Animal Welfare
Scope: This guide provides
direction in locating animal welfare information at the UM Libraries.
It covers information on animals involved in research, testing and teaching,
alternatives to animal use, training and education of animal caretakers
or technicians, etc. analgesia, anesthesia and euthanasia, transportation
and acquisition of, humane treatment, environmental factors, animal
management, institutional animal care and use committees, philosophies,
and animal behavior.
For more information email the subject specialist Damon Austin at daustin(at)umd.edu
or phone (301) 405-9666.
Table of Contents
To locate books, journals, and audiovisuals search the Catalog.
You may want to begin by doing a basic search using the following words:
animal experimentation
animal health
animal models in research
animal rights
animal welfare
bioethics
laboratory animals
vivisection
return to top
Alternatives to the Use
of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing: An Annotated Bibliography.
Bethesda, Md.: National Library of Medicine, Specialized Information Services,
Office of Hazardous Substances Information. Published quarterly, 1992-
.
LOCATION: Government Documents, LCDOC
CALL NUMBER: HE20.3614:A68
Allen, Tim and Karen Clingerman.
Animal Care and Use Committees.
(Special Reference Briefs 92-16, Updates SRB 90-06). Beltsville, Md:
National Agricultural Library, 1992.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.24:92-16
Kreger, Michael D.
Animal euthanasia : January 1990 - November 1997
Beltsville, Md. : USDA, ARS, National Agricultural Library, [1997]
Special reference briefs series; SRB 98-01
LOCATION: Government Documents SU Docs
CALL NUMBER: A 17.24:98-
Kistler, John M. Animal rights : a subject guide, bibliography,
and Internet companion
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7164.C45 K57
Manzo, Bettina.
The Animal Rights Movement in the United States, 1975-1990:
An Annotated Bibliography.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HV4764.M23 1994
Harnack, Andrew, ed.
Animal rights: opposing viewpoints
San Diego, CA: Greenhave Press, 1996.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Reference Controversial Issues section [non-circulating
CALL NUMBER: HV4711.A58 1996
Smith, Cynthia Petrie.
Animal welfare and ethics
resources for youth and college agricultural educators.
Beltsville, MD : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service,
National Agricultural Library, Animal Welfare Information Center, 2000.
LOCATION: Government Documents SU Docs
CALL NUMBER: A 17.27/3:6
Larson, Jean A.
Audio-Visuals Relating to
Animal Care, Use and Welfare.
Animal Welfare Information Center Series No. 2000-01
Updates AWIC Series no. 96-01 March 2000.
LOCATION: Government documents and also available Online.
CALL NUMBER: A17.27:2000-01
Parker, John James. The care and use of live animal collections
in environmental education.
Eugene, OR: Microform Publications, College of Human Development and
Performance, University of Oregon, 1987.
Note: Thesis (M.Ed.)--Pennsylvania State University, 1985.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room Microfiche
CALL NUMBER: QH541.0257 1985a
Current Bibliographies in Medicine. Care and Use of Laboratory
Animals.
National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, N0. 89-15
January 1985-Dec. 1989.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: HE20.3615/2:89-15
Current Bibliographies in Medicine. "Laboratory Animal Welfare."
National Institutes of Health, National Library of Medicine, N. 93 -1,
January 1992-Dec. 1992.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: HE20.3615/2:93-1
Directory of Resources on Alternatives and Animal Use in the
Life Sciences.
Beltsville, Md.: National Agricultural Library, 1995- . (AWIC Resource
Series)
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.27/3:
Kreger, Michael D., editor.
Environmental Enrichment for Nonhuman Primates Resource Guide:
January 1992 - February 1999.
Beltsville, MD: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service,
National Agricultural Library, Animal Welfare Information Center, [1999]
AWIC resource series ; no. 5
LOCATION: Government Documents SU Docs
CALL NUMBER: A 17.27/3:5
Allen, Tim.
Ethical and Moral Issues Relating to Animals. January 1986-February
1993.
