navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2008

Astronomy

This guide was created to help students and faculty find information in the field of astronomy. Email the subject area specialist Bob Kackley at rkackley(@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9155 for more information.

Hubble's Sharpest View of the Orion Nebula Supernova 1994D in Galaxy NGC 4526 Light Echoes From Red Supergiant Star V838 Monocerotis Nucleus of Galaxy Centaurus A The Colorful Demise of a Sun-like Star
Hubble Space Telescope photographs | Photo credit: STScI for NASA



FINDING BOOKS

At UM Libraries

To locate books on a specific topic, search the online catalog. To start with, try a subject beginning with ... search using phrases such as Astronomical instruments, Galactic clusters, or Astronomical photometry. This search will return books classified under those subject headings. For example, a subject search for Stars evolution, would return the following:

To narrow your results down to a particular focus, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords.

A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record. Examples of some common terms and phrases used to locate books on astronomy include:

astronomers
"astronomical models"
"astronomical observatories"
"astronomical photography"
"astronomical spectroscopy"
astronomy
"astronomy observations"
astrophysics
    "black holes"
cosmology
"dark matter"
galaxies
"spherical astronomy"
stars
supernovae
telescopes

Books dealing with similar subjects are likely to be grouped together on the shelves. Thus, another way to locate books on a particular topic is to shelf-browse. The following are some call number ranges where you can find books about or related to astronomy:

QB 1 - 991
QB 1 - 139
QB 140 - 237
QB 275 - 343
QB 349 - 421
QB 455 - 456
QB 460 - 466
QB 468 - 480
QB 495 - 903
QB 500.5 - 785
QB 799 - 903
QB 980 - 991
    Astronomy
General
Practical and spherical astronomy
Geodesy
Theoretical astronomy and celestial mechanics
Astrogeology
Astrophysics
Non-optical methods of astronomy
Descriptive astronomy
Solar system
Stars
Cosmogony. Cosmology

At Other Libraries

The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide. However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan.

 return to top

REFERENCE WORKS

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

return to top

Handbooks & Manuals

return to top

Directories

return to top

FINDING ARTICLES

Core Databases

AIAA Meeting Papers
Full text access to the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) meeting papers from 1988-2004 as well as journal articles from 1996-2004.

Aerospace Database
Indexes journals, conference papers, reports, including those published by AIAA, IEEE, ASME, and more.

Encyclopedia of Space Science
This reference outlines what astronomers know about the sun, planets, galaxy, and universe as well as the effect of the space environment on human and other biological systems. The Encyclopedia also provides an in-depth summary of the engineering involved in launching a rocket or satellite and the control systems involved on the ground, in orbit, or in deep space. Manufacturing in space from planetary and other resources is also discussed.

NTIS
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
Abstracts of government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. (Coverage: 1964-present)

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.

ScienceDirect
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than English.

Scitopia.org
Scitopia.org is a free federated search portal of 15 leading science and technology societies; it includes abstracts of peer-reviewed journal content, patents and technical conference papers.

 return to top

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

Provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals. Full text of articles for over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.

Conference Papers

Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.

Digital Dissertations

This database is the authoritative source for information about and full text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.

netLibrary

A collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.

WorldCat

Catalog of books, serial publications, media, visual materials, musical scores, and archival materials in libraries worldwide.

 return to top

Periodicals

To find journals conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse E-Journals in Research Port. Click here for a select list of astronomy journals.

 return to top

WEB RESOURCES

General

Astroweb
http://www.cv.nrao.edu/fits/www/astronomy.html
"A collection of pointers to astronomy-related information available on the Internet." On this website, you can search the Astroweb database, or browse through the various divisions of astronomical information. Resources are divided into the following categories: Observing resources, data resources, publication-related resources, people-related resources, organizations, software resources, research areas of astronomy, lists of astronomy resources, astronomical imagery, and miscellaneous resources.

MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research
http://space.mit.edu/astro_resources.html
This page is a list of astronomy web resources compiled by MIT's Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research. The links are organized into the following divisions: Space News Services, Space Missions and Experiments, Observatories, Societies and Papers, Other Institutions, Astronomical Software and Data, Astronomical Imagery, Educational, General Astronomy, and Astronomy & Science Publications.

The Nine Planets: A Multimedia Tour of the Solar System
http://www.nineplanets.org/
"This website is an overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of the planets, moons and other objects in our solar system. "

Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI)
http://www.stsci.edu/resources/
This page of astronomical resources includes links to Science Initiatives, Catalogs & Surveys, Special Programs, Education, Hubble Images, Talks & Meetings, Software, Hardware, and Publications.

Space.com
http://space.com/
A commercial site which focuses on news and multimedia relevant to the field of Astronomy.

WebStars: Astrophysics in Cyberspace
http://heasarc.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/www_info/webstars.html
Provides links to general astronomy resources. The table of contents includes current news topics, Exploring Mars, Astrobiology, Space Exploration Programs, Astronomy Magazines, History of Astronomy, and much more.

 return to top

Web Databases

arXiv
http://arxiv.org/
"arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology." This Cornell University database includes electronic journal preprints in Astronomy.

HyperLeda
http://leda.univ-lyon1.fr/
"HyperLeda is an information system for astronomy: It consists in a database and tools to process that data according to the user's requirements...At present the database contains over 3 million objects, out of them 1.5 million are certainly galaxies (with a high level of confidence)."

NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED)
http://nedwww.ipac.caltech.edu/
NED "is built around a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Bibliographic references relevant to individual objects have been compiled, and abstracts of extragalactic interest are kept on line. Detailed and referenced photometry, position, and redshift data, have been taken from large compilations and from the literature. NED also includes images from 2MASS, from the literature, and from the Digitized Sky Survey. NED's data and references are being continually updated, with revised versions being put on-line every 2-3 months."

SIMBAD Astronomical Database
http://simbad.u-strasbg.fr/
"The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system."

The Smithsonian / NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
http://adswww.harvard.edu/
"The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 5.1 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through our Abstract Service query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though our Browse interface. Integrated in its databases, the ADS provides access and pointers to a wealth of external resources, including electronic articles, data catalogs and archives."

 return to top

Online Journals

 return to top

Scientific Data Analysis Guides

This section provides links to online instruction manuals, tutorials, and other aids for using astronomical software.


 return to top

Professional Associations

return to top

 

© 2007 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: July 30, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search