|
Last revised: August 2006
Visual Image Resources
Scope: This guide provides a listing of selected print and online resources
useful for locating reproductions and collections of visual images --
including paintings, photographs, prints, pictures, illustrations,
icons, graphics, symbols, and cartoons, among others. See the
section entitled "Searching the Catalog" for tips on finding
additional sources of visual images within the library collections.
Email the subject area specialist at
lwg@umd.edu or call 301-405-9064 for more information.
Table of Contents
Art -- General
Indexes to Images
- Anderson, Janet A.
Women in the Fine Arts: A Bibliography
and Illustration Guide. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1991.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8354.A53 1991
- Garrigan, Kristine Ottesen.
Victorian Art Reproductions in
Modern Sources: A Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1991.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6767.5.V52G3 1991
- Havlice, Patricia Pate.
Earth Scale Art: A Bibliography,
Directory of Artists, and Index of Reproductions. Jefferson,
NC: McFarland, 1984.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N6494.E27H258 1984
- Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library.
Index to Art Reproductions
in Books. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1974.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7525.H48 1974
- Igoe, Lynn.
250 Years of Afro-American Art: An Annotated
Bibliography. New York: Bowker, 1981.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6538.N5I36 1981
The updated CD-ROM version, entitled African American Artists
on Disc, is also available.
- Korwin, Yala H.
Index to Two-Dimensional Art Works. 2 vols. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1981.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7525.K67
- Parry, Pamela J.
Contemporary Art and Artists: An Index to
Reproductions. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1978.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6490.P3234
- Rochelle, Mercedes.
Historical Art Index, A.D. 400-1650. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1989.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8210.R6 1989
- Thomison, Dennis.
The Black Artist in America: An Index to
Reproductions. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1991.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6538.N5T46 1991
Sources of Images
- Berinstein, Paula.
Finding Images Online: Online User's Guide to Image Searching in Cyberspace.
Wilton, CT: Pemberton Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR222.B47 1996
- Bettman, Otto.
Bettman Portable Archive. New York:
Picture House Press, 1966.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: AG250.B47
Includes graphic representations of
various subjects, and an idea and image index.
- Turner, Jane, ed.
The Grove Dictionary of Art. New York: Grove, 1996.
Grove Dictionary of Art.
[Off-campus
access]
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N31.D5 1996
return to top
Cartoons
- Horn, Maurice, ed.
The World Encyclopedia of Cartoons. New York: Chelsea House Publishers, 1980.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NC1325.W67 1980
return to top
Design
- Diagram Group.
Design on File. New York: Facts
on File, 1984.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: NK1570.D46 1984
- Tinkham, Sandra Shaffer, ed.
Index of American Design. Teaneck, NJ: Somerset House, 1979.
LOCATION: ART MFICHE
CALL NUMBER: NK1403.I5 1979
return to top
Fine Art Reproductions
Note: Museums often publish sales catalogs of reproductions of
works in their collections.
-
Art Print Index. Pleasanton, CA: G.M.E. Inc,
1994- .
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N4035.A77
Latest edition in Reference.
- Haddad's Fine Arts.
Illustrative Catalog: A Selective
Collection of Fine Art Prints. 7th ed. Anaheim, CA: Haddad's
Fine Arts, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N4035.H3H32 1994
- New York Graphic Society.
Fine Art Reproductions. Cos Cob, CT: The Society, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N4035.N49
-
The Shorewood Collection. New York: Shorewood
Fine Art Reproductions, 1983.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N4035.S56S5 1983
-
The University Prints Complete Catalogue.
Winchester, MA: University Prints, 1977- .
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N4035.U6
Latest edition in
Reference.
return to top
Graphics
-
The Black Book. New York: Black Book Marketing
Group, 1997.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: HF5805.C71
return to top
Iconography
General
Sources of Images
- Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane.
Encyclopedia of Women in
Religious Art. New York: Continuum, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7793.W65A66 1996
- Carr-Gomm, Sarah.
Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art. New York: Facts on File, 1995.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7740.C29 1995
- Cirlot, Juan E.
A Dictionary of Symbols. New York:
Philosophical Library, 1962.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BF1623.S9C513
- Cooper, J.C.
An Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Traditional
Symbols. London: Thames and Hudson, 1978.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BL603.C66
- Daniel, Howard.
Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in
Paintings: Mythological, Biblical, Historical, Literary, Allegorical
and Topical. New York: Abrams, 1971.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND1288.D3 1971
- Hall, James.
