navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: June 2008

Spanish & Portuguese Literatures

Scope: This is a guide to selected print and electronic reference sources in the fields of Spanish, Latin American, and Portuguese Literatures available in the UM Libraries and, also, over the Internet. For more information, see a reference librarian. E-mail the subject area specialist at herron@umd.edu or call (301)405-9280 for more information


Book Reviews

The following sources list books reviews that appear in popular and scholarly periodicals.

Book Review Digest
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks(1905-)
CALL NUMBER: Z1219.C96
Indexes book reviews from approximately 100 English language popular periodicals.

Book Review Index
Indexes reviews of books and electronic media appearing in popular and academic periodicals from 1965 to the present.

Guía a las Reseñas de Libros de y Sobre Hispanoamérica. Guide to Reviews of Books from and about Hispanic America. Annual. 1965, 1972, 1975-1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1G84
Indexes and summarizes book reviews from over 700 English and Spanish language periodicals. Coverage includes books on Hispanic America and Hispanic Americans in the United States.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) 1970- .
LOCATION: Print version: McKeldin Reference Stacks (1970-1994)
CALL NUMBER: Z6954.A1H5
HAPI contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials from over 400 key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America and throughout the world. Its coverage includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. Annual. 1960-1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (1960-1987)
CALL NUMBER: Z1035.A1I63
Indexes book reviews appearing in humanities scholarly journals.

Periodicals Index Online
indexes the tables of contents of thousands of periodicals, both U.S. and international, in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues (coverage extends as far back as 1770 for some periodicals) to 1990/91. It provides excellent coverage of scholarly book reviews.

return to top

Books and Nonprint Materials

Use the library catalogs and union catalog below to conduct comprehensive searches of materials held in local, national, and other country libraries. For recently published works refer to the publishers' catalogs.

Library Catalogs

UM Libraries Catalog

Library of Congress Online Catalog

Washington Research Library Consortium: ALADIN
The shared electronic library catalog of American University, the Catholic University of America, Gallaudet University, George Mason University, the George Washington University, Marymount University, and the University of the District of Columbia.

Georgetown University Library Catalog

Johns Hopkins University Libraries Catalog

Libweb
Links to hundreds of library online catalogs in the United States and worldwide.

return to top

Union Catalog

Use the Worldcat database below to identify materials held in hundreds of libraries in the United States and other countries. The materials located through this union catalog can be requested through interlibrary loan.

WorldCat
A computer database which contains millions of records of all types of material (books, serials, nonprint media, dissertations, masters theses, archival materials, etc.) cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

return to top

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

These reference sources are useful for identifying authors and their works, literary movements, and other such items. This is a sampling of what is available in the McKeldin Reference Stacks. Browse the shelves near these books to locate additional sources that might be of use. Included also are links to several Spanish language dictionary Web sites.

Britannica Online

Bleiberg, Germán. Diccionario de la Literatura Española. 4th ed. Madrid: Revista de Occidente 1972.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6006.D5 1972

Gullón, Ricardo. Diccionario de Literatura Española e Hispanoamericana. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 1993. 2 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6006.D6 1993

Elemadrid Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary

Hulet, Claude L. Brazilian Literature. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 1974. 3 volumes.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ9635.H8

Lanic: Languages
Links to resources for the study of languages spoken in Latin America

Literature Resource Center
"Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline."

Luft, Celso Pedro. Dicionário de Literatura Portuguêsa e Brasileira. 2nd ed. Porto Alegre: Editora Globo, 1969.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ9006.L8 1969

Menezes, Raimundo de. Dicionário Literário Brasileiro. 2nd ed. Rio de Janeiro: Livros Tecnicos e Cientificos Editora, 1978.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ9527.M39 1978

Diccionario de la Lengua Española
Online verison of dictionary published by the Real Academía Española.

Smith, Verity, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.A1E56 1997

Ward, Philip. The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1978.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks, McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6006.O95

Numerous other general reference sources such as atlases, biographical and language dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, quotation books, and phone books can be located through the Internet Public Library.

return to top

Dissertations

The following are the key resources for locating dissertations.

Chatham, James R. Dissertations in Hispanic Language and Literatures: An Index of Dissertations Completed in the United States and Canada. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 1977. Volume 1, 1876-1966; volume 2, 1967-1977.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC4071.C4
Includes dissertations listed in Dissertation Abstracts International (see entry below) as well as numerous other compilations.

Digital Dissertations Full Text.
LOCATION: Print version entitled Dissertation Abstracts International. Located in McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5055.U5A53
Offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.

Hispania.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1918-)
CALL NUMBER: PC4001.H7
Each May issue of this journal (beginning in 1935) contains a list of dissertations in the areas of Hispanic languages and literatures completed and in progress during that year. Cumulative subject indexes appear in: Hispania 37:185-202, 1954 and Hispania 55:293-302, 1972.

return to top

Guides to Reference Sources

The following are annotated bibliographies of reference sources useful for researching Spanish, Spanish American, and Portuguese literature.

