navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Asian Americans

Scope: This is a selected list of information sources in the UMCP Libraries concerning Asian American studies. All the materials are in English only. Email the subject area specialist at kt@umd.edu/akemin@umd.edu or call 301-405-9136 for more information.


Table of Contents


General Introduction

Books: Use the UM Libraries Catalog and union catalogs below to conduct comprehensive searches of materials held in local, national, and international libraries.

Subject Headings: For appropriate search terms consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Subject headings that begin with the term ASIAN AMERICANS will lead to works on citizens of the United States of Asian descent. In addition to the term Asian Americans, a narrower term may be used, such as ASIAN AMERICAN FAMILIES or ASIAN AMERICAN STUDENTS.

Other examples:

CHINESE AMERICANS
EAST INDIAN AMERICANS
FILIPINO AMERICANS
HAWAIIANS
JAPANESE AMERICANS
KOREAN AMERICANS
PACIFIC ISLANDER AMERICANS
PAKISTANI AMERICANS

Non-Print Materials: To search for videos, films, or DVD's, go to the UM Libraries' Catalog. Select the "advanced search" option and search for words in "all fields." Enter the term "Asian American" with the truncation symbol * (asterisk) after it: "Asian American*" Change the "format" option to: "Videos/Films (all)."

return to top


Bibliographies

Cheung, King-Kok. Asian American Literature: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1988. LOCATIONS: East Asia, West Reference and McKeldin Reference Stacks [Non-Circulating] CALL NUMBER: PS153.A84C33 1988

Nelson, Emmanuel S. (Editor). Asian American novelists: A bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. Westport , Conn.:Greenwood Press, 2000
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.A84A825 2000

Kim, Hyung-Chan. Asian American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography and Research Guide. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6K55 1989

Nordquist, Joan. Asian Americans: Social, Economic and Political Aspects: A Bibliography. Santa Cruz, Ca.: Reference and Research Services, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6N66 1996

Ng, Wendy L. Japanese American internment during World War II : A history and reference guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: D769.8.A6 N4 2002

Wendy L. Ng [et al.] eds. Reviewing Asian America : Locating diversity. Pullman, Wash. : Washington State University Press, c1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 R48 1995

Okihiro, Gary Y. Storied lives: Japanese American students and World War II. Seattle : University of Washington Press, c1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: D753.8 .O38 1999

return to top


Libraries' Catalogs

UM Libraries' Catalog
Locate books and other materials search the UMCP Libraries online catalog.

Library of Congress Catalog
Online catalog of holdings from the Library of Congress.

Aladin
The shared electronic library catalog of American University, the Catholic University of America, Gallaudet University, George Mason University, The George Washington University, Marymount University, Trinity College, and the University of the District of Columbia.

return to top


Union Catalogs

Use Worldcat and the RLIN Bibliographic File databases below to identify materials held in hundreds of libraries in the United States and other countries. The materials located through these union catalogs can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

RLIN Bibliographic File
A computer database which contains over 30 million records of books, periodicals, recordings, scores, archival collections, and other kinds of materials held in over 100 research libraries and archival collections in the United States.

WORLDCAT
A computer database which contains 37 million records of all types of material (books, serials, non-print media, dissertations, masters theses, archival materials, etc.) cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

return to top


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Ng, Franklin, ed. The Asian American Encyclopedia. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995. 6 vols.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks, McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6A827 1995

Avakian, Monique. Atlas of Asian American History.
LOCATION:McKeldin Library FOLIO
CALL NUMBER: E184.06 A 89 2002

Okihiro, Gary Y.  The Columbia guide to Asian American history. New York : Columbia University Press, c. 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks 
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 C64 2001

Kim, Hyung-Chan, ed. Dictionary of Asian American History. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6D53 1986

Francesco Cordasco ed. Dictionary of American immigration history. Metuchen, New Jersey: Scarecrow Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks 
CALL NUMBER: JV6450 .D53 1990

return to top


Biographies

Hyung-Chan Kim, Dorothy Cordova [et al.].   Distinguished Asian Americans : a biographical dictionary.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6D57 1999

Helen Zia and Susan Gall, eds.; foreword by George Takei. Notable Asian Americans. New York : Gale Research, c. 1995
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6N67 1995

Who's who among Asian Americans.  Detroit: Gale Research Inc, c. 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 W47

return to top


Directories

Zavala, Angela E. An American yearbook: the resource and referral guide for and about Asian and Pacific Americans, 2005-2006. McLean, Va. : TIYM Pub., 2004
LOCATION: McKeldin East Asia West Reference, McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 A84263 