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern
and Western Art. New York: Icon Editions, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7740.H35 1996
-
Index Iconologicus. Sanford, NC: Microfilming Corp.
of America, 1980.
LOCATION: ART MFICHE
CALL NUMBER: N5301.I5
Emphasis on 16th and 17th century prints. User
guide: Index Iconologicus: A Guide to the Microform Edition
(REF N5301.I51).
- Thomas, Anabel.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Narrative
Painting. London: John Murray in association with National
Gallery Publications, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND1288.T45 1994
- Tresidder, Jack.
Dictionary of Symbols: An Illustrated
Guide to Traditional Images, Icons, and Emblems.
San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 1998.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: GR931.T74 1998
Indexes to Images
- Earls, Irene.
Baroque Art: A Topical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6415.B3E18 1996
- Earls, Irene.
Renaissance Art: A Topical Dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6370.E27 1987
- Okayama, Yassu.
The Ripa Index: Personifications and Their
Attributes in Five Editions of the Iconologia. Doornspijk:
Davaco Publishers, 1992.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7740.O53 1992
- Pigler, Andor.
Barockthemen: Eine Auswahl von
Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts
. Budapest: Akadémiai Kiadó, 1974.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N6410.P5
- Roberts, Helene E., ed.
Encyclopedia of Comparative
Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art. Chicago:
Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7565.E53 1998
- Waal, Henri van de.
Iconclass: An Iconographic
Classification System. Amsterdam: North-Holland Pub. Co.,
1973- .
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: Z697.A8W3
Also the index to The Decimal Index to the Art of the Low
Countries, reproductions of Dutch and Flemish art from the
photographic archives of the Rijksbureau voor Kunsthistorische
Documentatie. Iconclass includes a three-volume comprehensive
index and extensive bibliographies accompanying the complete
iconographic classification scheme.
Classical
Sources of Images
- Aghion, Irène.
Gods and Heroes of Classical
Antiquity. Paris: Flammarion, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7760.A34 1996
Indexes to Images
- Preston, Percy.
A Dictionary of Pictorial Subjects from
Classical Literature: A Guide to Their Identification in Works of
Art. New York: Scribner, 1983.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7760.P68 1983
- Reid, Jane Davidson.
The Oxford Guide to Classical
Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1900's. New York: Oxford
University Press, 1993.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NX650.M9R45 1993
Christian
Sources of Images
- Apostolos-Cappadona, Diane.
Dictionary of Christian Art. New York: Continuum, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BV150.A66 1994
- Catholic University of America.
The New Catholic
Encyclopedia. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1967.
LOCATION: MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: BX841.N4
- Duchet-Suchaux, Gaston.
The Bible and the Saints. New York: Flammarion, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BS513.2.D8313 1994
- Ferguson, George W.
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7830.F37 1966
- Kirschbaum, E., ed.
Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie. Rom: Herder, 1968-76.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BV150.L4
- Réau, Louis.
Iconographie de l'art Chrétien. Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 1955-59.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8010.R4
- Schiller, Gertrud.
Iconography of Christian Art. Greenwich, CT: New York Graphic Society, 1971-72.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7830.S3513
English translation of the first two volumes of the work below.
- Schiller, Gertrud.
Ikonographie der Christlichen Kunst. Gütersloh: Gütersloher Verlagshaus G. Mohn, 1966-83.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7830.S35
Indexes to Images
- Rochelle, Mercedes.
Post-Biblical Saints Art Index:
A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Mosaics, Icons, Frescoes,
Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts and Engravings,
Created from the 4th Century to 1950, with a Directory of
Institutions Holding Them. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1994.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8079.5.R63 1994
Jewish
- Frankel, Ellen.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols. Northvale, NJ: Jason Aronson Inc., 1992.
LOCATION: MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: BM50.F74 1992
Secular
- Marle, Raimond van.
Iconographie de l'Art Profane au
Moyen-Age et à la Renaissance. New York: Hacker
Art Books, 1971.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N5970.M35 1971
- Tervarent, Guy de.
Attributs et Symboles dans l'Art
Profane, 1450-1600: Dictionnaire d'un Langage Perdu. Geneva: E. Droz, 1958.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7740.T4
Non-Western
- Bühnemann, Gudrun.
The Iconography of Hindu Tantric Deities.
Groningen: E. Forsten, 2000.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BL2015.G63 B84 2000
- Frédéric, Louis.
Buddhism. New York:
Flammarion, 1995.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N8193.F7 1995
- Williams, C.A.S.
