navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August, 2009

Maryland Statistics: A Finding Aid

The following is a list of selected sources of statistical information for Maryland available in the Maryland Room and on the Internet. It is not meant to be an exhaustive listing, but a selection of commonly used sources.
Email the subject area specialist at Ann Hudak or call 301-405-9213 for more information.

Strategies for Finding Statistics

  • Many statistics for Maryland are available in U.S. federal government sources; for further information consult the Federal Statistics UM Libraries guide.
  • To find statistics on other topics in the UM Libraries Catalog or on the Web, try using the keywords Maryland, statistics, and other pertinent terms in a word search for the Catalog or Search Engine
  • Find the pertinent state or local agency Web site and use the search box or look for links to reports or publications which often contain useful statistics.

 return to top

General/Gateway Sources


Maryland At a Glance Web site
A source of information on 51 different topics about Maryland; this Website includes useful statistical information.

Maryland.gov Web site
The portal to Maryland state government information, the Maryland.gov Website will lead you to the wealth of information in state agency Web sites and provide links to county and municipal sites. Use the drop down search box for state agencies or click on State Agencies to link a list of state agency Web sites. Click on Maps and County Governments to link to county or local governments in Maryland.

Maryland Statistical Abstract 2006 Towson: RESI, Towson, 2006.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference/McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HA421.M3
A digest of statistics from both U.S. and Maryland agencies.

2008 Maryland Statistical Handbook Web site
A compilation of Maryland statistics and charts from the Maryland Dept. of Planning.

 return to top

Agriculture


Agriculture in Maryland Annapolis: Maryland Dept. of Agriculture, 2007.
LOCATION: Maryland Folio CALL NUMBER: S451.M3A362 2007
Provides agricultural statistics for Maryland.

Maryland Agricultural Statistics Service Web site
Contains helpful links to many sources of agricultural statistics for Maryland.

Census of Agriculture for Maryland
Links to the full 2007 Maryland Agricultural Census as well as past agricultural censuses are available here.

 return to top

Census/Demographic Information


Profiles of General Demographic Characteristics: 2000 Census of Population and Housing: Maryland Web site/printed volume
Washington, DC: U.S. Census Bureau, 2001.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HA421.5 2000.A25
A source for general demographic statistics from the 2000 census for Maryland counties, municipalities, and Census Designated Places.

Census 2000 Data for the State of Maryland Web site
http://www.census.gov/census2000/states/md.html
The U.S Census Bureau Website offers comprehensive data from the 2000 census. This page is a gateway to Maryland data.

Maryland State Data Center Web site
Includes links to other state information as well as census data such as housing construction, jobs, personal income.

Historical Census Browser Web site
Population and economy data from the census for U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960. This database was created at University of Virginia.

Historical Decennial Census Information Web Site
Links to Historical Census Reports and other historical census data.

 return to top

Crime


Crime in Maryland: Uniform Crime Report Pikesville: Maryland State Police, 2008.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HV6793.M3S74
Excellent source for crime data for Maryland.
Statistics and data are available online and can be downloaded at the Maryland Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention Web site.

Maryland Crime in Perspective 2006 Lawrence, Kansas: Morgan Quitno Press, 2006.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HV6793.M3M279 2006
Data and ranking of crime statistics at the state level only.

Uniform Crime Reports Web site
The Federal Bureau of Investigation Web site includes Maryland statistics in the Crime in the United States section.

 return to top

Economy/Employment/Labor Market


Regions and Counties Web site
Brief economic and demographic profiles of Maryland, Baltimore City, and the 23 counties from the Maryland Dept. of Business and Economic Development. Fact sheets contain a brief overview of economy, population and income, labor force, employment, wages, major employers, tax rates, transportation, utilities, climate, recreation and education data.

Maryland Career and Workforce Information Web site
The Maryland Office of Labor Market Analysis and Information Web site provides information on the labor market, employment, unemployment, payrolls, largest employers, occupational information, wages, industry, etc.

 return to top

Education: Elementary and Secondary


The Fact Book Web site/printed volume
Baltimore: Maryland State Dept. of Education
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: L158.G5F32
A statistical handbook to Maryland K-12 education.

Maryland Report Card Web site
This website includes data for the state, local school systems, and by schools. It includes Maryland School Assessment results.

