|
Last revised: August 2009
Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences
Scope: This guide covers the major reference sources in the field, including fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic sciences.
For information on related topics, readers can also consult the UM Libraries guides on
Wetlands and Water Quality, Chesapeake Bay and
Agriculture. Email the subject area specialist at sgagnon (@umd.edu) or call (301)405-9098 for more information.
Locating References Using the Catalog
To locate books, search the library Catalog. Keyword searches will locate
words and terms when they appear in the title, subject headings or notes of a record. Limit your
search by adding additional terms or otherwise narrowing the scope of your search. Examples of
words and terms you may wish to use to retrieve books on the subject of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences include:
Aquaculture
Aquatic animals
Coastal zone management
Fish as food
Fish communities
|
Fish-culture
Fish populations
Fisheries
Fishery conservation
Fishery law and legislation
Fishery management
|
Fishes--Breeding
Integrated agricultural systems
Marine resources conservation
Oceans--Environmental aspects
Water--Pollution
|
The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a new window.
These terms can also be used to locate materials in other online resources such indexes and abstracts (See section below). Please note: These terms represent only a small sample of all searchable concepts. For more specific searching instructions, please Ask Us!
return to top
Bibliographies and Guides to Publications
- Collins, Jean. Directory of fisheries and aquaculture information resources in Africa = Repertoire des sources d'information sur la peche et l'aquaculture en Afrique.
Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: SH20.5.C665 2001
- FAO Fishery Publications
- Turnbull, Deborah A. Keyguide to Information Sources in Aquaculture London ; New York : Mansell Pub., c1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH135.T87 1989
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Publications Unit. Publications List. 1971.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents SuDoc
CALL NUMBER: I 49.18:P 96
return to top
Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries
- Creswell R. leRoy. Aquaculture Desk Reference New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH135.C74 1993
- Swift, Donald R. Aquaculture Training Manual Oxford : Fishing News Books, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH151.S95 1993
- Eleftheriou, Margaret. (Ed.) Aqualex: a glossary of aquaculture terms Chichester ; New York : Wiley ; Chichester : Published in association with Praxis, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH20.3.A35 1997
- AquaText, a free online dictionary of Aquaculture terms.
- Eapen, P.K. Elsevier's Dictionary of fisheries. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH201.E26 1999
- Mangone, Gerard. Mangone's concise marine almanac New York, NY : Taylor & Francis, c1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER:GC24.M36 1991
- Lavens, Patrick and Patrick Sorgeloos, Eds. Manual on the production and use of live food for aquaculture Rome : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 1996.
LOCATION: Government Documents, LC DOC
CALL NUMBER: SH156.M36 1996
return to top
General Indexes and Abstracts
To locate books, articles, and other sources on your
subject select an index or abstract and look for keywords or subject headings related to the
subject. Search the catalog by the
journal title to see if McKeldin or another UM library holds the title. UMCP faculty, staff
and students can access online databases and E-Journals through the campus network or Research
Port. Read more about remote access.
- AGRICOLA, searchable online from 1970- present.
Also available as the print Bibliography of Agriculture. Monthly. 1942-1975 and 1980-1999
LOCATION(S): Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: A17.18
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, UM only.
- Biology Digest, UM only
- Biosis Previews, UM only
Information about articles in over 6,000 life sciences journals.
- CAB Abstracts (1973-present), UM only
Information about articles from international agriculture journals and related fields from the Center for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI). Coverage of agricultural subdisciplines includes animal and poultry science, crop science, agricultural engineering, human and animal nutrition, forestry and veterinary medicine.
- Current Contents: Agriculture, Biology and Environmental Sciences.
Weekly. 1973 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S1.C87
(MCK latest six months only)
Reproduces tables of contents of more than 1,040 journals; also covers latest books in relevant
fields.
- Ecology Abstracts, UM only
- Oceanic Abstracts, UM only
- Water Resources Abstracts, UM only
return to top
Selected Journals
Listed here are a few select journals on the subjects of fisheries and aquatic sciences. For a more inclusive search, search the catalog for the title of the journal or keywords. You can also search the subject field for "periodicals aquaculture" or "periodicals Fisheries."
- Aquacultural Engineering.
FREQUENCY: Quarterly. 1982- .
LOCATION: Online, and the McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH1.A675
ONLINE ACCESS: [http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/01448609]
- Aquaculture.
FREQUENCY: Frequency varies. 1972/1972-1992, 2000- .
LOCATION: Online and the McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH1.A626
ONLINE ACCESS: [http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/00448486]
- Aquaculture Magazine. 1979- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH1.C561
- Aquaculture Research.
FREQUENCY: Fifteen times a year 2002- . Monthly, 1995-2001. 1995-
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH328.F522
- Aquatic Sciences
FREQUENCY: Four no. a year. Print 1959- . Online
LOCATION: Network, World Wide Web
ACCESS: http://link.springer.de/link/service/journals/00027/index.htm
Access to holdings available to University of Maryland, College Park faculty, students, and staff using campus IP addresses.
- Marine Fisheries Review.
FREQUENCY: Quarterly, Apr.-June 1983- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: C 55.310 (SuDocs)
ACCESS: Full text available from 1990 using Research Port.
- North American Journal of Aquaculture.
FREQUENCY: Quarterly. 1999- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SH1.N66
return to top
Societies and Associations
- American Fisheries Society, "The mission of the American Fisheries Society is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals."
- National Aquaculture Association, The mission of the NAA is "To provide a unified national voice for aquaculture that ensures its sustainability, protects its profitability, and encourages its development in an environmentally responsible manner."
Internet Gateways
- AquaNic, a gateway to aquaculture resources.
- Aquatic Network [AquaNet], fosters "a sustainable aquaculture sector in Canada through high quality research and education."
- FishBase, "a
relational database with information to cater to
different professionals such as research
scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and
many more. FishBase on the web contains
practically all fish species known to science."
- Hooking Into Fish Facts: Internet Resources in Marine Fisheries, an article linking to material "ranging from publications and government regulations to various societies and careers."
- OneFish, "An online database and directory of fisheries and aquatic research and development information".
return to top
Government Sites
- Aquaculture Information Center, from the U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Central Library.
- Aquaculture Outlook, from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, "examines the U.S. aquaculture industry, including production, inventory, sales, prices, inputs, and trade of catfish, trout, tilapia, salmon, mollusks, crawfish, shrimp, ornamental fish and new species." Ceased publication in 2006.
- Aquaculture Resources, maintained by the Alternative Farming Systems Information Center at the National Agricultural Library.
- National Sea-Grant Library, "Sea Grant is a partnership between the nation's universities and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The National Sea Grant Library, NSGL, (formerly known as the National Sea Grant Depository) was established in 1970 as an archive and lending library for Sea Grant funded documents. These documents cover a wide variety of subjects, including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation and law. "
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) sustains portals to fishing, coastal and fisheries conservation information and an image gallery. Also find the FWS National Fish Hatchery System.
return to top
- Bulletin of Fishery Statistics Serial Publication. 1967,1969-1970,1985
LOCATION: Government Documents, LC Doc
CALL NUMBER: SH1.B85
- Fisheries Statistics Division (ST1), from the NOAA Fisheries Office of Science and Technology.
- Brander, K. Guidelines for collection and compilation of fishery statistics 1975
LOCATION: Government Documents, LC DOC CALL NUMBER: SH329.F56B72 1975
return to top
|