|
Last revised: September 2009
Archives and Archival Studies
Scope: This guide provides links and information about major electronic and print resources for graduate students in
archival studies. Items within the two subject areas are listed in alphabetical order by author or editor's last name. If
you have any questions, please email the subject specialist at kpatter@umd.edu. Please complete the guide survey so that the subject specialist can keep the guide relevant.
return to top
return to
top
If you cannot find what you're looking for in the UM Libraries Catalog, try searching these other library catalogs. Use
the links
or the Interlibrary Loan page to place ILL requests for items not owned by UM.
- World Cat: OCLC catalog of books, serial
publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide. Includes over 62
million records in more than 400 languages.
return to top
Use these resources to find journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, etc. related to your topic. Consult Research
Port for the full list of available
Library and information Studies subject databases. Note: When accessing these databases from off-campus, you will need to log in to Research Port using your Directory ID. (This is the same login you use for email, ELMS, ARES, and
other campus services.)
-
Archives UM: Archival and Manuscript Collections
at the University of Maryland Libraries
ArchivesUM is a portal to help researchers locate materials described in finding aids to archival and manuscript
collections at the University of Maryland Libraries. Using Archives UM you can: search and browse archival finding aids for
select collections; search and browse brief abstracts for most UM archival and manuscript holdings; and view collections by
subject categories. See also the list of Special
Collections in UM Libraries.
- ArchiveGrid
Provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
- Access to Archival Databases
The AAD System provides online access to material from more than 30 series of electronic records at the
National Archives, including biographical, geographical, and organizational records.
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Indexes more than 380 library and information science
periodicals and selected state library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets from
1980 to the present. Includes some of the major archives journals, such as American Archivist, Archival Issues, and
Archivaria. Full-text available from 157 journals.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 library and information
science periodicals and selected books, research reports, and conference proceedings from the mid-1960s. It is not full-
text.
return to top
- America: History and Life
Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the
present. Covers more than 2000 sources published worldwide. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.
Indexes a number of archives-related journals.
- Historical Abstracts
Information on articles, books, and dissertations about non-U.S. and non-Canadian history from 1450 to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals in 50 languages. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles. Indexes a number of
archives-related journals.
- Ulrich's
Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative
information on serials published throughout the world. Enter a title to find which databases provide indexing or abstracting
for that journal.
return to top
This is a selective list of journal titles for archives. For additional journal holdings information, please check the
University Libraries catalog. Use the located on the journal's catalog record to ascertain if a journal is
electronically accessible.
- The American Archivist. Chicago: Society of American Archivists, 1938- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3020 .A45; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference CD3020 .A45
- Archival Issues: Journal of the Midwest Archives Conference. Chicago: Midwest Archives Conference, 1992- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3054 .M531
- Archival Outlook. Chicago: The Society of American Archivists, 1993- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3020 .A75 Holdings:1993-2005. Newsletter is electronically accessible at The Society of American
Archivist website from 2004 to the present.
- Archival Science: International Journal on Recorded Information. Boston: Kluwer Academic, 2001- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD 921 .A73 Holdings: v1-5 (2001-2005); Subscription continues online; Click on Find It button
- Archivaria. Ottawa: Association of Canadian Archivists, 1975/1976- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3620 .A7; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- Archives. London: British Records Association, 1949/1952- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD1 .B7; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- Archives and Manuscripts. Canberra, Australia: Australian Society for Archivists, 1965/1969- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD4 .A75; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- Archives and Museum Informatics. Pittsburgh, PA: Archives and Museum Informatics, 1989-1999. Continued by Archival Science.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD973 .D3A7
- Bulletin of the Australian Society of Archivists. Canberra, Australia: Australian Society of Archivists,
1995- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD2500 .B85; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm -
Current Periodicals
- Comma: International Journal on Archives. Paris: International Council on Archives, 2001- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD1 .A182
- The Information Management Journal. Prairie Village, KS: ARMA International, 1999- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks HF5736 .R36322; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm -
Current Periodicals
- UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference HF5736 .R36322
- Journal of Archival Organization. Binghamton, NY: Haworth, 2002- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD971 .J685; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- Journal of the American Institute for Conservation. Washington, DC: American Institute for Conservation of
Historic and Artistic Works, 1989- .
