navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August 2008

Identifying and Locating Musical Sources:
A Guide to RISM and other Resources

Scope: Manuscripts and early printed editions are primary sources and are invaluable to the musical scholar and student. Identifying, locating, and using primary sources can be an extremely complex process, however. This guide is an attempt to introduce students to the basics of research into musical sources. All materials are located in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library unless otherwise indicated. Remember that reference assistance is available by inquiring at the Reference and Circulation desk. E-mail subject area specialist Steve Henry (shenry@umd.edu) or call (301) 405-9256 for more information.

Introduction to Musical Sources

Both the New Grove and Harvard Dictionary have introductory articles on "Sources" which should be consulted. The article in the New Grove is exceptionally thorough.

  • The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed. New York: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 2001.
    LOCATION: PA LIB REF
    CALL NUMBER: ML100.G887 (vols. 23 and 24, or search these headings in the online version)
    ONLINE: Available through Research Port as part of Oxford Music Online (access limited to UM students/faculty/staff, and to patrons in the libraries).

    • "Sources, MS"
      I. Introduction, vol. 23, p.792
      II. Western plainchant, vol. 23, p.817
      III. Secular monophony, vol. 23, p.846
      IV. Organum and discant, vol. 23, p.868
      V. Early motet, vol. 23, p.874
      VI. English polyphony 1270-1400, vol. 23, p.877
      VII. French polyphony 1300-1420, vol. 23, p.882
      VIII. Italian polyphony c1325-c1420, vol. 23, p.888
      IX. Renaissance polyphony, vol. 23, p.892

    • "Sources of instrumental ensemble music to 1630", vol. 24, p.1

    • "Sources of keyboard music to 1660", vol. 24, p.19

    • "Sources of lute music", vol. 24, p.39

  • Randel, Don Michael, ed. The Harvard dictionary of music. 4th ed. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University, 2003.
    LOCATION: PA LIB REF
    CALL NUMBER: ML100.H37 2003

    • "Sources (pre-1500)", p.811

return to top

RISM: Répertoire international des sources musicales

RISM is a monumental undertaking to document the existence and location of printed and manuscript music before the year 1800. RISM publishes printed catalogs and computerized indexes. The project is divided into three subseries: A = Inventories of musical sources from 1600-1800 , in manuscript and printed editions, organized by composer. B = Bibliographies of materials organized by particular topic. C= Directories of music libraries around the world. An overview of the particular volumes follows.

  • A/I-II -- Inventory of printed music and manuscripts by composer, 1600-1800

    • A/I -- Einzeldrucke vor 1800 = Printed music before 1800, 15 vols. to date. (Kassel, 1971 - ).

    • A/II -- Music manuscripts after 1600. Four databases in one:

      RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600
      The RISM Series A/II Database contains bibliographic records of music manuscripts written after 1600. The records include information in standard bibliographic categories as well as graphical images of over 740,000 music incipits.

      RISM Composer
      The RISM Composer Database contains more than 28,500 composer names taken mostly from RISM series A/I and A/II. The composers are researched in standard music dictionaries as well as in local special literature.

      RISM Libraries Sigla
      he RISM Libraries Sigla Database identifies more than 6,250 libraries worldwide that hold music materials relevant to RISM series. All libraries are identified by name and RISM siglum. Other information provided may include the addresses.

      RISM Bibliographic Citations Database
      The RISM Bibliographic Citations Database contains references for all thematic catalogues and other secondary sources cited in the RISM A/II Music Manuscripts Database.

    One RISM A/II database freely available online is
    Music Manuscripts (1600 to 1800) in British and Irish Libraries
    [http://www.rism-ukie.org/hms/home.php?publiclogin=1]

  • B/I-II -- Printed music in collections, 1500-1799

    • B/I -- Lesure, François. Recueils imprimés, XVIe-XVIIe siècles: liste chronologique = Printed collections, 16th-17th centuries: chronological list. (München-Duisberg, 1960).

