Agricultural Biotechnology
Scope: Biotechnology -- the use of genetically engineered organisms -- is being applied to major aspects of agriculture including the development of food crops and livestock, as well as enhancing the nutritional quality of foods and reducing the need for toxic pesticides and herbicides. This is a selective guide to campus library resources on Agricultural Biotechnology. Email the subject area specialist at sbaykouc (@umd.edu) or call (301) 405-9080 for more information.
To locate books, search the library's Catalog. Books can be searched by subject, author, title and more. Examples of
words and terms you may wish to use
to retrieve books on the subject of agricultural biotechnology are:
Agricultural Biotechnology
Animal Breeding
Animal Genetic Engineering
Animal Genetics
Biotechnology
Crops - Genetic Engineering
Field Crops - Genetics
|
Genetics
Livestock Breeding
Livestock Genetic Breeding
Plant Biotechnology
Plant Breeding
Plant Genetic Engineering
Plant Genetics |
Academic Search and other periodical indexes are available from the Libraries' Home Page.
return to top
Government departments and agencies such as the United States Department of Agriculture and
the National Agricultural Library (NAL) publish lists of articles, reports, books, and other
materials related to agricultural biotechnology.
Many of these bibliographies are available in the McKeldin Government Documents Room on the fourth floor. The following three documents are available from our Government Documents collection.
Sample Titles:
Dobert, Raymond and Kim Guenther. Biotechnology, Ti plasmids and other plant vectors :
January 1993 - June 1994. Beltsville, MD: National Agricultural Library, 1994.
LOCATION: Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC number A 17.18/4:94-59 (1994)
Leonard, Scott A. and Raymond Dobert. Biotechnology, commercialization and economic aspects:
January 1993 - June 1996. Beltsville, MD: National Agricultural Library, 1996.
LOCATION: Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC A 17.18/4:96-10
Dobert, Raymond. Biotechnology, risk assessment/biosafety: January 1992 - September
1995. Beltsville, MD: National Agricultural Library, 1996.
LOCATIONS: Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC A 17.18/4:96-01
To locate more bibliographies, try searching the catalog for the terms "Agricultural biotechnology bibliography". Change the search default from "words anywhere" to "subject words". This will locate bibliographies located here at UMCP.
return to top
Several campus libraries have excellent reference sources to help you with your search for
information on Agricultural Biotechnology. The following are some sources you may want to
review.
The Biotechnology Directory. 1994. New York: Nature Press, 1985-.
LOCATIONS: Chemistry library Reference
CALL NUMBER: TP248.3.B7 2001
A directory of products, companies, research, and organizations worldwide.
Crafts-Lighty, A. Information Sources in Biotechnology. Second Edition. New York:
Stockton Press, 1986.
LOCATIONS: Engineering library Reference, Chemistry library Reference.
CALL NUMBER: TP248.3.C72 1986
Bibliography of books, audio visual media, conferences, periodicals, trade information, and
secondary sources, including biotechnology databases.
Biotechnology Guide U.S.A.:companies, data and analysis. 4th Edition. Research
Triangle Park, NC:Institute for Biotechnology Information,
1997
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Reference
CALL NUMBER: HD9999.B443.U63 1997
Federal Biotechnology Information Resources Directory. Washington, D.C.:
OMEC International. 1987.
LOCATIONS: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TP248.17 .F42 1987
A directory of Federal Government information resources relevant to biotechnology.
Moo-Young, Murray (ed.) Comprehensive Biotechnology. The Principles, Applications,
and Regulations of Biotechnology in Industry, Agriculture, and Medicine. (4 volumes).
Oxford, New York: Pergamon, 1985.
LOCATIONS: Chemistry Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: TP248.2.C66 1985
North American Biotechnology Directory. Houston, Tx.: Atlantic Communications. 1998.
LOCATIONS: Engineering Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: TP248.17.N67 1998/1999
Rapp, Barbara A., ed. Biotechnology Information Sources: North and South America.
Medford, NJ: Learned Information, Inc., 1994
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TP 248.17.R36 1994
Woodman, William F., Mark C. Shelly II, Brian J. Reichel. Biotechnology and the Research
Enterprise: A Guide to the Literature. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, Engineering Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: TP248.2.W64 1989.
