|
Last revised: August, 2007
Public Policy Research
Scope: This guide lists sources of information
for researching public policy and the background issues involved in the development
of public policy. University of Maryland at College Park faculty, staff,
and students may email the librarian subject area specialist Gerri Foudy
for more information.
Because of licensing agreements, some of these resources can only be
used by current faculty, staff, and students of the University of Maryland,
College Park. These are marked UM only.
Library Catalogs (Finding books, government documents,
and more)
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
Search the UM Libraries catalog,
for books and documents on your topic available through the UM Libraries.
Start with a "words anywhere" search.
Example: Superfund AND history
Example: Civil Rights Act AND hearings
You can also use the catalog to find out whether the Libraries subscribe
to a particular journal. Go into the journals search (at the top of the
catalog page) and do a "title beginning with search" for the
journal title, NOT the article title.
Example: Legislative Studies Quarterly
- WorldCat
UM only
Combined catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Items not owned by the University System of Maryland libraries can be
requested online for borrowing through interlibrary loan; click on "ILL."
Primary Sources (Legislation,
regulations, and other documents)
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional
UM Only
Comprehensive access to US legislative information including legislative
histories and the CIS index of congressional publications from 1970
to the present, including congressional hearing testimonies. A separate
index, less exhaustive, is also available for previous congressional
publications (1789-1969).
- HeinOnline U.S. Statutes at Large UM Only
Full text, 1789-2002. Browse by volume or popular name.
- HeinOnline Federal Register Library UM Only
Full-text access to the Federal Register (1936 -), Federal Register Indexes (1939-1995), Compilation of Sections Affected (1949-2000), Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1965-2004), and the Administrative Procedure Act (1944-1946).
- WestLaw Campus Research
UM only
Full-text access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes published in the United States Code Annotated, American Jurisprudence 2d legal encyclopedia, American Law Reports, federal regulations, law reviews and legal periodicals, plus the ability to update case law using West's KeyCite system.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe UM Only
Go into the "Legal Research" section for access to case law, codes,
and regulations.
- Catalog of US
Government Publications (Free resource)
Index to government publications from 1994 to the present; some full
text available.
- Congressional Budget Office (Free
Resource)
Provides the Congress with analyses needed for economic and budget decisions
and with the information and estimates required for the Congressional
budget process. Includes full-text online documents such as briefs,
letters, studies, reports, technical papers, and testimony.
Search for CBO publications.
http://www.cbo.gov/
- General Accounting Office (GAO)
Reports (Free resource)
The GAO is the audit, evaluation, and investigative arm of Congress
and publishes reports, testimony, and legal decisions on a daily basis.
Find GAO Reports.
http://www.gao.gov/audit.htm
- GPO Access: Code
of Federal Regulations (CFR) (Free Resource)
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the
Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal
Government.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
- GPO Access: Federal
Register (Free Resource)
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices
of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and
other presidential documents.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html
- HeinOnline U.S. Supreme Court Library UM Only
Full text: U.S. Reports, Vols. 1- (1754- ); U.S. Reports Preliminary Prints, Vols. 535- (2002- ); and U.S. Reports Slip Opinions, 2002- to date.
- HeinOnline U.S. Attorney General Opinions UM Only
Full text, 1791 onward. Browse by volume.
- Maryland
State Publications (Free Resource)
Guide to print resources available in the Hornbake Library's Maryland
Room as well as online web sites.
http://www.lib.umd.edu/RARE/MarylandCollection/StatePubs.html
- Office of Management and Budget (OMB) (Free Resource)
"In helping to formulate the President's spending plans, OMB evaluates the effectiveness of agency programs, policies, and procedures, assesses competing funding demands among agencies, and sets funding priorities. OMB ensures that agency reports, rules, testimony, and proposed legislation are consistent with the President's Budget and with Administration policies."
OMB Locator Service.
http://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/
- Thomas (Free Resource)
Library of Congress site with recent legislative history sources.
http://thomas.loc.gov/
Secondary Sources (News, background information,
analysis,
etc.)