    • B/II -- Lesure, François. Recueils imprimés, XVIIIe siècle. (München-Duisberg, 1961). [Note: Supplement in François Lesure, "Recueils imprimés, XVIIIe siècle (RISM, B II) Supplement," Notes 28 (1971-72): 397-418.

  • B/III -- The theory of music from the Carolingian age (c. 9th century) to c.1500

    • B/III/1 -- Waesberghe, Joseph Smits van. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to 1400, I: descriptive catalogue of manuscripts (München-Duisberg, 1961).

    • B/III/2 -- Fischer, Pieter. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to 1400, II: Italy (München-Duisberg, 1968).

    • B/III/3 -- Huglo, Michel, and Christian Meyer. The theory of music: manuscripts from the Carolingian era up to c.1500 in the Federal Republic of Germany (München, 1986).

    • B/III/4 -- Huglo, Michel, and Nancy C. Phillips. The theory of music: manuscripts from the Carolingian era up to c.1500 in Great Britain and in the United States of America (München, 1992).

    • [B/III/5] -- Meyer, Christian, et al. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to c.1500: descriptive catalogue of manuscripts: Nachträge zu Deutschland, Österreich, Slowakei, Tschechei, Ungarn, Spanien, Schweden. (München, 1997).

    • [B/III/6] -- Ruino, Cesarino, et al. The theory of music from the Carolingian era up to c.1500: descriptive catalogue of manuscripts: Nachträge zu Italien und Frankreich. (München, 2003).

  • B/IV -- Manuscripts of polyphonic music, 11th-16th centuries

    • B/IV/1 -- Reaney, Gilbert. Manuscripts of polyphonic music: 11th-early 14th century (München-Duisberg, 1966).

    • B/IV/2 -- Reaney, Gilbert. Manuscripts of polyphonic music (c.1320-1400) (München-Duisberg, 1969).

    • B/IV/1-2 Suppl. -- Wathey, Andrew. Manuscripts of polyphonic music: the British Isles, 1100-1400 (München, 1993).

    • B/IV/3-4 -- von Fischer, Kurt, and Max Lütolf. Handschriften mit mehrstimmiger Musik des 14., 15., und 16. Jahrhunderts (München-Duisberg, 1972).

    • B/IV/5 -- Bridgman, Nanie. Manuscrits de musique polyphonique, IVe et XVIe siècles: Italie (München, 1991)

  • B/V -- Manuscripts of tropes and sequences

    • B/V/1 -- Husmann, Heinrich. Tropen-und Sequenzen Handschriften (München-Duisberg, 1964)

    • [B/V/2] -- Deusen, Nancy van. Katalog der mittelalterlichen Sequenzen. (In preparation)

  • B/VI -- Printed writings about music, to 1800

    • B/VI/1-2 -- Lesure, François. Écrits imprimés concernant la musique. (München-Duisberg, 1971).

  • B/VII -- Lute and guitar tablatures

    • B/VII -- Boetticher, Wolfgang. Handschriftlich überlieferte Lauten- und Gitarrentabulaturen des 15. Bis 18. Jahrhunderts (München-Duisberg, 1978).

  • B/VIII -- The German hymn

    • B/VIII/1 -- Ameln, Konrad, et al. Das deutsche Kirchenlied: kritische Gesamtausgabe der Melodien: Verzeichnis der Drucke von den Anfängen bes 1800 (Kassel,1975); Register (Kassel, 1980)

  • B/IX -- Hebrew sources of music and music theory

    • B/IX/1 -- Adler, Israel. Hebrew notated manuscript sources up to circa 1840: a descriptive catalogue with a checklist of printed sources (München, 1989)

    • B/IX/2 -- Adler, Israel. Hebrew writings concerning music in manuscripts and printed books from Geonic times up to 1800 (Kassel, 1975); Register (Kassel, 1989)

  • B/X -- Arabic sources of music and music theory

    • B/X -- Shiloah, Amnon. The theory of music in Arabic writings (c.900 - 1900): descriptive catalogue of manuscripts in libraries of Europe and the U.S.A. (München, 1979)

    • B/X A -- Shiloah, Amnon. The theory of music in Arabic writings (c.900 - 1900): descriptive catalogue of manuscripts in libraries of Egypt, Israel, Morocco, Russia, Tunisia, Uzbekistan, and supplement to B X (München, 2003).

