navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: March, 2009

Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Collection at UM Libraries

JPRS is a government organization established in March of 1957 to supply government agencies with translations of unclassified foreign documents consisting of the following works not available in English:

  • periodical and newspaper articles
  • scholarly journals
  • trade and commercial statistics reports
  • military documents and special reports
  • other selective source material

The translations are prepared by linguists and researchers. The documents, selected by area specialists, are considered to be important source material for research in the social sciences, science, technology, political science, economics, and international relations.

Email the subject area specialist at govdocs@umd.edu or call 301-405-9165 for more information.

JPRS Microfilm Collection: 1957 – 1962

Coverage:
Between 1957 and 1962, JPRS reports were distributed to government agencies only; documents were unavailable to the general public. Research and Microfilm Publications (RMP) later selected items from among these documents for microfilming. This early collection is therefore limited to documents reproduced by RMP.

Arrangement:
Documents are organized by geographical area and then separated by subject on the microfilm. These microfilm reels are located in the 4th floor Computer Lab of McKeldin Library. The areas covered are the following:

Geographic Coverage Areas for Microfilm Collection, 1957 – 1962
Location: Gov Docs Computer Room, 4th Floor of McKeldin Library

Geographic Location Call Number
Afghanistan Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5911
China Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5912
Eastern Europe Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5913
Indonesia Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5914
International Communist Developments Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5915
Mongolia (does not include 1962) Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5916
North Korea Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5918
Soviet Union Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5919
Scholarly Book Translations: Asia Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5921
Scholarly Book Translations: China Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5922
Scholarly Book Translations: Eastern Europe Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5923
Scholarly Book Translations: Soviet Union Gov Docs Microfilm AS36 .U5924

Indexes for JPRS Microfilm Collection, 1957 – 1962:
There are three indexes for JPRS reports published between 1957 and 1962:

  • Index I.A. Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm.
  • Index I.B. Area Bibliographies – Supplements of the Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm.
  • Index I.C. Joint Publications Research Service Translations Catalog Cards in Book Form for the United States.

Index I.A. Kyriak, Theodore E. Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm. Annapolis, Md., Research and Microfilm Publication. Gov Ref AS36.U59

Coverage:
This bibliography is a cumulative guide to JPRS publications issued between 1957 and July 1, 1962 which were reproduced by RMP (Research and Microfilm Publications).

Arrangement:
This bibliography arranges JPRS reports and documents in their order of publication.

Access:
The index directs you to a specific microfilm reel.

Example index entry:

JPRS Index IA (Kyriak) Entry

For each document, use the geographic location and the preceding table to determine the microfilm reel's call number. The volume and reel number then direct you to the specific microfilm reel within that call number series. Note: some items will have a subject listing (i.e. Poland Press IV) instead of a volume number.

Index I.B. Area Bibliographies –Supplements of the Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm. (Specific call numbers are indicated in the arrangement table).

Coverage:
These bibliographies are derived from the Bibliography of Translations on Microfilm (Index I.A). They divide the bibliographies by regions, covering China, International Communist Developments, Mongolia and Indonesia, North Korea, and North Vietnam.

Arrangement:
The regional bibliographies contain a subject index and a list of JPRS documents for that region listed in their order of publication. These bibliographies are separated by call number according to the following geographic locations:

Geographic Coverage Areas for Area Bibliographies, 1957 – 1962
Location: Gov Docs Reference Stacks, 4th floor of McKeldin Library
Geographic Location Date Coverage Call Number
China 1957 – July 1961 Gov Ref AS36.U59121
International Communist Developments 1962 Gov Ref AS36.U59151
Mongolia and Indonesia 1957 – 1961 Gov Ref AS.36U59171
North Korea 1957 – 1961 Gov Ref AS36.U59161
North Vietnam 1957 – 1961 Gov Ref AS36.U59181

Access:
The main entry in these volumes is the bibliography or publication index. The publication index is organized in the same fashion as the previous index (review the Access section of Index I.A). Additionally, there is a subject index in these bibliographies which will identify all documents in the bibliography pertaining to that subject. To access documents from the subject index, refer to the JPRS number and then locate that number in the publication index, which will then lead you to the correct microfilm reel location.

