|
Last revised: August 2007
Animal and Avian Sciences
Scope:This guide covers key reference
sources in the field of animal sciences, including animal breeding,
husbandry, and nutrition. For information on related topics, consult the
UM Libraries' guides on Agriculture, Animal
Welfare, Fisheries and Aquatic
Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
Email the subject area specialist at daustin (@umd.edu) or call
(301)314-0014 for more information.
To locate
books, search the UM Libraries' Catalog.
Keyword searches locate words and terms when they appear in the title,
subject headings or notes of a record. Limit your search by adding
additional terms or otherwise narrowing the scope of your search. Examples
of words and terms you may wish to use to retrieve materials on the
subject of animal science are:
Animal Behavior Animal Biotechnology Animal Breeding Animal
Cell Biotechnology Animal Communication Animal Ecology Animal
Genetic Engineering Animal Genetics Animal Husbandry Animal
Industry Animal Nutrition Animal Products Animal
Psychology Animal Waste Animals Dairying - Research Dairy
Farming Livestock Poultry
For more specific searching instructions, please Ask Us!.
- Bell, George H. A Guide to the Zoological Literature: The Animal Kingdom.
Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1994.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY
REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER: QL45.2.B44 1994
- Jensen, Richard D. and others. Agricultural and Animal Sciences
Journals and Serials: An Analytical Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1986.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY STACKS
(NON-CIRCULATING) CALL NUMBER: S493.J36 1986 Describes agricultural
serials by subject. Includes title, date, address of publisher, where
indexed, and gives an abstract of materials typically found in each
serial.
- Olsen, Wallace C., ed. The Literature of Animal Science and
Health. Ithaca, NY: Cornell Unversity, 1993.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN
LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER: SF22.5.L58 1993 An analysis of
the core literature and research. Lists core reference sources and
literature in the field.
- American
Kennel Club. The Complete Dog Book. New York: Howell Book House,
1992.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER:
SF427.C69 1992 The photograph, history, and standard of all AKC
registered breeds. General information on care, training, and selection of
dogs.
- Dohner, Janet Vorwald. The Encyclopedia of Historic and Endangered
Livestock and Poultry Breeds.
New Haven: Yale University Press.
2001. LOCATION: MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER:
SF105.275.U6D65 2001 Provides profiles of many different goat, sheep,
swine, cattle, equine and poultry breeds.
- Edwards, Elwyn Hartley. The New Encyclopedia of the Horse.
London: Dorling Kindersley. LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE
STACKS
CALL NUMBER: SF285.E345 2000 Description, pictures, history
and uses or all breeds of horses.
- Ensminger, M.E. and R.C. Perry. Beef Cattle Science. Danville,
IL: Interstate Publishers, 1997.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY
FOLIO CALL NUMBER: SF207.E5 1997 Excellent resource covering cattle
breeds, history, care and feeding, showing, and uses of cattle.
- Mason, I.L. Mason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types and
Varieties. 4th edition. Wallingford, UK: CABI Pub,
c2002.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER:
SF105.M34 2002 Comprehensive dictionary of all types and breeds of
livestock including pronounciation, breeding crosses, geographic range,
and description.
- Sakurai, Arsushi, Yohei Sadamoto, and Fumitoshi Mori. Aquarium Fish
of the World: The Comprehensive Guide to 650 Species. San Francisco,
CA: Chronicle Books, 1993.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE
STACKS CALL NUMBER: SF457.S24 1993 Full-color pictures and
descriptions of 650 species. Indexed by common name and scientific name.
These sources provide general or introductory information and guide researchers to more specific and technical information resources.
- Barrows, Edward M. Animal Behavior Desk Reference: a dictionary of
animal behavior, ecology, and evolution. Boca Raton: CRC Press,
2001.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER:
QL750.3.B37 2001 Dictionary arranged alphabetically with technical
descriptions, taxonomy, and additional citations.
- Battaglia, Richard A. Handbook of livestock management. 3rd
ed.
Upper Saddle River, NJ. Prentice Hall, 2001. LOCATION: MCKELDIN
LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS SF65.2.B38 2001 Covers management
information for cattle (beef, dairy), swine, horses, sheep, goats, and
poultry. In addition, has chapters on restraint techniques and animal
health. Has numerous appendices of skeletal diagrams, age-weight
relationships, gestation and incubation tables, absorptive capacities of
various bedding materials, etc. Glossary and index.
- Estes, Richard Despard. The Behavior Guide to African Mammals -
Including Hoofed Mammals, Carnivores, and Primates. Berkeley, CA: The
University of California Press, 1991.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY
REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER: QL731.A1E84 1991 Detailed guide to
animal behavior for specific species including social behavior,
communication, reproduction, postures, and geographic range.
- Feed Additive Compendium. 11 issues a year, 1973-1989,1993- .
