Navigation  
Bar
Guides to Information Resources

Agriculture

Scope: This guide will lead you to books, articles, journals, non-print sources, and other materials in McKeldin Library on the subject of agriculture. Agriculture covers a wide variety of disciplines, including aspects of animal science, crop science, botany, ecology, economics, engineering, entomology, horticulture, hydrology, microbiology, food and nutrition, and soil science.

For more information, refer to Subject Guides on Animal Science, Biological Resources Engineering, Horticulture, Nutrition and Food Science, Plant Diseases and Soil Science. Email the subject area specialist at daustin (@umd.edu) or call (301)314-0014 for more information.

Table of Contents

Locating Resources Using the Catalog

To locate books and other materials held by the library, search the Catalog. Subject searches will locate words and terms when they appear in the title, subject headings or notes of a record. The term "agriculture" will retrieve many titles, so be sure to limit your search by adding additional terms or otherwise narrowing the scope of your search. Examples of words and phrases you may wish to use to retrieve books on the subject of agriculture are:

Agricultural chemicals
Agricultural conservation
Agricultural credit
Agricultural ecology
Agricultural economics
Agricultural engineering
Agricultural industries
Agricultural innovations
Agricultural processing
Agricultural pollution
Agricultural systems
Agricultural wastes
Agriculture--Research
Agriculture, Cooperative
Agroforestry
Animal science
Conservation tillage
Cropping systems
Drainage
Dairy farming
Entomology
Environmental risk assessment
Farm management
Farmers
Fertilizers
Forests and forestry
Horticulture
Irrigation
Livestock
Mathematical models
Microbiology
Natural resources
Noxious weeds
Organic farming
Pest control
Pesticides
Phytoremediation
Plant diseases
Plant nutrients
Plants
Precision farming
Ranching
Range Management
Rural Development
Soils
Swine--Breeding
Traditional farming
Veterinary medicine
Water quality
Water supply
Wildlife

Try a sample Catalog search on Agricultural conservation.

These terms can also be used to locate materials in other online resources such indexes and abstracts. Please note: These terms represent only a small sample of all agricultural concepts.

Bibliographies, Guides to Publications and Style Guides

 

Besterman, Theodore. Agriculture: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. 1971.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5071.A1B4
Bibliography useful for historical or international research.

Bibliography of Maryland Agriculture (UM online)
[http://www.lib.umd.edu/agriculture/usain/]
University of Maryland Library Archives web resource as a participant of the National Program for the Preservation of Agricultural Literature. Program sponsored by the Unites States Agriculture Information Network (USAIN) .

Blanchard, J. Richard, and Lois Farrell. Guide to Sources for Agricultural and Biological Research.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks, McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: S493.G85 1981.
Guide covers all areas of life sciences research including books, journals, dissertations, directories, textbooks, and computer databases.

Guither, Harold D., and Harold G. Halcrow. The American Farm Crisis: An Annotated Bibliography with Analytical Introductions. 1989.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5075.U5R63 1989
Combines introductory material with a bibliography covering the technological, social, cultural, political, and financial pressures on American agriculture.

Island Press Bibliography of Environmental Literature. Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, 1993.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH541.I84 1993
Comprehensive guide to all life sciences literature. Indexes books, articles, audio-visuals, films, and other hard-to-find materials, both academic and non-technical.

Online Publications Handbook and Style Manual 1998.
American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA).

[Table of Contents]

Dictionaries, Directories, and Statistics


Agricultural Information Resource Centers: A World Directory. 2000.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Folio
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.I47.A47 2000
Guide gives complete information on the leading agricultural libraries and research facilities in the world. Indexed by country, city, institution, and subject.

Agricultural Statistics. Annual. 1936 -.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents SU DOC; Web (1995-2004)
CALL NUMBER: A 1.47/2
www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm
Annual compilation of U. S. agricultural statistics includes agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs and production estimates.

Census of Agriculture. Periodic. 1860 -.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents SU DOC; Web (1992-2002)
CALL NUMBER: GP 3.22/2:277
http://www.nass.usda.gov/Census_of_Agriculture/index.asp
Provides detailed, comprehensive agricultural statistics for every county in the United States and includes data on specialized and small-scale agriculture. Published every five years.

Conservation Directory. Annual.
Washington, DC: National Wildlife Federation, 1996.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SK361.N42
Latest edition only.

Dunster, Julian. Dictionary of Natural Resource Management. Vancouver: UBC Press, University of British Columbia, 1996.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S922.D86 1996

Herren, Ray V., and Roy L. Donahue. The Agriculture Dictionary. 1991.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S411.H47 1991
Provides a brief definition of thousands of technical and non-technical terms used in agriculture, environmental sciences, life sciences, and biosciences.