National Agricultural Library Quick Bibliography Series. QB 93-29.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.18/4:93-29
Allen, Tim, editor.
Information resources for institutional animal care and use
committees: 1985-1999
Beltsville, Md. : U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service,
National Agricultural Library, Animal Welfare Information Center, [2000]
LOCATIONS: Government Documents Microfiche CALL NUMBER: A 17.27/3:7
Government Documents SU Docs CALl NUMBER: A 17.27:7
Jensen, D'Anna J.B., Michael D. Kreger, Jennifer L. Lyons-Carter.
Information Resources for Reptiles, Amphibians, Fish, and Cephalopods
Used in Biomedical Research (Rev. Ed.).
National Agricultural Library, Animal Welfare Information Center, 1995.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.18/2:IN3/995.
Magel, Charles R.
Keyguide to Information Sources in Animal Rights. London:
Mansell, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HV4708.M253 1989
Jensen, D'Anna J.B.
Laboratory Animal Facilities and Management. January 1985-March
1995. National Agricultural Library Quick Bibliography Series,
QB 95-17.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.18/4:95-17
Cass, Jules S. Laboratory animals: an annotated bibliography
of informational resources covering medicine-science (including husbandry)-technology.
New York: Hafner Pub. Co., 1971.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Collection
CALL NUMBER: Z7994.L3C37
Of historical interest. Has a section on anesthesia and euthanasia.
return to top
Bekoff, Marc and Carron A. Meaney (eds.). Encyclopedia of Animal
Rights and Animal Welfare.
Westport, Conn.: Greenword Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HV4708.E53 1998
Sherry, Clifford J. Animal Rights: A Reference Handbook.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1994. (Contemporary World Issues).
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HV4764.S5 1994
Wolfensohn, Sarah and Maggie Lloyd. Handbook of Laboratory
Animal Management and Welfare. 2nd ed.
Oxford(England) : Blackwell Science, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF406.W64 1998
return to top
Indexes and abstracts are tools to help you locate journal articles
and other sources on your subject. All of the titles below are indexes
and those with article summaries are called abstracts. In online form,
they are referred to as Databases.
UM only Because of licensing agreements,
most of these databases can be used only by current faculty, staff,
and students of the University of Maryland, College Park or by onsite
library users. For Off-Campus Access to these databases, please
log in using the new Research Port
Choose one or more of the titles below and look for keywords on your
topic. After identifying citations of interest, search the Catalog by the
journal title to see if UM Libraries has it. For more information about
searching, see the guide Basics in Library Research.
Consult the introductory pages or help screens of the particular source
for details about its arrangement.
Agris [Off-campus
Access] (1975-)
Print version: Agrindex. McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks S18.A5
(1975-1985, 1988-1995)
International information system for the agricultural sciences and technology.
Produced by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) of the United
Nations. References to literature produced by participating countries.
Animal
Behavior Abstracts [Off-campus
Access]. 1973 - . UM only
LOCATION(S): Mckeldin Library Periodical Stacks (1982-1995)
CALL NUMBER: QL750.B541
(Continues Animal Behaviour Abstracts, 1973-1981)
Includes abstracts on all aspects of animal behavior, including neurophysiology,
ecology, genetics, and reproductive biology. Indexed by author, subject,
and taxonomy.
Aquatic Sciences Collection
Print Version: Aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts. Part 1: Biological
sciences and living resources.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks(1978-1996) CALL NUMBER: QH90.A641
(Continues, in part, Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, 1971
- 1977, McKeldin Periodical Stacks QH90.A64)
Coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects
of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments
are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic
organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy,
and socioeconomic issues.
AV
Online [Off-campus
Access] UM only
Database of audiovisual material compiled by the National Information
Center for Educational Media. Searchable on the UM Libraries Home Page.
To verify that the UM Libraries own a particular audiovisual item search
VictorWeb. Materials owned by the UM Libraries are housed in Non-Print
Media Services located in the Hornbake Library.
