navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2009

Architecture Resources Gateway - Theory

Concepts: The meaning of buildings within cultures. Forms, design, use of materials. Site and regional planning. Essays on what architecture is, how it operates within societies, and how this has changed over time.

Architectural theory has a long and varied history. Many practitioners, historians, and others have offered up their thoughts on the meaning and interpretation of architecture, and people continue to puzzle over the issues.

arrow This guide functions as an independent entity in a series designed for the new and returning architecture researcher. Consult the entire series at Architecture Resources Gateway.

Useful Reference Books

  • Architectural theory: from the Renaissance to the present: 89 essays on 117 treatises. Kunstbibliothek der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin; English translation, Los Angeles: Taschen, 2003.
    LOCATION: UMCP Architecture Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: NA2500 .A7313 2003

  • Braham, William W. and Jonathan A. Hale with John Stanislav Sadar. Rethinking technology: a reader in architectural theory. New York: Routledge, 2007.
    LOCATION: UMCP Architecture Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543 .T43 2007

  • Capon, David Smith. Architectural theory. New York: John Wiley, 1999.
    LOCATION: UMCP Architecture Library Reference
    CALL NUMBER: NA2500 .C3146 1999

  • Kruft, Hanno-Walter. A history of architectural theory: from Vitruvius to the present. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, 1994.
    LOCATION: UMCP Architecture Library Reference
    CALL NUMBER: NA2500 .K7513 1994

  • Mallgrave, Henry Francis. Modern architectural theory: a historical survey, 1673-1968. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
    LOCATION: UMCP Architecture Library Folio
    CALL NUMBER: NA2500 .M28 2005

  • Unwin, Simon. Analysing architecture. 2nd edition. New York: Routledge, 2003.
    LOCATION: UMCP Architecture Library Folio
    CALL NUMBER: NA2543 .T43 B33 2003

arrow return to top

Subject Headings (catalog keywords)

Use these when browsing in the catalog – pick "subject beginning with…" as the type of search. You will get a list with further subject breakdowns and can see what might be useful to you. This kind of browsing can also help you focus your thoughts or get more specific with your research. An example of what results you get with a search like this is pictured below the list.

  • Architectural criticism
  • Architecture - historiography
  • Architecture - philosophy
  • Architecture and globalization
  • Architecture and society
  • Communication in architecture
  • Place (Philosophy) in architecture

search results

arrow return to top

Some Relevant Databases

  • Archives UM
    Manuscript collections in the UM libraries. Hint: in the Subject drop-down box on the left, look under “UMCP – Architecture” for information on campus buildings.

  • America: History and Life
    Gives you citations and/or full text of articles on all aspects of United States (and Canadian) history. The articles date from 1964 to the present.

  • ARTbibliographies Modern
    Good for finding exhibits, and modern arts information.

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    The architecture student's best friend, because it is specific to the field. You will find many useful articles here, but don’t forget to try other places too.

  • Oxford Art Online
    The entire 34-volume Dictionary of Art, available online! Great for quick reference on people or places, or for getting an overview of a topic you want to learn more about.

  • Periodicals Index Online
    An index to thousands of arts/humanities journals going back to the nineteenth century. Many of the citations have direct links to JSTOR, so you can get the full article right away.

arrow return to top

Journals to Browse

These journals deal with aspects of architectural theory, and several years' worth or more can be found in the architecture library. To check for full-text online access, use the journals tab in Research Port.

  • Assemblage
    LOCATION: Architecture Library Periodical Stacks
    Call Number: NA1 .A86

  • Grey Room
    LOCATION: Architecture Library Current Periodicals and Periodical Stacks
    Call Number: NA100 .G74

  • Journal of Architectural and Planning Research
    LOCATION: Architecture Library Current Periodicals and Periodical Stacks
    Call Number: NA1 .A652

  • Places
    LOCATION: Architecture Library Current Periodicals and Periodical Stacks
    Call Number: NA2750 .P62

Websites and Digital Collections to Consider

arrow return to top

Strategic Research

Good research is complicated, especially in the digital and academic environments. No guide can begin to cover all the sources available, so Ask a Librarian when you need more information. Contact the subject area specialists for more information or to design a strategic and specific research plan: lotis@umd.edu, 301-405-9260 or pcossard@umd.edu, 301-405-6316.


This guide was authored by Kim Detterbeck and Lara Otis.

arrow Architecture Resources Gateway

 

© 2008 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: July 29, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search