 |
 |
|
Guides to Info. Resources > Research Guides by Subject Discipline > Endangered Species and Conservation Biology |
Last revised: July 2008
Endangered Species and Conservation Biology
Scope: The purpose of this guide is to provide quick access to print and electronic resources covering conservation biology and the study of endangered species. Email the subject area specialist at sgagnon@umd.edu for more information.
Please fill out the survey at the bottom of the page.
Learn more about the Conservation Biology specialization at the University of Maryland, College Park: CONS.
Find an introduction to the subject in the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy entry on Conservation Biology. Other texts can be found in the catalog that may prove useful.
Find more books on the subject, conservation biology, through this search. Or search on other subjects: Applied ecology, Biodiversity, Endangered species, Environmental management,
Nature conservation, and Wildlife conservation. Species names can also be used: California condor, Goshawk, or Timber rattlesnake. Use this form to search for other subjects. Or, go directly to the Catalog or search below.
return to top
To find articles in research sources, search any of the following databases using keywords that describe your topic. Sources marked as Databases may provide proceedings papers, book chapters, and other research, along with journal articles.
- Agricola 1970-present. [database] UM only
This database indexes journals, books, and other scholarly works covering a variety of fields within agriculture - it contains over 3.5 millions records.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts [database] 1982-present. UM only
Covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
- BIOSIS Previews [database] 1970-present. UM only
BIOSIS Previews provides the most comprehensive coverage to the literature of the life sciences. Coverage includes primary research articles in the basic areas of biology.
- CAB Abstracts [database] 1973-present. UM only
Indexes scholarly works covering a broad range of disciplines within agriculture.
- Ecology Abstracts [database] 1982-present. UM only
Provides access to the scientific journal literature in ecology and environmental sciences.
Coverage: Includes literature on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
- Plant Science Abstracts [database] 1994-present. UM only
Provides access to articles on plant pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.
- Science Citation Index Expanded [database] 1945-present. UM only
The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) is an important tool for locating research articles. SCI coverage is multidisciplinary and allows you to see the cited references (bibliography) of a particular article, number of times an article has been cited and related records.
- Science Direct [database] UM only
Indexing articles from 1800 journals (800 of which have full-text access), this database covers a range of sciences including biology. A sample search of Science Direct is provided in the window below. The topic is habitat fragmentation and endangered species.
- Web of Science [database] UM only
This database indexes articles from over 17000 journals including 5700 from across the sciences - in addition this database makes it possible to track citations (i.e. who has cited whom and who was cited by whom).
- Zoological Record [database] 1978-present. UM only
Zoological Record (ZR) provides the most comprehensive coverage to the world's zoological literature. ZR provides complete coverage to taxonomy and nomenclature and other areas such as ecology, behavior, life cycle, methodology, physiology and others.
These are just some of the sources that the University of Maryland College Park offers in Conservation Biology and Endangered Species - to see more databases covering these areas of study, click on Biology and/or Environmental Studies.
return to top
- Biological Conservation
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000317790 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: S900 .B5
- BioScience
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000472970 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH1 .A277
- Conservation Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001417065 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH75.A1 C665
- Ecological Applications
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002324512 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH540 .E273
- Ecology and Society
http://www.ecologyandsociety.org/ (Available Online Only)
- Ecological Modelling
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000585850 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP EPSL Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH541.15.M3 E27
- Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000549846 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH540 .E3
- Journal of Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000510711 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .J6
- Journal of Wildlife Management
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514643 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: SK351 .J68
- Landscape Ecology
http://www.springerlink.com.proxy-um.researchport.umd.edu/content/103025/ (Available Online Only)
- Trends in Ecology and Evolution
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001434812 PRINT LOCATION: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: QH540 .T732
This list represents only a portion of the Endangered Species and Conservation Biology journals available from the University of Maryland, to search for more electronic journals accessible through our library, check the E-Journals list in Research Port - to search for print journals, check our Catalog.
return to top
- Burton, John. The Atlas of Endangered Species. New York, N.Y.: Macmillian, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Juvenile
CALL NUMBER: 333.95 At53
- Endangered Species, Conservation and Science, Smithsonian National Zoological Park
URL: http://nationalzoo.si.edu/ConservationAndScience/EndangeredSpecies/
- Mackay, Richard. The Penguin Atlas of Endangered Species. New York, N.Y. : The Penguin Group, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: QH75 .M24 2002
- NatureServe Explorer: An Online Encyclopedia of Life
URL: http://www.natureserve.org/explorer/
- Red List, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
URL:http://www.iucnredlist.org/
- Species Information, Endangered Species Program, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
URL: http://www.fws.gov/endangered/wildlife.html
- Species Information, Office of Protected Resources, National Oceanic and Air Administration
URL:http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/pr/species/
- Species Database, World Conservation Monitoring Centre, United Nations Environment Programme
URL:http://www.unep-wcmc.org/species/dbases/about.cfm
- Threatened and Endangered Species, National Parks Service
URL: http://www.nature.nps.gov/biology/endangeredspecies/index.cfm
- Threatened and Endangered Species (TES) Document and Data Repository, Department of Defense
URL:http://www.nbii.gov/...
return to top
- Allaby, Michael, editor. A Dictionary of Zoology. UM only
URL: Through Catalog record
Covers all animal taxa and other topics such as evolution, behavior, cytology, zoogeography, taxonomy and genetics.
- Beacham, Walton; Castronova, Frank; Sessine, Suzanne, editors. Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America. Ospre, F.L. : Beacham Publications, 1998-2001.
Location: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH77 .N56 B43 2001
- Beacham, Walton; Beetz, Kirk, editors. Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species. Osprey, F.L. : Beacham Publications, 1998-2001.
Location: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL82 .B435 1998
- Birds of North America UM only
URL: http://bna.birds.cornell.edu/BNA/
Comprehensive resource on bird life.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences UM only
http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/emrw/047001590X/home
General encyclopedia of all biological sciences topics.
- Grzimek, Berhnard. Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Detroit, M.I.: Gale Publishing, 2003-2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference QL7 .G7813 2003
Comprehensive source of information on animal life. See index volume to locate information on specific species using its common or scientific name.
return to top
- Ausenda, Fabio and McCloskey, Erin, editors. Green Volunteers: the world guide to voluntary work in nature conservation. New York, N.Y.: Universe Publishing, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: QH75 .A1 G74 2003
- Conservation Directory. Washington, D.C.: National Wildlife Federation.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: SK361 .N42
Directory of United States and international agencies involved in conservation. Search for federal, state, non-government non-profit, non-government for profit agencies, and educational institutions.
- Environmental Resource Handbook. Millerton, NY: Grey House Publishing, 2001-
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: GE 20 .E586
- Simon, Noel. Nature in Danger: threatened habitats and species. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: QH75 .A1 G74 2003
return to top
- Endangered Species Act of 1973 from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
http://www.fws.gov/endangered/policy/index.html
- Federal Register
http://www.fws.gov/endangered/wildlife.html
- Greenwire UM only
Daily coverage of environmental and energy policy.
- Land Letter UM only
A Washington DC weekly newsletter on natural resources policy.
- Lexis-Nexis Congressional UM only
Congressional documents from 1789 to present. Includes full text of legislative histories, laws, and regulations.
return to top
return to top
Access Library databases and online journals while you are off campus using the Research Port interface.
You must log in using your barcode number (14 digit number on the back of your University of Maryland
student ID card) and your last name.
return to top
return to top
|
| |
 |
|