navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August 2008

Maryland History Resource Guide

Scope: This guide lists sources relevant to the history of the state of Maryland. Most of the items are available in the Maryland Room in Hornbake Library.
Email the subject specialist Doug McElrath for more information or call (301) 405-9210.

Table of Contents

return to top


How to find a book in the Catalog


To locate books, search the UM Libraries' online catalog. "Words anywhere" will locate words and terms when they appear in the title, subject headings or notes of a record. The terms "history," and "Maryland" will retrieve many records, so be sure to limit your search by adding additional terms such as biography or bibliography, time periods, cities, counties, etc. A search for "subject beginning with" can be also be done using the Library of Congress Subject Headings listed below

MARYLAND DESCRIPTION AND TRAVEL
MARYLAND HISTORY [Can be limited by the following time periods:]
  • Colonial period, ca 1600-1775
  • French and Indian War, 1755-1763
  • Revolution, 1775-1783
  • War of 1812
  • Civil War, 1861-1865
MARYLAND POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT [Can be limited by the following time periods:]
  • Colonial period, ca 1600-1775
  • Revolution, 1775-1783
  • 1775-1865
  • Civil War, 1861-1865
  • 1865-1950
  • 1951-
MARYLAND SOCIAL LIFE AND CUSTOMS
MARYLAND, SOUTHERN
MARYLAND, WESTERN

For additional terms, consult the Library of Congress List of Subject Headings.

return to top


Selected Bibliographies


Brugger, Robert J. Maryland: A Middle Temperament. Baltimore, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1988.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference, Maryland Stacks, McKeldin stacks
Call Number:F181.B85 1988
Bibliographical Essay on page 711-769 provides an exhaustive overview of primary and secondary source material on Maryland.

Enoch Pratt Free Library. Eastern Shore of Maryland: An Annotated Bibliography Queenstown, Maryland: The Queen Anne Press, 1980.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio, McKeldin Folio
Call Number: Z1293.E25

Maryland Historical Magazine. Baltimore: Maryland Historical Society, 1906-.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, National Trust Library Periodical Stacks, Maryland Microfilm; also in McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: F176.M18
This historical journal has published an annual bibliography on Maryland since 1975. The Maryland Room has a binder containing a complete set of these bibliographies.

The Maryland History and Culture Bibliography
This bibliography is a product of the Maryland Humanities Council. Bibliographic citations are associated with topics, time periods and counties of Maryland.

return to top


Guides


Barnes, Robert William. Guide to Research in Baltimore City and County Westminster, Maryland: Family Line Publications, 1993.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference
Call Number: CD3288.B19G94 1993

Cook, Eleanor M.V. Guide to the Records of Montgomery County Maryland: Genealogical and Historical. Westminster, Maryland: Family Line, 1989.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: F187.M7C59

Hollowak, Thomas L. Baltimore's Past : a Directory of Historical Sources. Baltimore, MD: Historyk Press, 1995.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference
Call Number: F189.B1B351 1995

Maryland Associaton of History Museums, Inc. Maryland's Museums and Preservation Organizations: Historical and Cultural. Annapolis, MD: Maryland Historical Trust.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference
Call Number: AM12.M2M38 1999

Peden, Henry C. A Guide to Genealogical Research in Maryland. Baltimore: Maryland Historical Society, 2001.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference
Call Number: F180.P423 2001

Reynolds, Michael M. Maryland: A Guide to Information and Reference Sources. Adelphi, Maryland: Research and Reference Publications, Inc: 1976.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Libray Stacks
Call Number: Z1293.R48
This works covers a broad range of subjects including history.

Russell, Donna Valley. Allegany and Garrett counties, Maryland: Genealogical research guide. New Market, Maryland: Catoctin Press,1996.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks
Call Number: F187.A4R87 1996

Russell, Donna Valley. Frederick County, Maryland: Genealogical Research Guide. Middletown, Maryland: Catoctin Press, 1991.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: F187.F9R87

return to top


Primary Source Material

Locating Primary Source Material

Archival and manuscript materials are generally considered the most important types of primary sources. However, many contemporary printed materials can also serve as primary evidence for historical research. Examples include newspapers and periodicals, government publications and reports, maps, and printed versions of speeches, debates, letters, memoirs, and other forms of expressions. For more information about locating and using primary source material consult the guide Research Using Primary Sources

Repositories of primary sources produce a variety of published and unpublished tools that describe their holdings. Use the bibliographical sources cited below and search the Online Catalog to locate materials. Guides to the Maryland Map Collection, the Slavery Pamphlets Collection and other major groups of printed primary sources are available in the Maryland Room. Guides to both national and Maryland repositories can also be found below.

ArchivesUM
ArchivesUM is a portal to help researchers locate materials described in finding aids to archival and manuscript collections at the University of Maryland Libraries.

