|
Last revised: August 2007
Web Resources for Art, Art History and Archaeology
Scope:
Included in this guide is a selected listing of Web sites useful in the study of art, art history
and archaeology. For a guide to related print and online research materials, refer to Research Resources for Art, Art History and Archaeology. For further information email
Louise Greene or call 301-405-9064.
Table of Contents
- Art History Resources on the Web
(http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks.html)
Christopher Witcombe's directory of art information on the Web organized by
period and style, with links to information, images, research resources, museums and galleries, and more.
- Art Source
(http://www.ilpi.com/artsource/welcome.html)
Selected general art and architecture sites, libraries, museums, organizations, and programs.
-
Digital Librarian: Art
(http://www.digital-librarian.com/art.html)
Links to a wide variety of art-related information and resources.
-
History of Art Virtual Library
(http://www.chart.ac.uk/vlib/)
Links to libraries, university
art history departments, online teaching resources, research tools, and more.
-
Mother of All Art History Links Page
(http://www.art-design.umich.edu/mother/)
Includes links to art history departments, research resources, image collections, museums, and
textual, linguistic and religious resources.
-
Voice of the Shuttle Web Page for Art & Art History
(http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2707)
Information on art, art history, and many related subjects.
Research Sites
-
AATA Online (Via Research Port)
Abstracts of international conservation literature.
-
ArtLex: Visual Arts Dictionary
(http://www.artlex.com/)
A dictionary of art criticism, history, technique, aesthetics, and education.
-
Conservation Online
(http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/)
Resources for conservation professionals.
-
The Dictionary of Art Historians
(http://www.dictionaryofarthistorians.org/)
A biographical dictionary of scholars and professionals in the arts.
-
Getty Research Institute
(http://www.getty.edu/research/index.html)
Access to research databases and program information within the J. Paul Getty Trust, including the
Getty Standards Program and the Getty
Vocabulary Databases which include the Art and Architecture Thesaurus, the Union List of Artists' Names and the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names.
-
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (Via Research Port)
A guide to people, places, events and ideas including the arts.
-
Multilingual Glossary of Art Terms (IFLA)
(http://www.ifla.org/VII/s30/pub/mg1.htm)
In English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Swedish.
-
Timeline of Art History
(http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/splash.htm)
An interactive guide to art from prehistory to the present illustrated with images from the collections of The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
-
Words of Art: An Online Glossary of Theory and Criticism for the Visual Arts
(http://web.ubc.ca/okanagan/creative/links/glossary.html)
A guide to terminology in the visual arts and literary theory.
return to top
African/African American Art
Reference
Museums, Exhibitions, and Images
- African
Art: Aesthetics and
Meaning
(http://www.lib.virginia.edu/clemons/RMC/exhib/93.ray.aa/African.html)
Bayly
Art Museum online exhibition catalogue.
- African Art Museum of Maryland
(http://www.africanartmuseum.org/)
Information about exhibitions, events, and activities.
- Anacostia Community Museum
(http://anacostia.si.edu/)
Information and exhibitions from the Smithsonian Institution's museum of African American history and culture.
- Carl van
Vechten Photographs: Library of
Congress
(http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/vvhtml/vvhome.html)
Images and information.
- Cutting to the
Essence, Shaping for the
Fire
(http://www.fa.indiana.edu:80/~conner/africart/home.html)
An exhibition of Yoruba
and Akan art in wood and metal.
- Museum for African Art, New York, NY
(http://www.africanart.org/)
Exhibitions and information about the permanent collection.
- Narratives of
African American Art and Identity: The David C. Driskell
Collection
(http://www.artgallery.umd.edu/driskell/)
An exhibition with links to related sites.
- National Museum of African
Art, Washington, D.C.
(http://www.nmafa.si.edu/)
The Smithsonian Institution, exhibitions, information, and research resources.
American Art
Archaeology
-
WWWorld of Archaeology
(http://www.archaeology.org/wwwarky/index.html)
The Archaeological Institute of America, links to archaeology information worldwide and online access to Archaeology.
Architecture
-
Architecture Internet Resource Guide
(http://library.nevada.edu/arch/rsrce/webrsrce/contents.html)
Jeanne Brown's guide to Web resources in architecture through the University of Nevada.
Asian Art
General
-
Asian Art
(http://www.asianart.com/index.html)
Articles, exhibits and links to related sites.
- Asia-art.net
(http://www.asia-art.net/)
Information about Asian art history, techniques, paintings, artists, galleries, museums, and more.
- Art History Resources on the Web: Asian Art
(http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHLinks3.html)
Christopher Witcombe's directory of Asian art information on the Web.
- East Asia
Collection, UM
Libraries
(http://www.lib.umd.edu/EASIA/eastasia.html)
Home
page for the East Asia Collection, University of
Maryland Libraries.
- Freer Gallery of Art
and Arthur M. Sackler
Gallery
(http://www.asia.si.edu/default.htm)
The Smithsonian Institution, exhibitions, information, and research resources.
- Many Faces,
Many Paths: Art of
Asia
(http://www.glenbow.org/exhibitions/online/bumper/bumper.htm)
Exhibition of Buddhist and Hindu art.
China
-
Arts of China Consortium
(http://www.nyu.edu/gsas/dept/fineart/html/chinese/index.html)
Information on symposia, conferences and other events related to Chinese art.
- China the Beautiful: Chinese Art and Literature
(http://www.chinapage.com/china.html)
Primary resources on Chinese classical arts, literature, poetry, calligraphy, painting, history, philosophy.
- International Dunhuang Project (Based at the British Library, London, UK)
(http://idp.bl.uk/)
Images and information on manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and other Silk Road sites, and links to related sites.
- Internet Guide
for Chinese Studies: Culture and
Art
(http://sun.sino.uni-heidelberg.de/igcs/igcult.htm)
Links
to resources on the arts of China and Tibet.
Japan
Korea
Byzantine and Medieval Art
Classical Art
-
Diotima: Women and Gender
(http://www.stoa.org/diotima/)
Resources for the study of women in the ancient world.
-
Perseus Digital Library (Via Research Port)
Images, maps, information and other resources on ancient Greece.
-
TOCS-IN
(http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/amphoras/tocs.html)
Indexes to journals in the classics.
Islamic Art
Latin American Art
return to top
-
Art & Antiques Magazine
(http://www.artandantiques.net/)
Access to selected full text articles.
-
Art Now Gallery Guide On-Line
(http://www.galleryguide.org/)
Current information on exhibits and events with links to gallery sites.
-
Art Daily
(http://www.artdaily.com/)
Online newspaper since 1996.
-
ArtNet
(http://www.artnet.com/)
Includes feature articles, reviews, and images.
-
Arts Journal
(http://www.artsjournal.com/)
A digest of information from English-language arts publications.
-
BOMB
(http://www.bombsite.com/)
Information on artists, writers, filmmakers, and performers.
-
Journal of Contemporary Art
(http://www.jca-online.com/)
Articles, interviews, and images.
- Leonardo
(http://www.leonardo.info/)
Journal of the International Society of the Arts, Sciences and Technology.
return to top
Library Directories
Library Sites
return to top
Museum Directories
Museum Sites
return to top
return to top
For a listing of selected Web resources useful for locating visual images, refer to the guide
Visual Image Resources on the Web (http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/artimagesweb.html).
return to top
|