Agricola
[Off-campus
Access] (1970 -) UM only
Print version: Bibliography of Agriculture (1942-)
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Government Documents SU DOC A 17.18 Produced
by the USDA National Agricultural Library. Database covering all aspects
of United States agriculture.
BIOSIS
Previews [Off-campus
Access]. (1970 - ) UM only
Information about articles in over 5,500 life sciences journals. Also
covers content summaries, books and meeting abstracts, papers and posters.
Print version(s): Biological Abstracts.(1926-1997) MCK STACKS QH301.B37
Biological Abstracts/RRM. Reports, reviews and meetings. (1980-1997)
McKeldin Folio QH301.B3713
Bioresearch Index. (1967-1979) McKeldin Folio QH301.B3712
Bioresearch Titles. (1965-1966) McKeldin Folio QH301.B371
CAB
Abstracts [Off-campus
Access] (1973-) UM only
Similar in scope to AGRICOLA but more comprehensive, over 10,000 international
journals in more than 75 languages are scanned for articles relating
to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Books, reports, proceedings,
theses and patents are also indexed. Extension literature is excluded.
Includes the subfiles Animal Breeding Abstracts, Dairy Science Abstracts,
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. Series B: Livestock Feeds and Feeding,
Poultry Abstracts, Index Veterinarius and Veterinary Bulletin.
Print versions:
Animal Breeding Abstracts (1933/24 - 1995, 1998)
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks SF1.A63
Dairy Science Abstracts, 1939 - 1998.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks SF221.I36
Complete holdings from 1980, selected coverage for other years.
Coverage of all species of dairy animals.
Index Veterinarius(1933 -1995)
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z6674.I5
MCK has incomplete holdings prior to 1970.
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews. Series B: Livestock Feeds and Feeding
(1977 - 1998)
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks RM214.N82
Continues Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews (1931- 1976) which include
both human and animal nutrition. Covers the nutrition of animals,
including chemistry of foods,physiology of digestion, metabolism,
growth, and reproduction.
Poultry Abstracts (1978-1998)
CALL NUMBER: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks SF481.P64
Provides international coverage of all species of poultry.
Veterinary Bulletin (1960-1998)
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks SF601.V52
Ecology
Abstracts [Off campus
Access] (1982 - ) UM only
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks(1980-1996)
CALL NUMBER: QH540.A661 Continues Applied Ecology Abstracts,
1975-1979.
Coverage is the broad area of the interactions between living organisms
and their environment. Over 5,000 journals as well as other sources
are indexed.
General
Science Abstracts [Off-campus
Access] 1978- . UM only
Print Version: General Science Index.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7403.G43
Indexes English language periodicals in a broad spectrum of scientific
fields, including medicine, health and biology.
Philosopher's
Index [Off-campus
Access] 1940-. UM only
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks (1968 - 1994)
CALL NUMBER: Z7127.P5
Indexes books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers
ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology,
and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion,
science, history, education, and language.
PsychINFO
[Off-campus
Access] UM only
Journal citations & abstracts in psychology and related fields This
abstracting service covers approximately 800 international journals
as well as books and related papers in psychology and the behavioral
sciences. Links to the full text is available via PsycARTICLES�.
UM only
PsycARTICLES� contains more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals
published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
PubMed
(Medline, National Library of Medicine)(1966- ) [Off-campus
Access]
Comprehensive database for biomedicine. Citations, abstracts, and link-out
to some full-text at publisher's Web sites. Produced by the National
Library of Medicine, this database indexes more than 5,000 medical journals
and basic science journals related to medicine. Updated weekly. Also
includes a subfile on bioethics that indexes English language publications
from 1973 to present. Covers the ethical, legal, and public policy issues
surrounding health care and biomedical research. Topics include, among
others, professional ethics, new reproductive technologies, genetic
intervention, and animal experimentation. Produced by the Bioethics
Information Retrieval Project of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics at
Georgetown University. [More
information]
Web of Science
[Off-campus Access] UM
only
(1945-)
This unique source indexes over 3,300 international journals in the
basic and biomedical sciences. This source unique because is it includes
indexing for all of the references of each original paper indexed. This
feature is based on the assumption thatthere is a subject relationship
between a paper and the books and papers cited in its bibliography.