Internet Directories

Advocacy / Government:

Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund [http://www.aaldef.org]
Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies [http://www.apaics.org]
Asian Pacific American Legal Resource Center [http://www.apalrc.org]
APIA Vote [http://www.apiavote.org]
Asian Pacific Islander Parents, Families, Friends, of Lesbians and Gays [http://www.pflag.org]
Conference on Asian Pacific American Leadership [http://www.capal.org]
Federal Asian Pacific American Council [http://www.fapac.org]
Governor's Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs [http://www.marylandasian.org]
India Abroad Center for Political Awareness [http://www.iacfpa.org]
Japanese American Citizens League [http://www.jacl.org]
Korean American Coalition [http://www.kacdc.org]
National Asian Pacific American Legal Consortium [http://www.napalc.org]
National Asian Pacific American Women's Forum [http://www.napawf.org]
National Coalition for Asian Pacific American Community Development [http://www.nationalcapacd.org]
National Federation of Filipino American Associations [http://www.naffaa.org]
National Federation of Indian-American Associations [http://www.nfia.net]
Organization of Chinese Americans [http://www.ocanatl.org]
Southeast Asia Resource Action Center [http://www.searac.org]

Art/Media:

Asian American Arts Alliance [http://www.aaartsalliance.org]
Asian American Film http://www.asianamericanfilm.com]
Asian American Writers' Workshop [http://www.aaww.org]
AsianWeek [http://news.asianweek.com/news]
National Asian American Telecommunications Association [http://www.naatanet.org]
Arth-South Asian Theatre [http://www.artharts.com/arth.htm]

Academic/Professional:

Association of Asian American Studies [http://www.aaastudies.org/index.tpl]
Asian American Journalist Association [http://www.aaja.org]
Asian American Psychologial Association [http://www.aapaonline.org]
Federal Asian Pacific American Council [http://www.fapac.org]
National Association of Asian American Professionals [http://www.naaapdc.org]
National Asian Pacific American Bar Association [http://www.napaba.org]
National Museum of American History [http://www.americanhistory.si.edu/interns/index.htm]
Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Program [http://www.apa.si.edu]

return to top


Asian Americans' Museums and Libraries

Asian American Studies Institute [http://asianamerican.uconn.edu]

Chinese American Museum [http://www.camla.org]

Korean American Museum [http://www.kamuseum.org]

Korean Heritage Library, University of Southern California [http://www.usc.edu/isd/archives/arc/libraries/eastasian/korea/index.html]

Japanese American National Library. 1619 Sutter Street P.O. Box 590598, San Francisco, CA 94159. Tel: 415-567-5006.

Japanese American National Museum [http://www.janm.org]

return to top


Electronic Discussion Lists and LISTSERVS

Electronic discussion lists, also known as LISTSERVS, enable one to communicate with large groups of people who share similar interests. Use the following sites to identify listservs in your relevant subject areas:

Tile.net [http://www.tile.net/tile/listserv/index.html]
This site, maintained by Lyris, offers access to many discussion lists, e-mail lists, and newsgroups. For Asian American listservs, type "Asian American studies" in search box.

80-20 Initiative [http://www.80-20initiative.net]
80-20 is a national nonpartisan Political Action Committee dedicated to work for equality and justice for all Asian Americans.

return to top


General Reference Works

Pyong Gap Min ed. Asian Americans : Contemporary trends and issues . Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2006
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 A84325 2006

Nordquist, Joan.  Asian Americans : Social, economic and political aspects : a bibliography . Santa Cruz, Ca. : Reference and Research Services, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 N66 1996

Gall, Susan and Irene Natividad, eds. The Asian American Almanac: A Reference Work on Asians in the United States . Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6A824 1995

Okihiro, Gary Y. The Columbia guide to Asian American history . New York : Columbia University Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6C64 2001

Ono, Ken A., ed. Asian American studies after critical mass . Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 A8418 2005

Odo, Franklin ed. The Columbia documentary history of the Asian American experience . New York : Columbia University Press, c2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 C63 2002

Nakanishi, Don T. and Ellen D. Wu.  Distinguished Asian American political and governmental leaders . Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184 .O6 N35 2002

Haseltine, Patricia. East and Southeast Asian Material Culture in North America: Collections, Historical Sites, and Festivals . New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6H37 1989

Cao, Lan and Himilce Novas. Everything you need to know about Asian American history . New York : Plume, c2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 N68 2004

