|
Last revised: August 2007
Researching and Writing About Art and Artists: History, Theory and Criticism
Scope: This guide lists selected resources which provide an introduction to art history, theory and criticism, and to researching and writing about art. For further information email
Louise Greene or call 301-405-9064.
Table of Contents
Search the UM Libraries' online catalog for books on art and artists. When searching an artist's name, correct spelling is important. If you're unsure of the spelling, check one of the biographical dictionaries listed below. In subject searching, try using the following terms (also substitute terms for specific media, such as "painting," "photography," etc., in place of "art"):
- art appreciation
- art criticism
- art historiography
- art philosophy
- art psychological aspects
- communication art
- composition art
- painting psychological aspects
- visual perception art
Browse the following monographic series for a variety of topics in art theory and art criticism. To locate these individually-cataloged titles, search for the series title in the UM Libraries' online catalog (advanced search/series).
- Cambridge Studies in New Art History and Criticism. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press, 1993- .
LOCATION: UMCP various
CALL NUMBER: titles cataloged individually
- Studies in the Fine Arts. Art Theory. Ann Arbor: UMI Research Press, 1981-1985.
LOCATION: UMCP various
CALL NUMBER: titles cataloged individually
- Studies in the Fine Arts. Criticism. Ann Arbor: UMI Research Press, 1980-1990.
LOCATION: UMCP various
CALL NUMBER: titles cataloged individually
return to top
Browse collections of art criticism in the following journals.
- Art Criticism. Stony Brook: Dept. of Art, State Univ. of New York at Stony Brook, 1979- .
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7475.A77
-
Aesthetics on-line. Milwaukee: American Society for Aesthetics.
LOCATION: UMCP Online Resources
CALL NUMBER: N61.A47
- Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism. Madison: American Society for Aesthetics, 1941- .
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N1.J6
-
N.paradoxa. London: KT Press, 1998- .
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N72.F45 N737
-
Other Voices. Philadelphia: Students of the School of Arts and Sciences at the University of Pennsylvania, 1997- .
LOCATION: UMCP Online Resources
CALL NUMBER: CB151.O87
Search the following indexes to art periodical literature to identify and locate journal articles.
return to top
- Ehresmann, Donald L.
Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks. 3rd ed. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1990.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N5300.E7 1990
- Jones, Lois Swan.
Art Information and the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N59.J66 1999
- Jones, Lois Swan.
Art Information: Research Methods and Resources. 3rd ed. Dubuque: Kendall/Hunt, 1990.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N85.J64 1990
- Marmor, Max.
Guide to the Literature of Art History 2. Chicago: American Library Association, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N380.M37G85
return to top
- Artcyclopedia.
Search by name of artist for links to information and images.
- ArtLex: A Visual Arts Dictionary
(http://www.artlex.com)
A dictionary of art criticism, history, technique, aesthetics, and education.
- Grove Art
Full-text of the 34-volume 1996 print edition of the Dictionary of Art, provides access to 45,000+ scholarly articles and links to 40,000+ images.
- The John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism.
A guide to people, places, events and ideas including the arts.
- National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC.
(http://www.nga.gov)
Includes images, biographical information and bibliographical references.
- Words of Art: An Online Glossary of Theory and Criticism for the Visual Arts
(http://web.ubc.ca/okanagan/creative/links/glossary.html)
A guide to terminology in the visual arts and literary theory.
return to top
Biographical Indexes
These indexes list sources of biographical information on artists.
-
Artist Biographies: Master Index.
Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1986.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.A78 1986
- Havlice, Patricia.
Index to Artistic Biography.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.H38
Supplements 1981, 1989.
Biographical Dictionaries
These provide a brief summary of information on an artist's life and career.
-
Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon.
Leipzig: E.A. Seemann; Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1983- .
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.A63 1983
- Bénézit, E.
Dictionary of Artists.
Paris: Grund, 2006.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.D5213 2006
- Falk, Peter Hastings, ed.
Who Was Who in American Art 1564-1975: 400 Years of Artists in America. Madison, CT: Sound View Press, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6536.W56 1999
- Gowing, Lawrence, ed.
A Biographical Dictionary of Artists. New York: Facts on File, 1995.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.B53 1995
- Heller, Jules and Nancy Heller, eds.
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary. New York: Garland, 1995.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6503.N67 1995
- Naylor, Colin.
Contemporary Artists. London: St. James Press, 1977-.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6490.C6567
Latest edition in Reference.
- Riggs, Thomas, ed.
St. James Guide to Black Artists. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.S78 1997
- Thieme, Ulrich and Felix Becker.
Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler. Leipzig: W. Engelmann, 1907-50.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.T4
Supplements by Hans Vollmer 1953-1962.
- Turner, Jane, ed.
Grove Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove, 1996.
Print version: Grove Dictionary of Art
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N31.D5
-
Who's Who in American Art. New York: R.R. Bowker, 1936/37-.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6536.W5
Bibliographies
- Freitag, Wolfgang, ed.
Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. 2nd ed. New York: Garland, 1997.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N40.F73 1997
- Igoe, Lynn.
250 Years of Afro-American Art: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Bowker, 1981.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6538.N5I36 1981
The updated CD-ROM version, entitled African American Artists on Disc, is
available at the Circulation Desk.
- Karpel, Bernard, ed.
Arts in America: A Bibliography. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1979.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: NX503.A1A7 1979
Artists' Statements
For additional sources search the UM Libraries' online catalog using the terms "statements," "quotations" or "interviews," combined with an artist's name.
- Crofton, Ian.
A Dictionary of Art Quotations. New York: Schirmer Books, 1989.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN6084.A8D54 1989
- Robertson, Jack S.
