|
Last revised: August 2007
Scientific Journal Lists and Abbreviations
Scope: The following print and electronic resources can be used to verify the proper name of a journal or other serial* title. They are especially useful when only partial information about a journal, e.g. abbreviated or partial title, publisher, or ISSN** number, is known. This Guide is divided into General resources that cover journals in a wide range of subject areas and Subject Specific sources that are limited to verifying journals in defined subject areas.
*As defined by the Library of Congress National Serials Data Program: "Print or non-print publications issued in parts, usually bearing issue numbers and/or dates, and expected to continue indefinitely." Serials include magazines, journals, newspapers, annuals, memoirs, proceedings, transactions of societies, and monographic series.
**International Standard Serial Number: An unique eight digit number assigned to a journal/serial in the format xxxx-xxxx.
Email the subject area specialist at
jmiller2@.umd.edu or call (301)405-9152 for more information.
All That JAS (Journal Abbreviation Sources)
Comprehensive registry of web resources providing full title access of journal abbreviations. Subject categories include: General, Agriculture, Anthropology, Aquatic Sciences, Astronomy, Biosciences, Business/Economics, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Geology, Law, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Philosophy, Physics, and Veterinary Medicine. Compiled and maintained by Gerry McKiernan, Science and Technology Librarian and Bibliographer,
Iowa State University Library.
LOCATION:
www.public.iastate.edu/~CYBERSTACKS/JAS.htm)
Journal Citation Reports
Includes information on over 8,400 journals in many specialty areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Can search for a specific journal by abbreviated title, title words, or ISSN, or browse groups of journals by subject, publisher, or country.
FirstSearch Periodical Titles
Searchable database of the journals included in the various OCLC FirstSearch databases. Can search by title words and ISSN, or browse by title. Searching by abbreviated title not available.
PubList.com, The Internet Directory of Publications
Database of over 150,000 domestic and international print and electronic publications including magazines, journals, e-journals, and newsletters. Select "Partial Word" and search on abbreviated title to locate full journal title. Can also search on ISSN, subject, or publisher.
The Standard Periodical Directory.Annual. New York: Oxbridge Communications, 1964- .
Information on over 75,000 North American periodicals. Access by subject and title only.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition), MCK FOLIO, ENGIN REF (latest edition only)
CALL NUMBER: Z6951.S78
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory UM only
The standard directory for journal information, although does not provide abbreviated title. Main access is by title, ISSN, or subject. In online version select the Search button at the top of the page to limit search by, among other things, type of serial, year, and online availability.
Also Print LOCATION: MCKREF RDYREF (latest edition only); CHEM REF (latest edition only); ENGIN REF (latest edition only)CALL NUMBER: Z6941.U5
WorldCat UM only
The OCLC online union catalog, containing over 60,000,000 records of OCLC member libraries from around the world. To locate full journal title search by Keyword on the abbreviated title. Can also search by ISSN using the Standard Number field from the pull-down menu and by title word(s).
Acronyms, Initialisms and Abbreviations Dictionary. Detroit, MI: Gale Research.
LOCATION: MCKREF QCKREF (Latest Edition), EPSL REF (1994), CLIS REF (1990), CHEM REF (1986)
CALL NUMBER: PE1693.A2
Periodical Title Abbreviations: By Abbreviation. Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1968-
LOCATION: MCK Ready Reference (Latest Edition), EPSL REF (1998), CHEM REF (1986), CLIS Reference (1981)
CALL NUMBER: PN4832.P4
Brown, P. and G.B. Stratton eds. World List of Scientific Periodicals Published in the Years 1900-1960.
4th ed. London: Buttersworth, 1963-1965.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS, MCK FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: Z7403.W923
World List of Scientific Periodicals: New Periodicals 1969-1978. London: Buttersworth.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS, ENGIN REF
CALL NUMBER: Z7403.W9231
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index.
1907-1999. Columbus, Ohio: Chemical Abstracts Service
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (Latest edition), CHEM BNDPER (Latest edition), CHEM CURPER (Current issues)
CALL NUMBER: Z5523.A3
Periodicals Scanned and Abstracted: Life Sciences
Collection. 6th ed. Bethesda, Md: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 1993.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (No Call number - NOT CATALOGUED); CLIS STACKS QH302.P47 1985 (3rd ed.)
Serials Monitored for the ASFIS [Aquatic
Sciences and Fisheries Information System] Bibliographic Database. Rome: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 1988. ASFIS Reference Series no. 1, revision 2.
LOCATION: MCKREF Manuals for Databases
CALL NUMBER: Z695.1.A63A63 1988
BIOSIS Serial Sources. Philadelphia: BioSciences Information Service.
Serials indexed in Biological Abstracts.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (Latest edition only)
CALL NUMBER: Z5321.B62 1998
(See also MCK FOLIO Z5321.B1/1 for 1969-1988 issues.)
Zoological Record Serial Sources.. Philadelphia: Biosis, 1989- .
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (1992-1996) (shelved in Life Sciences Alcove)
CALL NUMBER: Q1.Z664
International Union List of Agricultural Serials. Wallingford: CAB International,
1990.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.I58 1990
Journals Indexed in AGRICOLA. Beltsville, MD: National Agricultural Library, 1992- . Updated quarterly.
LOCATION: www.nal.usda.gov/indexing/jia.html
CAB International Serials Checklist. 1995 ed. Wallingford: CAB International, 1996.
Serials screened for CAB's international agricultural index. Does not provide journal abbreviations, but does include full title, ISSN, and publisher.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (shelved in ARS Bookcase next to computer workstations)
CALL NUMBER: Z692.S5C18 1996
CAB Serials Cited online database and downloadable 100 page text list of serials "abstracted and indexed between 1999 and 2003 inclusive." Lists about 7500 titles, most of them including ISSN.
EMBASE List of Journals Indexed. Amsterdam: Elsevier Science Publishers, 1993 - .
Complete list of the more than 4,000 international biomedical journals indexed in the EMBASE database.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS (latest edition only; shelved in Life Sciences Alcove)
CALL NUMBER: R5.E42 2000
Index of NLM Serial Titles. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, 1984.
LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z6660.N3 1984
List of Journals Indexed in Index Medicus. 1960- . Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine. List of the 3419 journals indexed in Index Medicus.
Also Print Copy in: GOVDOC SUDOC HE20.3612/4: (1998-2000)
List of Serials Indexed for Online Users 2003. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine. List of the 10,192 serials indexed in various NLM databases, including MEDLINE.
Also Print Copy in: GOVDOC SUDOC HE20.3618/2:(1994-1995, 1998), LIBSCH REF Z6658.L551 (1985, 1990-1999, Latest edition in LIBSCH RDYREF)
SEE ALSO
ENTREZ Journal Browser (www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov:80/entrez/jrbrowser.cgi), a searchable (by title words, ISSN, or abbreviated title) database of the journals indexed in MEDLINE along with additional life science journals. This is the place to begin for biomedical journals including veterinary medicine.
return to top
|