Navigation  
Bar
Guides to Information Resources

Biological Resources Engineering

Scope: This guide covers resources related to Biological Resources Engineering. Agricultural engineering, a term traditionally used for the application of engineering princles to agriculture, is included here, however Biological Resources Engineering also includes such diverse topics as maintaining and improving farm equipment, land and resource management, and genetic engineering. Email the subject area specialist at daustin (@umd.edu) or call (301)314-0014 for more information.

Table of Contents

Locating References using the library Catalog

To locate books, search the Catalog

Books in the Catalog can be searched by subject, author, title, call number or keyword. Some subject headings that you can use to find materials on Bioresources Engineering are: 
 
 

Agricultural biotechnology
Agricultural engineering
Agricultural engineers
Agricultural mechanics
Agricultural processing
Animal housing - environmental engineering
Aquacultural engineering
Biochemical engineering
Biomedical engineering
Biomedical Materials
Biotechnological process control
Biotechnological process monitoring
Biotechnology
Dairy engineering
Drainage
Electric power plants - environmental aspects
Environmental auditing
Environmental engineering
Environmental geotechnology
Environmental impact consultants
Environmental impact statements
Environmental monitoring
Environmental testing
Farm equipment
Forestry engineering
Greenhouses - environmental engineering
Human engineering
Irrigation engineering
Life Sciences engineering
Petroleum chemical industry - environmental aspects
Phytotron - environmental engineering
Water Quality Managemnet
Water resources development
Water resources - environmental aspects
Water resources - system engineering
Wineries - environmental engineering

return to top

Handbooks, Guides and References


International Commission of Agricultural Engineering. CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering c1999.
Volume. 1. Land and water engineering / volume editor, H.N. van Lier 
Volume. 2. Animal production & aquacultural engineering / volume editors, El Houssine Bartali [and] Frederick Wheaton 
Volume. 3. Plant production engineering / volume editor, Bill A. Stout 
Volume. 4. Agro-processing engineering / volume editor, F.W. Bakker-Arkema
Volume. 5. Energy & biomass engineering / volume editor, Osamu Kitani.
LOCATION: Engineering Library's Reference Section:
CALL NUMBER: S675.C54 1999 

Carl W. Hall and Wallace C. Olsen, (eds.)The Literature of Agricultural Engineering 
LOCATION: Engineering Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S674.3.L58 1992 

ASTM.Selected ASTM standards for agricultural engineering students 1981.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: S675.S454 Noncirculating* (*does not check out of the library)

    return to top

    Indexes, Abstracts and Databases

    UM only: because of licensing agreements, most of these databases can be used only by current faculty, staff and students of the University of Maryland, College Park or by onsite library users. UMCP faculty, staff and students can access them through the campus network or Research Port. Read more about remote access.

    Agricola (1970-present)  UM only. Index of journals and other items received by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions.  Covers all aspects of agriculture and contains some abstracts.  A list of subject category codes that may be used for searching the database can be found at http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/. Additional subject terms can be found in the NAL Agricultural Thesaurus at http://agclass.nal.usda.gov/agt/agt.shtml

    Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts  UM only. 
    Covers agricultural research involving plants, aminals, food, genones and the environment.  For help finding subject terms, search the thesaurus found under the Search Tools link at the bottom of the front page of the database.

    ASFA-Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts UM only.

    Biotechnology Abstracts UM only. Abstract of articles, books patents, etc. related to biotechnology.

    CAB Abstracts (1973-present) UM only.
    Index of articles on all agricultural related topics.  CAB Abstracts has a more international focus than Agricola.

    Ecology Abstracts UM only.

    Environmental Engineering Abstracts  UM only.

    Water Resources Abstracts UM only

    return to top

    Internet Sites

    Associations, Academic Departments and Organizations

    The American Society for Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) [http://www.asae.org/]

    The International Commission of Agricultural Engineering (CIGR)  [http://www.cigr.org/]

    Natural Resource, Agricultural, and Engineering Service (NRAES), [http://www.nraes.org/] NRAES is an interdisciplinary, issue-oriented program sponsored by cooperative extension of fourteen member land grant universities whose mission is to assist faculty and staff at member universities in increasing the public availability of research- and experience-based knowledge.

    The Biological Resources Engineering Department at the University of Maryland  [http://www.bre.umd.edu/home.html]

    Online Publications

    Agricultural Engineering Publications, Newsletter from the Maryland Cooperative Extension Service. [http://www.agnr.umd.edu/MCE/Publications/]

    The CIGR Journal of Agricultural Engineering Scientific Research and Development , Full text articles from CIGR's E-Journal. [http://cigr-ejournal.tamu.edu/]

    Canadian Biosystems Engineering, Online journal of the Canadian Society for Engineering in Agriculture, Food, and Biological Systems (CSAE). [http://www.engr.usask.ca/societies/csae/journal.html]

    Agricultural Engineering publications, from the Missouri University Extension Service  [http://muextension.missouri.edu/xplor/agguides/agengin/]

    Other Online Guides of Interest

    Agricultural Biotechnology

    Wetland and Water Quality

    return to top

     
     

    © 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
    Last modified: August 11, 2007

    Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
    University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search