|
Last revised: August 2008
Late 18th-Century Music History
Scope: This guide is intended to provide a selective list of basic tools for research into the history of late 18th-century music, the so-called classical era in European and American music.
It should be used in conjunction with the UM Libraries Basic Music Reference Guide. [http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/music-basic.html]
Email librarian Steve Henry (shenry@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9256 for more information.
- Beethoven bibliography database of the Ira F. Brilliant Beetehoven Center at San José State University.
[http://mill1.sjlibrary.org:83/]
- Brown, A. Peter, et al. Joseph Haydn in Literature: A Bibliography. Munich: Henle, 1974.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: REF ML134.H5B7
A one volume comprehensive source-book for writings related to Haydn.
More than twenty years old but still useful for retrospective searching of literature.
- Dorfmueller, Kurt, ed. Beitraege zur Beethoven-Bibliographie. Munich: Henle, 1978.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B4B44
Arranged by Kinsky catalog numbers.
- Grave, Floyd K., and Margaret G. Grave. Franz Joseph Haydn: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H272 G74 1990
- Hastings, Baird. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M9H34 1989
- Heintze, James R. Early American music: a research and information guide. New York: Garland, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML120.U5H46 1989
- Hill, George R. A preliminary checklist of research on the classic symphony and concerto to the time of Beethoven (excluding Haydn and Mozart). Hackensack: Boonin, 1970.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.O5H44
- Landon, H.C. Robbins. The symphonies of Joseph Haydn. London: Universal, 1955. Supplement, London: Barrie and Rockliff, 1961.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.H4L28 + Suppl.
A comprehensive guide to sources, editions, and stylistic features of Haydn's symphonic output.
- Lowens, Irving. Haydn in America. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1979.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.H4L7
A bibliography of sources and first editions of Haydn in the United States with a study of Haydn autographs by Otto Albrecht.
- Nathan, Hans. William Billings: data and documents. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1976.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.B588N4
- Paymer, Marvin E. Giovanni Battista Pergolesi: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.P613P4 1989
- Schnoebelen, Anne. Padre Martini's collection of letters in the Civico Museo Bibliografico Musicale in Bologna: an annotated index. New York: Pendragon, 1979.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M438S3
Martini was a composer, theorist, teacher, and historian of the eighteenth century who compiled one of the largest music libraries in Europe of that time. He had wide correspondence with many important musicians of the day.
- Stock, Karl F. Haydn-Bibliographien: selbständige und versteckte Bibliographien und Nachschlagewerke zu Leben und Werk der Brüder Joseph und Michael Haydn. Graz: Stock & Stock, 1991.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H272 S86 1991
A bibliography of bibliographies for Joseph and Michael Haydn.
- Surian, Elvidio. A Checklist of writings on 18th century French and Italian opera (excluding Mozart). Hackensack: Boonin, 1970.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.O4S9
return to top
- The Cambridge Mozart encyclopedia, edited by Cliff Eisen and Simon P. Keefe. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.M9C257 2006
A to Z general entries, some many pages long, with appendices listing Mozart's works (with indexes by K. number and by genre), Mozart movies, Mozart operas on DVD and video, Mozart organizations, and, bravely, Mozart websites.
- Clive, Peter. Beethoven and his world: a biographical dictionary. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.B4C62 2001
A chronicle of Beethoven's life is followed by A to Z entries on people associated with Beethoven, with bibliographic references.
- Clive, Peter. Mozart and his circle: a biographical dictionary. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1993.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.M9C55 1993
A chronicle of Mozart's life is followed by A to Z entries on people associated with Mozart, with bibliographic references. Various appendices list Masonic lidges, Mozart's operas, and Viennese Theatres of Mozart's time.
- Haydn, edited by David Wyn Jones. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.H4H317 2002
A to Z general entries, some many pages long, with appendices of Haydn's works and text incipits.
return to top
BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND CATALOGS OF COLLECTIONS
- Britton, Allen Perdue, Irving Lowens, and Richard Crawford. American sacred music imprints 1698-1810: a bibliography. Worcester, MA: American Antiquarian Society, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.H8B68 1990
A lavishly produced descriptive bibliography of early American tunebooks. Includes the works of Billings, Read, Belcher and other singing-school masters.