Poon, Wei Chi. A Guide for Establishing Asian American Core Collections . Berkeley, Calif. : Asian American Studies Library, University of California, Berkeley, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6P67 1989

Lon Kurashige, Alice Yang Murray eds . Major problems in Asian American history : documents and essays . Boston : Houghton Mifflin, c2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 M35 2003

Zia, Helen & Susan Gall Editor. Notable Asian Americans . New York: Gale Research 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6N67 1995

Pyong Gap Min ed. The second generation : Ethnic identity among Asian Americans . Walnut Creek , CA : AltaMira Press, c2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 S43 2002

return to top


Indexes and Abstracts

The following indexing and abstracting services can be used to locate articles or books relevant to your research. For Off-campus access, use Research Port to access these databases.

Academic Search Premier - provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals.

America: History and Life
Information on articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history published since 1964.

ABI Inform
Information on articles in trade magazines, newsletters, the general business press, and international business dailies, 1994 to the present.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Information about journal articles and non-journal materials on all aspects of education.

Ethnic Newswatch
Information about magazine, newspaper and journal articles relating to issues concerning various U.S. ethnic groups.

Family & Society Studies
Information about magazine, newspaper and journal articles relating to issues concerning various U.S. ethnic groups.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
Information on current events, business, law and reference materials.

MLA International Bibliography
Information about articles and other publications on literature and related subjects.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 520 publicatons wit hsome links to full-text sources in other EBSCO databases.

Women's Studies International
Information about articles from 350 social-science periodicals.

Many other automated reference sources can be used to find journal articles, newspapers, theses, etc. on Asian Americans. See a reference librarian for suggestions.

return to top


Websites on Asian American Studies

University of Maryland Diversity Database, Asian-American Resources
[http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/Topic/Diversity/Specific/
Race/Specific/Asian_American_Resources/]
This section of the University of Maryland, College Park's Diversity Database includes valuable sources concerning Asian American cultural, political, professional and educational issues. A selection of related links is also provided.

Asian-American Studies [http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subj/asian-am.html]
This site, maintained by Salvador Guerena from University of California, Santa Barbara, offers links to other meta-sites as well as to organizations, schools, journals, and additional resources.

University of California, Irvine's Southeast Asian Archive [http://www.lib.uci.edu/libraries/collections/sea/sasian.html]
This site, maintained by University of California, Irvine's Libraries, contains access to resources relevant to the study of Cambodian, Laotian, Vietnamese and Hmong immigration to the United States. It offers links to a variety of relevant web pages.

Asian American Literature: Sources for Research
 [http://www2.sjsu.edu/faculty/awilliams/AsianAmResources.html]

Voice of the Shuttle-Asian American  [http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=287]

-- Chinese American
-- Filipina American
-- Indian American
-- Japanese American
-- Pakistani American
-- Vietnamese American

return to top


Selected Readings

Chin, Frank et al, eds. Aiiieeeee! An Anthology of Asian-American Writers. New York: Mentor, 1991
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS508.A8A4 1991

Hsu, Francis L. K. Americans and Chinese. 3rd ed. Honolulu: University Press of Hawaii, c1981.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: DS721.H685 1981

Asian American autobiographers: A bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook. edited by Guiyou Huang. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS366.A74A85 2001

Nakanishi, Don T. and Tina Yamano Nishida, eds. The Asian American Educational Experience: A Source Book for Teachers and Students. New York: Routledge, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LC2632.A85 1995

Gudykunst, William. Asian American ethnicity and communication. Thousand Oaks, Calif. 2001
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6G84 2001

 Huang, Guiyou ed. Asian American short story writers : An A-to-Z guide . Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.A84 A828 2003

Espiritu, Yen Le. Asian American Women and Men: Labor, Laws, and Love. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6E875 1996

Felt, Judy C. and William P. O'Hare. Asian Americans: America's Fastest Growing Minority Group. Washington, D.C.: Population Reference Bureau, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6O5 1991

Shilpa Davé, LeiLani Nishime, and Tasha Oren eds. East Main Street : Asian American popular culture. New York : New York University Press, c. 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 E17 2005

Elaine H. Kim and Laura Hyun Yi Kang eds. Echoes upon echoes : New Korean American writings. . New York, NY : Asian American Writers' Workshop, c. 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS508.K67 E34 2002

Hirano-Nakanishi, Marsha and Don T. Nakanishi. The Education of Asian and Pacific Americans: Historical Perspectives and Prescriptions for the Future. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks,
CALL NUMBER: LC3015.E38 1983

