford Oxon, U. K.: C.A.B. International, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK495.G74W38 1992
The grass generic character list covers all aspects of variation necessary or potentially useful for
identification and/or classification. Lists 785 genera, arranged scientifically by name. Indexes
scientific names.
return to top
Herbs/Medicinal Plants
- Dorfler, Hans-Peter, and Gerhard Roselt. The Dictionary of Healing
Plants. London, Eng.; New York, N.Y.: Blandford Press, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK99.A1D6713 1989
Plants native to Central Europe with comprehensive
information about their medicinal significance. Color plates for each entry. Index of common
names.
- Grieve, Maud. A Modern Herbal. New York, N.Y.: Dover Publications,
1971. 2 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK99.A1G72 1971
Medicinal, cultinary, cosmetic, scientific, economic and folklore of plants. Alphabetical
arrangement by common name. Sparsely illustrated with b & w drawings. An index of popular
names in Vol.2.
- Kadans, Joseph M. Modern Encyclopedia of Herbs. West Nyack, N.Y.:
Parker Pub. Co., 1970.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK99.K35
Lists herbs alphabetically by popular names. Each entry gives botanical name and alternate
popular name. Herbs' effects and reported usage are listed. Part 2 is the "Herb-O-Matic Locator
Index", helpful for locating herbs for various ailments.
- Millspaugh, Charles F. American Medicinal Plants. New York, N.Y.:
Dover Publications, 1974.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK99.U6M54 1974
Each entry is illustrated, however the original color plates are reproduced in black and white for
this edition. There is also a Therapautic Index of Ailments, and Indices of French and German
common names. This book has historical interest, however, this material is dated (from 1882)
and some remedies are in question. Index of scientific and common names.
- Yaniv, Z.. Handbook of Medicinal PlantsNew York : Food Products Press : Haworth Medical Press, c2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RS164 .H273 2005
return to top
Indoor Plants
- Bechtel, Helmut, Phillip Cribb, and Edmund Launert. The Manual of Cultivated
Orchid Species. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1992. 3rd ed.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB409.B43313 1992
Includes sections on orchid nomenclature and cultivated orchid genera and species.
- Hewitt, Terry. The Complete Book of Cacti and Succulents. London,
Eng.; New York, N.Y.: Dorling Kindersley, 1993. 1st American ed.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB438.H44 1993 A definitive practical guide to cultivation, propagation
and display. Follows the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild
Fauna and Flora (CITES). Cactaceau Checklist compiled by David Hunt, Royal Botanic
Gardens, Kew, 1992. For succulents, adheres to the classification system used in Hermann
Jacobsen's Lexicon of Succulent Plants (Blandford Press, 1974). Color photographs throughout.
Index cross-references any old plant names or synonyms which may still be in use with current
names used in the Plant Catalog (pp. 52-143).
- Jacobsen, Hermann. A Handbook of Succulent Plants; Descriptions, Synonyms,
and
Cultural Details for Succulents Other Than Cactaceae. London, Eng.: Blanford Press,
1960. With contributions by P. R. O. Bally and others. English edition after the first German
edition, Jena 1954, revised and enlarged. Authorised translation by Hiledgard Raabe. 3
vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB438.J286 1960 v. 1 - v. 3
Contents: v. 1 Abromeitiella to Euphorbia; v. 2 Ficus to Zygophyllum; v. 3
Mesembryanthemums
(Ficoidaceae).
return to top
Poisonous Plants
- Ammirati, Joseph F., Traquair, James A., Horgen, Paul A. Poisonous Mushrooms of
the United States and Canada.. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RA1 4 .M9A45 1985 Folio.
Chapter 5 contains taxonomic keys and family descriptions of poisonous mushrooms and related
fungi. A technical key is based on a combination of macroscopic and microscoic features. Part 2
deals with fungal poisoninig, with separate chapters devoted to the toxicology and
syptomatology of each toxin group. Illustrated with line drawings and color plates. Index
includes common and scientific names, morphological and technical terms, common names of
fungi, toxins and symptoms related to fungal poisoning.
- Foster, Steven, and Roger A. Caras. A Field Guide to Venomous Animals and
Poisonous Plants, North America, North of Mexico. Boston, Mass.: Houghton Mifflin,
1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL100.F63 1994
Part 2, Poisonous Plants, has sections on flowers according
to color, shrubs and trees, vines, ferns and mushrooms. Line drawings with a section of color
photographs for each part. Indexed by common and scientific name.
- Frohne, Dietrich, and Pfander, Hans Jurgen. A Colour Atlas of Poisonous Plants: A
Handbook for Pharmacists, Doctors, Toxicologists, and Biologists.. London: Wolf
Publishing LTD. 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK100.A1F7613 1984
Section 3, "the most important plants with alleged or
actual toxic properties," is arranged alphabetically by common name. Characteristic parts of
plants are illustrated in color. Identification keys for fruits and a compilation of leaf characters
are included. Microscopical characteristics are included for use in identification. Index of
common and scientific names.
- Nelson, LS. et al. Handbook of Poisonous and
Injurious Plants. New York : New York Botanical Garden : Springer, c2007.