- Sonneck, O.G. Bibliography of Early Secular American Music. Rev. and enlarged by William Treat Upton. Washington: Library of Congress, Music Division, 1945.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML120.U5S6 1945
Don't let the early date fool you. This is the best source to identify early American sheet music. Contains other treasures as well, such as a bibliography of early writings about music.
THEMATIC CATALOGS
- Bryan, Paul Robey. Johann Wanhal, Viennese Symphonist: His Life and His Musical Environment. Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press, 1997. (Thematic catalogues no. 23)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML410.V243 B79 1997
- Bryant, Stephen C., and Gary W. Chapman. A melodic index to Haydn's instrumental music. New York: Pendragon, 1982.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H272B7
A thematic locater for Hoboken's catalog.
- Green, James F. The new Hess catalog of Beethoven’s works, edited, updated and translated from the original German with a new foreword by James F. Green and a new introduction by Sieghard Brandenburg. West Newbury, Vt.: Vance Brook Pub., 2003.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B4 G74 2003
Rev. ed. of: Verzeichnis der nicht in der Gesamtausgabe veröffentlichte Werke Ludwig van Beethovens by Willy Hess. 1957.
- Helm, E. Eugene. Thematic catalogue of the works of Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB RE
CALL NUMBER: ML134.BO8A2 1989
- Hoboken, Anthony van. Joseph Haydn: Thematisch-bibliographisches
Werk-verzeichnis. Mainz: Schott, 1957. 3 vols.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H272H6
The standard thematic catalog to Haydn's music.
- Jenkins, Newell, and Bathia Churgin. Thematic catalogue of the works of Giovanni
Battista Sammartini: orchestral and vocal music. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1976.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.S16A2
- Kinsky, Georg and Hans Halm. Das Werk Beethovens. Thematisch-bibliographisches
Verzeichnis seiner saemtlichen vollendeten Kompositionen. Munich: Henle, 1955.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B4K4
The source for WoO numbers for Beethoven's works without opus numbers.
- Koechel, Ludwig Ritter von.Chronologisch-thematisches Verzeichnis saemtlicher Tonwerke W. A. Mozarts.
Wiesbaden: Breitkopf and Hartel, 1964.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M9K55 1964
The famed Koechel catalog and source of the Mozart K. numbers.
- Kroeger, Karl. Catalog of the musical works of William Billings. New York: Greenwood, 1991. (Music reference collection, 32)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B582K7 1991
Catalog of the most important American composer of the 18th century.
- Larsen, Jens Peter. Three Haydn catalogues , 2nd ed. New York: Pendragon, 1979.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H272A1 1979
A facsimile of three thematic catalogs compiled by Haydn himself.
- LaRue, Jan. A catalogue of 18th-century symphonies. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1988.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML128.S9L37 1988
A comprehensive thematic identifier for 18th c. symphonies.
- Mozart, W.A. Mozart's thematic catalogue: a facsimile. Ithaca: Cornell Univ. Press, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M9A17
Mozart's catalog of his own music from 1784 to 1791.
- Paymer, Marvin E. Giovanni Battista Pergolesi 1710-1736: a thematic catalogue of the opera omnia. New York: Pendragon, 1977.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.P613A35
- Sherman, Charles H., and T. Donley Thomas. Johann Michael Haydn (1737-1806): a chronological thematic catalogue of his works. Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press, 1993. (Thematic catalogues no. 17)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.H28A33 1993 Folio
return to top
- Eighteenth-Century Resources -- Music
[http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/18th/music.html]
Rutgers University English professor Jack Lynch, who specializes in eithteenth-century English literature, edits this list of websites he feels are "worth a browse." Includes early eighteenth-century music sites.
- Gleason, Harold, and Warren Becker. Early American Music: Music in America from 1620-1920, 2nd ed. Bloomington, IN: Frangiapani, 1981.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML200.G55 1981 Folio
An outline history of music in the U.S.A. from its beginnings to the 20th-century. Very good on the 18th- and 19th-centuries.
- Hall, Charles J. An Eighteenth-Century Musical Chronicle: Events 1750-1799. New York: Greenwood, 1990. (Music reference collection, 25)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML195.H28 1990
- Kassler, Jamie Croy. The science of music in Britain, 1714-1830: a catalogue of writings, lectures, and inventions, 2 vols. New York: Garland, 1979.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML120.G7K34
return to top
|