- UMCP Art Library Folio N8554 .A531; Current issues in UMCP Art Library - Current Periodicals
- Journal of the Society of Archivists. London: Society of Archivists, 1965/1969- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD23 .S6A3 Holdings: v.3-25(1965/1969-2004);
Subscription continues online; Click on Find It button
- Manuscripts. New York: The Manuscript Society, 1967- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z41 .A2A95; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- The Mid-Atlantic Archivist. Washington, DC: Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference, 1990- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD921 .M53; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
- Prologue: The Journal of the National Archives. Washington, DC: United States National Archives, 1969- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3020 .P7; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm - Current
Periodicals
Prologue is electronically accessible at The National Archives and Records Administration [NARA]website.
- Provenance. Atlanta, GA: Society of Georgia Archivists, 1982- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CD3180 .G421 Holdings: v1-19 [1983-2001]
- UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference CD3180 .G421 Holdings: v1-15, v. 17- [1983-1997, 1999- ]
- Rare Books and Manuscripts Librarianship. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 1986-
1999. Continued by RBM.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z688 .R3R3
- RBM : a journal of rare books, manuscripts, and cultural heritage. ... Chicago: Association of College
and Research Libraries, 2000- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Z688 .R3R32; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm -
Current Periodicals
- Records Management Journal. London: Association of Information Management, 1995- .
- UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks HF5735 .R43; Current issues in UMCP McKeldin Library Periodicals Rm -
Current Periodicals
- S. A. Archives Journal. Pretoria, South Africa: South African Society of Archivists, 1990- .
- UNESCO Journal of Information Science, Librarianship and Archives Administration. Paris: United Nations
Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, 1979-1983.
- UMCP Off-Site Shelving Place a Request to Obtain Z671 .U472
return to top
- DeWitt, Donald L. Articles Describing Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States: An Annotated
Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CD3022 .A2D478 1997
- Guides to Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport,
CT: Greenwood Press, 1994.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CD3022 .A2D48 1994
- Pearce-Moses, Richard. A glossary of archival and records terminology. Chicago : Society of American
Archivists, 2005.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks CD945 .P43 2005
- UMCP HBK Maryland Room Archives, Reference CD945 .P43 2005
- Prytherch, Raymond John. Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book : a directory of over 10,200 terms,
organizations, projects and acronyms in the areas of information management, library science, publishing and archive
management. Aldershot, Hants, England ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, 2005.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Z1006 .H32 2005
return to top
- Burton, Dennis A., James B. Rhodes, and Raymond W. Smock. A Guide to Manuscripts in the Presidential
Libraries. College Park, MD: Research Materials Corp., 1985.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CD3029 .82 B87 1985
- Cox, Richard J. Documenting Localities: A Practical Model for American Archivists and Manuscript Curators.
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks CD3021 .C69 1996
- Leab, Daniel J. & Phillip P. Mason, eds. Labor History Archives in the United States: A Guide for Researching and
Teaching. Detroit, MI: Wayne State UP, 1992.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks HD8066 .L37 1992
- Matchette, Robert B. & Anne B. Eales, eds. Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States.
3 vol. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1995.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Government Documents REF CD3026 1995
- McCoy, Donald R. The National Archives: America’s Ministry of Documents, 1934-1968. Chapel Hill, NC:
University of North Carolina Press, 1978.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks CD3023 .M25 1978
- Phillips, Faye. Congressional Papers Management: Collecting, Appraising, Arranging, and Describing Documentation of
United States Senators, Representatives, Related Individuals and Organizations. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1996.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks CD3043 .P48 1996
- Society of American Archivists. Museum Archives: An Introduction. 2nd ed. Ed. Deborah Wythe. Chicago:
Society of American Archivists, 2004.
- UMCP McKeldin Library AM158 .M88 2004
- Technical Committee ISO/TC 46, Information and documentation. Subcommittee SC 11, Archives/records management. Information and documentation : guidelines for standards drafters for stating records management requirements in standards. Geneva, [Switzerland] : ISO, 2006.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks HF5736.T425 2006
- Technical Committee ISO/TC 46, Information and documentation. Subcommittee SC 11, Archives/records management.