Outlines of Chinese Symbolism and Art
Motives: An Alphabetical Compendium of Antique Legends and Beliefs,
as Reflected in the Manners and Customs of the Chinese. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle Co., 1974.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: GR335.W53 1974b
Emblem Books
- Henkel, Arthur, and A. Schöne.
Emblemata: Handbuch
zur Sinnbildkunst des XVI und XVII Jahrhunderts. Stuttgart:
J.B. Metzler, 1967. and Supplement, 1976.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7740.H53
return to top
Illustrations
- Appel, Marsha C.
Illustration Index. Metuchen,
NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1959- .
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7525.A672
- Clapp, Jane.
Art in Life. New York: Scarecrow
Press, 1959.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AP2.C566
- Ellis, Jessie.
Index to Illustrations. Boston:
F.W. Faxon, 1966.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NC996.E62
- Ellis, Jessie.
Nature and Its Applications: Over
200,000 Selected References. Boston: F.W. Faxon, 1949.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: Z5956.D3E53
- Havlice, Patricia Pate.
Art in Time. Metuchen,
NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1970.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N7225.H38
- Heck, J.G.
The Complete Encyclopedia of
Illustration. New York: Park Lane, 1979.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NC960.C7 1979
-
National Geographic Index and Supplements.
Washington, DC: National Geographic Society, 1984- .
LOCATION: ART REF, MCK REF
CALL NUMBER: G1.N27
return to top
Paintings
Locating Reproductions
- Cahill, James.
An Index of Early Chinese Painters and
Paintings: T'ang, Sung, and Yüan. Berkeley:
University of California Press, 1980.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND1043.3.C3
- Havlice, Patricia Pate.
World Painting Index. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977; First Supplement, 1973-1980;
and Second Supplement, 1980-1989.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND45.H38
- Laing, Ellen Johnston.
An Index to Reproductions of
Paintings by Twentieth Century Chinese Artists. Ann Arbor:
Center for Chinese Studies, University of Michigan, 1998.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND1045.L35 1998
- Monro, Isabel Stevenson.
Index to Reproductions of
American Paintings. New York: Wilson, 1948. Supplement, 1964.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND205.M57
- Monro, Isabel Stevenson.
Index to Reproductions of
European Paintings. New York: Wilson, 1956.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND45.M6
- Smith, Lyn Wall.
Index to Reproductions of American
Paintings Appearing in More Than 400 Books Mostly Published
since 1960. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND205.S575
Locating Collections
- Fredericksen, Burton B.
Census of Pre-Nineteenth-Century
Italian Paintings in North American Public Collections.
Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1972.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND611.F73
- Schweers, Hans F.
Gemälde in Deutschen Museen:
Katalog der Ausgestelleten und Depotgelagerten Werke.
München: K.G. Saur, 1994.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: N2210.S27 1994
-
Subject Catalogue of Paintings in Public Collections.
London: Visual Arts Publishing, 1989.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND45.S94 1989
- Wright, Christopher.
The World's Master Paintings:
From the Early Renaissance to the Present Day: A Comprehensive
Listing of Works by 1,300 Painters and a Complete Guide to Their
Locations Worldwide. New York: Routledge, 1992.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: ND40.W75 1992
return to top
Photography (see also Pictures
and Illustrations)
Locating Reproductions
- Bradshaw, David N., ed.
World Photography Sources. New York: Directories, 1982.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR12.W67 1982
- Kreisel, Martha.
American Women Photographers:
A Selected and Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT:
Greenwood Press, 1999.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR139.K74 1999
- Moss, Martha.
Photography Books Index II: A Subject
Guide to Photo Anthologies. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow
Press, 1985.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR199.M67 1985
- Parry, Pamela J.
Photography Index: A Guide to
Reproductions. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1979.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR199.P37
Locating Collections
- Eskind, Andrew H., ed.
International Photography:
George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and
Exhibitions. 3 vol. New York: G.K. Hall, 1998.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR12.E85 1998
- Smithsonian Institution.
Guide to Photographic Collections
at the Smithsonian Institution. 3 vol. Washington, DC:
Smithsonian Institution Press, 1989.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: Q11.S793 1989
-
Original Sources: Art and Archives at the Center for Creative Photography.
Tucson, AZ: Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona, 2002.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR6.U62 T786 2002
return to top
Pictures (see also Photography and
Illustrations)
Locating Collections
- Evans, Hilary.