Life Sciences Organizations and Agencies Directory. 1988.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QH321.L54 1988
Directory of organizations, research centers, consultants, government agencies and libraries active in the life sciences.

Lipton, Kathryn L. Dictionary of Agriculture: From Abaca to Zoonosis. L. Rienner, 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks and UMCP Networked Resources
CALL NUMBER: S411.L55 1995; S411.L55 1995eb
UM Link in Worldcat

Mamam, Marie and Thelma H. Tate. Women in Agriculture: A Guide to Research. NY: Garland Publishers, 1996.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks and McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD6073.A29M35 1996

World Environmental Directory. Irregular, 1974 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks and the 1989 volume is in McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TD173.5.W6
Comprehensive directory of environmental organizations and interests including: non-profit; research centers; government bodies; graduate and undergraduate programs; and a directory of environmental attorneys.

[Table of Contents]

General Indexes and Abstracts

To locate articles and other sources on your subject select an index or abstract and look for keywords or subject headings related to the subject. Search the Catalog by the journal title to see if McKeldin or another UM library holds the title.

Agriculture and Environment for Developing Regions. Monthly. 1996 - 1999.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB111.A2A262
(Continues Tropical Abstracts, 1946-1974. MCK STOR H1.T7 and Abstracts on Tropical Agriculture, 1975-1995. SB111.A2A26)
Covers literature on the cultivation of food crops and industrial crops, animal husbandry, forage and pastures, farming systems, and farm management in tropical and subtropical regions.

Agrindex. Monthly, 1975 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S18.A5
(MCK has from 1975 to 1985 and from 1988-1995)
Produced by FAO, this monthly publication indexes all areas of agricultural research by FAO. Indexed by author, subject, patent, commodity, and geographic region.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts -- Part One: Biological Sciences and Living Resources. 1978 - . UM only
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks(1978-1996) CALL NUMBER: QH90.A641
(Continues in part, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, 1971 - 1977)
Covers all areas of aquatic and marine sciences, indexing books, journals, conference proceedings, and international literature.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts -- Part Two: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources Living Resources. 1978 - . UM only
LOCATION(S): Engineering Library Reference(1978-1996)
CALL NUMBER: QH90.A642
(Continues in part Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, 1971- 1977)

Bibliography of Agriculture. Monthly. 1942-1975 and 1980-1999
LOCATION(S): Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.18
Searchable online as AGRICOLA since 1970. UM only
Covers all aspects of agriculture. Good resource for searching for extension literature and audiovisual materials relating to agricultural fields.

Biological and Agricultural Index. Monthly. 1964-2001.
(continues The Agricultural Index, 1916-1964, at the same call number)
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.A45
Indexes English language publications in all field of research related to agriculture and biology.

CAB Abstracts. 1973 - . UM only
Similar in scope to AGRICOLA but more comprehensive, over 10,000 international journals in more than 75 languages are scanned for articles relating to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Books, reports, proceedings, theses and patents are also indexed. Extension literature is excluded.

Current Contents: Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences. Weekly. 1973 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks (Latest 6 months only)
CALL NUMBER: S1.C87
(MCK latest six months only)
Reproduces tables of contents of more than 1,040 journals; also covers latest books in relevant fields.

Digital Dissertations. UM only
Citations, abstracts (1980 - present) and full text (UM dissertations 1997 - present) for more than 1.6 million U.S. and international masters theses and doctoral dissertations.


Dissertation Abstracts International [Print version]. Monthly. 1938 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5055.U5A53
DAI indexes and abstracts doctoral and post-doctoral dissertations accepted in all disciplines from North American institutions since 1861 and from foreign institutions since 1969. DAI is a series of sets, which includes Comprehensive Dissertation Index, Masters Abstracts International, and American Doctoral Dissertations.

Experiment Station Record. 95 volumes. 1889 - 1946.
LOCATION(S): UMCP Off-Site Shelving
CALL NUMBER: S21.F78
Abstract record of U. S. Agricultural Experiment Station and U.S. Department of Agriculture research. Covers all areas of agricultural research.

Science Citation Index (Web of Science) 1945- . UM only
This unique source indexes over 5,000 international journals in the fields of science and technology. This source is unique because it includes indexing of the references for original papers. This feature is based on the assumption that there is a subject relationship between a paper and the books and papers cited in its bibliography. It is an excellent way to find more current related information from an earlier known work.