Information and documentation : records management processes : metadata for records. Part 1, Principles. Geneva, [Switzerland] : ISO, 2006.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks HF5736 .T428 2006
- Technical Committee ISO/TC 46, Information and documentation. Subcommittee SC 11, Archives/records management.
Information and documentation : managing metadata for records. Part 2, Conceptual and implementation issues. Geneva, [Switzerland] : ISO, 2009.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks HF5736 .T429 2009
- Technical Committee ISO/TC 46, Information and documentation. Subcommittee SC 11, Archives/records management.
Information and documentation : work process analysis for records = Information et documentation : analyse du processus des records. Geneva, [Switzerland] : ISO, 2008.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks HF5736 .T43 2008
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Archival Guide to the Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. 2nd ed. Washington, D.C.: Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, United States Holocaust Memorial Musiem, 2003.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks E804.3 .U55 2003
- Vanden Heuvel, Jon. Untapped Sources: America’s Newspaper Archives and Histories. New York: Gannett
Foundation Media Center, 1991.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks PN4855 .V3 1991
- Veit, Fritz. Presidential Libraries and Collections. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.
- UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CD3029 .82 .V45 1987
return to top
-
Academy of Certified Archivists (www.certifiedarchivists.org):
"Through the promotion of fundamental standards of professional archival practice, the Academy of Certified Archivists
leads in defining the knowledge and abilities necessary to be an archivist and achieve our mission by certifying archivists,
ensuring professional archival standards, and promoting the employment of Certified Archivists." See especially the Certification page for answers to all of your questions on the
archival certification process.
-
American Association of Museums (www.aam-us.org):
"Founded in 1906, the American Association of Museums (AAM) is dedicated to promoting excellence within the museum
community through advocacy, professional education, information exchange, accreditation, and guidance on current professional
standards of performance."
-
American Institute for Conservation of Historic & Artistic Works (aic.stanford.edu):
AIC is the professional membership organization for conservators. They publish the Journal of the American Institute
for Conservation (JAIC), with an online index available for volumes 16-38 (1977-2005). The website also includes
resources and links on disaster response and recovery, conservation training in the U.S., and more.
-
ARMA: The Association for Information Management Professionals (www.arma.org):
Established in 1955, ARMA International is a not-for-profit association and the leading authority on managing records and
information-–paper and electronic. ARMA offers invaluable resources such as: Legislative and regulatory updates; Standards
and best practices; Technology trends and applications; Live and Web-based education; Marketplace news and analysis; Books &
videos on managing records and information. ARMA also publishes The Information Management Journal.
-
Association of Canadian Archivists (archivists.ca):
Established in 1975 and incorporated in 1978, the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA) has a four-fold focus:
Providing leadership for everyone engaged in the preservation of Canada's Documentary Heritage; encouraging awareness of
archival activities and developments and the importance of archives to modern society; advocating the interests and needs of
professional archivists before government and other regulatory agencies; and communicating to further the understanding and
cooperation amongst members of the Canadian archival system, and other information and culture based professions. ACA also
publishes the prestigious journal Archivaria, as well as books and "occasional papers."
-
Australian Society of Archivists (www.archivists.org.au):
Formed in 1975, The Australian Society of Archivists (ASA) is "the peak professional body for archivists in Australia."
The Society has published the journal Archives and Manuscripts since 1955. Website includes links to many papers
from past ASA conferences.
-
Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) (www.imls.gov):
"The Institute of Museum and Library Services is an independent federal grant-making agency dedicated to creating and
sustaining a nation of learners by helping libraries and museums serve their communities." Site includes a useful
information on resources and conferences .
-
Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference (MARAC) (www.lib.umd.edu/MARAC):
Begun in 1972, MARAC is a volunteer, regional consortium of archivists who live and work in the states of New York, New
Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia, and in the District of Columbia. The group publishes
Mid-Atlantic Archivist.
