|
Last revised: August 2009
19th-Century Music History
This guide is intended to provide a selective list of basic tools for research into 19th-century music history. It should be used in conjunction with the UM Libraries Basic Music Reference Guide. [http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/music-basic.html]
Email librarian Steve Henry
(shenry@umd.edu) or call (301) 405-9256 for more information.
- Clark, Walter A. Isaac Albéniz: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1998.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.A45 C53 1998
- Cooper, John Michael. Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: a guide to research: with an introduction to research concerning Fanny Hensel. New York: Routledge, 2001.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M53 C6 2001
- Elliker, Calvin. Stephen Collins Foster: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1988.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.F6E4 1988
- Gallo, Denise P. Gioachino Rossini: a guide to research New York: Routledge, 2002.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.R687G35 2002
- Henderson, Donald G. and Alice H. Henderson. Carl Maria von Weber: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1990.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.W39H4 1990
- Hofmann, Kurt. Die Erstdrucke der Werke von Robert Schumann. Tutzing: Schneider, 1979.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.S4H64
A bibliography of Schumann first editions. Includes photos of title pages.
- Langford, Jeffrey and Jane Denker Graves. Hector Berlioz: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B5l3 1989
- Namenwirth, Simon Michael. Gustav Mahler: a critical bibliography, 3 vols. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz, 1987.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M34N35 1987 vols. 1-3
- Pemberton, Carol A. Lowell Mason: a bio-bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. (Bio-bibliographies in music, no.11)
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.M46P4 1988
- Platt, Heather Anne. Johannes Brahms: a guide to research New York: Routledge, 2003.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF and STACKS
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B8P6 2003
- Seaman, Gerald R. Nikolai Andreevich Rimsky-Korsakov: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1988.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.R57S4 1988
- Saffle, Michael. Franz Liszt: a guide to research. New York: Garland, 1991.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.L7 S2 1991
- Saffle, Michael. Richard Wagner: a guide to research. New York: Routledge, 2002.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.W1 S24 2002
- Smialek, William. Frédéric Chopin : a guide to research. New York : Garland, 2000.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.C54 S65 2000
return to top
- Devries, Anik and Francois Lesure. Dictionnaire des editions de musique française, 2 vols. Geneva: Minkoff, 1979 - 1988.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML112.D45
Information about French music publishers from earliest times through 1914. Includes biographies, addresses, lists of catalogs, facsimiles, and bibliographies.
- Fetis, Francois J. Biographie universelle des musicians et bibliographie generale de la music, 2nd ed. Paris: Firmin Didot, 1866-70. 8 vols.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML105.F421 1963
Fetis was a model for biographical research in music. A reference work of historical interest; generally superseded by the new Grove or MGG.
- Grove, George. A dictionary of music and musicians (A.D. 1450-1889) by eminent writers, English and foreign. With illustrations and woodcuts. Edited by Sir George Grove. Index to the four volumes and catalogue of articles contributed by each writer: by Mrs. Edmond R. Wodehouse. London, Macmillan and co., Ltd.; New York, The Macmillan Co., 1900.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML100 .G881 1900 (4 volumes)
The earliest edition of 'Grove,' published in the final year of the 19th century.
return to top
BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND CATALOGS OF COLLECTIONS
- Hofmeisters Handbuch der Musikliteratur. Leipzig: Hofmeister, 1844-.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML113.H69-.H7151
Music-in-Print of the 19th century, Hofmeister was preceded by a similar work by C.F. Whistling which covers music published to 1827. The Hofmeister is complete through 1933. Especially useful for dating 19th century music. Primarily covers German speaking countries.
- Universal-Handbuch der Musikliteratur aller Zeiten und Volker. Vienna: Pazdirek, 1904-1910.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML113.P45 1967
As Duckles points out, "the nearest thing to a comprehensive listing of `music in print' ever published." International in scope (including the USA). Essential for researching obscure composers.
- Wolfe, Richard J. Secular music in America, 1801-1825, 3 vols. New York: New York Public Library, 1964.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML120.U5W57
THEMATIC CATALOGS
- Brown, Maurice J.E. Chopin, an index of his works in chronological order, 2nd ed. New York: Da Capo, 1972.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.C54.B84 1972
- Deutsch, Otto Erich. Schubert: thematic catalogue. New York: Norton, 1951.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.S38D44 1951
- Holoman, D. Kern. Catalogue of the works of Hector Berlioz. New York: Barenreiter, 1987.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: M134.B5 Folio
- Jahns, F.W. Carl Maria von Weber in seinen Werken. Berlin: Schlesinger, 1871.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.W37J3 1967
- McCorkle, Margit L. Johannes Brahms. Thematisch-Bibliographisches Werk-verzeichnis. Munich: Henle, 1984.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.B8A3 1984
- Mueller von Asow, Erich H. Richard Strauss. Thematisches Verzeichnis, 3 vols. Munich: Doblinger, 1955-68.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML134.S94M8
return to top
- Hall, Charles J. A nineteenth century musical chronicle: events 1800-1899. New York: Greenwood, 1989.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML196.H34 1989
- Hoek, D. J. Analyses of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music, 1940-2000; incorporating material by Arthur Wenk. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press and Music Library Association, 2007.
LOCATION: PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: ML113.H695 2007
Index to musical analyses of works from Beethoven to 2000.
return to top
|