World Agricultural Information Centre Portal Page (WAICENT Information Finder) 2001- .
Provides agricultural information including relevant and reliable statistics, texts, maps, and multimedia resources. WAICENT is a framework developed and maintained by FAO.

[Table of Contents]

Indexes, Abstracting Services, and Resources By Subject

Indexes and abstracting services help you locate articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, and other sources on your subject. Develop a search strategy using keywords or subject headings related to your subject. After identifying articles of interest, search the Catalog by the journal title to find out whether the UM Libraries hold the title.

Agricultural Economics

American Bibliography of Agricultural Economics. 1971-1974.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5074.E3A6
Produced by the American Agricultural Economics Association. Indexes literature dated 1971-1974.

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics.
LOCATION(S): Internet Resource
URL: http://agecon.lib.umn.edu/
"AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development."

World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts. Monthly. 1959 - 1998.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD1401.W6
Covers regional land use and management, agricultural polices, economics, agribusiness, and rural development issues.

[Table of Contents]

Agricultural Engineering

Most materials on agricultural engineering are located at the Engineering and Physical Science Library.

Agricultural Engineering Abstracts. Monthly. 1977 - 1998.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S671 .A317
International coverage of research on such topics as new agricultural technologies, farm machinery and buildings, harvesting, and aquaculture.

[Table of Contents]

Breeding and Genetics

Animal Breeding Abstracts. Monthly. (1933/1934-1995,1998).
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF1.A63
Indexes and abstracts the literature on livestock, laboratory mammals, poultry, and other animal breeding and reproduction research.

Bibliography of Reproduction. Monthly. 1963 - 1992.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5322.R4B5
Monthly publication with 6 month indexes. Covers vertebrate reproductive biology and clinical sciences, and contains a calendar of related meetings.

Genetics Abstracts Monthly. 1968/69 - 1996. Online 1982- . UM only
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks, Online
CALL NUMBER: QH431.G432
All aspects of molecular, viral, bacterials, fungal, algal, plant, animal and human genetics are covered. Searchable Cambridge Scientific Abstracts 1982-present.

Plant Breeding Abstracts. Monthly. 1930 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB123.P54
Indexes literature related to plant breeding and production, including genetics, biosystematics, field crops, fruit and vegetable crops, and industrial crops (commercially important crops).

[Table of Contents]

Crop Science

Agronomy Abstracts. Annual. 1955 - 1997.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.A3
(continued by Annual Meeting Abstracts 1998- .)
Published yearly by the American Society of Agronomy. Catalog of publications presented at Agronomy Society meetings on all topics related to soil science.

Field Crop Abstracts. Monthly. 1948 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB183.F5
This journal provides international coverage of research on field crops, commercial uses of field crops, pest management, land use, and farming methods.

Herbage Abstracts. Monthly. 1939 - 1993.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB4.H38
(continued by Grasslands and Forage Abstracts 1994-1995, SB4.H381 MCK FOLIO)
International in scope, Herbage Abstracts covers land use and management, forage and feed, environmental management, ecology, and animal science.

Horticultural Abstracts. Monthly. 1939 - 1998.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB4.H5
International coverage of horticulture research including fruits and nuts, viticulture, vegetable production, and ornamental and florist plants.

Medicinal and Aromatic Plants Abstracts. Bimonthly. 1983 .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QK99.A1M48
International literature on all aspects of medicinal and aromatic plants, including taxonomy, diseases & pests, pharmacology, genetics, and new products.

Plant Breeding Abstracts. Monthly. 1930 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB123.P54
Indexes literature related to plant breeding and production, including genetics, biosystematics, field crops, fruit and vegetable crops, and industrial crops (commercially important crops).

Review of Plant Pathology. Monthly. 1970 - .
LOCATION(S): Online, McKeldin Periodical Stacks(1970-1995,1998)
CALL NUMBER: SB599.R41
(Continues Review of Applied Mycology. 1922-1969. McKeldin Stacks SB599.R4)
Indexes articles related to plant diseases, agrochemicals, systematic mycology, and agricultural crops.

[Table of Contents]

Entomology

Apicultural Abstracts. Quarterly. (1961,1964-2001) Latest 5 years in McKeldin Reference Stacks
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL568.A6A6
(Included as part of Bee World, 1950-1961, Apicultural Abstracts became separate publication in 1962 with v. 13. McKeldin Periodical Stacks QL568.A6B4)
Covers world literature on bees, including their pollinating activities, bee breeding and husbandry, and related subjects. Published by the International Bee Research Association.