Refer especially to Chapter 7, "Related Issues in Biotechnology," for references to agricultural
and related biotechnology information sources.
return to top
Agricultural Biotechnology spans a broad range of disciplines. By using
UMCP's various periodical indexes and abstracts you can find many journal
articles, papers, and technical reports dealing with virtually every aspect
of biotechnology as applied to agriculture. Both paper and electronic
indexes (articles databases) are listed here. While there are many indexes
and abstracts, the following ones are especially useful: UM Only: These databases are only accessible to UM
affiliates. To access from off-campus, access these through Research
Port. Log in using your last name and your barcode number. That is
the number on the back of your UM ID.
AgBiotechNet
Developed by CAB International. Now found as a source (SO:) by title in CAB (EBSCOhost). Provides access to current information on agricultural biotechnology and biosafety.
AGRICOLA [Bibliography of
Agriculture]. UM Only 1942 - . Monthly. LOCATIONS: Online (under databases) and Government Documents SU DOC A 17.18:
STACKS.
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.U572
This is a monthly compilation of published literature in agriculture and
allied sciences. It is based upon the records found in AGRICOLA. The Bibliography
includes citations to journal articles, pamphlets, government documents,
new serials, theses, patents, software, audiovisuals, and other materials.
Begin your search with the keyword Biotechnology in the
Subject Index. Searchable as AGRICOLA (1970-) from the Libraries Home
Page.
Animal Breeding Abstracts. Monthly. v.1-63,v.66 (1933/1934-1995,1998)
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF1.A63
Keyword access is by specific animal, name, process, technique, or term.
BIOSIS Previews UM Only 1926 - .
LOCATIONS: Online & Print: McKeldin Periodical Stacks, Chemistry Library Microfilm (1927-1975)
CALL NUMBER: QH301.B37
This is published bi-monthly and covers virtually all
aspects of the biological sciences. BIOSIS Previews covers 1995 - present.
Biological & Agricultural Index. 1964 - Print
(continues The Agricultural Index, 1916-1964, at the same call number).
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.A45
This publication is a cumulative subject index to English language periodicals. Subjects indexed
span virtually all major agriculture and agriculture-related fields. Start your search with the
keyword Agricultural Biotechnology.
Biotechnology
Abstracts. 1982 - .
LOCATION(S): Online UM Only
Covers literature on research, applications, regulatory developments, and patents across all areas of biotechnology and
bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental, and marine biology. Searchable online from
1982-Present on the UM Libraries Home Page.
CAB
Abstracts (1973-present), UM
Only Information about articles from international agriculture
journals and related fields from the Center for Agriculture and Biosciences
International (CABI). Coverage of agricultural subdisciplines includes
animal and poultry science, crop science, agricultural engineering, human
and animal nutrition, forestry and veterinary medicine.
Current Biotechnology Abstracts. Monthly. 1984 -1990.
LOCATIONS: Chemistry Library Bound Periodicals
CALL NUMBER: TP248.2.C87
(Now called Current Biotechnology. Chemistry Library Bound Periodicals
TP248.2.C871)Current Biotechnology. Monthly. 1991- . CBA covers published
literature on biotechnology and biotechnological processing. Items selected
include full articles, reviews, technical reports, technical news items,
and books. Section 10 of each volume pertains to agriculture, or refer
to the Subject Index with more specific keywords.
Genetics Abstracts, UM Only.
Monthly. 1968 - .
LOCATIONS: Online [UM Only] and McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH431.G432
Genetics Abstracts covers all aspects of molecular, viral, bacterial, fungal, algal, plant, animal,
and human genetics. Access through the Subject Index is by very specific keywords such as
cattle, corn, etc. Searchable from the Libraries Home Page.See Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
Plant Breeding Abstracts. Monthly. 1934 - 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB123.P54
Keyword access is by specific plant, name, process, technique or scientific term.
Poultry Abstracts. Monthly. 1978 - .
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF481.P64
Keyword access is by specific breed, name, process, technique, or scientific term.
Rural Development Abstracts. Published quarterly. 1978 - .
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD1417.R8.