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS CALL NUMBER:
SF95.F44 Handbook of animal feeds and feeding including laws and
legislation concerning additions to feeds and feeding, medical
supplements, feeding amounts, and breed and chemical specific information.
- Grzimek, Bernhard. Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. New York:
Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., 1976.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY
REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER: QL3.G7813 This 17 volume set
provides an in-depth overview of animal life by zoological classification.
Includes information on animal physiology, behavior, reproduction,
taxonomy, as well as general ecological information by species.
- Putnam, Paul A., ed. Handbook of Animal Science. San Diego:
Academic Press, Inc., 1991.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE
STACKS CALL NUMBER: SF65.2.H36 1991 Provides a general introduction
to animal science, including the history of animal science research,
animal nutrition and husbandry, animal breeds and population, and use and
consumption of livestock. Includes citations, tables, and charts.
- Woolham, Frank. The Handbook of Aviculture. Dorset, England:
Blandford Press, 1987.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE
STACKS CALL NUMBER: SF461.W66 1987 General introduction and
reference to all aspects of aviculture. Includes sections on care and
health of birds, along with detailed description and pictures of birds by
species.
Indexes and abstracts are tools to help you locate journal articles
and other sources on your subject. All of the titles below are indexes
and those with article summaries are called abstracts. In the online
electronic format, they are referred to as Databases. Choose one or
more of the titles below and look for keywords on your topic.
UM only Because of licensing agreements,
most of these databases can be used only by current faculty, staff,
and students of the University of Maryland, College Park or by onsite
library users. UMCP faculty, staff, and students can access elecronic
information through the campus network or Off Campus-Access: use Research Port
Read more about
remote access.
- Agris (1975-)
Print version:
Agrindex. McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks S18.A5 (1975-1985,
1988-1995) International information system for the agricultural
sciences and technology. Produced by the Food and Agricultural
Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. References to literature
produced by participating countries.
- Animal
Behavior Abstracts. 1973 - . UM only
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS(1982-1995) CALL
NUMBER: QL750.B541 (Continues Animal Behaviour Abstracts, 1973-1981)
Includes abstracts on all aspects of animal behavior, including
neurophysiology, ecology, genetics, and reproductive biology. Indexed by
author, subject, and taxonomy.
- Aquatic
Sciences Collection. 1978 - . UM
only
Print Version: Aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts.
Part 1: Biological sciences and living resources. LOCATION: MCK
PERSTK(1978-1996) CALL NUMBER: QH90.A641 (Continues, in part, Aquatic
Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, 1971 - 1977, MCK PERSTK
QH90.A64) Coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms.
All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and
environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of
aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal,
policy, and socioeconomic issues.
- AGRICOLA
UM only
(1970- ) Print version:
Bibliography of Agriculture GOVDOC SU DOC A 17.18 (1942- ) Produced by
the U. S. National Agricultural Library this is one of the major sources
of literature about agriculture and allied fields. Citations are collected
from international sources and include journal articles, pamphets,
government documents, reports, proceedings, books, theses, patents,
software, and audiovisuals.
- Apicultural Abstracts. Quarterly, 1961 - .
LOCATION: MCKELDIN
LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS (1961, 1964-2001). CALL NUMBER:
QL568.A6A6 (Included as part of Bee World, 1950- 1961, MCKELDIN
LIBRARY FOLIO SECTION QL568 .A6B4) Covers world literature on bees,
including their pollinating activities, bee breeding and husbandry, and
related subjects. Published by the International Bee Research Association.
- Bibliography of Reproduction. Monthly, 1963 - 1992.
LOCATION(S):
MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS CALL NUMBER: Z5322.R4B5 Covers
vertebrate reproductive biology and clinical sciences.
- Biological and Agricultural Index. UM
only
(1983- ) LOCATION: MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS
Z5073.A45 (1916/18-2001) Indexing approximately 225 English language
international journals including 17 of the major publications which
specifically cover nutrition and food science and technology. In addition
to articles, it also indexes book reviews.
- Biology
Digest (1989-) UM only
Biology Digest is
a compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international
literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for an
audience at the high school or undergraduate college level. Its purpose is
to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest
developments in biological research. Each of over 20,000 records contains
an original abstract averaging about 325 words. Key information such as
methods involved and conclusions drawn from the respective research is
retained.