It is an excellent way to find more current related information from
an earlier known work. Select "ISI Web of Science" from the pull-down
menu at the top of the page.
return to top
Smith, Cynthia. AWIC Tips For
Searching for Alternatives to Animal Research and Testing.
(March, 1994).
http://www.nal.usda.gov/awic/alternatives/tips.htm
Last updated March 2001.
Bennet, B. T., M. J. Brown, and J. C. Schofield. Essentials
for Animal Research: A Primer for Research Personnel(microfiche).
2nd ed. Beltsville, Maryland, USDA, National Agricultural Library. October
1994. http://www.nal.usda.gov/awic/pubs/noawicpubs/essentia.htm.
Guide for the
Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. Institute of Laboratory Animal
Resources, Commission on Life Sciences, National Research Council, Washington,
D.C. : National Academy Press, 1996.
Print version: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF406.I57 1996
Guidelines for Ethical
Conduct in the Care and Use of Animals. Committee on Animal Research
and Ethics. Washington, D. C.: American Psychological Association, 1993.
LOCATION: Available at www.apa.org/science/anguide.html.
Guidelines for the
Care and Use of Mammals in Neuroscience and Behavioral Research.
Committee on Guidelines for the Use of Animals in Neuroscience and Behavioral
Research, Institute for Laboratory Animal Research, Division of Earth
and Life Studies, National Research Council of the National Academies.
Washington, D.C., National Academy Press, 2003.
Institutional
Animal Care and Use Committee Guidebook.
2nd edition
Bethesda, Md.: Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare, National Institutes
of Health, 2002.
LOCATION: Government Documents SU Docs
CALL NUMBER: HE20.3008:AN 5/5/2002
Using Animals in Intramural Research: Guidelines for Investigators
and Guidelines for Animal Users. Bethesda, Md.:National Institutes
of Health, Office of Animal Care and Use, Animal Research Advisory Committee,
2000.
LOCATION: Government Documents SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: HE20.3008.AN 5/3/2000
Symposium Proceedings; Animal Care and Use Committees and Alternatives.
Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public
Health, Office of Research Projects, June 18, 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Folios
CALL NUMBER: HV4704.A53 1992
return to top
See also links to Organizations
below.
Alternatives to Animal Testing
Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing, Johns Hopkins University
[http://altweb.jhsph.edu/]
An international online clearinghouse of alternatives resources.
Animal Care (USDA Animal
and Plant Health Inspection Service)
[www.aphis.usda.gov/ac/]
Animal Welfare Information
Center (USDA National Agricultural Library)
[www.nal.usda.gov/awic/]
A rich resource of animal welfare information.
Comparative
Medicine Resources Directory
National Center for Research Resources, National Institutes of Health
[http://www.ncrr.nih.gov/ncrrprog/cmpdir/cmdirectory.asp]
"Research resources that create, develop, and supply a variety of high-quality
animal models, biological materials, and similar resources."
NetVet
Ken Boschert, DVM. Division of Comparative Medicine, Washington University,
St. Louis, MO.
Location: http://netvet.wustl.edu:80/
Guide to Veterinary Medicine and Animal resources on the Internet.
Institute for Laboratory Animal
Research (National Academy of Sciences)
[http://dels.nas.edu/ilar/]
Institutional Animal Care and Use Committees
(American Association for Laboratory Animal Science)
[www.iacuc.org/]
Office of Animal Care and
Use (National Institute of Health)
[http://oacu.od.nih.gov]
Office of Laboratory
Animal Welfare (National Institute of Health)
[http://grants.nih.gov/grants/olaw/olaw.htm]
World Animal Net
(Network of animal protection societies from around the world.)