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
Note: Also conduct research in the subject-specific literature
appropriate to your topic. For example, if you are researching environmental
policy, be sure to search in the appropriate environmental studies
databases. In ResearchPort look
under Databases by Subject, or speak with
a reference librarian if you need help determining subject-specific
resources.
- Congressional Quarterly Almanac 1945-
Sessional compilation of articles from CQ Weekly, coverage of actions,
votes, presidential statements, and public laws. It includes the annual
CQ Vote Studies, significant bills and resolutions, key votes, and roll
call votes.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1.C66
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports Search Engine (Free Resource)
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the public policy research arm of the US Congress. It issues about 3,000 briefs, reports, short issue papers and longer position papers per year,
but it does not make its reports available to the public. However, it cannot prevent members of Congress from giving them out individually and some government agencies from posting reports they find relevant. Perhaps 1000 of these reports have become available on the web.
http://2act.org/p/576.html
- CQ Congress Collection
UM Only
Historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting
behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public
policy. An advanced member search allows the user to search for members
by various demographic fields.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection
UM Only
Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings - like Environment,
Health, International Affairs, National Security, and the U.S. Congress
& Politics, plus a "Hot Topics" section - the CQ Public Affairs Collection
features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical
analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as
a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations
in each of the major policy areas.
- CQ Researcher
UM Only
Full-text coverage of the CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher publication
from 1992 to the present, provides history and background information,
relevant pro & con arguments, bibliographies, contact information,
and outlooks on "hot topics" in current events.
- CQ Weekly
UM Only
Weekly legislative news and analysis, full text from 1983 to the present.
- National
Journal's Policy Central
UM Only
Full-text, searchable database of the National Journal Group's publications
(National Journal, Hotline, Congress Daily, Almanac
of American Politics) plus markup reports, public opinion data,
and an archive of television campaign ads with streaming audio and video.
- C-SPAN Congress Site
(Free resource)
Congressional directory, congressional votes library, and issues and
legislation sections.
http://www.c-span.org/resources/congress.asp
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe UM Only
Mostly full-text access to US and international newspapers, journals,
wire services, and news transcripts including the Washington Post
and the New York Times.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional
UM Only
Go into the "Inside Washington" section for access to Roll Call,
The Hill, and Section A of the Washington Post and into
the "Members" section for biographical information on individual members
of Congress, including key votes, floor statements, committee assignments,
financial disclosures, and campaign finance information.
- Lexis-Nexis Government
Periodicals Index
UM Only
Government Periodicals Index provides detailed subject and author indexing
of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by U.S. government
agencies.
- PAIS (Public
Affairs Information Service) International
UM Only
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents,
book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs topics
from 1972 to the present.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
UM Only
1975 to the present. Abstracts of journal articles and dissertations
from over 1,000 sources. Combined database of the former "Political
Science Abstracts" and "ABC PolSci."
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Roper iPoll UM Only
This databank is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for questions asked on U.S. nationwide public opinion surveys since 1935. It provides question wordings, response percentages, and full survey-level citations. In order to start using iPOLL, click "iPOLL Login" and complete the "iPOLL New User Registration" page on the website.
- Gallup Brain UM Only
Searchable database of Gallup Poll questions and responses back to 1935, plus current Gallup Poll News Service articles and replicas of news stories and press releases linked to the survey.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Universe UM Only
Go into "Reference" and click on "Polls & Surveys" for information from
the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Includes sources in opinion
polling such as Gallup, Harris, Roper; ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC; Los Angeles
Times, New York Times, USA Today and the Wall Street Journal.
- National
Journal's Policy Central
UM Only
Go into "Poll Track."
- American Public Opinion Index. Louisville, KY: Opinion Research
Service, 1981 -.
Index to opinion data contained in companion microfiche American
Public Opinion Data.
LOCATION: (Index) McKeldin Reference Stacks, (Microfiche) McKeldin Periodical Microfiche
CALL NUMBER: (Index) HM261.A463, ((Microfiche) HM261.A4632
- Gallup Poll. New York: Random House, 1972 -.