Picture Researcher's Handbook:
An International Guide to Picture Sources and How to Use
Them. 6th ed. London: Routledge, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N4000.E8 1996
- Green, Shirley L., comp.
Pictorial Resources in the
Washington, D.C., Area. Washington, DC: Library of
Congress, 1976.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: TR12.G73
- Robl, Ernest H.
Picture Sources. 4th ed.
New York: Special Libraries Assn., 1983.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N4000.N68 1983
return to top
Portraits (see also Painting,
Photography, and Sculpture)
Locating Reproductions
-
A.L.A. Portrait Index. Washington: Government
Printing Office, 1906.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7620.A2
- National Portrait Gallery.
Permanent Collection
Illustrated Checklist. Washington, DC: Smithsonian
Institution Press, 1982.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: N857.8.A66 1982
Locating Collections
- Singer, Hans Wolfgang.
Allgemeiner Bildniskatalog.
Leipzig: Hiersemann, 1930-36.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N7575.S55 1967
Continues as: Neuer Bildniskatalog, 1937-38.
(ART REF N7575.S562 1967)
return to top
Prints
Locating Reproductions
- Bryce, Betty Kelly.
American Printmakers, 1946-1996:
An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information.
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1999.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NE508.B76 1999
- Parry, Pamela.
Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NE90.P17 1983
- Williams, Lynn Barstis.
American Printmakers, 1880-1945:
An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NE507.W53 1993
Locating Collections
-
Finders' Guide to Prints and Drawings in the Smithsonian
Institution. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press,
1981.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: N855.8.A56
return to top
Sculpture
Sources of Images
- Optiz, Glenn.
Dictionary of American Sculptors:
18th Century to the Present, Illustrated with over 200
Photographs. Poughkeepsie, NY: Apollo, 1984.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NB236.O64 1984
Indexes to Images
- Clapp, Jane.
Sculpture Index. 2 vol.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1970-71.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: NB36.C55
return to top
Symbols
- Arnstein, Joel.
International Dictionary of Graphic
Symbols. London: Kogan Page, 1983.
LOCATION: ART STACKS
CALL NUMBER: AZ108.A76 1983
- Dreyfuss, Henry.
Symbol Sourcebook: An Authoritative Guide
to International Graphic Symbols. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1972.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: AZ108.D74
- Liungman, Carl G.
Dictionary of Symbols. Santa
Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1991.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: BL603.L5413 1991
return to top
Textiles
-
Encyclopedia of Textiles. Englewood Cliffs,
NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1980.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: TS1445.A18 1980
return to top
Most art periodicals (journals and magazines) include visual images
of works of art. Use the following indexes to search the contents
of art periodicals for a particular work by its title, or for works
by a particular artist. In searching these online indexes, it is
usually possible to limit your search to visual images by adding
the term "reproduction" or "image" to the search terms.
return to top
In addition to the resources listed in this guide, other
sources of visual images can be located by searching the
University of Maryland Libraries Catalog.
To find images of a particular work of art, a search on the
artist's name (e.g. henri matisse) will often identify
illustrated monographs and exhibition catalogues. Or, if you
know which museum owns the work of art, a search on the museum's
name combined with the terms "collection catalogue" (e.g.
"phillips collection/collection catalogue") will often identify
an illustrated catalogue of the museum's collections (look for
the notation "il", "ill", or "illus." to indicate that a
publication includes visual images). Most museums also provide online access to portions of their collections.
To search the Catalog for visual images by subject,
combine the subject term with one of the following:
"illustrations", "pictorial works", or "in art" (e.g. dogs in art).
Also check the terms under "Subject(s)"
in the Catalog record for additional search terms
in your subject area.
To find a portrait of a specific individual in the Catalog,
do a word search combining the term "portraits" with the person's
profession, position or historical period (e.g. portraits musicians;
portraits kings; or portraits
Victorian). The search result will usually include a variety of
resources from the general to the specific.
return to top
The following sources provide information on the fair use of
visual images and on issues related to obtaining permission to
publish.
- Artists Rights Society, Inc.
Membership List
1996. New York: Artists Rights Society, 1996.
LOCATION: ART REF
CALL NUMBER: KF3050.A78 1996
-
The Nuts and Bolts of Copyright Upper
Fairmount, MD: Barbara L. Dougherty, Inc., 1997.
LOCATION: ART FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: KF3086.N88 1997
- United States
Copyright Office, Library of Congress
return to top
return to top
|