[www.worldanimal.net]
Yahoo!-Animal
Rights
[http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Biology/Zoology/Animals__Insects__and_Pets/Animal_Rights/]
return to top
Animal Welfare
Act and Regulations
(Summaries and full text of Acts, Amendments, and Regulations.)
[www.nal.usda.gov/awic/legislat/usdaleg1.htm]. Clingerman, Karen J. Animal
Welfare Legislation: Bills and Public Laws, 1980-1988 (includes
the Animal Welfare Act and its amendments).
National Agricultural Library Quick Bibliography Series, AWIC Series #8
LOCATION: GOVDOC SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.27:8 Allen, Tim. Animal Welfare Legislation,
Regulations, and Guidelines. January 1990-January 1995.
National Agricultural Library Quick Bibliography Series, QB 95-18.
LOCATION: GOVDOC SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.18/4:95-18 Animal welfare legislation and regulations.
Beltsville, Md. : National Agricultural Library
LOCATION: Government Documents SU Docs
CALL NUMBER: A 17.18/4: Animals and Their Legal Rights: A Survey
of American Laws from 1641 to 1990.
4th ed. Washington, D. C. Animal Welfare Institute, 1990.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: KF3841.L4 1990. AWIC Series on Animal Welfare Legislation,
Bills, and Public Laws.
Animal Welfare Information Center, National Agricultural Library. Annual.
198X- .
LOCATION: GOVDOC SUDOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.27: For regulatory information, see the Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) UM only
(TITLE 9) (1981-)
Also available on GPO
Access (1997-).
[www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/index.html]
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Government Documents Reference
CALL NUMBER: AE2.106/3:9 To research public laws, consult the U.S.
Statutes at Large.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Government Documents Reference
CALL NUMBER: AE2:111
The following Acts may be of interest.
- Cats and Dogs Act, 1966
- Animal Welfare Act, 1970
- Animal Welfare Act, Amendments, 1976
- Health Research Extension Act, 1985
- Food Security Act; Subtitle F. Animal Welfare, 1985
- Animal Enterprise Protection Act, 1992
You can also search Public Laws (1988-) via Congressional Universe UM
only or via the Public and Private Laws
database (1995-) on GPO Access. For additional assistance finding information
about laws, legislation or regulations, contact the Government Documents
Reference Desk at (301) 405-9165 or send email to govdocs@umd.edu.
return to top
Licensing and registration under the Animal Welfare Act: guidelines
for dealers, exhibitors, transporters and researchers.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Government Documents Microfiche
CALL NUMBER: A 1.68:1117/2001 Lists
of Licensed or Registered Facilities
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
[http://www.aphis.usda.gov/ac/publications.html#lists]
Lists of licensed and/or registered breeders, dealers, research facilities,
exhibitors, carriers and handlers. Last updated December 11, 2002. return to top
See also the World Animal
Net Directory, a large database of animal protection societies.
American College of Laboratory
Animal Medicine
[http://www.aclam.org/]
"The American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM) is an organization
of board certified veterinary medical specialists who are experts in
the humane, proper and safe care and use of laboratory animals."
American Association for the Accreditation
of Laboratory Animal Care
[ww.aaalac.org]
"Nonprofit association that works to promote the responsible treatment
of animals in science." by offering a "voluntary accreditation program
that sets high standards for humane animal care and use."
American Association for Laboratory
Animal Science [www.aalas.org]
Organization of professionals with the purpose of the "exchange of information
and expertise in the care and use of laboratory animals." American Fund
for Alternatives to Animal Research
175 West 12th St., No. 16-G
New York, NY 10011
212-989-8073
Email: beautywocruelty@aol.com
"Offers grants to develop and teach nonanimal (in vitro) substitutes
for tests currently involving animals; disseminates reports, results,
and abstracts of this research to funding agencies, regulatory agencies,
interested scientists, and laypersons."
American Society for the Prevention
of Cruelty to Animals
[www.aspca.org/]
The mission of the ASPCA is to "promote humane principles, prevent cruelty
and alleviate fear, pain and suffering in animals."