LOCATION: Chemistry Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RA1250 .L27 2007
- Muenscher, Walter Conrad. Poisonous Plants of the United States. New
York, N.Y.: Collier Books, 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK100.U6M8 1975
Part II, the major section of the book, deals with approximately 400 species of plants.
Information is given on distribution and habitat, poisonous principle, conditions of poisoning,
symptoms, and sometimes treatment. Line drawings. Indexed by common name of plant.
return to top
Trees, Shrubs, and Vines
- Elias, Thomas S. The Complete Trees of North America. New York,
N.Y.:Van Nostrand Reinhold; Outdoor Life Division, Times Mirror Magazines, 1980.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, ARCH STACKS
CALL NUMBER: QK481.E38
Designed to help in the identification of more than 750 North American trees, including native
trees occurring north of Mexico and other commonly encountered trees from other countries.
Trees are arranged in a manner to reflect natural relationships, primarily divided into conifers
and flowering plants. Indexed by common and scientific names.
- Henderson, Andrew, Gloria Galeano, and Rodrigo Bernal. Field Guide to the
Palms
of the Americas. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK495.P17H44 1995
Includes Index to Common Names, pp. 315-321, Index to Scientific Names, pp. 322-352, and
Appendix II List of Accepted Names, Synonyms, Hybrids and Uncertain Names, pp. 261-300.
- Johnson, Hugh. The International Book of Trees.
New York, N.Y.: Simon & Schuster, 1973.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK475.J56
Comprehensive information on trees. Includes general information on cultivation, distribution,
and history of trees, as well as information on individual species. Extensively illustrated with
color photographs, drawings and maps. Indexed by Latin name. Common names are cross
referenced.
- Menninger, Edwin A. Flowering Vines of the World, an Encyclopedia of
Climbing Plants. New York, N.Y.: Hearthside Press, 1970.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK477.M42
The majority of the book, Part IX, contains descriptions of vines. Arranged by family in
alphabetical order. Index includes scientific and common names.
- Preston, Richard J., Jr. et al. North American TreesAmes, Iowa : Iowa State Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK110 .P74 2002
- Vaucher, Hugues. Elsevier's Dictionary of Trees and Shrubs.
Amsterdam;
New York, N.Y.: Elsevier, 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK474.87.V38 1986
A multilingual dictionary comprised of 2,300 Latin names subdivided into 140 families, 510
genera, 1,650 species and varieties. Simplifies the correlation between the popular and scientific
names. Sections with English, French, German and Italian names.
return to top
Weeds
- Lorenzi, Harri J., and Larry S. Jeffery. Weeds of the United States and Their
Control. New York, N.Y.:Van Nostrand, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB612.A2L67 1987
Species can be identified from photographs in the color plates section. Section 2 gives
descriptions, habitats, and methods to control the species. Index of common and scientific
names.
- Zimdahl, Robert L. Weeds and Words: The Etymology of the Scientific Names of
Weeds and Crops. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB611.Z56 1989
This book is an alphabetical listing of the scientific names of weeds, with a shorter section of the
scientific names of crops. The eymology of each plant is explained. Indexes scientific and
common names of plants..
return to top
Wildland Plants
- Rickett, Harold William. Wild Flowers of the United States. New York,
N.Y.: McGraw Hill, 1966-1973. 6 vols. in 14 parts.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK115.R5
Vol. 1, The Northeastern States. Vol. 2, The Southeastern States. Vol. 3, Texas. Vol. 4, The
Southwestern States. Vol. 5, The Northwestern States. Vol. 6., The Central Mountains and
Plains. Color plates. Overall index for the set includes scientific and common names. Refer to
the index of each volume.
- Styles, B. T., ed. Infraspecific Classification of Wild and Cultivated
Plants. Oxford, Eng.: Clarendon Press for the Systematics Association; Oxford
University Press, 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK95.I53 1986
return to top
Indexes and Abstracts
- Agricola.
UM only
Produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), this resource allows users to retrieve articles pertaining to all areas of agriculture - including animal breeding, farm management, environmental pollution, food & feeds, and rural sociology.
- BIOSIS Previews
UM only
BIOSIS Previews provides the most comprehensive coverage to the literature of the life
sciences. Coverage includes primary research articles in the basic areas of biology: botany,
zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology
and ecology. Online access is available from 1970-present.
- Current Contents. Agriculture, Biology, and Environmental Sciences.
Weekly.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S1.C87
Reprints the table of contents from scores of journals and several selected edited volumes.
- Excerpta Botanica. Two volumes.
Sec. A: Taxonomica et Chorologica.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks (v.1 1959 - v.65 1997)
CALL NUMBER: QK1.E9
Sec. B: Sociologica (Plant geography and ecology.)
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks (v.2 1960 - v.32 1995/1998)
CALL NUMBER: QK1.E91
Bibliography only; no annotations.
- Field Crops Abstracts. Monthly. 1948 - 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB183.F5
See especially Crop Botany section.
- Forestry Abstracts.
Monthly. 1939/40 - 1998
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SD1.F656
- Herbage Abstracts. Bimonthly. 1939 - 1993
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB4.H38
- Web of Science UM only
Web of Science (WoS) is a multidisciplinary resource that allows users to see the cited references (bibliography) of a particular article, number of times an article has been cited and related records.
Online access is available from 1945-present for the Science Citatiojn Index portion of WoS.
return to top
return to top
|