|
Last revised: July 2009
Architecture Resources Gateway - Architecture Library Basics
Concepts: Beginning search strategies. What is in the library, how to find it, and how to use it. How to find sources that are not in UM libraries. Evaluation of sources. Proper citation. Architectural research.
For good, efficient research in any field, it helps to have a strategy and to know some of the terminology of what you are looking for. Other research essentials are constant evaluation of source materials, keeping track of where you got your references, and citing them properly.
Research in architecture is often based on the idea of theory and precedent, or ideas and challenges that have already been addressed in various ways. Architects frequently use a sense of the past to inform their designs or to determine a new path.
In an architecture library, you will find current and older periodicals (excellent for understanding trends and for profiles of specific buildings), books (biographies of architects and firms, collections of theoretical essays, histories, design manuals, dictionaries and handbooks, and many others), and a wide range of electronic resources. UM's Architecture Library also has special collections including rare books and World's Fair materials.
This guide functions as an independent entity in a series designed for the new and returning architecture researcher. Consult the entire series at Architecture Resources Gateway.
- Take the time to think about what you are really looking for and what kind of sources would be the best ones to help you find the information you need.
- Whenever you have the choice, choose a topic or area that genuinely interests you.
- Consulting a subject encyclopedia can be very helpful for getting ideas for topics or starting you out with a topic you already have.
- Consider a wide variety of sources, including: books, articles, newspapers, manuscripts, organizations' websites, and talking to experts.
- Take some time to think of what kinds of search words you will want to use to get what you need. Investigate the Library of Congress Subject Headings.
- Remember to think critically and evaluate the quality of all your sources.
- Ask a Librarian if you have difficulty with your research!
Some additional University of Maryland guides: Identifying and Selecting Research Sources Research Using Primary Sources
return to top
- Use the online databases in Research Port to find full-text journal articles or citations that will lead you to the article in a bound volume of the journal on the library shelf.
- There is a specific page for databases that have been picked out as useful to studies in architecture: Architecture Databases.
- Once you get into a database, take some time to explore the various search options, play with drop-down menus, and figure out what features will be useful to you.
- The Find It
button will let you see if UM has the article or journal, and will sometimes take to you a full-text version of the article. Or, you may have to write down a call number for the journal title and go find the article in print.
- From many databases, you can export your chosen results list directly to a bibliographic citation manager; if not, you can e-mail it to yourself. Citation managers can also help you format your citations into the right style for a bibliography and insert them into your paper as you compose.
Some additional University of Maryland guides: Identifying Periodical Types Periodical Comparison Chart Citation Systems and Style Manuals
You're not in this alone. Help from a reference librarian is available via phone, e-mail, chat, walk-in, or appointment. For specific or detailed questions, you can ask an Art/Architecture Librarian or make an appointment with a subject specialist.
Architecture Resources Gateway
This guide was authored by Kim Detterbeck and Lara Otis.
|