navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August 2007

Speeches

Scope: This guide is designed to help you find the text of speeches on the Web or at the University of Maryland Libraries. It has been written to support research at the University of Maryland, but in many instances it will also be helpful for doing research at other libraries. For special assistance, you may email Alan Mattlage, the UM Libraries' Liaison to the the UM Communication Department, or call him at 301-405-9065.

See also the UM Library guide Communication Theory and Applied Communication, and News Sources on the Web.

return to top

Books

To find speeches by a particular individual that appear in books do a "word/s anywhere" search in the Catalog. Enter the speaker's name and the term "speeches" or a synonym for speeches. For example:

  • Abraham Lincoln and speeches
  • Martin Luther King and speeches
Valuable synonyms for "speeches" are "addresses," "lectures," "sermons," etc. Also, do a "subject beginning with..." search for "speeches, addresses, etc."

return to top

Print Indexes

  • Executive Speeches. Monthly. 1986-1991.
    LOCATION: MCK Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: HF5001.E8

  • Sutton, Roberta Briggs. Speech Index. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1966.
    LOCATION: MCK Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: AI3.S85 1966.
    See also later supplements: 1972 and 1982.

  • Vital Speeches of the Day. Semi-monthly. 1938-Present.
    LOCATION: MCK Reference Stacks and Preriodicals Microforms.
    CALL NUMBER: PN6121 .V5.

return to top

Databases

  • Academic Search Premier UM only
    Enter search terminology in the dialog box and set "Document Type" limiter to "Speeches." This database indexes two periodicals that publish selected current speeches: Executive Speeches, full-text 7/1/96-present Vital Speeches of the Day, indexed 6/1/84-present, full-text 1/1/94-present.

  • LexisNexis Academic UM only
    Contains newspaper and periodical articles. Speeches are often printed in newspapers and periodical publications.

return to top

Web Resources

Search the Web for speeches using the standard search engines. Some web sites provide archival collections, such as:

return to top

 
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search