African American Studies
Scope: African American Studies is multidisciplinary. It blends a variety of disciplines. This guide will assist you in locating such materials, in electronic and print formats.
Due to licensing agreements, off campus access to most materials are restricted to current University of Maryland students, faculty, and staff. E-mail Otis Chadley, (ochadley@umd.edu.),
the subject area specialist. Or call (301) 405-9282, for more information.
Table of Contents
Selecting A Topic & Finding An Overview
- Reference sources and some Web sites, are good places to look for topics and
background information. See
Evaluating Web Sites (http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/evaluate.html).
- For reference sources on African American topics, visit the reference collection in McKeldin Library, and browse call number range [E184.5 - E185.98]. Also, consult the selected list below, entitled General Information On African American Related Topics.
- For a discussion about Call Numbers & The Library of Congress Classification System, see (http://www.lib.umd.edu/MCK/GUIDES/callnumbers.html). A detailed outline of LC Classification is located at (http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/lcco.html).
return to top
(General Information On African American Related Topics)
- The African-American Almanac
(MCKREF STACKS E185.A37 1997 Noncirculating)
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
(MCKREF STACKS DT14.A37435 1999 Noncirculating)
- Atlas of African-American History and Politics: From the Slave Trade to Modern Times
(MCKREF STACKS E185.E125 2000 Noncirculating)
- Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook
(MCKREF STACKS E 185.B5 1997 Noncirculating)
-
Census Data on the Black Population in the United States
Web Address: http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/race/black.html
- Chronology of African American History : From 1492 to the Present (MCKREF STACKS E185.H64 1997 Noncirculating)
1619-1999
Web Address: http://www.fs.fed.us/people/aasg/calendar/timeline.html
1901-1925
Web Address: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/aap/timelin3.html
1881-1900
Web Address: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/aap/timelin2.html
1852-1880
Web Address: http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/aap/timeline.html
-
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture And History
(MCKREF MEDIA E185.E54 1999 CD-ROM Noncirculating)
(MCK FOLIO E185.E54 1996 Vols. 1-5)
-
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage
(MCKREF STACKS E185.A455 2000 Noncirculating)
- Historical Statistics of Black America
(MCKREF STACKS E 185.H543 1995 Vols. 1-2 Noncirculating)
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
(GOVDOC REF HA 202 .H57 1989 Pts. 1-2 Noncirculating & 1997 Edition on CD-ROM in GOVDOC)
- Joint Center for Political and Economic
Studies
Web Address: http://www.jointcenter.org
- Negro Population in the United States, 1790-1915
(MCK STACKS HA 205.A33 1968)
- Negroes in the United States, 1920-1932
(MCK STACKS E 185.6 .U5853 1969)
-
The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference
(MCKREF STACKS E185.N49 1999 Noncirculating)
- United States Historical Census Data Browser
Web Address: http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census
return to top
Locating Search Terms On Your Topic
After you have selected a topic and understand your subject, then locate search terms.
- To identify terms related to African Americans and other topics,
consult the list of Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
(See the multi-volume set of red books located near McKeldin Library's
Reference Desk).
- Use old and new subject headings from LCSH. Past subject headings referred to African Americans as: Afro-Americans, Black Americans, Colored People (United States), and Negroes. The current term used by LCSH is African Americans.
- All of the above terms are listed in the University Libraries Online Catalog. Therefore, use such terms as appropriate for the era.
- Also, databases, indexes, and other library catalogs use Library of Congress Subject Headings. Use LCSH when searching such resources.
- The bottom line is, use any term(s) and combination of terms that you believe will get results.
Locating Books & Nonprint Materials (Videos, etc.)
After you have a topic, search terms, and a general understanding of your subject, then it's
time to visit the
University of Maryland Libraries Homepage. See (http://www.lib.umd.edu). It is your guide to collections and services.
- To locate books, periodical titles, government documents, nonprint items, and other materials, use the online catalog. It lists materials held by the University System of Maryland Libraries.
- Primary and secondary sources are listed in the online catalog and in databases. For a discussion about, What are Primary Sources? / What are Secondary Sources?
see (http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/PrimarySources.html)
return to top
Reminder:
Search the E-Book Collections listed under How Do I...? on the homepage. NetLibrary has a good selection of African American related e-books. E-Book Collections marked **** are available to anyone, otherwise, access is
restricted to University of Maryland, College Park students, faculty, staff, and in some instances, its affiliates (other UM Campus).
Locating Articles In Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers
-
To locate articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers, use databases and print
indexes.
- For a discussion about
Scholarly Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles, see (http://www.crk.umn.edu/library/links/profjls.htm). More
discussion about Scholarly and Popular Articles is located at
(http://library.albany.edu/usered/char/index.html).
- To conduct a database search:
Visit the library homepage and click on research port. Search general databases (all purpose), as well as, databases by subject category, or databases by title.
- If you need help with selecting a database:
Ask for assistance at the Service+ Desk in McKeldin Library.
- If you need help with searching a database:
Use the help screens & search features located on the selected database.
- Still need help?
Ask for assistance at the Service+ Desk in McKeldin Library.
return to top
(Selected List of African American Related Databases)
A selected list of African American related databases with descriptions, is located in the Arts & Humanities, History, and the Social Sciences database listings. Since African American Studies blends a variety of subjects, consider searching across disciplines (art, literature, history, science, etc.).
return to top
Reminder:
Also locate journal articles in e-journals (complete text of online journals). To identify journal articles, visit the library homepage and click on research port. Next, click on e-journals.
JSTOR provides e-journals related to (African
American Studies, African Studies, Latin American Studies), and other disciplines.
Project Muse contains a collection of e-journals related to (African Studies, Caribbean Studies, Native American Studies, Latin American Studies, Women Studies), as well as, E-Journals on other ethnic groups and fields of study.
Locating African American Microform & Special Collections
The African American related materials listed below, are located in McKeldin Library's Periodicals/Microforms Room, and Special Collections in Hornbake Library, Maryland Room.
Visit (http://www.lib.umd.edu/MICROFORMS/subject_list.html) for more Microform Collections, and (http://www.lib.umd.edu/PUB/collections.html) for more Special Collections.
return to top
Locating African American Resources On The Internet
The selected search engines below, are designed specifically, to retrieve black resources on the Web.
Also, mainstream search engines will help you locate needed information. Refer to last entry in list below.
Browsing Interesting African American Web Sites
Consider other resources available to you, on the World Wide Web. Listed below is
a few of the many informative sites found on the Internet.
(Diversity Web Sites at UMCP)
(Genealogy)
return to top
(Research Centers)
(Museums & Exhibits)
return to top
Off Campus Access To Library Resources
Everyone may search the catalog of UM Libraries and the University System of Maryland. Due to our licensing agreements, most databases and e-journals are restricted to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Maryland, College Park.
To search library holdings, visit our Web site at http://www.lib.umd.edu. Click on "Catalog."
To search databases and e-journals, visit our Web site at http://www.lib.umd.edu. Click on "Research Port" and review screen commands. Other than "Research Port," you may access library resources through your WAM Account or VPN (Virtual Private Network). For details, visit http://www.lib.umd.edu/ETC/wam.html.
return to top
|