Animal Liberation
Front
[www.animalliberation.net/index2.shtml]
An on-line information service that aims to "provide an uncensored clearing
house for information and news about animal liberation activities and
activists".
Animal and Plant Health Inspection
Service
[www.aphis.usda.gov/]
This government agency is "responsible for protecting and promoting
U.S. agricultural health, administering the Animal Welfare Act, and
carrying out wildlife damage management activities."
Animal Welfare Information
Center
National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture
[http://www.nal.usda.gov/awic/index.html]
"Providing information for improved animal care and use in research,
teaching, and testing." A rich source of information.
Animal Welfare Institute
[www.animalwelfare.com/]
A non-profit organization with the goal of "reducing the sum total of
pain and fear inflicted on animals by humans." They sponsor the Albert
Schweitzer Medal, the Save the Whales program, publish AWI Quarterly,
and provide pamphlets online about various animal welfare topics.
Biological Models
and Materials Research Program
National Center for Research Resources, National Institutes of Health
(NIH)
[http://www.ncrr.nih.gov/compmed/cm_bmm.asp]
This NIH program "focuses on extramural research activities in the exploration
and development of nonmammalian models for biomedical research." Provides
requests for applications, program announcements, notices, comparative
medicine program guidelines, and a Comparative
Medicine Resources Directory Center
for Animals and Public Policy
School of Veterinary Medicine, Tufts University
[www.tufts.edu/vet/cfa/index.html]
Provides publications, bibliographies, an animal law search page, and
other resources.
Foundation for Biomedical Research
[www.fbresearch.org/]
Organization "dedicated to improving human and animal health by promoting
public understanding and support for the humane and responsible use
of animals in medical and scientific research." Provides information
about the need for animal research.
Fund for the Replacement of Animals
in Medical Experiments (FRAME)
[http://www.frame.org.uk/]
A charitable organization in the United Kingdom that advocates the reducing
the number of animals used in research through better experimental design,
minimizing the suffering of the animals, and developing alternatives
for research. They provide links to information resources.
Humane Society of the United
States [http://www.hsus.org/ace/352]
Provides information about pets, wildlife, farm animals, marine mammals,
and research animals.
Incurably Ill for Animal Research
[www.iifar.org/]
A non-profit organization which "supports the continued use of animals
in biomedical and behavioral research, teaching, and testing".
Institute for Laboratory Animal
Research
[http://dels.nas.edu/ilar/]
National Academy of Sciences
Prepares authoritative reports for the animal care community, serves
as a clearinghouse for information about animal resources, and develops
and makes available scientific information on laboratory animals and
other biological resources.
Johns Hopkins Center for Alternatives
to Animal Testing
[http://caat.jhsph.edu/]
An academic, science-based center affiliated with the Johns Hopkins
University Bloomberg School of Public Health. "Works with scientists
since 1981 to find new methods to replace the use of laboratory animals
in experiments, reduce the number of animals tested, and refine necessary
tests to eliminate pain and distress." They provide grants, workshops,
publications and maintain Altweb,
an international clearinghouse of alternative sources.
People for the Ethical Treatment of
Animals
[www.peta.com/]
Web site for the largest animal rights organization in the world. Provides
fact sheets on different topics, a vegetarian starter kit, and a shopping
guide to nonleather products.
Public Responsibility in Medicine and
Research
[http://www.primr.org/]
Organization is dedicated to creating, implementing, and advancing the
highest standards in the conduct of research. Members include: Applied
Research Ethics National Association (ARENA), the professional home
for those whose responsibilities include the protection of human or
animal research subjects.
Scientists' Center for Animal Welfare
[http://www.scaw.com/]
"A non-profit educational association of individuals and institutions
whose mission is to promote the best practices of humane care, use,
and management of animals involved in research, testing or education
in laboratory, agricultural, wildlife or other settings." Provides publications
and links to organizations. return to top
|