Gilbert, Pamela and Chris J. Hamilton. Entomology: A Guide to Information Sources. 1990. 2nd. ed.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL463.G537 1990

[Table of Contents]

Forestry

Forestry Abstracts. Monthly. (1939/1940-1998).
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SD1.F656
This abstracting service covers the international literature on forestry, including silviculture, effects of climate, land use and management, forest policy and management, and environmental issues.

McDonald, Peter and James Lassoie, eds. The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 1996.
LOCATION(S): MCKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SD387.D6L58 1996
Print guide to the major resources of forestry and agroforestry incluces: databases; key journals; books, directories and education resources.

[Table of Contents]

Pest Management

Biocontrol News and Information. Quarterly. 1980 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks, Online
CALL NUMBER: SB975.B47
Contains news, review articles, and abstracts covering all aspects of the biological control of insects. Includes conference reports, special papers, book reviews, and journal articles.

Helminthological Abstracts. Monthly. 1932 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL386.A1H41
(MCK has selected years from 1932. Continues Helminthological Abstracts. A. Animal and Human Helminthology. McKeldin Reference QL386.A1H4; and Helminthological Abstracts. 1932-1969. McKeldin Reference QL392.H4)
Indexes the literature on all aspects of helminthology including animal hosts, pathology, immunology, parasite control, and biochemistry.

Nematological Abstracts. Quarterly. 1990 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks> CALL NUMBER: SB998.N4H451
(Continues Helminthological Abstracts - B: Plant Nematology, 1970-1989, McKeldin Periodical Stacks SB998.N4H45; and Helminthological Abstracts, 1932-1969, McKeldin Periodical Stacks QL392.H4)
Covers international research on plant parasites, environmental effects of pesticides, physiology, biology, and the effects of nematodes on specific plant categories. Also includes an extensive calendar of international conferences.

Review of Plant Pathology. Monthly. 1970 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks (1970-1995,1998), Online
CALL NUMBER: SB599.R41
(Continues Review of Applied Mycology, 1922-1969, McKeldin Periodical Stacks SB599.R4)
Indexes articles related to plant diseases, agrochemicals, systematic mycology, and agricultural crops.

Weed Abstracts. Monthly. 1958-1993.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5354.P3W4
This monthly international publication covers weed biology, herbicides, application machinery, commercial and tropical plants, and agriculture.

[Table of Contents]

Range Management

Vallentine, John F. Range Science: A Guide to Information Sources. 1980.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Stacks, McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF85.V3
A complete guide to the study of range science. Includes a guide to government and academic research programs, literature searching hints, key journals, and a bibliography of sources.

[Table of Contents]

Rural Development

AID Research and Development Abstracts. Quarterly. 1981 - .
LOCATION(S): Government Documents Microfiche
CALL NUMBER: S 18.47
List of all research funded by the Agency for International Development, with citations to reports published. Complete abstracts on publications in the areas of environment, development, economics and enterprise, and technology transfer.

Rural Development Abstracts. Quarterly. 1978 - 1998.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD1417.R8
Presents literature on rural development in developing countries, specifically concerning agricultural and industrial production, investment, development projects, health, and women in development.

[Table of Contents]

Soil Science

Materials on soil science are located in both McKeldin and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Library. See also the Subject Guide on Soil Science.

Bibliography of Agriculture. Monthly. 1943-1975 .
LOCATION(S): Government Documents SuDoc
CALL NUMBER: A 17.18
Searchable online via the Libraries Home Page as AGRICOLA since 1970.
Covers all aspects of agriculture.

Agronomy Abstracts. Annual. 1955 - 1997.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.A3
(continued by Annual Meeting Abstracts 1998 - )

Soils and Fertilizers. Monthly. 1938 - 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.S67

[Table of Contents]

Sustainable Agriculture

Berton, Valerie, ed. Sourcebook on Sustainable Agriculture for educators, producers and other agricultural professionals : a guide to books, newsletters, conference proceedings, bulletins, videos and more. Burlington, VT: Sustainable Agriculture Network : Sustainable Agriculture Publishers [distributor], c1997.
LOCATION:McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.S86A11 S68 1997

Sustainable Agriculture in Print, available on the NAL web site.

[Table of Contents]

Wildlife Management

Bookhout, Theordore, ed. Research and Management Techniques for Wildlife and Habitats. Bethesda, MD: The Wildlife Society, 1994.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SK355.R47 1994

Key-Word-Index of Wildlife Research. Annual. 1974 -1991.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL82.K49
Allows users to search the international literature by keyword, author, title, keyword-in-context, and by alphabetical and systematic species lists.

