navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: October, 2009

Native Americans in Maryland: A Resource Guide

This guide is a selective list of resources on Native Americans in Maryland. It is intended as a starting point to research and not as an exhaustive list of sources. Email the subject area specialist at Marylandia/Rare Books/NTL staff or call 301-405-9213 or 301-405-9210 for more information.

Web Resources

General

The Archeological Society of Maryland
The Archeological Society of Maryland is an organization of lay and professional archeologists devoted to archeology in Maryland. Their newsletter ASM Ink is available online.

Close Encounters of the First Kind, 1585-1767
Maryland State Archives Documents for the Classroom project provides images of original documents, maps, and drawings relating to Native Americans as well as a suggested reading list and a listing of Maryland museum and historic sites.

Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum
The Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum is the State Museum of Archeology. Especially useful for information on Maryland Native Americans is the Prehistoric Ceramics in Maryland page which also includes the Prehistoric Cultural History in Maryland section.

Maryland Commission on American Indian Affairs
The Official statewide agency for Native Americans. Their 2007 Annual Report and 2008 Annual Report are available online. In addition to information on activities of the Commission, the annual report includes listings for Maryland indigenous tribes.

Maryland Native American Resources
MDGenWeb site providing links to information on Maryland Indian tribes and other sources.

SAILOR: Maryland Native Americans
SAILOR listing of links for Native Americans in Maryland.

Tribal Web Sites

Accohannock Native American Living Village

The Assateague Indians

Cedarville Band of Piscataway Indians

Piscataway Conoy Tribe of Maryland

Nanticoke Indian Tribe

Pocomoke Indian Nation

Susquehannock History

Susquehannock Indian History

 return to top

Finding Sources in the University of Maryland Libraries

UM Libraries Catalog: Use the Catalog to search for books, journal titles, government documents, manuscript collections, and other materials owned by the UM Libraries. Check the box for "USMAI (All Campuses)" in order to search the entire UM System at once. You may search for a topic using word/s anywhere or subject word/s or use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (viewable within individual records or by using the "Subject Beginning with..." search) Some examples of possible subject headings:

Indians of North America-Maryland
Indians of North America-Chesapeake Bay Region
Indians of North America-Middle Atlantic States
Chesapeake Bay Region-Antiquities
Maryland-Antiquities
Middle Atlantic States-Antiquities
Archaeology-Maryland
Excavations (Archaeology)-Maryland
Algonquian Indians
Conoy Indians
Lumbee Indians
    Nanticoke Indians
Piscataway Indians
Powhatan Indians
Susquehanna Indians
Accokeek Creek Site (Md.)
Susquehanna Site (Md.)
Other possible geographic locations:
Potomac River Valley
Eastern Shore
Anacostia River Valley
See also names of counties, towns

The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a new window.

Bibliographies

Electronic Databases

Because of licensing agreements, UM only databases can be used only by current faculty, staff, and students of the University of Maryland, College Park.

  • Academic Search Premier UM only
    Provides indexing to over 7,000 journals; provides full text of articles to over 4,000 journals.
  • America: History and Life UM only
    Provides citations to periodical articles on U.S. history. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
  • Use Digital Dissertations UM only to search for theses and dissertations dating from 1861. Full text is available from 1997 to the present.
  • JSTOR UM only
    Electronic archive of core journals in the humanties, social sciences, and sciences. Includes full text of articles published prior to the current five years.
  • Periodicals Index Online UM only
    Access to 4,500 arts/humanities and social science journals; some full text.

Maps

Selected Books

  • Dent, Richard J. Chesapeake Prehistory: Old Traditions, New Directions. New York: Plenum Press, 1995.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E78.M3 D45 1995
    A comprehensive synthesis of the archaeological record of the Chesapeake region.
  • Early American Indian Documents: Treaties and Laws, 1607-1789: Volume 6, Maryland Treaties, 1762-1775; Volume 15, Virginia and Maryland Laws. General editor, Alden T. Vaughan. Washington, DC: University Publications of America, c. 1979-2004.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks (v.6), McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: KF8202 1979
  • Kenny, Hamill. The Origin and Meaning of the Indian Place Names of Maryland. Baltimore: Waverly Press, 1961.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E98.N2K4 1961
    A detailed study of the origin and meaning of over 300 Indian place names in Maryland.
  • Maryland Historical Magazine: Volume 76, No. 1, March 1980.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: F176.M18 Vol. 75, No. 1
    This issue of the Maryland Historical Magazine is dedicated to articles on Indians in Maryland. Among the six articles included are: "The Origins of the Piscataway and Related Indian Cultures" by Wayne E. Clark, "Behind the Frontier: Indian Survivals in Maryland" by Frank W. Porter, III, and "Tradition and Change in the Lumbee Indian Community of Baltimore" by Abraham Makofsky.
  • Potter, Stephen R. Commoners, Tribute, and Chiefs: The Development of Algonquian Culture in the Potomac Valley. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1993.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E99.A35 1993
    An exploration of the development of Algonquian speaking groups of the Lower Potomac Valley.
  • Powhatan Foreign Relations, 1500-1722. Edited by Helen C. Rountree. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1993.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E99.P85 P683 1993
    A compilation of nine essays on the thirty Algonquinian speaking Indian tribes known as the Powhatan of Virginia and their relationship with both European and Indian "foreigners."
  • Weslager, C.A. The Nanticoke Indians: Past and Present. Newark: University of Delaware Press, 1983.
    LOCATION: Hornbake Maryland Room Maryland Stacks, McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: E99.N14 W483 1983

     return to top

     return to Maryland Collection

 

© 2009 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: October 16, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search