Search the UMD Libraries website
Friday, March 27, 2015
McKeldin End 24 Hours at 8pm


11:00AM - 03:00PM
Architecture 11:00AM - 04:00PM
08:00AM - 08:00PM
EPSL 08:00AM - 08:00PM
Media Services

in Hornbake

08:00AM - 06:00PM
Special Collections

in Hornbake

10:00AM - 05:00PM
MSPAL 08:30AM - 06:00PM
Shady Grove See here for hours

Patricia A. Steele
Dean of the Libraries

Patricia A. Steele, Dean of Libraries at the University of Maryland, provides strategic direction and leadership to an organization committed to addressing the changing needs of the academic community. Since becoming dean in September 2009, Pat has focused on increasing services and experiences for students, most visibly in the creation of the Terrapin Learning Commons, a technology-rich space to support student learning and collaboration in McKeldin Library.


Pat serves on the Board of Directors of the Kuali Foundation and the executive board of Kuali OLE; is the chair of the APTrust Board; serves on the CIC Library Directors Board; is on the board of governors of the HathiTrust Digital Library; and is a representative to the Association of Research Libraries.


Before coming to the University of Maryland, Pat was Ruth Lilly University Dean of Libraries at Indiana University, where she served for more than 30 years in numerous leadership roles. At Indiana, Steele served as president of the Indiana Library Federation and officer in the Digital Library Federation.