navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August, 2009

Maryland Maps: A Finding Aid

The University of Maryland College Park Libraries has two map collections; one associated with U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services and the other with the Marylandia/Rare Books/National Trust for Historic Preservation Library Collection Department. Maps from the Marylandia & Rare Books Department can be requested and used only in the Maryland Room (first floor, Hornbake Library).

Email the subject area specialist or call 301-405-9210 for more information.

Searching for Maryland Maps in the University of Maryland Libraries

Use the search feature in the Maryland Map Collection guide to find maps in the Maryland Collection in Hornbake Library. Enter keywords or dates in the search box or search by the geographical and topical categories listed. See the Maryland Room page for directions, hours, etc.

A selection of digitized maps are available from the collection.

Some Maryland maps are fully cataloged and are also included in the UM Libraries online catalog. The best way to find Maryland Maps in the Catalog is to use the College Park Advanced Search option. In the word search boxes enter the county or location or other pertinent term in all fields or enter words from a specific title in title. Next limit the format to map. You can also limit the location to Marylandia & Rare Books and the year/s to desired year or range of years. This is also a good way to find atlases of Maryland lcoations.

 return to top

Other Resources

The Maryland Collection also has a set of the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Maryland. These highly detailed maps, published from 1870-1950, show every structure in the central portion of many towns and cities. Some Sanborn Maps of Maryland and the District of Columbia are also available on microfilm. See also Digital Sanborn Maps UM only for an electronic database of Sanborn Maryland, Virginia, and Washington D.C. maps (available only at University of Maryland Libraries or to University of Maryland staff and students.)

The department also houses a microfiche collection of 33 19th century Maryland land ownership maps. A guide to the microfiche maps is located at the Maryland Room Reference desk with cataloged copies available as MD Z6027.U5U54 and GOVDOC LC DOC Z6027.U5U54.

 return to top

Relevant Links

 return to top

return to Maryland Collection page

 

© 2009 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: November 18, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search