Twentieth-Century Artists on Art: An Index to Writings, Statements, and Interviews by Artists, Architects, and Designers. 2nd. ed. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: NX456.R59 1996
- Stiles, Kristine.
Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: A Sourcebook of Artists' Writings. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6490.T492 1996
Miscellaneous Resources
- Edelstein, Debra.
Pronunciation Dictionary of Artists' Names. 3rd rev. ed. Boston: Little, Brown, 1993.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: REF N40.K3 1993
return to top
- Berger, John et al. Ways of Seeing. New York: Viking Press, 1973.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: N7430.5 W39 1973
- Feldman, Edmund Burke.
Varieties of Visual Experience. 4th ed. New York: Abrams, 1992.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: N71.F42 1992b
- Nemett, Barry.
Images, Objects, and Ideas: Viewing the Visual Arts. Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich College Publishers, 1992.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: N71.N46 1992
- Perkins, David N.
The Intelligent Eye: Learning to Think by Looking at Art. Santa Monica: Getty Center for Education in the Arts, 1994.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7430.5.P52 1994
- Preble, Duane.
Artforms: An Introduction to the Visual Arts. 6th ed. New York: Longman, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: N7430.P69 1999
- Straten, Roelof van.
An Introduction to Iconography. Langhorne, PA: Gordon and Breach, 1994.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference, UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7565.S7713 1994
- Taylor, Joshua C.
Learning to Look: A Handbook for the Visual Arts. 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7477.T39 1981
- Whitford, Frank.
Understanding Abstract Art. New York: Dutton, 1987.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6494.A2W54 1987
- Yenawine, Philip.
How to Look at Modern Art. New York: H.N. Abrams, 1991.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6490.Y46 1991
- Zelanski, Paul.
The Art of Seeing. 3rd ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1994.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: N7430.5.Z36 1994
return to top
General
- Barnet, Sylvan.
A Short Guide to Writing About Art. 8th ed. New York: Longman, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N7476.B37 2005
- Gibaldi, Joseph.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 5th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: LB2369.G53 1999b
- Sayre, Henry.
Writing About Art. 3rd ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7476.S29 1999
- Turabian, Kate L.
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 6th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: LB2369.T8 1996
Historiography
- Harris, Jonathan.
The New Art History: A Critical Introduction. New York: Routledge, 2001.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7480.H37 2001
- Hatt, Michael. Art History: A Critical Introduction to Its Methods. New York: Manchester University Press, 2006.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: N7480.H38 2006
- Jansen, Charles R.
Studying Art History. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1986.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N380.J36 1986
- Johnson, W. McAllister.
Art History: Its Use and Abuse. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1988.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N380.J64 1988
- Kultermann, Udo.
The History of Art History. New York: Abaris Books, 1993.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: N380.K8513 1993
- Minor, Vernon Hyde. Art History's History. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1994.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N380.M556 1994
- Nelson, Robert S., ed. Critical Terms for Art History. Chicago: Univ. of Chicago Press, 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N34.C75 2003
- Preziosi, Donald, ed. The Art of Art History: A Critical Anthology. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 1998.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N7480.A79 1998
- Roskill, Mark.
What is Art History? 2nd ed. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1989.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N380.R67 1989
return to top
- Alsberg, John. Modern Art and Its Enigma: Art Theories from 1800 to 1950 Based Upon the Writings of This Period's Artists and Philosophers. London: Weidenfeld and Nicolson, c1983.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6447.A43 1983
- Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present. New York: Abbeville Press Publishers, 1997.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6490.A87 1997
- Atkins, Robert. Artspoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. New York: Abbeville Press, 1993.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6447.A85 1993
- Barasch, Moshe. Modern Theories of Art. New York: New York University Press, 1990-c1998.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N70.B2 1990
- Chipp, Herschel Browning. Theories of Modern Art: A Source Book by Artists and Critics. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1968.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6450.C62
- Harrison, Charles, Paul Wood and Jason Gaiger, eds. Art in Theory, 1648-1815: An Anthology of Changing Ideas. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2000.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6420.A78 2000
- Harrison, Charles, Paul Wood and Jason Gaiger, eds. Art in Theory, 1815-1900: An Anthology of Changing Ideas. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6420.A779 1998
- Harrison, Charles and Paul Wood, eds. Art in Theory, 1900-1990: An Anthology of Changing Ideas. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1993.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N6490.A7167 1993
- Homer, William Innes.
The Language of Contemporary Criticism Clarified. Madison, CT: Sound View Press, 1999.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: PN81.H525 1999
- Kocur, Zoya and Simon Leung. Theory in Contemporary Art Since 1985. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N66.T49 2005
- Murray, Chris, ed. Key Writers on Art. New York: Routledge, 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N7475.K49 2003
- Nelson, Robert S. and Richard Shiff, eds.
Critical Terms for Art History. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N34.C75 1996
- Patin, Thomas. Artwords: A Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks, UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N71.P32 1997
- Podro, Michael. The Critical Historians of Art. New Haven, Yale University Press, 1982
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N380.P53 1982
- Prosyniuk, Joann, ed. Modern Art Criticism: A Biographical and Critical Guide to Painters, Sculptors, Photographers and Architects from the Beginning of the Modern Era to the Present. Detroit: Gale Research, c1991.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: N6489.M63 1991
- Smith, Paul, and Carolyn Wilde, eds. A Companion to Art Theory. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2002.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N66.C66 2002
- Thompson, James M., ed. Twentieth Century Theories of Art. Ottawa: Carleton Univ. Press, 1990.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BH39.T93 1990
- Williams, Robert. Art Theory: An Historical Introduction. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 2004.
LOCATION: UMCP Art Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: N5300.W647 2004
return to top
The following guides may be useful for further research:
return to top
|