-
NARA: U.S. National Archives & Records Administration (www.archives.gov):
NARA is an independent Federal agency that oversees the management of all Federal records. Their huge web site contains
mountains of information useful to archives students. Use the Access to
Archival Databases System to search NARA's 50 million+ electronic records holdings; use the Archival Research Catalog, the online catalog of NARA's
nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries. The Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) at the College Park
facility has an extensive collection on archives and records management. The College Park facility's address is: Archives Library Information Center (NWCCA), Room 2380, 8601 Adelphi Road, College Park, MD 20740-6001.
-
National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators (NAGARA)
(www.nagara.org):
"NAGARA is a professional organization dedicated to the effective use and management of government information." Their
core purpose is "to promote the availability of our documentary legacy by improving the quality of records and information
management at all levels of government." The Association publishes the newsletters Clearinghouse and
Crossroads.
-
Society of American Archivists (www.archivists.org):
"Founded in 1936, the Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national archival professional
association. SAA's mission is to serve the educational and informational needs of more than 5,000 individual and
institutional members and to provide leadership to ensure the identification, preservation, and use of records of historical
value." SAA publishes the journal American Archivist and the Archival Outlook Newsletter and offers many
continuing education programs for archivists. See also the Directory of Archival Organizations to locate national and local archival groups in the U.S.
and Canada.
-
Society of Archivists (UK) (www.archives.org.uk):
The UK's Society of Archivists "exists to promote the care and preservation of archives and the better
administration of archive repositories to advance the training of its members and to encourage relevant research
and publication." They publish the Journal of the Society of Archivists, "a leading international journal
in the field of archives, conservation and records management."
return to top
-
Archives Resource Center (ARC)
(http://www.statearchivists.org/arc/index.htm):
This resource was put together by the Council of State Historical
Records Coordinators (COSHRC) in response to a call for a Web-based information clearinghouse in the Action Agenda
developed at the National Forum on Archival Continuing Education. It includes links to archival associations, state archives
and records program homepages, state historical records boards, preservation and conservation agencies, calendars and
directories, information on special initiatives in archives, resources from state archives and records programs, and much
more.
-
CoOL: Conservation OnLine (palimpsest.stanford.edu):
CoOL, a project of the Preservation Department of Stanford University Libraries, is a full text library of conservation
information, covering a wide spectrum of topics of interest to those involved with the conservation of library, archives and
museum materials. Includes an extensive set of links to other conservation and preservation resources.
-
List of Mailing Lists on Archives, Records Management, and
Related Subjects (www.archimac.org/Profession/Lists/index.spml):
Currently includes over 231 professional mailing lists on archives, records management, museums, indexing, archival
description, conservation, and more.
-
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
(http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/):
"NUCMC is a free-of-charge cooperative cataloging program operated by the Library of
Congress. NUCMC creates online records in OCLC WorldCat on behalf of eligible archival repositories throughout the United States." The site also includes
Archival Internet Resources, which includes links to archival
education, archival societies, Encoded Archival Description, Archival Preservation, and more.
-
Ready, 'Net, Go! Archival Internet Resources
(http://www.tulane.edu/~lmiller/ArchivesResources.html):
According to the creators of this project from Tulane University, "Ready, 'Net, Go! is an archival 'meta index,' or index
of archival indexes. That is, from here we refer you to the major indexes, lists, and databases of archival resources. From
them you can link to almost every archives and archival resource in the metaverse."
-
UNESCO Archives Portal (www.unesco.org/webworld/portal_archives/)
:
This excellent resource from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is billed as
"an international gateway to information for archivists and archives users." It includes links to all sorts of archives--
government, academic, museum,
community, religious, etc.--primary sources online, resources for education and training, preservation and conservation, and
too many more to mention. UNESCO
specialists also regularly publish studies and guidelines
on basic issues of records and archives management.
-
Victorian Electronic Records Strategy (www.prov.vic.gov.au/vers):
The Victorian Electronic Records Strategy (VERS) was developed by Public Record Office Victoria (PROV) "to provide
leadership and direction in the management of digital records. VERS is a world-leading solution to the problem of capturing,
managing and preserving electronic records. VERS is a framework of standards, guidance, training, consultancy and
implementation projects, which is centered around the goal of reliably and authentically archiving electronic records. VERS
is promoted globally and has been accepted and used by archival institutions, national and international Governments and
local and global product vendors."
return to top
return to top
|