Index I.C. Joint Publications Research Service Translations Catalog Cards in Book Form for the United States. 1957 – 1961. Gov Ref AS36.U5738 1957/61.

Coverage:
This index is a facsimile of catalog cards representing titles published by JPRS between 1957 and 1961 which were deposited in the Library of Congress before the documents were made accessible to the public through Research and Microfilms Publications.

Arrangement:
The cards are arranged by JPRS number with title and contents information for each entry.

Access:
Use this index to locate JPRS numbers and then access to the reels can be made from the publication index (Index I.A.). To access a specific document, follow the same instructions listed in the Access section for Index I.A. To access documents from the subject index, refer to the JPRS number and then locate that number in the publication index, which will then lead you to the correct microfilm reel location.

Notes:
Volume 1 of this series of indexes lists early documents which bear the initials of the producing offices of Washington, D.C. or New York. By February or March of 1960, these symbols were discontinued. Volume 1 of this series begins with the first number of the Washington, D.C. series, includes the New York series, and ends with JPRS number 3879. Volume 2 continues JPRS numbering sequence.

JPRS Microfilm Collection: 1962 – 1974

Coverage:
This collection begins full coverage of JPRS documents in 1962, including all available items translated for the series.

Arrangement:
This microfilm collection organizes documents by the following:

  1. Geographic location (indicated by areas and call numbers in the following table)
  2. Document type: serials, ad hoc, and books
  3. Subject classification (which become more detailed as the series progresses)

IMPORTANT: The order of documents on the microfilm reel is the same order in which the documents are presented in the bibliographies (or publication indexes) of the indexes for this collection.

Geographic Coverage Areas for Microfilm Collection, 1962 – 1974
Location: Gov Docs Computer Room, 4th floor of McKeldin Library
Geographic Location Date Coverage Call Number
Asia 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U576
China 1963 – 1964 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5762
China and Asia 1964 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5764
East Europe 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5768
International Developments 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U58
Soviet Union 1962 – 1974 Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U582

Indexes for JPRS Microfilm Collection: 1962 – 1974:
There are three indexes to the JPRS microfilm collection published between 1962 and 1974.

  • Index II.A. RMP Bibliography Indexes to Current U.S. JPRS Research Translations. (1962 – 1970).
  • Index II.B. Catalog in Book Form for United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations. (1957 – 1970).
  • Index II.C. Transdex: Bibliography and Index to the United States Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) and
  • Translations. (1970 – 1974).
Index II.A. RMP Bibliography Indexes to Current U.S. JPRS Research Translations.

Coverage:
This index was published monthly and is divided by the geographical areas and coverage dates indicated in the following table:

Geographic Volumes for RMP Bibliography Indexes, 1962-1970
Location: Gov Docs Reference Stacks, 4th floor of McKeldin Library

Geographic Location Date Coverage Call Number
China July 1962 – June 1964 Gov Ref AS36 .U572
Asian Developments July 1962 – June 1964 Gov Ref AS36 .U5722
China and Asia July 1964 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U5724
East Europe July 1962 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U5726
International Developments July 1962 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U5728
Soviet Union July 1962 – June 1970 Gov Ref AS36 .U573

Arrangement:
Depending on its date of publication, these bibliographies may contain a(n)

  1. Index to microfilm – reels covered in each issue
  2. Subject guide – indicating the general classification of each document's geographic location and subject
  3. Subject index – identifying documents by subject matter
  4. Bibliography (publication index) – listing of publications separated into serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series
  5. Cross reference index – an index showing relationships between documents, their index location, and their microfilm location

For further information about which bibliographies contain each of these features, please read the section on Access.

Access:
This bibliography is accessed differently over four different time periods of publication:

  1. Jan 1962 – Dec 1962
  2. Jan 1963 – June 1964
  3. July 1964 – June 1967
  4. July 1967 – 1972

1. Index covering Jan 1962 – Dec 1962

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.