[More
Information]
- BIOSIS
Previews UM only
(1970-) Information
about articles in over 5,500 life sciences journals. Also covers content
summaries, books and meeting abstracts, papers and posters. Major areas
covered include biochemistry, the digestive system, food and industrial
microbiology, food technology, metabolism, nutrition, and
physiology. Print version(s): Biological Abstracts.(1926-1997) MCKELDIN
STACKS QH301.B37 Biological Abstracts/RRM. Reports, reviews and
meetings. (1980-1997) MCKELDIN LIBRARY FOLIO SECTION
QH301.B3713 Bioresearch Index. (1967-1979) MCKELDIN LIBRARY FOLIO
SECTION QH301.B3712 Bioresearch Titles. (1965-1966) MCKELDIN LIBRARY
FOLIO SECTION QH301.B371
- CAB
Abstracts UM only
(1973-) Similar in
scope to AGRICOLA but more comprehensive, over 10,000 international
journals in more than 75 languages are scanned for articles relating to
all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Books, reports,
proceedings, theses and patents are also indexed. Extension literature is
excluded. Includes the subfiles Animal Breeding Abstracts, Dairy Science
Abstracts, Helminthological Abstracts, Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews.
Series B: Livestock Feeds and Feeding, and Poultry Abstracts.
Print versions:
- Animal Breeding Abstracts (1933/24 - 1995,
1998)
LOCATION: MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS CALL NUMBER:
SF1.A63
- Dairy Science Abstracts, 1939 - 1998.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY
PERIODICAL STACKS CALL NUMBER: SF221.I36 Complete holdings from
1980, selected coverage for other years Coverage of all species of
dairy animals and dairy products focusing on food and nutrition,
physiology, evolution, genetics, breeding, and biomedicine.
- Helminthological Abstracts (1932 - 1995)
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN
LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS CALL NUMBER: QL386.A1H41 (Selected years
from 1932. Continues Helminthological Abstracts, Series A, MCKELDIN
PERIODICAL STACKS QL386.A1H4; and Helminthological Abstracts 1932-1969,
MCKELDIN PERIODICAL STACKS QL392.H4. Indexes all aspects of
helminthology including animal hosts, pathology, immunology, parasite
control, and biochemistry.
- Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. Series B: Livestock Feeds and Feeding
(1977 - 1998)
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN PERIODICAL STACKS CALL NUMBER:
RM214.N82 Continues Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews (1931- 1976) which
include both human and animal nutrition. Covers the nutrition of animals,
including chemistry of foods,physiology of digestion, metabolism, growth,
and reproduction.
- Poultry Abstracts (1978-1998)
LOCATION: MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL
STACKS CALL NUMBER: CALL NUMBER: SF481.P64 Provides international
coverage of all species of poultry, focusing on food and nutrition,
physiology, evolution, genetics, breeding, and biomedicine.
- Digital
Dissertations UM only
Citations,
abstracts (1980 - present) and full text (UM dissertations 1997 - present)
for more than 1.6 million U.S. and international masters theses and
doctoral dissertations.[More
Information]
- Genetics
Abstracts UM only 1982-
Print version: MCKELDIN LIBRARY PERIODICAL STACKS QH431.G432 (1968/69-1996)
All aspects of molecular, viral, bacterial, fungal, algal, plant, animal
and human genetics are included.
- Key-Word-Index on Wildlife Research. Annual, 1974 - 1991.
LOCATION(S): MCKELDIN LIBRARY REFERENCE STACKS CALL NUMBER:
QL82.K49 Yearly international publication. Allows for searching of
literature by keyword, author, title, keyword in context, and by
alphabetical and systematic species lists.
- MEDLINE [PubMed] (NLM
Website)(1966- )
Comprehensive database for biomedicine. Citations,
abstracts, and link-out to some full-text at publisher's Web sites.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this database indexes more
than 5,000 medical journals and basic science journals related to
medicine. Updated weekly. [More
information]
- Science Citation Index Expanded via
Web of Knowledge UM only
(1945-) This
unique source indexes over 3,300 international journals in the basic and
biomedical sciences. This source unique because is it includes indexing
for all of the references of each original paper indexed. This feature is
based on the assumption that there is a subject relationship between a
paper and the books and papers cited in its bibliography. It is an
excellent way to find more current related information from an earlier
known work.
- Wildlife Abstracts. Published every 5 years, 1935/51- 1980.
LOCATION(S): GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS (MCKELDIN LIBRARY) SUDOC CALL
NUMBER: I49.17/2: This guide lists all wildlife research publications
funded by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and is a bibliography and
index of the abstracts in Wildlife Review. Indexed by title, author,
systematic name, geographic region, and subject.
- Wildlife Review. Bi-monthly, 1935 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): GOVERNMENT
DOCUMENTS (MCKELDIN LIBRARY) SUDOC CALL NUMBER: I49.17 A review of
the literature of wildlife management, arranged by subject. Includes
annualcumulative index beginning with 1981.
- Zoological
Record 1978 - . UM only
LOCATION:
MCKELDIN LIBRARY FOLIO (1870-1994) CALL NUMBER: Z7991.Z87 (Continues
Record of Zoological Literature, 1864-1869) Comprehensive guide
to the literature of zoology. Indexed by author, subject, geographic
region, paleontology, and zoological systemics.