U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Wildlife Abstracts. Published every five years. 1935/51-1980.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SUDOC I49.17/2
Lists all wildlife research publications funded by the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service and is a bibliography and index of the abstracts in Wildlife Review. Indexed by title, author, systematic name, geographic region, and subject.

Wildlife Review. Bimonthly. 1935 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SUDOC I49.17
A review of the literature of wildlife management, arranged by subject.

[Table of Contents]

Internet Resources

Listed here are World Wide Web site you may use to begin your search for information on the Internet. These sites link to information on a variety of topics.

AgNIC [www.agnic.org]
The Agriculture Network Information Center was established by the USDA National Agricultural Library in alliance with land-grant universities and other agricultural-related organizations to provide a central source for accessing a wide range of agricultural and related information.

Agripedia
[www.ca.uky.edu/agripedia]
Developed at the University of Kentucky's College of Agriculture under an USDA Higher Education Program grant. A multimedia instructional resource concerned with the concepts, practices, and vocabulary of agriculture.

AgriSurf!
[www.agrisurf.com/agrisurfscripts/agrisurf.asp]
A large, searchable agricultural index.

ASA-CSSA-SSSA
[www.asa-cssa-sssa.org]
The American Society of Agronomy, the Crop Science Society of America and the Soil Science Society of America are three affiliated professional organizations.

ASABE
[www.asabe.org]
The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers, is an "educational and scientific organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems."

International Commission of Agricultural Engineering (CIGR)
[www.cigr.org]
The International Commission of Agricultural Engineering. Its primary aim is to "stimulate the development of science and technology in the field of agricultural engineering."

CRIS
[cris.csrees.usda.gov]
The Current Research Information System is the USDA's database of ongoing and recently completed publicly-supported research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.

CSREES State Partners
[www.csrees.usda.gov/qlinks/partners/state_partners.html]
USDA's directory of land-grant universities belonging to the Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service. Includes links to the websites of the participating schools of agriculture, forestry, and veterinary science, and links to state extension service and experiment station websites.

E-Answers
[e-answers.adec.edu]
Provides information on Extension-related topics and services.

Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
[www.fao.org]
United Nations. FAO is an intergovernmental agency with 183 member countries. It has lead responsibility within the United Nations for agriculture, forestry, fisheries and rural development.

Infomine
[http://infomine.ucr.edu/search/bioagsearch.phtml]
Scholarly Internet Resources Collection: Biological, Agricultural & Medical Sciences [infomine.ucr.edu/search/bioagsearch.phtml]. The University of California's gateway to all types of scholarly Internet resources.

Invasive Species Site from NAL
[http://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/]
National Agricultural Library. A gateway to Federal and State invasive species activities and programs. An invasive species is "non-native (or alien) to the ecosystem under consideration". This site includes information about the impact of invasive species, profiles of invasive species which can be animal, plant or microbe, and links to organizations. It is also the website for the National Invasive Species Council, which "coordinates Federal responses to the problem."

National Agricultural Library (NAL)
[www.nal.usda.gov]
Located in Beltsville, Maryland, is one of the richest sources of agricultural information in the region. NAL is open to the public and collects research materials in all areas of agricultural and general scientific research. The web site has links to nine USDA agricultural information centers and to Web sites around the world that contain agricultural information.

National Center for Manure & Animal Waste Management [www.cals.ncsu.edu/waste_mgt/natlcenter/center.htm]
Supported by a USDA Fund for Rural American Grant, the Center consists of 6 universities and a Policy Advisory Committee. Links to 20 White Papers "detailing the state of the science on topics related to animal production and waste management."

National Library for the Environment Resources in Agriculture
[cnie.org/NLE/CRSreports/Agriculture].

National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
Appropriate Technology Transfer for Rurual Areas (ATTRA) [attra.ncat.org], links to news, events, information resources, publications, and funding opportunities. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available.

Organic Agriculture at FAO
[www.fao.org/organicag]
organizes organic information resources available from FAO and provides other relevant links.

Organic Farming
[www.nal.usda.gov/afsic/ofp]
Information from NAL's Alternative Farming Systems Information Center.

Sustainable Agriculture Network
[www.sare.org]
"SAN is the communications and outreach arm of the Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) program. SARE is a U.S. Department of Agriculture-funded initiative that sponsors competitive grants for sustainable agriculture research and education in a regional process nationwide. SAN is dedicated to the exchange of scientific and practical information on sustainable agriculture systems using a variety of printed and electronic communications tools."

Soil and Water Conservation Society (SWCS)
[www.swcs.org]
"A nonprofit scientific and educational organization ... that serves as an advocate for conservation professionals and for science-based conservation practice, programs, and policy."

return to top

 
 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August, 2006

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search