Archives USA UM only
This database contains information about manuscript and archival collections in U.S. repositories. It also contains information about repositories and links to their webistes.

Library of Congress. National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Washington Library of Congress, 1959-1993. Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio, McKeldin Reference
Call Number: Z6620.U5N3

Maryland Historical Society. Guide to the Research Collections of the Maryland Historical Society. Baltimore: Maryland Historical Society, 1981.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference, McKeldin Reference Stacks
Call Number: F180.G853
For the most recent information researchers should visit the Maryland Historical Society website.

Maryland Historical Society. The Manuscript Collections of the Maryland Historical Society. Baltimore: Maryland Historical Society, 1968.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference or Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Rererence Stacks
Call Number: Z6623.M37
For the most recent information researchers should visit the Maryland Historical Society website.

Maryland State Archives. A Guide to Government Records at the Maryland State Archives: A Comprehensive List by Agency and Record Series. Annapolis: Maryland State Archives, 1992.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference
Call Number: CD3284.M27 1992
For the most recent information researchers should visit the Maryland State Archives website.

return to top


Biographical Sources


Andrusko, Samuel M. Maryland Biographical Sketch Index Silver Spring, Maryland: S.M. Andrusko, 1983.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: F180.A525 1983 v. 1

Eisenberg, Gerson G. Marylanders Who Served the Nation : a Biographical Dictionary of Federal Officials from Maryland. Annapolis: Maryland State Archives, 1992.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference, Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Reference Stacks
Call Number: JK1010.M38 1992

Helmes, Winifred G., ed. Notable Maryland Women. Cambridge, Maryland: Tidewater Publishers, 1977.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Reference Stacks, McKeldin Stacks
Call Number: CT239.N67

Rascovar, Barry, ed. Marylanders of the Century. Baltimore: The Baltimore Sun, 1999.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks
Call Number: CT239.M37 1999

Schaun, George and Virginia. Maryland, Biographical Sketches. Lanham, Maryland: Maryland Historical Press, 1984.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: CT239.S3 1984

White, Frank F. The Governors of Maryland. Annapolis: Hall of Records Commission, 1970.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference
Call Number: CD3280.A16 no.15

American National Biography New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Location: McKeldin Reference Stacks
Call Number: CT213.A68

Biography & Genealogy Master Index UM only
Location:(Print version) UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
Call Number: CT210.B5
Index to biographical information in over 350 works of collective biography and related sources.

Dictionary of American Biography. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1943-
Consisting of 24 Volumes the American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Reference, McKeldin Reference Stacks
Call Number: E176.D562
Collection of excellent biographies of noteworthy persons of the United States. Does not include living persons.

return to top


Newspapers and Periodicals

Journals

The journals listed below often carry articles about the history of Maryland. If a journal is indexed in America:History and Life [UM only]or Arts and Humanities Search [UM only]there is an indication beside the journal name.

Maryland Archaeology
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: E78M3M37

Maryland Historian-indexed AHL 1970-; indexed AHsearch
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library McKeldin Periodical Stacks; HBK Archives
Call Number: E171.M28; UPUB H9.001

Maryland Historical Magazine-indexed AHL 1963-
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, Maryland Microfilm, National Trust Library Periodical Stacks, McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: F176.M18

Maryland Humanities
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio, McKeldin Periodical Stacks (last three years)
Call Number: AS28.M3H81

ASM Ink: Newsletter of the Archeological Society of Maryland, Inc.
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: F176.A71

Calvert Historian
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks
Call Number: F187.C15C35

Historical Archaeology-indexed AHL 1973-; indexed AHsearch
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room National Trust Library Periodical Stacks, McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: E11.S625

Historical Geography-indexed AHL 1993-; indexed AHsearch
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: G141,H481

History Trails
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: F187.B2H5

Journal of the Alleghenies
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Stacks
Call Number: F157.A5J84

Journal of Middle Atlantic Archaeology
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number:E78.M65J68

Legacy Sandy Spring Museum newsletter
Location: UMCP HBK Maryland Room Maryland Folio
Call Number: F189.S2S26

Southern Historian-indexed AHL 1985-
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: F206.A45

Southern Quarterly-indexed AHL 1962-
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: AS30.S658

William & Mary Quarterly-indexed AHL 1954-; indexed AHSearch
Location: UMCP McKeldin Library McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Call Number: F221.W71

Newspapers

The University Libraries hold a number of Maryland newspaper titles. Do a catalog search on the title of the newspaper in a "title search" or combine the term newspaper and the city or county of interest in a "keyword search."

A Guide to Maryland Newspapers featuring the Newspaper Collections of the Maryland State Archives.
This Web site provides a listing of Maryland newspapers by county, title, and date and indicates holding institutions.

return to top


Internet Sources


Please see our links to Maryland Resources for relevant internet sources.

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 18, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search