Bleznick, Donald. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 3rd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC4071.B53 1995

Chamberlain, Bobby J. Portuguese Language and Luso-Brazilian Literature: An Annotated Guide to Selected Reference Works. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC5041.C33 1989

Covington, Paula H. Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L28 1992

Foster, David William. Manual of Hispanic Bibliography. 2nd ed. New York: Garland, 1977.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6033.F8 1977

McNeil, Robert A., ed. Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to Sources. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: F1408.L257 1990

Woodbridge, Hensley Charles. Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PC4071.W66 1997

return to top

Histories

The following provide historical overviews of the literatures of Portugal, Spain, and Spanish America.

Alborg, Juan Luis. Historia de la Literatura Española. Madrid: Editorial Gredos: 1966-1980. 4 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks, McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6032.A4

Anderson-Imbert, Enrique. Spanish-American Literature: A History. 2nd ed. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1969. 2 Vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.A56342

Foster, David William. Handbook of Latin American Literature. New York: Garland, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.A1H36 1992

González Echevarría, Roberto and Enrique Pupo-Walker .The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.A1C35 1996

Historia y Crítica de la Literatura Española. Barcelona: Editorial Crítica, 1980-1984. 8 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks, McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ6032.H57 1980

Latin American Literature in the 20th Century: A Guide. New York: Ungar, 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PQ7081.L36 1986

A Literary History of Spain. 8 vols. 1971-1973.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Do a SERIES BROWSE on the title "A Literary History of Spain" in VICTORWeb, the online catalog, for titles and call numbers of individual volumes.

return to top

Internet Gateways in Spanish & Portuguese Literature and Latin American Studies

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
The Latin American Network Information Center is managed by the Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin and is an extensive site to Internet resources concerning Latin America. It is organized by country and broad subject categories such as literature, languages, libraries , and newspapers.

Cultural Websites by Country
This site links to sites on culture and literature.

WESSWEB
WESSWEB is produced by the Western European Specialists Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. It links to resources for European studies , including Spain and Portugal.

return to top

Literary Criticism

Use the following sources to locate both current and historical criticism on the literatures of Portugal, Spain and Spanish America, and on specific authors and their works.

Abstracts, Indexes and Bibliographies: Current

The following sources list books, essays, magazine and journal articles, and dissertations on literary topics.

Chicano Database
Information on articles and other materials on Mexican-Americans and the broader Latina/o cultures including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.

Handbook of Latin American Studies.
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Includes materials published from 1936 to the present.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) HAPI contains citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials from over 400 key social science and humanities journals published in Latin America and throughout the world. Its coverage includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance.
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

International Medieval Bibliography.
Indexes articles, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on all aspects of medieval studies in the period of 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes over 400 medieval and renaissance journals.

Literature Resource Center
"Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline."

MLA International Bibliography
An international bibliography of literary, linguistic, and folklore scholarship. Indexes articles, essays, books and book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations. Book reviews are not included.

Periodicals Index Online
Indexes the tables of contents of thousands of periodicals, both U.S. and international, in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues (coverage extends as far back as 1770 for some periodicals) to 1990/91. It provides excellent coverage of scholarly book reviews

Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. Annual. 1929/30- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PB1.Y45
Critical survey of work done in modern languages and literatures.

return to top

Abstracts, Indexes and Bibliographies: Retrospective

The following sources provide access to earlier published materials.

Index to Latin American Periodicals: Humanities and Social Sciences. Boston: G.K. Hall & Company, 1961-1970. 10 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z1601.I3
Indexes several hundred periodicals (published between 1960 and 1970) received by the Columbus Memorial Library of the Pan American Union.

Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1969. Boston, G.K. Hall & Company, 1962. 8 vols. Supplement 1961-1965. 2 vols. 1968. Supplement

return to top

Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)

To locate hard copy and microform versions of periodicals in the UM Libraries, follow the steps outlined in the UM Library guide Finding Periodical Articles on Your Topic .

return to top

Electronic Journals, Magazines & Newspapers

Use the Journal page in Research Port to locate electronic journals available through the University of Maryland Libraries.

For access to articles within periodicals consult the Literary Criticism section.

return to top

Style Manuals for Citing Print and Electronic Sources

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 5th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2003.
LOCATION: MCKREF QCKREF
CALL NUMBER:PN147 .G53 2003.
For undergraduate students.

Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1998.
LOCATION: MCKREF QCKREF
CALL NUMBER: PN147.G444 1998
For graduate students and scholars.

Citing Sources Using the MLA Handbook

Using MLA Style to Cite and Document Sources

Writer's Handbook

return to top

Other Library Guides Available

A number of related library guides are also available on the Web.

Film Reviews and Film Studies
Latin American Studies
Play Reviews
Theatre

See also the full list of library guides.

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: June 23, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search