Maryland State Dept. of Education: PublicationsWeb site
Useful publications from the Maryland State Dept. of Education.

 return to top

Education: Postsecondary


Data BookWeb site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland Higher Education Commission, 2008.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: LA301.5.D38 2007
Provides statistics on colleges and universities in Maryland. Enrollment, retention, graduation, degrees, faculty, expenditures, tuition, and financial aid are among the statistics included.

Trend Book Web site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland Higher Education Commission, 2007.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: LA301.5.M3755 2007
Provides statistics on Maryland postsecondary education over a period of years so trends can be highlighted.

Maryland Higher Education Commission Web site
The Web site of the Maryland Higher Education Commission Office of Policy Analysis and Research provides links to the Data Book and Trend Book and to many other research reports done by the Commission.

 return to top

Elections


Maryland State Board of Elections Web Site
The Maryland State Board of Elections Web site contains useful information on elections in Maryland. Statistics for Current Elections and Past Elections are available.

Maryland Manual Annapolis: Maryland State Archives, 1896-2006.
LOCATION: Maryland Stacks
CALL NUMBER: JK3830.A33
Also available at Archives of Maryland Online
Look for Maryland election returns in the Maryland Manual for the year after the election occurred.

 return to top

Fiscal and Budget


Analysis of the Maryland Executive Budget Web site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland. Dept. of Legislative Services.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HJ11.M343 2007/2008
This analysis includes background information on many budget issues. The website includes other budget documents of the General Assembly.

Budget Highlights Web site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland Dept. of Budget and Management, 2009.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HJ11.M3444a
An overview of the Maryland State Budget. It lists budget highlights and priorities and gives summaries of state agency budgets.

Maryland Capital Budget Web site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland Dept. of Budget and Management, 2009.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HJ11.M344416
Capital budget information for the State of Maryland.

Maryland Operating Budget Web site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland Dept. of Budget and Management, 2009.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HJ11.M34412 2008/2009
Operating Budget information for the State of Maryland.

Local Government Finances in Maryland Web site/printed volume
Annapolis: Maryland Dept. of Legislative Services, 2005.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HJ9011.M3A33 2005
This publication gives financial information for Maryland counties and municipalities.

 return to top

Health and Vital Statistics Information


Health Improvement Plan: Public Health Action for the First Decade 2000-2010 Web site/printed volume
Baltimore: Maryland Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene, 2001.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: RA395.A4M365 2001 Vol. 1-2
Developed to promote Maryland's public health agenda, this report includes selected statistics in priority focus areas.

Healthy Maryland Chart Book Web site/printed volume
Baltimore: Maryland Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene, 2007.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: RA407.4.M4H46 2007
Includes statistics on a variety of health topics.

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Web site
Use the Organization Index to find links to agencies within the Department. Especially useful are the Family Health Administration and the Community Health Administration. Links to Local Health Departments are listed also.

Maryland Vital Statistics Web site/printed volume
Baltimore: Maryland Division of Health Statistics, 2007.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: HA421.A36
Maryland statistics on births, deaths, marriages, and divorces.

Maryland Health Care in Perspective 2006 Printed volume
Lawrence, Kansas: Morgan Quitno Corporation, 2006.
LOCATION: Maryland Reference
CALL NUMBER: RA407.4.M3M27
Gives data and rankings at the state level.

Health and Medical Statistics: UM Libraries Guide Web site
A useful guide to health and medical statistics that may be found on the Internet.

Statistics Resources by Subject Health Sciences and Human Services Library, University of Maryland, Baltimore Web site.
A guide to health and population statistics on the Web.

 return to top

Labor and Business

Career and Workforce Information Web site
The Maryland Dept of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation provides statistics on many topics including Employment and Payrolls, Employment, Unemployment, and Unemployment Rate, Monthly Labor Review, etc.

Maryland Dept. of Business & Economic Development: Facts and Figures
Listing of major employers in Maryland along with other demographic information for the state.

2008 Maryland's Workforce Indicators
This publication provides information on Maryland's workforce characteristics.

 return to top

Real Property Data

Real Property Data Search Web site
Maryland Dept. of Assessments and Taxation database allows you to search and display property records.

Business Data Search Web site
Maryland Dept. of Assessments and Taxation database of business records.

Weather

Climatological Data Maryland and Delaware UM only due to licensing agreement.
Select Maryland and then desired year from 1891 to the present. This publication from NOAA's National Climatic Data Center provides detailed monthly weather data from 1891 to the present with annual summaries from 1896.

 return to top

 

© 2009 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: November 02, 2009

Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search