Gallup opinion poll summaries, 1935/1971, 1972/1977, and annual volumes
from 1978 on.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HN90.P8G35
- Harris Poll. Los Angeles: Creator's Syndicate, Inc., 1988 -
.
Issued weekly; polls on a wide range of subjects.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO (Latest issues in McKeldin Periodical Current Periodicals)
CALL NUMBER: HM261.A211
- Polling
the Nations UM Only
A compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national,
state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations
in the United States and 70 other countries from 1986 through the present.
When accessing UM Only subscription databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and the 14-digit number on the back of your UM id card.
- Washington Information Directory
UM only
Contact information, descriptions, and organizational charts for over 10,000 federal, congressional, and state government offices, nongovernmental organizations, policy groups, and foundations. Ability to export contact information into letter templates and other formats, and to create your own profile of saved favorite documents, document history, and searches.
- Congressional Quarterly's Congressional Staff Directory. Annual.
Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, Inc.
Includes information on members, committees, staffs, and biographies.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (Older editions in McKeldin Periodical
Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JK1012.C65
- CQ Politics in America
UM only
Profiles of all the current members of the U.S. Congress. Information includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees; detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn after the 2000 census, including updated maps and voting trends.
- CQ Congress Collection
UM Only
Includes member biographies, voting alignments (document the number
of times members or state delegations voted together on CQ Key Votes),
and interest group ratings.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection
UM Only
"Provides a wide range of contact information for hundreds of government
and non-profit organizations -- including short descriptions, addresses,
phone and fax numbers, contact names, web sites, and email addresses.
Contact information can be found by clicking on links within documents
where organizations are mentioned and by using the Search screen."
- CQ Voting and Elections
Collection UM Only
Voters and Demographics sections have documents and data on voters, turnout
and behavior, and modern counties and districts.
- National
Journal's Policy Central
UM Only
Full-text, searchable database of the National Journal Group's publications
(National Journal, Hotline, Congress Daily, Almanac
of American Politics) plus markup reports, public opinion data,
and an archive of television campaign ads with streaming audio and video.
- Ness, Immanuel. Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists
in the United States. Armonk, NY: Sharpe, 2000.
Includes information on group histories, current and future activities,
finances, and bibliographies.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1118 .N47 2000 vol. 1-2
- Political Advocacy Groups
(Free Resource)
Kathleen Fountain, a librarian at CSU-Chico, has developed a comprehensive listing of links to U.S. lobbying organizations, arranged by subject area.
http://www.csuchico.edu/~kcfount/
- Political Science Resources: Think Tank Directory (Free Resource)
"Think tanks" are policy research and advocacy organizations
which usually have a political slant. This site from the University
of Michigan Libraries gives an annotated list of links to think tank
home pages. Most think tanks post research and position papers and other
documents on the web.
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/psthink.html
- Congressional Quarterly's Federal Staff Directory
Includes information on staff in the White House, executive departments,
independent agencies, quasi-official organizations, and biographies.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (Older editions in McKeldin Periodical
Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JK6.F43
- Congressional Yellow Book: Who's Who in Congress, Including Committees
and Key Staff. New York: Leadership Directories, Inc.
Published quarterly.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK1010 .C68
- U.S. Government
Manual (Free resource)
"As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States
Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies
of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes
information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations
in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and
committees."
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html
- Washington Representatives. Annual. Washington, DC: Columbia Books,
Inc.
"A compilation of Washington representatives of major national associations,
labor unions, governments, U.S. and foreign companies, registered foreign
agents, lobbyists, lawyers, and special interest groups, together with
their clients and areas of legislative and regulatory concern."
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (Older editions in McKeldin Periodical
Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JK1118.D581
- Zuckerman, Edward. Almanac of Federal PACs. Hedgesville, WV:
Amward Publications, Inc.
Published every two years. Includes information about every PAC which
contributed $50,000 or more to congressional candidates during election
cycles.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (Older editions in McKeldin Periodical
Stacks)
CALL NUMBER: JK1991 .A744
return to top
|