2. Index covering Jan 1963 – June 1964

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Subject Guide – This subject guide classifies documents first by geographic location and then by subject. The subject guide can be used to identify the subject area given to a document.
    A few examples of classification:
    1. E-13 translations on East European trade
    2. A-2 translations on Mongolia
    3. R-22 translations on USSR Communications
  3. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.
  4. Cross Reference Index – For this date range of bibliographies, the cross reference index can be used as a link between a document's JPRS number, its subject classification, and location in the monthly bibliography.
    Items are listed in the cross reference index as follows:

Figure II.A.
JPRS Index IIA (RMP) Entry

3. Index covering July 1964 – June 1967

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Subject Guide – This subject guide classifies documents first by geographic location and then by subject. The subject guide can be used to identify the subject area given to a document.
    A few examples of classification:
    1. E-13 translations on East European trade
    2. A-2 translations on Mongolia
    3. R-22 translations on USSR Communications
  3. Subject Index – This can be used to locate all documents of a similar subject listed in each monthly issue. The index is organized first by geographic location, and then by subject. To locate a document from the subject index, remember the JPRS number, then refer to the cross reference index for the microfilm reel location.
  4. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.
  5. Cross Reference Index – For this date range of bibliographies, the cross reference index can be used as a link between a document's JPRS number, general subject classification, the monthly issue in which the document is listed, and the reel and document order in which the actual item can be located on the microfilm reel.
    Items are listed in the cross reference index as follows

Figure II.B.
JPRS Index IIB (RMP) Entry

4. Index covering July 1967 – 1972

  1. Index to the Microfilm – When you have located a JPRS number, the index to the microfilm can be used to determine the reel on which the document appears.
    This section lists:
    • the reels published that month,
    • the range of documents included on the reel, and
    • the page numbers in the bibliography to which the reel corresponds.
  2. Subject Guide – This subject guide classifies the documents first by geographic location and then by subject. The subject guide can be used to identify the subject area given to a document.
    A few examples of classification:
    1. E-13 translations on East European trade
    2. A-2 translations on Mongolia
    3. R-22 translations on USSR Communications
  3. Subject Index – This can be used to locate all documents of a similar subject listed in each monthly issue. The index is organized first by geographic location, and then by subject. To locate a document from the subject index, remember the JPRS number, then refer to the cross reference index for the microfilm reel location.
  4. Bibliography (or publication index) – The bibliography can be used for access to a particular document on the microfilm reel. The bibliography is split into four sections: serials, ad hoc, books, and the Scholastic Book Translation Series. The listing order in the bibliography is the same order in which the documents appear on the microfilm. To access a document, find it in the bibliography and note the JPRS number and bibliography page number. Then, refer to the microfilm index to access the necessary reel. On the microfilm, the beginning of each document has a 3x5 card denoting the JPRS number of the document.
  5. Cross Reference Index – For this date range of bibliographies, the cross reference index can be used as a link between a document's JPRS number, the monthly issue and page number in which the document is listed, and both microfilm reel and microfiche sheet in which the actual item can be located.
    Items are listed in the cross reference index as follows:

Figure II.C.
JPRS Index IIC (RMP) Entry
Index II.B. Catalog in Book Form for United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations Gov Ref AS36.U5738.

Coverage:
This index was published semi-annually as a cumulative index from 1957 – 1970. Many of the entries correspond to the entries listed in the previous indexes and their arrangement is similar.

Arrangement:
The catalog cards are arranged in this index by JPRS number. Titles are indexed in two short sections: serialized items (i.e. periodicals, journals, newspapers, etc.) and nonserialized items (i.e. books, reports, etc.). Within these sections, they are classed geographically – China and Asia, Eastern Europe, the Soviet Union and International Developments.

Access:
This bibliography is accessed differently over four different time periods of publication:

  • 1957 – 1964 – because reel numbers are not listed, it is difficult to access JPRS documents from this index until 1965. It is better to use the previously listed indexes.
  • 1965, Part 1A thru 1B – there is both a subject index and a cross reference index that is taken from 3. July 1964 – June 1967 of Index II.A (explained in Figure II.B).
  • 1965, Part 2A thru 2B – the subject index and cross reference index are taken from 4. July 1967 – 1972 of Index II.A (explained in Figure II.C).
  • 1966 – 1970 – microfilm reel numbers and microfiche sheet numbers are listed with each JPRS document in the bibliography.

