|
Last revised: July 2009
Aerospace Engineering
Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information resources in the field of Aerospace Engineering. For further assistance, e-mail the subject specialist Jim Miller at jmiller2(@umd.edu).
REFERENCE WORKS
The following resources may be helpful for looking up quick facts,
definitions, and basic principles of aerospace engineering.
In Print
- The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary (2004)
EPSL Reference : TL509.G88 2004
Dictionary of technical terms and acronyms used in aerospace engineering.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology (2001)
EPSL Reference : TL788.W54 2001
Dictionary of space science and technology covering subject areas such as spaceflight, propulsion, orbits, and astronomy.
- Dictionary of Aviation (2005)
EPSL Reference : TL509.C76 2005
Definitions for over 5,000 terms used by air traffic controllers, pilots, cabin crews, ground staff, and other airline personnel.
- An Illustrated Dictionary of Aviation (2005)
EPSL Reference : TL509.K78 2005
Dictionary containing over 7,400 terms and 2,400 illustrations covering all segments of aviation.
- The Standard Handbook for Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineers (2003)
EPSL Reference : TL509.S664 2003
Standard reference for explanations, data, and diagrams related covering a variety of aspects of aerospace engineering such as engineering mathematics and principles, propulsion, aerodynamics, and avionics.
- The Avionics Handbook (2001)
EPSL Reference : TL695.A8163 2001
Handbook on the design, construction, and testing of modern military and civil aircraft avionics systems.
- Encyclopedia of Technical Aviation (2003)
EPSL Reference : TL509.B75 2003
Encyclopedia offering coverage of a wide range of technical aviation topics such as aerodynamics, engines, atmospheric science, and type qualifications.
- Encyclopedia of Flight (2002)
EPSL Reference : TL509.E56 2002
Encyclopedia of topics related to the history and science of human flight. Provides broad coverage of all categories of flying craft, both civil and military, including gliders, dirigibles, biplanes, rockets, missiles, and satellites.
- World Aviation Directory & Aerospace Database (2003)
EPSL Reference : TL512.A63
Directory of contact information for companies, people, and products/services in the aviation/aerospace industry.
return to top
Online
- Encyclopedia of Space Science
A comprehensive reference covering various aspects of astronomy and aerospace engineering.
- Encyclopedia Astronautica
Free online encyclopedia on the history of spaceflight.
- Aerofiles
Aerofiles is a comprehensive guide detailing the history of military, civil, and commercial aviation in North America from 1903 to 2003.
- Aviation Reference Desk
Provides a comprehensive list of aviation and aerospace links for industry professionals, pilots and enthusiasts. Topics include news, jobs, suppliers, organizations, engineering, statistics, airports, aircraft and more.
- Basics of Space Flight
The Basics of Space Flight is an online tutorial developed by Caltech's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) and NASA that covers a broad range of concepts associated with deep space missions.
- eFunda (Engineering Fundamentals)
eFunda provides an array of reference resources useful for engineers such as unit conversion, equations, online calculators, and material data.
- Science & Engineering Encyclopedia
Science and engineering descriptions, equations, conversions,
calculators and material data. Organized by A to Z, subject and interlinked.
- Selective Guide to Literature on Aerospace Engineering (PDF file)
A bibliography of information resources in aerospace engineering. Includes guides to literature, indexes and abstracts, Internet resources, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, specifications and standards, government documents, statistical sources, selected periodicals, and selected conference proceedings.
- Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing System (ASIAS)
Provides FAA aviation safety data.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopaedia Britannica, Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
return to top
LOCATING BOOKS
Locating Books at EPSL
To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM
Catalog. Often, the best way to find books on a particular topic is
to browse by subject. To
browse catalog subject headings select "Subject beginning with..." as
your search type and enter
your search term(s). Thus, for example, a subject search for "aircraft gas-turbines" would
return something like the following:

Click on the subject heading to view the list of books classified by
that heading.
Click here for further instructions on
searching the UM Catalog.
Another way of locating books on a particular topic may be to browse
the collections directly.
Books on similar topics are likely to be grouped together on the
shelves. Browsing the shelves
requires some familiarity with the Library of Congress Classification
system. In general, books on aerospace engineering are classified under call numbers beginning with TL500, but there may be relevant books in related classifications. Here's a list of classes that mat be of interest:
| KZD1002-6715 | Space law. Law of outer space. |
| QB1-191 | Astronomy. |
| RC1150 | Space life sciences. |
| TL500-777 | Aeronautics. Aeronautical engineering. |
| TL780-785.8 | Rocket propulsion. Rockets. |
| TL787-4050 | Astronautics. Space travel. |
| UG1500-1530 | Military astronautics. Space warfare. |
Click here for an overview of the
EPSL floor plan and a
tutorial on reading call numbers.
return to top
Locating Books at Other Libraries
Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond
those held by our libraries. The
best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the
University of Maryland and its
consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in
research libraries worldwide.
However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university
system you will need to
request an interlibrary loan.
return to top
LOCATING ARTICLES
To locate journals in your field of interest you can conduct a Journal Search
in the UM catalog or
browse the E-Journal collections
in Research
Port. To find precise articles on a topic, however, you will want to
search some of the following
electronic databases accessible through Research Port.
Core Aerospace Engineering Databases
The following databases are the primary electronic resources available
for locating journal
articles in Aerospace Engineering.
- Aerospace Database
Indexes journals, conference papers, reports, including those published by AIAA, IEEE, ASME, and more.
- AIAA Meeting Papers
Full text access to AIAA papers from 1988 - present.
- IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Database of NASA technical reports and scientific literature.
- NTIS
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
Abstracts of government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. (Coverage: 1964-present).
return to top
Related Engineering and Technology Databases
While not explicitly devoted to aerospace, the following engineering and technology databases may be useful for locating articles on related topics:
- Aluminum Industry Abstracts
Abstracts of international technical literature on aluminum production, applications, industry, metallurgy, ores, and testing.
- Compendex
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with engineering journals, conference materials, Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts and Computer & Control Abstracts.
- Engineered Materials
Journal articles, technical reports, conference papers and more on properties and applications of polymers, ceramics and composites.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine
This database is the definitive international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture.
- Inspec Archive, 1868-1968
- METADEX
Abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, patents and more on metals, metallurgy and materials science.
- Safety Science and Risk
Covers public health, safety, industrial hygiene, environmental and occupational risks and hazards.
- Science Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Virtually the only index for finding what papers have cited other papers.
- Science Direct
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions.
- USPTO Database
Bibliographic and full-text content of U.S. patents from U.S. Patent and Trademark Office web database.
return to top
Multidisciplinary Databases
The following are a list of general, multidisciplinary databases that may be helpful for your research:
- Academic Search Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
- Conference Papers
Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
- Digital Dissertations
This database is the authoritative source for information about and full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.
- Ingenta
Search or browse more than 20,000 publications from the Ingenta database. Some full text is available. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- WorldCat
Union catalog of books, journals, media, and archival materials in libraries worldwide.
To locate journals in your field of study conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse the E-Journal collections in Research Port. Click here for a select list of journals in aerospace engineering.
return to top
WEB RESOURCES
The following are some aerospace related resources available for
free on the web:
Search Engines and Gateways
Digital Libraries
Data Sets
Agencies/Professional Associations
return to top
DEPARTMENTAL PAGES
The following links provide information for staying abreast of events
in your department.
return to top
|