AgNIC [http://www.agnic.org/]
AgNIC (Agriculture Network Information Center) is a voluntary alliance
of the National Agricultural Library(NAL), land-grant universities,
and other agricultural organizations. Covers animal science, animal
welfare, and aquaculture. Searchable database of selected Internet resources.
American Livestock Breeds
Conservancy [http://www.albc-usa.org/] Nonprofit membership
organization working to protect nearly 100 breeds of cattle, goats,
horses, asses, sheep, swine. Can view their conservation priority list
where breeds are categorized as critical, rare, watch, study or
recovering. Has links to related sites.
American Society of Animal Science
[www.asas.org] ASAS is a professional society for animal
scientists. The site has a directory of members, information about
publications and conferences, a job resource center, a student center,
legislative information, and an extensive list of animal science links.
Animal and Natural Resources Institute (ANRI) USDA
[http://www.anri.barc.usda.gov/]
ANRI conducts research and to develop technology transfer programs that
ensure high quality and safe food while protecting the natural resource
base and the environment.
Links to their laboratories:
Animal
Search [http://www.animalsearch.net/] Searchable database of web
links to many different animal species. Can also browse by animal group
and geographical region. Good starting point for searching the web for
animal-related information.
Breeders World The First
Complete Online Livestock Breeders'
Directory [http://www.breedersworld.com] Covers beef, sheep, swine,
and goats. Breeders' directories, supplies and services, bookstore, events
calendar, and breed associations. Commercial site.
Google
Web Directory: Livestock
[http://directory.google.com/Top/Business/Industries/Agriculture_and_Forestry/Livestock/]
Links for livestock animal groups including bison, camelids, cattle,
dairy, deers and elk, donkeys and mules, goats, horses, poultry, rabbits,
ratities, sheep, and swine. Links to associations, auction facilities,
publications, services, and shows and events. Links to information about
feeds, minerals and supplements, animal health, herd management, marketing,
software, and supplies and equipment.
Livestock Virtual
Library Oklahoma State
University [http://www.ansi.okstate.edu/library/] Covers academic
information, online publications, market information, fairs and expos,
animal welfare, agricultural software, and livestock (beef and dairy
cattle, sheep, goats, swine, horses and other species).
National Institute for
Animal Agriculture [http://www.animalagriculture.org/] The
Institute's purpose is to provide a source for information, education and
solutions for animal agriculture challenges. Links to topical issues in
animal agriculture, online publications, continuing education
opportunities, and agricultural materials.
National Livestock Producers
Association [http://www.nlpa.org/] Links to affliated
organizations and information resources.
NetVet
[http://netvet.wustl.edu:80] An excellent starting point for finding
animal science information on the Internet.
Poultry Science
Virtual Library. Poultry Science Department. Texas
A&M. [http://gallus.tamu.edu/library/dother.html] Links to
universities and research centers, associations, and commerical sites.
U.S. Poultry and Egg
Association [http://www.poultryegg.org/] Information about the
International Poultry Exposition, the U.S. poultry industry, seminars,
research programs, food safety etc.
The National Agricultural Library (NAL)
[http://www.nal.usda.gov/], located at 10301 Baltimore Ave. in Beltsville,
Maryland, is a rich source of animal science information in the region.
NAL is open to the public and houses research materials in all areas of
agricultural and scientific research. For more information call (301)
504-5755.
- Bell, E. Catharine, editor. Encyclopedia of the world's
zoos.
Chicago, IL. Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2001. 3
volumes. LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks QL76.E53 2001 Covers
animal husbandry and management, animal profiles, facilities,
associations, conservation, history, individuals, institutions,
legislation and licensing, publications and journals and zoo profiles.
Information is presented in more than 400 signed essays arranged in
alphabetical order. Each essay gives further reading. Also includes
membership lists for various zoological associations. Index.
- Food and Agriculture Organization. Animal Health Yearbook 1957 -
1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1951-1995) Government
Documents(1971) McKeldin Reference Stacks(1995 edition), CALL NUMBER:
SF600.F2 Compilation of animal health and disease statistics indexed by
disease, by county, and by continent. Also includes text of international
rules, agreements, and reports relating to animal health.
- Food and Agriculture Organization. FAOSTAT
Agriculture
Data
[apps.fao.org/cgi-bin/nph-db.pl?subset=agriculture] Collection
of databases with statistical data for agricultural production and
indices, trade and trade indices, commodity balances, food supply, and
producer prices. Data is available for live animals, livestock and aquatic
animals. Most data sets updated as of 2002. Time series data also
available.
- Zoological Parks and Aquariums in the Americas
Wheeling,
W.Va.: American Association of Zoological Parks and
Aquariums. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
QL76.Z74 1994/1995 Detailed resource with description and contacts for
zoos by state, zoological societies and organizations, animal services and
product suppliers, and a directory of government organizations.
return to top
|