Index II.C. Transdex: Bibliography and Index to the United States Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) and Translations. (1970-1974) Gov Ref AS 36.U574.

Coverage:
In 1970, the previous indexes would merge to form the Transdex. This index was published first monthly and followed with a cumulative semi-annual issue. The McKeldin Library collection retained only the semi-annual issues. The index covers all publications from all geographic locations but is not separated geographically in the way as previous indexes.

Arrangement:
This index includes the following:

  1. Serial and ad hoc titles index – a listing of all serials and ad hoc (singular materials) indexed in that issue
  2. Country index – a listing of countries and related JPRS documents
  3. Subject index – an arrangement of major subjects, followed by subcategories, each with a listing of related JPRS documents
  4. Publications' index – a listing of each publication with corresponding dates
  5. Author index – all authors translated in that issue of the Transdex
  6. Bibliographic listing – a complete list of all documents for that issue in JPRS order

Access:
All entries in each different type of index contain a JPRS number. From all indexes, use the JPRS number and refer to the Bibliographic Listing. The bibliography indicates a microfilm reel number and microfiche sheet number. The McKeldin Library collection only holds the microfilm reels covered in this index. Each microfilm reel number contains a country code and then a number. "Microfilm Reel R313" is for the Soviet Union, Reel No. 313. The codes are as follows and correspond to the following call numbers for the reels:

Code Geographic Location Call Number
A Asia Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U576
C China Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5762
CA China and Asia Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5764
E East Europe Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U5768
ID International Developments Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U58
R Soviet Union Gov Docs Microfilm AS 36 .U582

JPRS Microfiche and Print Collection: 1975 – 1996

Coverage:
JPRS documents continued to be translated in the geographical areas mentioned previously, with additional regions being added and removed throughout publication.

Arrangement:
In 1975, the Bell and Howell Information Company acquired publication rights for JPRS documents. Documents were then issued on microfiche and in print. The collection is arranged differently by four periods of publication:

A. Transdex Microfiche 1975 – 1983
B. SuDoc Microfiche – PREX 7.14:x thru PREX 7.23:x 1984 – 1989
C. SuDoc Microfiche - PREX 7.13:x 1989 – 1996
D. SuDoc Print – PREX 7.13:x 1987 – 1996
A. Transdex Microfiche
Gov Docs Computer Room, 4th Floor, McKeldin Library

Transdex Microfiche are issued by Bell and Howell Information Company. Though microfiche begin having SuDoc call numbers in 1981, the microfiche are still organized by JPRS number during this time period and are filed after PREX 7.26: in microfiche cabinets 19 and 20. *Example: Transdex #63778
1975 – 1983
B. SuDoc Microfiche – PREX 7.14:x thru PREX 7.23:x
Gov Docs Computer Room, 4th Floor, McKeldin Library

Though still issued and indexed by Bell and Howell, this range of microfiche is organized by SuDoc call number. Different geographical regions and subjects were given a different call number, and are ordered as such. On each sheet of microfiche is the following information:
  • JPRS-SSA-86-036
  • PREX 7.20/2:86-036

In this example, the call number PREX 7.20/2 is the equivalent of the JPRS series code SSA (Sub-Saharan Africa). The remaining numbers are the year (1986) and the document issue number (036). The microfiche are placed in order by their SuDoc numbers, which is the second number listed on each microfiche sheet.