RDA deals with rural development in the Developing Countries. Its broad coverage includes
agricultural
and industrial production, investment, development projects, health, aid, and women. Begin
your search with the keyword Biotechnology.
Science Citation Index.
Published bimonthly. 1961 - . UM Only
LOCATIONS: Online [UM Only],McKeldin Periodical Stacks [19961-1995, Chemistry Library Bound Periodicals [1970-1991]
CALL NUMBER: Z7401.S365
SCI is an international interdisciplinary index to the literature of science, medicine, agriculture,
technology, and the behavioral sciences. Begin your search with the keywords
Agricultural Biotechnology and/or
Biotechnology-Agriculture.
Searchable on the Libraries Home Page.
Soils and Fertilizers. Published monthly. 1938 - 1998.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.S67.
Keyword access is by specific name, subject, or technical term.
Telegen Reporter. Published monthly. 1985, 1986, 1988 and 1989.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TP248.2.T44 (for 1989 see Telegen Abstracts, TP248.2.T441)
Telegen Reporter monitors all aspects of biotechnology with over 300 summaries of articles,
reports, and conference proceedings indexed by subject, source, author, and SIC code. To begin
your search for the broad applications of agricultural biotechnology, skim the applicable Review
Classification summaries. The "How to Use the Reporter" section also provides steps for finding
more specific topics.
return to top
AgBioForum
A quarterly on-line magazine devoted to the economics and
management of agricultural biotechnology.
AgNIC (http://www.agnic.org/)
Agricultural Network Information center.
FAO Biotechnology Subject Information (http://www.fao.org/BIOTECH/index.asp)
(Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) Provides links to major FAO biotechnology websites and access to
documents on biotechnology in general, food and nutrition, plants and crop production, livestock, post-harvest and food
processing, and forestry.
Information Systems for Biotechnology
Developed at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University to provide information resources to support the
environmentally responsible use of agricultural biotechnology products. Contains documents, databases, and links to websites
dealing with agricultural and environmental biotechnology research and product development.
Yahoo! Biotechnology
return to top
The following are some books and reports which present a good overview of the topic
Agricultural Biotechnology. There are, however, many more in the collection.
Animal Biotechnology: Science Based Concerns.
Board on Agriculture and Natural Resources (BANR), Board on Life Sciences (BLS), National Academies Press. 2002.
Farrington, John (ed.) Agricultural Biotechnology: Prospects for the Third World.
London: Overseas Development Institute, 1989.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.B563A38 1989b
Gendel, Steven M. et al (eds.) Agricultural Bioethics: Implications of Agricultural
Biotechnology. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1990.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.B563A37 1990
Goodman, David. From Farming to Biotechnology: A Theory of Agro-Industrial
Development. New York: Basil Blackwell, 1987.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD1433.G66 1987
Lacy, William B., Lawrence Busch (eds.) Biotechnology and Agricultural Cooperatives:
Opportunities and Challenges. Lexington: Kentucky Agricultural Experiment Station,
1988.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S540.A3B4 1988
Krimsky, Sheldon and Roger Wrubel. Agricultural Biotechnology and The Environment:
Science, Policy and Social Issues. Chicago, University of Illinois Press, 1996.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.B563K75 1996
Mizrahi, Avshalom (ed.) Biotechnology in Agriculture. Advances in Biotechnological
Processes. V. 9. New York: Alan R. Liss, 1988.
LOCATIONS: Engineering library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Stacks TP248.3.A385 Vol. 9
Molnar, Joseph J., Henry Kinnucan (eds.) Biotechnology and the New Agricultural
Revolution. Boulder: Westview Press, Inc., 1989.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.B563B54 1989
National Research Council (U.S.) Committee on a National Strategy for Biotechnology in
Agriculture. Agricultural Biotechnology: Strategies for National Competitiveness.
Washington, D.C.: National Academy Press, 1987.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Stacks
Call Number: S494.5.B563N37 1987
Whitaker, John R., Philip E. Sonnet (eds.) Biocatalysis in Agricultural Biotechnology.
Washington, D.C.: American Chemical Society, 1989.
LOCATIONS: Chemistry Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.B563B5 1989
return to top
|