  • B/XI -- Ancient sources of music and music theory

    • B/XI -- Mathieson, Thomas J. Ancient Greek music theory: a catalogue raisonné of manuscripts (München, 1988)

  • B/XII -- Persian sources of music and music theory

    • B/XII -- Massoudieh, Mohammed Taghi. Manuscrits persans concernant la musique: catalogue (München, 1996)

  • B/XIII -- Sources of hymnody (In preparation)

  • B/XIV -- Manuscripts of processionals (liturgical books)

    • B/XIV/I -- Huglo, Michel. Autriche á Espagne (München, 1999)
    • B/XIV/II -- Huglo, Michel. Autriche á France à Afrique du Sud (München, 2004)

  • B/XV -- Masses transmitted in sources from Spain, Portugal and Latin America

    • B/XV -- Urchueguía, Cristina. Mehrstimmige Messen in Quellen aus Spanien, Portugal und Lateinamerika, ca. 1490-1630: Drucke, Handschriften und verlorene Quellen (München, 2005)

  • C -- Directory of music research libraries

    • C/I -- Kahn, Marian, et al. Canada and the United States, 2nd rev. ed. (Bärenreiter, 1983)

    • C/II -- Benton, Rita. Thirteen European countries [Austria, Belgium, Switzerland, Federal Republic of Germany, German Democratic Republic, Denmark, Ireland, Great Britain, Luxemburg, Norway, Sweden, Finland]. (Iowa City, 1970)

    • C/III -- Benton, Rita. Spain, France, Italy, Portugal. (Iowa City, 1972)

    • C/IV -- Hill, Cecil, et al. Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand. (Kassel, 1979)

    • C/V -- Moldovan, James B., and Lilian Pruett. Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Yugoslavia. (Kassel, 1985)

    return to top

    Additional bibliographies to musical sources

      General sources

    • Eitner, Robert. Biographische-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelerhten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des 19.Jahrhunderts.... Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1898-1904, 10 vols; (Reprint, Graz: Akademische Druk- u. Verlagsanstalt, 1959, 11 vols. in 6).
      LOCATION: PA LIB REF
      CALL NUMBER: ML105.E4 1959
      Eitner used to be the primary bibliography for identifying sources before 1800, but it is now badly out of date. Many of the locations of sources are now incorrect. However, it still remains useful for identifying sources lost during the two world wars, since it was published before them.

      Early music

    • Brown, Howard. Instrumental music printed before 1600: a bibliography. Cambridge: Harvard Univ. Press, 1965.
      LOCATION: PA LIB REF
      CALL NUMBER: ML128.I65B77
      A bibliography of early printed instrumental music.

    • Census-catalogue of manuscript sources of polyphonic music, 1400-1550. Compiled by the University of Illinois Musicological Archives for Renaissance Manuscript Studies. Neuhausen-Stuttgart: American Institute of Musicolgy, Hänssler, 1979-88. (Renaissance manuscript studies)
      LOCATION: PA LIB REF
      CALL NUMBER: ML135.C4 1979 vols.1-5
      This catalog provides descriptions and analyses of sources of Renaissance polyphony. Comprehensive; virtually all known sources are included in the catalog. Organized by location of the institution holding the original source. Includes an extended bibliography of secondary sources, and index of persons, places, RISM numbers, and watermarks.

      Vol. I : A-J
      Vol. II : K-O
      Vol. III : P-U
      Vol. IV : V-Z and Supplement
      Vol. V : Cumulative bibliography and indices

      Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

      What is your current status?
      Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

      How did you find this research guide?

      What did you use this guide for?   

      Did you find this guide useful?
      Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

      How could this guide be improved?
        

      return to top

  •  

    © 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
    Last modified: August 22, 2008

    Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
    University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search