1984 – 1989
C. SuDoc Microfiche – PREX 7.13:x
Gov Docs Computer Room, 4th Floor, McKeldin Library

In 1989, the Superintendent of Documents discontinued the use of a classification system for JPRS publication. They began filing all documents under the call number PREX 7.13:x. Some microfiche during these years have the same SuDoc call numbers and series codes as listed before. However, in later years, the SuDoc number begins to incorporate the entire series code into the call number. *Example: PREX 7.13:CAR-92-012
1989 – 1996
D. SuDoc PRINT – PREX 7.13:x
Gov Docs Computer Room, 4th Floor, McKeldin Library

This print collection contains much of the same material created for the microfiche. Though its microfiche counterpart is separated by call number (PREX 7.14:x thru PREX 7.23:x), the print collection is under PREX 7.13:x. As in the microfiche collection, the 'x' in the call number is the same series code, which consists of the JPRS regional code, the year of publication, and the issue number for the year.
*Example: PREX 7.13:JPRS-CRF-87-012

Note: there are large sections missing from the print collection. An inventory of the issues available in print is located in a binder at the Gov Docs Information Desk.

1987 – 1996

Indexes for JPRS Microfiche and Print Collection, 1975 – 1996:

There is a single index (published in both in print and microfiche) for this area of the collection:

Index III. Transdex Index. 1975 – 1996.
Coverage:
This index is available in microfiche from 1975 – 1996. The microfiche format of the index cumulates annually The microfiche are located in the Gov Docs Computer Lab on the 4th floor of McKeldin Library in cabinet 35.

There is a print version of the index available from 1988 – 1996. However, it is published monthly and has no year-end cumulative edition. For the annual cumulative index, refer to the microfiche format of the Transdex Index. In July 1995, the print version of this index retains the name Transdex Index, but the subtitle indicates it as an index to FBIS publications. Despite the title, this index covers JPRS documents until June 1996.

Arrangement:
This index is divided into five sections:

  1. Statistics Listing – a list of words and the number of times they appear in the year's publications.
  2. Series and Ad Hoc Listing – a listing of the titles issued that year.
  3. Bibliographic Listing – a complete list of the year's publications. This listing is in order by JPRS series code. Each document is given a page number, which indicates either the page of microfiche or print on which the document is located.
  4. Keyword Listing – this is a listing of words and the documents in which they appear. Unlike a subject index, these words are listed as natural language. If searching for documents using the keyword listing, be sure to look up all possible synonyms and various forms of the word.
  5. Personal Names Listing – a list of names and the documents in which they appear. Names are listed exactly as they are written in the document, so when searching for a person, be sure to look up all possible variations of a name.

Until 1981, JPRS documents were created with a JPRS number, as described earlier. At this time, the Superintendent of Documents began classifying documents and giving them SuDoc call numbers. Accordingly, in 1982, the Transdex Index began publishing a Cross Reference Index. This index gives the JPRS title (identical to the titles in the Serials and Ad Hoc Listing), and the corresponding SuDoc call number.

NOTE: While JPRS documents began having SuDoc call numbers in 1981, our collection has them filed by JPRS number through December 1983. After that date, all documents are filed by their given SuDoc call number.

Access:

When locating JPRS in microfiche from the Transdex Index:

1975 – 1983 Microfiche are shelved in JPRS number or series code order. Use the JPRS number and page number given in each index to locate a given document.
1984 – 1989 The microfiche are shelved under the call numbers PREX 7.14:x through PREX 7.23:x, where 'x' is the JPRS series code. Use the Cross Reference Index after locating a document in any other index. Once a title is located in another index, note both the JPRS series code and page number. Using the JPRS series code, refer to the Serials and Ad Hoc Listing to obtain the correct title. Use the title in the Cross Reference Index to find the correct SuDoc call number.
1989 – 1996 All documents are shelved under the SuDoc call number PREX 7.13:x, where 'x' is the JPRS series code.

When locating JPRS in print from the Transdex Index:
The only necessary information is the JPRS series code and page number. All documents are shelved under the SuDoc call number PREX 7.13:x, where 'x' is the JPRS series code.

JPRS and FBIS on World News Connection: 1996 to present

In 1996, JPRS merged with the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Between 1996 and 1997, the print and microfiche versions of the newly combined collections were discontinued. FBIS is now published through World News Connection (WNC) on CD-ROMs and can be accessed through a database as well. For more information about locating translations in FBIS and World News Connection, please consult the FBIS Finding Aid at the Gov Docs Information Desk on the 4th Floor of McKeldin Library.

return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: April 14, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search