Hong, Maria, ed. Growing Up Asian American: An Anthology . New York: W. Morrow, c. 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS508.A8G76 1993

Asian Women United of California, eds. Making Waves: An Anthology of Writings By and About Asian American Women. Boston: Beacon Press, c. 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6M24 1989

Elaine H. Kim, and Lilia V. Villanueva, eds. Making More Waves: New Writing by Asian American Women. Asian Women United of California. Boston: Beacon Press, c1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS508.A8M35 1997

Choy, Philip P. and H. Mark Lai. Outlines History of the Chinese in America. San Francisco: Chinese-American Studies Planning Group; distributed by Everyone's Bookstore, San Francisco, 1973
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.C5L3

Lavina Dhingra Shankar and Rajini Srikanth eds. A part, yet apart : South Asians in Asian America. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S69 P37 1998

Chan, Sucheng ed. Remapping Asian American history.  Walnut Creek: AltaMira Press, c. 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 R46 2003

Sau-ling Cynthia Wong and Stephen H. Sumida eds. A resource guide to Asian American literature. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2001
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS153.A84 R47 2001

Takaki, Ronald T. Strangers from a Different Shore: A History of Asian Americans. Boston: Little, Brown, c1989
LOCATION: MCK STACKS,
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6T35 1998

Tenhula, John. Voices from Southeast Asia: The Refugee Experience in the United States. New York: Holmes & Meier, 1991
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.I43T46 1991

return to top


Statistics

1990 Census of Population and Housing [computer file]. Subject Summary Tape File (SSTF) 5. Characteristics of the Asian and Pacific Islander Population in the United States. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. Of Commerce, Bureau of the Census: Data User Services Division, 1994
LOCATION: Government Documents DESK
CALL NUMBER: C3.286:CD90 SSTF 05

Austin, Brad. Asian and Pacific Islander Elderly Bibliography. San Diego, CA: National Resource Center on Minority Aging Populations, 1991.
LOCATION: Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: HE1.1011:AS 4

Asian and Pacific Islander population in the United States [PDF]. Washington, D.C. :  U.S. Census Bureau, 1997-2002. [ http://www.census.gov/prod/2003pubs/p20-540.pdf ]
LOCATION: Networked Resources World Wide Web Accessible
CALL NUMBER: C 3.186/28

Terrance Reeves and Claudette Bennett. The Asian and Pacific Islander population in the United States : March 2002 . [Washington, DC] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2003]
LOCATION: Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: C 3.186:P-20/540

Jessica S. Barnes and Claudette E. Bennett. The Asian population, 2000. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2002]
[http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS21426]
LOCATION: Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: C 3.205/8-2:01-16

Data on Asian/Pacific Islander Veterans [electronic resource].  Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs, Office of Program and Data Analyses, 2000
[ http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS20158]

Kuo, JoAnn and Kathryn Porter. Health Status of Asian Americans: United States, 1992-94 . Hyattsville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, 1998.
LOCATION: Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: HE 20.6209/3:298

Housing in Metropolitan Areas: Asian or Pacific Islander Households. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau of the Census, 1995.
[http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS40656]
LOCATION: Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: C3.205/8:95-6

The Nation's Asian and Pacific Islander Population, 1994 . Washington, D.C.: Bureau of the Census, 1995.
LOCATION: Government Documents SU DOC
CALL NUMBER: C3.205/8:95-24

Pei-te Lien, M. Margaret Conway, and Janelle Wong. The politics of Asian Americans : diversity and community.   New York: Routledge, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.A75 L54 2004

Susan B. Gall and Timothy L. Gall, eds. Statistical Record of Asian Americans. Detroit: Gale Research Inc., c1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.O6 S73 1993

Survey of minority-owned business enterprises.  Asians and Pacific Islanders [PDF]. 1997 economic census [electronic resource].  Washington, DC: US Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, 2001.
[http://www.census.gov/prod/ec97/e97cs-5.pdf ]
LOCATION: Networked Resources World Wide Web Accessible
CALL NUMBER: C3.258:92-3

return to top


Asian American Studies Program at University of Maryland

The Asian American Studies Program (AAST) at the University of Maryland provides students with the opportunity to study critically the experiences of Asian Americans. AAST offers an undergraduate certificate for students who wish to develop a specialization in Asian American studies alongside their degree pursuits [http://www.aast.umd.edu]

return to top


 
University Libraries, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-7011 (301)405-0800
Please send comments and suggestions to the Libraries' Webmaster
Content questions should be directed to Information Provider
Last modified: May 07, 2007

© 2005 University of Maryland Libraries
Last Revised:2005 September
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search